PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petmate Durabed Dog Bed

Virtually indestructible frame beds in a variety of sizes Made of 16 gauge steel frame & luggage grade fabric Machine washable Veterinarian recommended Comfortable raised bed keeps your pet off hard, drafty floors
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
11 of 13(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Review 1 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

This is great

May 14, 2011
by Clementine
fromYoung Harris Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We love this, our boxer thinks she is human and takes over the sofa and chair. With this she has her own lounge, you will need a bed in it (she does) she will not lay in it without some type of cloth. We take it camping with us also, again she will not lay on the ground. So this works good. It is big so make sure the size you need, she weighs 80 pds. we could have went with the large not the xl large, but this is great!!!!! :)
Pros: comfortable, easy to wash, durable, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 13 reviews

NOT FOR CHEWERS!

May 3, 2011
by doglover837
fromBoise, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
I ordered the large-size cots for my dogs about a month ago. They were easy to assemble, and quite sturdy. I was intially quite pleased with them. HOWEVER - if your dog is an active chewer, I cannot recommend these cots. While my older dog enjoyed them immensely, the 1-year old found a way to chew the canvas to shreds within days. Not 'indestructible' for the chewy puppy! Like I said, great for older dogs or for dogs that don't chew things they shouldn't. I will probably order replacement canvas, and at some point in the future when the puppy is more trustworthy, put them back out on the deck for them to sleep in. In the meantime, the frames are in storage.
Pros: comfortable, easy to wash
Cons: falls apart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

PetMate Durabed Dog Bed

October 4, 2010
by hotlips51
fromPetaluma, CA.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
I got this bed for my 2yr old 80lb American Bulldog because the name says it all & I liked the overall design. It arrived in a timely manner, was pretty easy to put together (I'm disabled) & Latte', my dog, she absolutely loved it. The piece of foam that comes with it was pretty thin so I replaced it with a large piece of 3" thick memory foam I had from my previous dog (100lb. American Bulldog & greatgrandma to Latte') & now it's an awesome bed. When I first put it on the porch I swear Latte' didn't get out of it for at least days. We live in the country so knowing Latte' has a safe dry bed to go to is a big relief, for both of us. She has a great dog house (out in the field) that's raised off the ground & is filled with straw but nothing beats a soft, comfy, durable, raised bed! I love my dog & I know she loves me when I can hear her snoring & look out onto the porch & see her on her back with a huge smile on her face. This is a dog that "indistructable" was created for.
Pros: great web price, great durability
Cons: big mistake if i hadn't bought it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Durabed

September 17, 2010
by gilmom
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
The XL (black) bed accommodates our 90 lb chocolate lab perfectly. To stablize the bed from sliding on our tile floors, and minimize the need to tighten the screws, I purchased (4) 1-1/4" rubber chair tips for the poles.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

great buy!

August 11, 2010
by rocktavia
fromGermantown, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
my golden retriever loves it, we put it on the deck so that on summer nights when we relax out there or eat dinner outside, he doesnt have to lay down on the floor next to all the crickets and creepy crawly bugs jumping on him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Durabed Dog Bed

April 23, 2010
by birdietakesflight
fromBoston, Ma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased the medium size for my 4 month old miniature dachshund as I wanted it to be roomy and have a bed in which I could remove the cover to wash.
The bed itself is very sturdy (then again Birdie doesn't weigh very much), and not bad looking. Assembly would have been a breeze had I paid attention to what was considered front right and front left, be sure you lay it out properly or you'll be doing a lot of unscrewing and rescrewing! Other than that it's very simple.
The bed doesn't seem to "feel" that comfortable to me. There is very little cushion so if you worry about your dogs comfort or joints I suggest buying an extra pad for him or her to lay on. The medium size has ample space for numerous toys (see attached picture) as well as rolling around room.
Also, under the padding there is, of course, a board in which the instructuions suggest to place...well, the instructions and the allen wrench tool that comes for assembly. Just some creativity on their part I thought. The material is somewhat of an odd texture, not necessarily rough but certainly not soft. Maybe the same as the feel of jeans when you let them air dry? I guess it repels water rather than soak it up. It doesn't seem to affect Birdie's comfort any I just thought I would point it out.
Overall, I would suggest trying to bed out especially if you like to lounge around the pool or in the hammock and your dog insists on laying beside you on the hard ground.
Pros: easy assembly, ample space
Cons: not a lot of padding
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

December 5, 2009
by saramg
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I bought a large bed a year ago for our boxer and I just bought another one for our year old lab. They both love the beds. They are sturdy and great for the dogs. We take them outside and hose them off when they need to be cleaned. I would recomend them completly! Great Great product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Good Outdoor Bed

July 27, 2009
by HL54
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews
I bought this bed so that my dog wouldn't get dirty laying down outside. I read reviews that the item is not sturdy. It's actually pretty sturdy for me so far. I've had it for about a month. But I should say that I bought the medium size for two small 10-lb dogs, so it is substantially below the weight recommendation of the bed. I would recommend it for small dogs. I cannot give my opinion on the large size bed for large dogs.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

Not durable

February 7, 2008
by amira
fromGaithersburg, MD
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
The size I bought was supposed to hold up to about 100 lbs. The product could not hold the weight of my 45 lb puppy. It's not a bad looking product, but it just isn't strong enough. I believe the fault is with the poles that are used to put the bed together. They aren't sturdy at all. The bedding part seemed strong, but the poles couldn't bear the weight of my puppy getting in and out of the bed.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews

December 16, 2007
by Gorgi
fromPDX, OR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 13 reviews
My GSD destroyed it in week! :(
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Haven't had a problem.....

November 9, 2007
by woodrowsmom
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
I got this bed for my year old basset hound, Woodrow. Woodrow is not allowed to be in the house when I'm not home, so he stays outside during the day. I wanted him to have a bed on the deck, in addition to his dog house in the yard. I got this one mainly because it is raised up off the ground, so that during the winter it wouldn't be as cold.
Woodrow loves the bed! He weighs 55 lbs., so I got him the green one, which is the large. It's perfect for him.
I've read reviews that say that you have to tighten the screws every other day, and that the bed would not hold up. Well, we've had this for about 8 months now, and I haven't had to tighten the screws yet. The bed had held up wonderfully. I think it all hinges on you getting the right sized bed for your dog's weight.
I think this would be great for a situation in which a dog was left indoors in an x-pen or something of the sort. Because if the dog has an accident, then at least he is not sleeping in it.
Great product!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Petmate Durabed Dog Bed
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5 13 reviews
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Appearance 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5 13 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews