PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Nutro Ultra Puppy Food

Natural nutrition for the health of your growing puppy. Available in the dry formula.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 21
21 of 24(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Review 1 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

September 27, 2006
by babybop
fromRoswell, Georgia
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
My bulldog puppy had loose stool on every other puppy food we tried(about 6) and this is the only one that she is thriving on. Her coat, skin is great and she loves the taste. The all natural ingredients give me piece of mind that she is getting the very best nutrition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Seems Fairly Healthy

May 12, 2010
by DogueDeBordeauxLover
fromMustang, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
The breeder of my Dogue De Bordeaux puppy recommended this food...the ingredients seem pretty healthy and my puppy seems to enjoy it- expensive, but worth it due to the healthy ingredients it contains.
Pros: healthy
Cons: very expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Excellent product my puppy loves it.....

January 1, 2010
by AlphaDog
fromVirginia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Bought this for my new pitbull pup that I adopted as part of a rescue. She was on commercial food and was suffering some dandruff problems. along with a smelly coat. We switched her to this product and in about a week the dandruff and smelly coat were gone. We mix a very small amount of the canned version with the dry and she loves it. She's more focused during feeding time and finishes her bowl every time. Make sure you pay attention to the portions you feed your pup. If they like it as much as my pup, they may over eat. The canned version has a higher meat content and smells good when you open the can. Maybe I should say that when you open the can, you don't notice any kind of bad smell. The only downside was some serious gas the first few days probably from switching dog foods. The gas issue while quite powerful has subsided over time. Our overall experience has been positive and we highly recommend this product.
Pros: my dog loves it.
Cons: gassy pitbull
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Wonderful food!

December 22, 2009
by Candiss
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a tiny 5 pound 10 month old Chihuahua mix who is in great health but was way too skinny! I tried several different types of food hoping they would help him gain weight but none of them did anything. I went to Petsmart a few days ago looking for the highest protein dog food and came across this food. I fed it to my dog that night and by the next night you could tell he was already filling out a little. Slowly he is gaining healthy weight and will be right where he should be in no time. He's also a very picky eater and does not like eating dry food on its on (I have to mix it with moist food) but this food he loves so much he eats every bit of it straight from the bag. I highly recommend this food!!
Pros: helps gain weight, very tasty for dogs, very healthy
Cons: smelly gas
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Skip this one!

September 24, 2009
by doggymomma
fromOceanside, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
From reading the bag-this seems like great nutrition. However, my lab puppy (who will eat glue, for pete's sake!) wouldn't touch it. When he finally gave up and ate it, he had HORRIBLE diarhea! Pass on this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

A dog food you can feel good about giving your dog

June 10, 2008
by Marlie
fromTX
We have used this dog food as treats for training our dog, she likes it very much. I feel good about giving this food to her, the ingrediants are so much better than Iams, Purina, Pedigree ect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Excellent puppy food!

May 28, 2008
by ShelterBoo
fromSan Marcos, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I rescued my puppy from the animal shelter. For a month after I brought her home she never finished her food and was not excited about feeding time like most dogs. When I switched her over to Nutro Ultra Puppy because it had the best ingredients(no by products and fillers) she became a new puppy! She loves feeding time now and finishes all of her food, her coat looks healthier, and her digestive system seems to be working much better! I recommend this product to everyone with a puppy and we will be using Nutro Ultra in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Excellent Puppy Food-I can see the difference!!

February 12, 2008
by ReesiesMom
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
After we brought home our new Doxie pup, she was really picky with the food I was feeding her (Purina One Puppy- which the breeder was feeding the litter). Our vet then gave us a bag of Science Diet Puppy to try. I thought since the vet recommended it, it must be good! She still picked at it. So I was off to research dog food to find the BEST for her and her little tummy. I was surprised to find that most dog foods are just mainly corn meal, including the (2) I mentioned above, and found that they are not nutritionally balance enough for a dogs body. I read that you want to feed your dog a food that has meat in at least the 1st (2) ingredients listed on the bag. So after hours of reading, I decided to try Nutro Ultra puppy, they have a guarantee that if your dog doesn't like it, you will get your money back!! So I had nothing more to lose. Well, SHE LOVES IT!! Not only that, after only a week of eating it, her coat got REALLY shiny and her "puppy dandruff" vanished. The ingredients are EXCELLENT and I can see a difference. I will only feed my dog Nutro from now on and any other pets in the future!! Finally a company that really cares about what goes into your pet!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Breeder Choice

January 23, 2008
by Wirefox
fromScottsdale, Arizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
As a top AKC Breeder of Wire Fox Terriers in Arizona, the dry puppy is the only food I feed my puppies. When I sell a puppy, it is the food that the new owner goes home with and is advised to keep the puppy on. I wouldn't feed my dogs anything but Nutro Ultra dry dog food. It is the best I have ever found for my dogs, and they are very important to me. I only feed the best!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Great Product--- German Shepard Approved

