PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed

The thickest dog bed we could find, it will give any dog a good night's sleep.
Overall rating:
3.905 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 123
93 of 127(73%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Review 1 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews

Not bad...

October 5, 2006
by PDGD
fromSouthwest
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
We just got this bed for our Dobie. The quality seems good and he seems to like it. We scored it low on quality because it's not 32" x 40" as advertised. It's only 28" x 38". Other than that it's fine.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Orthopedic bed

March 18, 2007
by AndoraFans
fromItaly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
The bed looks great, and is indeed thick. The inside is filled with a double layer of egg-crate padding. My dog does indeed like it! The cover is an easy off and on, but the zipper has started to split at the seams after only one month of use. There are also threads coming loose and catching in the zipper when I remove the cover for washing. I would also be interested if one could be made with a soft side and a WATERPROOF side.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews

Foam Flattens Within Days

February 8, 2011
by Anonymous
fromDallas Texas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
02-08-2011
Purchased this item for my 100 pound lab mix, this to reclaim space in my bed. The product was visually appealing and appeared to be worth the $100. By day ten (10), he was back to sleeping with me. The center of the dog mattress had flattened, creating an undesireable bowl. With no stated weight guidelines for product use I clearly wasted my money. The advertising picture shows a thirty lb dog enjoying the 'New' product. This is a strong "Don't Buy" for larger dogs.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Happy dogs!

February 16, 2007
by mjjn2
fromTexas
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
I have been looking for a thicker bed for my dog that turned senior just a year ago. I wanted to get him a good support bed but most of those beds are >$150 and sometimes without good reviews. After looking for a long time, I almost decide to buy him a human kid bed.
When I saw this bed on petsmart.com I was pretty excited about it, so I went to the store hoping they would carry it also. I liked what I saw at the store and decided to buy it right there and let Tiger (my dog) try it that day.
Tiger is not a picky dog and he can sleep anywhere, so no plus there. But what I saw that I liked is Tiger gets up from this bed a lot faster compare to his 1 inch thick old bed.
The cute part and also the reason I decide to keep this bed and buy two more is my other 2 dogs are crazy about this bed. They love to sleep and play on the bed and both would take turn and share it with Tiger.
Few reviews talked about depression in the center of the bed. Just like human bed, you have to break-in the bed. I do see the depression, mostly when the dogs just got off the bed but it does go back up later. Just like human bed, rotate it once 3 months probably can’t hurt.
I got what I want from this bed: My dog is getting up much easier and faster. His back legs look less stiff.
If you are interested in this bed, I would suggest you do the same as I did. Buy it from the local store first and try it out that day! This bed has an additional charge for on-line shipping ($5) that I am not sure if we will get it back if you buy on-line and return back to the store. If you and your dog(s) like the bed, then get it from on-line (the beds are exactly the same but $20 cheaper on-line. My store did have more colors instead the two listed on-line). When I did receive my on-line order (1 week after ordering) I return it back to the store using the store receipt. I am returning a clean and same style bed so I think it is ok to do that. :-) Plus, I bought two more from on-line for the younger dogs!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Both my dogs love it

February 28, 2010
by nmcecil
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
I have two dogs. My lab has always sleep on a dog bed and my 80 lb shep/box(11 years) never has. My lab(10 years) had surgery on his ACL and I needed to get him a thicker orthopedic bed. I purchased this becuase of its thickness. My lab loves this bed and my shep/box wants to sleep on it too. She has never wanted to sleep on a dog bed before. I have come home and caught them both on the bed together. I am going today to purchase another bed so they can each have their own!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

just like ours!

July 3, 2008
by cking3177
  • Expert
fromSan Diego, CA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
this is a great bed-nice and sturdy; great for big dogs
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews

Slumped in the middle after 2 months

March 29, 2011
by cocoabella
fromEl Paso, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
We bought this bed for our lab/boxer mix in Jan 2011, it is now
March 2011, just 2 months later and the bed has a circular slump in the middle of it. After spending $70 on this bed I would expect it to last longer than 2 months before slumping like it did.Our dog weighs about 57 lbs. She isn't that big of a dog. We got the large bed. Size-wise, she has plenty of room on this bed to move all around when she sleeps. The sheep skin like cover is nice and soft .
We have washed it ( the cover) and it held up okay. I'm just really disappointed that the bed slumped in the middle. I wouldn't spend the money on this bed again. Probably do better to buy a memory foam mattress cover and cut it and double it up and make yourself a cover .
Pros: comfortable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!!

January 13, 2010
by NOLA83
fromNew Orleans
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I too was very excited when i found this bed. I have an Irish wolfhound, boxer, and french bulldog. I needed a new bed that was thick enough to protect my irish wolf hound's joints. Well this bed did NOT do it. Within 1 WEEK the bed was flat in the middle and the top over was falling apart. I could not return the bed b/c it was a christmas gift.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews

It sunk in the middle immediately

February 15, 2008
by Anonymous
fromNorfolk, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
My dog likes the bed a lot but it sunk in the middle almost immediately and just isn't as sturdy or firm as I had hoped an orthopedic bed would be.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

IT'S NOT WORTH IT!!!

