PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food

Dog food specifically for adult and mature Chihuahuas over 8 months of age.
Overall rating:
4.955 / 5
5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
22 of 22(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Review 1 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

My Dog Loves It

November 14, 2006
by ValentinesMom
fromSpring Lake, NJ
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
When I was transitioning my dog from dry puppy food to this formula by mixing the two together, I immediately noticed that she consistently picked out the Royal Canin kibble to eat first. She loves it. You will see that the kibble has a much more appealing appearance than other dry foods and has a mellow odor; not overpowering. It helps keep her teeth clean and her coat shiny. No problem with her weight. I do notice also that her stools have less odor when she eats this food. I buy the largest bag I can get and divide and vacuum seal the food into a few smaller-sized bags to keep it fresh, since my small chihuahua eats less than one-half cup daily. Both the vet and vet dentist are pleased with my dog's status, so I will continue to use this product, and highly recommend it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

November 6, 2006
by SUKEY
fromSummer Shade, KY
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have 3 very picky dogs that love this formula. Their coat is much softer and the skin problems have gone away. I have a 14 year old mixed breed dog that I put on it too. She used to have a weight problem that nothing seemed to help until I put her on this food. Her weight has dropped to a normal range. People that have not seen her in a while always ask if she is the same dog. Her transfermation is amazing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Great

December 22, 2011
by ChefBleu
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I've been feeding this food to my puppy chi for about 3 weeks, its a little pricey but he loves it. My only complaint is that it makes his breath smell really bad.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price, smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Best Dog Food

January 11, 2011
by baylee1
fromMadison, Georgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a long hair chihuahua and I went many months trying all dog foods I could find that she would eat, but with no success. I finally went to petsmart which the closet one to me is over an hour away. I found a young man (I wish I could remember his name but he worked at the Conyers, Ga store) He showed me this royal canin and guaranteed my dog would eat it. I have to admiot I had my doubts but to my surprised she loved it. She will not eat anything else no matter how hungry she gets. What is also so great about petsmart is that I was told if she did not eat the food I could bring it back for a refund. I was totally blown away about that. I had spend literally hundreds of dollars on foods she would not eat. Now my problem is saved. So I use petsmart for all my pets needs no matter how far I have to travel.
If you have a problem with your pet eo not be like me check petsmart first!!! Love my petsmart...so does my pet!
Pros: you can find all your pet needs here, a long way from me but worth the drive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

BABY'S FAV DRY FOOD

September 28, 2010
by GRANDPALARRY
fromPhx, Az.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
This the only dry food my 15 month old chiuahua will eat, but i do have to mix with wet food. a 50/50 mix.
i do recomend getting the 10lb bag, much cheaper than the 2.5 lb in the long run.
Pros: size zip lock bag
Cons: cost
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Silas loves it!

September 18, 2009
by Maggie123
fromSan Francisco, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
My dog Silas is very picky about his food; he didn't like the last dry food we fed him; so we bought him this :). Would I recommend this? Yes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

I Was Amazed!

March 6, 2009
by Blitz
fromSacramento
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
My Chi has never ate her food in one sitting... When i bought this home, she immediatly ditched her other food..
Im very immpressed
Pros: it made her coat shiny
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

February 12, 2009
by wonwithnoname
fromst. paul, mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
This brand is excellent but my dog has been in the MINI Chihuahua 28 for the past 5 or 6 months. He has gotten pretty skinny. I've been feeding him more than the recommend amount but he eats when he wants. I'm thinking about putting back on the puppy because it has more fat in it.
Pros: long haired coat looks good
Cons: he's lost weight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

She eating dog food!!!

January 7, 2009
by loveydovey91
fromCentral Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
A year ago we "inherited" a toy chihuahua. She came from a home where they were unable to properly care or feed her so she ate whatever children ate (fries, cheeseburgers...etc). When she came to live with us we tried everything...dry dog food, moist, even making real food for her. She'd eat something for a day or two then grow tired of it and refused to eat. One day I took her to visit a friend and saw that she was nibbling on Kibbles N Bits that they had for their dog. On my way home I bought some and my little chihuahua ate some for a few days. Then I found this food from Royal Canin and started mixing it with her Kibbles N Bits. At first she would eat the Kibbles N Bits before the Royal Canin. But now it's been two weeks and I am noticing that she is eating the Royal Canin BEFORE touching her Kibbles N Bits. I'm so happy that she is finally eating dog food...and eating it daily. Hearing her munching away is like music to my ears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

My dog loves it!

