PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food

For dogs under 25 lbs. Ultra small breed adult is specially formulated for the sustained health and wellness of your small breed dog. Ultra small breed adult is guaranteed to provide healthier skin and a lustrous coat.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Review 1 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Ultra may be healthy but my dog stinks!

January 29, 2011
by mooftwins
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Our Mini Schnauzer has been on it for 3 years!! First, the puppy, and then the adult small breed version. He loves it and is happy w/ it. I'm positive it is very healthy for him and I have no regrets w/ him eating it during his "developmental years". HOWEVER, it really made him stink!
We've always tolerated his strong doggy odor and thought it there was nothing we could do about it. We thought it was just the breed or maybe just him! I was complaining about it at work one day to a group of people and they all told me it was probably his dog food. I went to Petsmart that night and talked w/ a sales clerk. She said her dog used to be on it too and he also stunk! She suggested Nutro venison w/ brown rice, and it really has made a difference.
I know that dogs have a different body chemistries, so perhaps your dog will do fine on it, but this was our experience. I'm thinking the problem has to do w/ Ultra having so much protein, but am not sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Maggie and Claudia loves this food!

October 16, 2010
by dogloverr
fromFt. Worth, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been feeding this to my little terrier for about a year now, and she loves it. I will put canned food out for my older dog, and even some canned food for Maggie, but she dives right into her bowl of Ultra. I have even put a small amount into a bowl with just enough water to soften the Ultra for my senior dog (she has very few teeth) and she eats it right away. I can say I have tried other dry dog food and never had any luck with my dogs eating it. They seem to love Ultra, and if they love it, I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

August 25, 2010
by tclark
fromMeraux, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog just turned one this weekend. She was eating the nutro max puppy food. When I gave her this new food she ate it all up. She loves her new food and it is good for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Picky chihuahua

August 14, 2010
by Annamarie
fromPearland, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
As excited as I was to get this food for my 3 year old chihuahua I was completely let down. He refuses to eat this and continues to go back to the nasty kibbles and bits food. I don't get why?! It is such a terrible food for him but his previous owners had him eat that the past 3 years. I am hoping he will change his mind and want this food because I don't know what I am going to do with a full bag of this stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Chihuahua Loves It!!!

June 22, 2009
by TitoMobile
fromLandover, MD
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
We have a 1.5 year old chihuahua that was previously eating Beneful. I went to Petsmart asking some questions about various food brands and the young lady that worked there gave me a sample of this food. I gave my dog a few pieces each day and he loved it!! We switched his food the next week and he eats all of it at one time. We even mix it with the Ultra wet food from time to time and he loves that as well. Sometimes he even begs for more. His coat is very shiny and his stool is firm...
Pros: shiny coat, reasonable price, all natural
Cons: can make breath smell undesireable
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great for a picky pom!

June 11, 2009
by Anonymous
fromPittsburgh, PA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I rescued a 6 month old pomeranian puppy about 2 months ago. While she was at the shelter, was fed very inconsistently. After bringing her home, we tried feeding her a top line super market brand food, but she was not interested in it at all. I picked the Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog food not only because other reviewers said it was good for picky eaters (which it is), but also because the kibbles are small for little mouths. The other food has gigantic kibbles which deterred my little pom. I strongly recommend this brand because it keeps my dog's fluffly white coat looking full, shiny, and beautiful.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great Product!

June 6, 2009
by JenChihuahuamom
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I switched to this food after my chihuahua started exhibiting a dislike for his previous food, and stopped eating. He loves this food, i have never seen him eat it all at once before. He still picks but mostly he gets excited. Not only are the ingredients natural, my vet is pleased with his health, and he is really healthy and it even makes his coat shine even more. I would recommend this to anyone with a small dog.
Pros: natural ingrediants, small size-easy to chew
Cons: expensive-but worth the quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

My Picky Dog Loves This

January 1, 2009
by hollij76
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this food for my two small dogs. My chihuahua is a very picky eater. I have a hard time keeping weight on him. After doing much research, I decided to switch him to this food. I was totally suprised that he started eating it right away! (Something he's never done before!) My shih tzu on the other hand isn't too fond of it. She will eat it, but she's taking her time. It's only been a few days, but I'm confident that she will start eating it like her brother. Oh, and another thing- my chi's stools are much more firm and compact now. After just a few days! I am very happy with this product. (Also, the price is less if you buy it in the store rather than online.)
Pros: quality ingredients
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great food, even for a picky dog!

April 24, 2008
by BostonOwner
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I have a boston that has allergy and sensitive stomach issues. I tried the Blue Buffalo food first because I read such good reviews on it and my dog would not touch it! So I went back to Petsmart and exchanged that bag for a bag of this food..... Needless to say we love it!! My dog loves to eat it, and I love that he doesn't have any allergy or stomach problems with it! I have actually had comments on how nice and shiny his coat is now that he is on this food!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

My dog loves this stuff!

March 17, 2008
by yoshina
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
My yorkie's a finicky eater and gotten tired of three brands of dog food after eating it for 1-2 months. A salesperson told me to try this brand, and after 5 months he hasn't gotten tired of it yet. He eats constantly nowadays and even brings his food bowl to me when it's empty.
One thing I noticed though that the price online is much higher than what you can get if you go to the store yourself, and they are only offering one size. I hope they add up to the 16lb bags and lower the price online.
I rated the food itself and not based it on petsmart's price or else I'd have given it a lower rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Nutro Ultra small breed

October 2, 2007
by RoxnMel
fromThib. La
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've been using this brand since my dogs stop eating Iams.
They are doing very well on it.
I have one shih tzu that needs to be on the weight management one and it has helped her to loose alittle weight and become more active.
I recomend this brand to anyone.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nutro Ultra Small Breed Dog Food
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product