February 3, 2008
by cef107
fromYork, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
I bought this bed 13 months ago for my 55-pound, 5-year-old lab/rottweiler mix who has a knee problem. After a few months, the foam was noticeably caving in. When I unzipped the cover to flip the foam, the first problem was that there is no zipper pull, so unzipping AND zipping are difficult tasks. The second problem was that the foam was LITERALLY FALLING APART. Unzipping the cover released foam balls everywhere. After washing the cover and reassembling this poor excuse for a bed, I noticed that the fleece was about 50% weaker that the prewash condition!! Today (13 months, remember), there are small holes in the fleece cover, which my lab loves to stick her nose through, thus expanding them, releasing the now completely flat foam. Tomorrow, it's going into the garbage can....this is a $75 waste of money, time, and effort.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews

Compresses in middle

December 30, 2007
by Rese
fromOregon
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 127 reviews
This bed was a disappointment. I have a 70 lb Golden Retriever who has three beds in the house, so this one doesn't get all the use. Yet after a few months this bed developed a divet in the center from compression, and in less than a year, he's literally hitting bottom.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews

Great at first but quickly flattened out.

December 12, 2007
by Kristen99
fromSLC, UT
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
The bed was great at first but within a couple of months the foam is completely flat and the bed feels very hard. I have a Rhodesian Ridgeback who weighs 100 lbs. and is just difficult to find a good bed for. I thought this would do it with is super thick foam but still didn't last long. Also the zipper won't stay clasped so it comes apart and now it looks very sloppy trying to keep everything together.
The best bed we ever had for him was an actual HUMAN orthopedic top mattress that kept its cushion but the bed itself just wore out! Got to find another one of those and stay away from the overpriced pet stuff that is just not the best quality....
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Great Bed, Great Value

March 30, 2007
by Gemma
fromTucson, AZ
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
I love this bed, as do my three dogs! I originally bought this bed for my 65-pound labrador retriever. However, we have two other dogs - a heeler mix and a doberman pinscher. Both those dogs love the bed as well and poor Ted is often relegated to the floor (except at night, when it's all his!). We own four other dog beds, but this one is always the top pick. I think the dogs enjoy the firmness and support. The bed is large enough for them to sprawl out and it is not too warm during the hot Arizona summers. I have had this be for about two years and it has remained absolutely intact despite plenty of abuse from my dogs. I have researched other orthopedic beds, but have not found one of this price and quality anywhere else. I would buy another, if I had room for it! My only wish is that it came in some better colors or cute patterns, but oh well, I suppose I will survive :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Well worth it!

June 17, 2010
by CinSal
fromChandler, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
I have ceramic tile floors throughout my home, and soft spots are limited for my 75-lb pit bull mix. His old fiber-fill bed was entirely worn out, so I bought this bed in large (36 x 48) and am abundantly pleased thus far with it. Lucas, my dog, loves it! He sprawls out and has plenty of room, or curls up into a 'peanut' and has even more room! It is soft, but offers wonderful support, which was the leading consideration for the purchase. Yes, I highly recommend it, and if you could hear Lucas snoring on it, you would know he recommends it, too!
Pros: excellent price point, ample size, removable cover for laundering
Cons: faux lambs wool is a little thin, limited color selections
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

PERFECT!

April 6, 2010
by chrisptreats
fromVA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
I bought this bed for my 80 pound lab because the dog bed I had before had flattened so much (within a couple of weeks) I could feel the hardwood floor blow. This new bed is HUGE! The other bed I had was labled "large" but when he stretched out, his body no longer would fit---he fits on this new bed just fine--if he hangs off, it's by choice!
I call it the "new" bed, but actually, I've had it for 4 months now and it has maintained its shape and padding. Buddy loves it.
Pros: thick padding, big enough for my stretched out 80 pound dog!, great quality, good color choices
Cons: so large you might not have space for it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews

Doesn't hold up

February 28, 2007
by rottenrottiesmom
fromRaleigh, NC
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 127 reviews
I've bought two of these beds. They last just under a year. The foam breaks down and there's no way that I have found to replace the foam. You have to replace the bed yearly. At this price, that is not cost effective.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Mika's New Bed

January 9, 2007
by MikasMama
fromFrozen Midwest
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Bought this bed for my 6 year old German Shepherd who has all the aches and pains of a big dog. When we got the bed and threw it in the back of our SUV, she laid right down on it and didn't move until we got home. We left it by the door until it was bed time, there she was the whole time. We've had it now for about a month or two and seen remarkable improvement in her hips. It used to take her a little while to get up out of bed in the morning but now, she has no troubles, aches, pains or popping in her joints. She is about 120lbs and the bed seems to be holding it's shape well. I wash the cover about 3 times a month and it hasn't lost it's shape either. My suggestion is to keep rotating the foam.
Anyway-I rate it very high-she loves it!!! And I'm happy knowing it seems to have eased her pains a lot!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Good bed

December 4, 2006
by KELO
fromMA
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 127 reviews
Nice bed large enough for my Engligh Mastiff, she Loves it. Finally a bed big enough for her. Only problem is the material is thin and pulling apart already, but she loves it so I'll put a new cover on it for her.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews

Happy dog, happy mom

February 1, 2014
by Charlidarlin
fromVan, texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 127 reviews
I have enjoyed my new bed very much. It is very large, but blends well with the rest of the furniture so my mom doesn't mind having it in the living room. She also says it's a good value for the price.
Pros: durable, easy to wash, comfortable, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canine Cushion Super Thick Orthopedic Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews

Perfect

January 31, 2014
by HolidayShopper
fromFort Lauderdale, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 127 reviews
Just the right size for my Mastiff and durable.
Pros: durable, comfortable, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next