PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper

High quality, European-made clipper.
Overall rating:
4.907 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 40
43 of 43(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Review 1 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Great

March 15, 2014
by Abbymae
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a lab and now her nails are nothing to cut!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

buy these

March 7, 2014
by lovemyrotty
fromSt.Louis
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 43 reviews
We have a rottweiler that hates to have his paws touched. We tried to take to groomer to have cut and yeah that wasnt a good idea, he was having no part of it at all. Bought these since his nails are very thick. They work great, only have done 1 time so far but that was super easy except with black nails you cant see where the quick starts so you have to take little bites out of the nail at a time. They cut sharp and clean everytime!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Made the job so easy!

February 16, 2014
by Saltine
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I had purchased these clippers a few years ago when I had a Rotweiller with very hard nails - gave them away after he passed thinking I would never need them again. My current dog is a medium-sized pit bull mix and his nails are even harder than my rottie's were. I knew I had to order these clippers again - and they still work great! What I thought would be an ordeal I was not looking forward to turned out to be a a very pleasant, easy experience for both of us.
These clippers are the best - I will never use any other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 43 reviews

Works great.

February 15, 2014
by Chris8675
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
It arrived really late, not sure if it was due to the weather, but it works great. My 6 year old Basset Hound is a big baby when it comes to cutting his nails, but the product is sharp and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

very good nail clippers

February 12, 2014
by Zebbie
fromCreede,Co.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
I have a rottweiler/shepard mix whose nails grow very long, very fast. I've tried other nail clippers but have been very disappointed at their lack of performance. The Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clippers work very well, I would definitely recommend them,especially for big dogs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

excellent

February 4, 2014
by Kate12
fromSouthern Maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
I work in an animal hospital and we use these clippers. They hold up very well and last quite long given their workload. I use them at home on my own very large dogs (100lbs+) and have never had a problem. They may not look like the fanciest clippers on the market and are a bit more expensive than others, but they don't pinch your hands, your fingers, or the dog's pads. As for jagged edges- they can be easily shaped with a few more clips.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Great for tough, thick, black nails

February 3, 2014
by Sylmoo1
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
I get a clean, quick cut from these clippers.
Pros: gentle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

January 16, 2014
by Chelo
fromMargaretville, NY
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
Very good product. Definitely recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Nail Clippers

January 15, 2014
by DanielJ
fromFlorida
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
Our vet recommended these nail clippers and I was NOT disappointed. They work great - cut cleanly - and with little effort.
I would highly recommend these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

My vet uses them...

January 3, 2014
by Greythound
fromFairport, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
I haven’t used them yet—this review has been pushed—but I can’t and won’t disagree with him. I have a very large greyhound whose nails are thick, and the comparably smaller clippers can’t handle them. In general, Millers Forge products are outstanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 43 reviews

Work fine

December 26, 2013
by Karen97
fromNorthern Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 43 reviews
This is the second pair I have purchased. The first worked fine but eventually became dull so I got a new pair. Nothing super special about them, and this is the only kind I have used so I have nothing to compare them to, but they get the job done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

great big dog clipper

December 13, 2013
by MelVa
fromVa.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
I have a standard poodle and his nails are hard to cut until I tried these. Would recommend for large dogs.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Well made, worked great!

November 11, 2013
by JoAZ
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
This was my first time clipping my Boxer's nails myself and these were so easy to use. They felt sturdy and well made and cut the nails easily. Great price too and under what I paid to have her nails done each time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

FANTASTIC!

November 7, 2013
by PittyLove17
fromShepherdsville, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
We have one 90lb pitty mix and one 50lb APBT and the 90lb-er has huge thick nails. This was the only thing I thought would do the trick. Works amazingly! Not really any rough edges on the nails and very easy to squeeze (I have carpel tunnel). Awesome product. It's one I've seen used at the groomers so it's perfect.
Pros: gentle
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Great Clippers

October 29, 2013
by AJTIV
fromJacksovnille, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
I broke two other pairs before I bought these. Well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Not just for big dogs, work great

October 24, 2013
by Razor
fromCharlotte NC
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
Best I've personally ever used. My 18 year old dachshund agrees they're great for smaller dogs too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

great nail clippers!

October 22, 2013
by gwarren1
fromCrosby, ND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
My Beagle has very sensitive paws and these nail clippers did not bother her at all!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

October 20, 2013
by dogllama
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
The first dog nail clippers that I have bought that really cut nails and keep working !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 43 reviews

Money Saving Purchase!

February 5, 2013
by AnarchysKeeper
fromNorthwest Indiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 43 reviews
I just decided to muster up the courage to cut my 70 pound pit bull's nails. I have always been afraid of hurting her, and the fact that she hates her nails being touched only increases my anxiety. I don't want her to jerk and I cut the nail too short or even nick her skin. However, no matter how much she walks , runs, or plays on concrete her nails grow insanely fast and need to be clipped every two weeks. We were paying the groomer for nail trims but when it needs to be done every two weeks it gets expensive.
I order these clippers because of the reviews. I am a shop runner member so they did come in within the 2 days.
I don't know if it is because I expecting something that cuts through her thick nails like a hot knife through butter or what but I did have to apply a lot of pressure to get them to cut her nails.
I started yesterday and so far have trimmed 4 nails total..she is still afraid of the idea of her nails being trimmed but if I catch her while she's sleeping I can get one or two clipped before she wakes up which is helpful.
Overall I would say that they are good clippers. They arrived quickly, and while I had to use a lot of pressure there aren't any rough edges, so there is no filing needed.
Pros: gentle
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Millers Forge Big Dog Nail Clipper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews

Great!!

January 19, 2013
by Jessicca
fromFort Worth, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 43 reviews
Although my little dog doesn't like getting her nails trimmed, this is the perfect product! It has a nice, fresh "blade" to perfectly cut the nails. Definitely recommend! :)
Pros: gentle
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next