July 29, 2007
by GermanShepardMom
fromEl Paso, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
My German Shepard just had her first litter and the original puppy food we were giving her since the conception of the pups was making her very sick. I bought the dry food and she hates dry--- brought it home--- she LOVED it and no longer has problems!!!! I would greatly recommend this product even for picky eaters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

bestdogfood

May 6, 2007
by marissa
fromPhoenix, AZ 85339
I bought a small bag to try out. My cockapoo (Boo) love this food alot. I guess I have to stick with this food for Boo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Not worth the money

April 7, 2007
by proudanimalmommy
fromPensacola,Fl
I bought this because I wanted good healthy food for my puppy but she would not eat it after about 3 days,even after mixing her treats in. She also developed horrible gas from it. I am figuring this product is too rich for her system.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Change

January 19, 2007
by jbi59
fromSouth Caolina
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
the change in the overall health, vitality and skin/hair is no less than phenominal.
When I first stated feeding this food to my dog, an Irish Wolf Hound, his hair was falling out, he was on allergy shots (expensive compund), and I was boiling chicken and rice to feed him. With in 3 months of feeding Nutro products his coat was shinny and beautiful and we never had to give him another allergy shot. He was also under weight and gain to where he should have been.
I will never feed any thing except Nutro to our dogs and cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

When your puppy deserves the best

November 13, 2006
by Wendy
fromMountain View, CA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I've used both the wet and dry food. My little poodle mix loves it. Of course, he prefers the wet over the dry, but what dog wouldn't. It has kept his fur shiny and soft. I recieve so many comments on how soft my puppy's fur is. I haven't had any stool problems either. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to give their puppy the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Tantalizing

November 10, 2006
by veesh
fromEdenton, NC
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Ultra is great. My dog eats it well by itself or with dry food. He loves the food pouches. Ultra food pouches smell so good if I were a dog I would eat it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

November 7, 2006
by Fran
fromMD
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Excellent dog food. My puppy loves to eat this. I love it because of all the vitamins and extra nutrients it has. Her coat is beautiful. I also use this as treats when training her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Excellent food!!!! Not much clean up!!!!!!

October 26, 2006
by samsmom
fromVIRGINIA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
DON'T DELAY IN PURCHASING THIS FOOD FOR YOUR PUPPY/DOG. WE JUST ADDED A LABRADOR RETRIEVER TO OUR FAMILY AND SHE HAS BEEN A JOY. LITTLE DID I REMEMBER ALL THE FUN OF CLEANING UP THE POO AND TRYING TO KEEP TWO BOYS (MY CHILDREN) FROM RUNNING THROUGH IT. I DID DAYS OF RESEARCH AND TALKED TO MY VET AND FINALLY DECIDED ON NUTRO ULTRA. MY PUPPY HAS MUCH LESS STOOL AND IT IS HARD, DARK AND COMPACT. I AM NOT PICKING UP EVEN HALF THE AMOUNT I WAS WHEN I BROUGHT HER HOME AND SHE EATS 3 TIMES A DAY. THEY ARE ABLE TO DIGEST THE BETTER FOOD & NUTRIENTS SO YOU GET LESS POO! HOPE THIS HELPS.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Wonderful Food!

September 21, 2006
by GoldenLacey
fromKennesaw, GA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
This food is excellent! My golden retriever puppy seems to love the taste, and I am very pleased with the ingredients/contents. It is a bit more pricey than the common brands, but it is well worth the money in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

AN AMAZING DOG FOOD

September 11, 2006
by lindsNlily
fromAUSTIN, TX
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I HAVE RECENTLY PURCHASE A PUPPY WHO IS REQUIRED TO BE ON THIS PUPPY FOOD FOR HER WARRANTY. IM SO GLAD THIS IS REQUIRED B/C SO MANY PET FOODS OUT THERE CONTAIN BIPRODUCTS, ANIMAL PARTS, AND FILLER. THIS IS A COMPLETELY NATURAL PUPPY FOOD AND MY YORKIE ABSOLUTELY LOVES IT. I ALSO HIGHLY RECOMMEND DOING RESEARCH ON THE CURRENT DOG FOOD YOU ARE FEEDING YOUR PET. THERE IS ALOT OF INFO OUT THERE ONLINE THAT WILL TELL YOU WHAT EXACTLY IS IN YOUR PETS FOOD. YOU MIGHT BE A LITTLE DISGUSTED AND SURPRISED.
YOU DON'T HAVE TO COAT THE FOOD IN CHICKEN BROTH TO GET YOUR PUP USED TO IT EITHER AS STATED IN THE PREVIOUS COMMENT. A DOG WILL MORE OFTEN THAN NOT ALWAYS BE HESITANT WHEN IT COMES TO A NEW FOOD AND IT WILL TAKE THEM TIME TO ADJUST......BE PATIENT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nutro Ultra Puppy Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Great Food

September 11, 2006
by mcliffordgoo
fromPhoenix, AZ
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
This food is very expensive but my dogs coat, health and energy are great. I have an Old English Bulldog, and Chihuahua and they both loved the food dry. The adult food though they do not eat unless they are starving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next