June 25, 2008
by bwg4
fromMontgomery, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
My Chihuahua has been eating this for several years and this is the only adult dry food he will eat. He ate another brand of puppy bites as a puppy, but refused to eat any adult variety when he got out of the puppy stage. I am so glad I found this because I know it is not only good for him, but it obviously tastes great to him. The food itself is the perfect size for his small mouth and a large bag (around $24) lasts several months plus. He and I both highly reccomend this to other Chis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

My Chihuahuas Love It!

June 19, 2008
by LizzyC
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I am so happy to have found Royal Canin Chihuahua Dry Food after trying out at least three other food brands. My 2 dogs would always start out really liking the other brands, but after 3 or 4 weeks, it was difficult to keep them enthused and eating. They have now been on this brand for about a year and still come running when its mealtime! I also like the fact that the food is nice and small - as it should be for small dogs. (Some foods say they're geared toward small dogs, but the bite sizes are rather large.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Best food for sensitive dogs

June 3, 2008
by Kate55
fromLinda, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have a three year old chihuahua who has allergies to certain foods. We tried several brands but still had problems. When I got her she had bald spots in her hair and she kept breaking out in hives from the food she was eating. I talked to an employee of Petsmart about how she was doing and that the vet said it was a food allergy. She showed me the Royal Canin mini chihuahua dog food, and I tried that on her. She has done wonderfully, her hair came back in and she has no more hives unless she eats something other than the Royal Canin dog food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Coco LOVES it!!!!!! :)

March 25, 2008
by CocoTHEChihuahua
fromSaskatchewan, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
My baby Coco loves the Royal Canin Chihuahua formula. He is pretty picky on what food he gets. We tried him on another brand when we first got him but he would just eat a few kibbles a day. We switched to Royal Canin and we won't give him anything else. What a difference. He LOVES this food. High quality food for a champion puppy. :)
I stock up on food whenever I go to PetSmart cause I don't have one nearby me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

This food literally saved me...

March 12, 2008
by thisstuffisgreat
frommonmouth county, nj
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I was going crazy trying to get my Chihuahua who came from a home where she was fed human food to eat any dog food. I tried all the natural and organics, I tried wet I tried dry. I tried gravy, I tried stew. NOTHING-she would sniff and just seemed to know it was dog food.
I gave her this and she literally inhaled it. I could not believe it. It is truly a lifesaver for me b/c it was very frustrating wondering if she was eating enough or not before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Finally, a food he will eat.

March 4, 2008
by MojosDaddy
fromLong Lane, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have had my puppy for almost three weeks and was getting concerned that he was barely eating. When I got him he was on another food that I would never feed him by choice, plus he didn't really seem to like it. I went through five other foods, some of which were natural or breed specific before someone mentioned Royal Canin. I had never heard of them before. I took back the food I was trying to get him to eat (he would only eat it with soft food put over the top of it) and picked up a 10lb bag of this. What a relief! Not only does he eat now, he eats all of what he is given and wants more. He really loves this food. It is a little more expensive than others, but it is breed specific and he is happy and starting to put on some needed weight. I see no reason to try anything else. A+
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

My chi loves it!

January 24, 2008
by AnaM
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 11 months old female chihuahua and she absolutely loves this dog food, she is very picky, and was used to eat human food, until I got her like 2 months ago, and started eating Royal canin for mini dogs, but didn't liked it that much, then I switched to Chihuahua Royal canin and she actually finish her bowl, I am still trying to make her gain weight, but she is doing great with this food, defenitly makes the diference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Royal Canin Chi

October 7, 2007
by ChelsChi
fromCentral MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have 3 dogs, my chihuahua and chi mix both love this food! They have been picky with other dry foods in the past but they gobble this one up. I even have to hide the bag since my chihuahua will try to rip it open! I am pleased with the healthy ingredients and the way my dogs love this food- if you have a picky chi try RC Chihuahua and you'll never have to fight to get them to eat a meal again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Best there is for a Chihuahua

August 14, 2007
by Coppergirl
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I tried everything out there for my fussy Chi She'd turn her nose up to all of it She only liked table food and then my vet recommended Royal Canin and she eats it Her coat has greatly improved, she's lost weight and is now a happy & feisty baby!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

awesome awesome just right out awesome

August 2, 2007
by mp53183
fromga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I have a taco terrior 3/4 chiuahua 1/4 toy fox terrior anyways and she has a really sensitive tummy and is extra picky.... She thre up every time she ate.....Well I got this and mixed it with some eukanaba pup wet puppy food and she gobbled it right up no sickness and an hour later wanted more so I am so psyched at this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Royal Canin Chihuahua 28 Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

Royal Canin Chichuhua Food

August 2, 2007
by Betty32
fromDetroit, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Peanut loved the Royal Canin Chichuhua food. As soon as I put it in his bowl, he ate every bite he had and wanted more! Peanut has never liked any other brand as well as he liked this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next