PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food

Additive free vegetarian formula for meat sensitive dogs.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Review 1 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

2 HAPPYDOXIES

July 19, 2012
by KOKOsMom
fromLas Vegas, Nv
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I adopted Kokopelli 3 years ago and he had problems with almost all the food I gave him. He had big red hives on his belly, lost some hair, itching and so on. I tried all kinds of food and finally went to Natural Balance but the cost just got to be too much. I had adopted another Doxie and although she doesn't have allergies I have to feed the same as Koko. So now they are both on Natures Recipe Vegetarian and so far doing great. She was a picky eater but she went right for this food and eats all of it. Their coats are beautiful and Koko used to be kind of prickly like a sos pad but now he is very soft also. They have lots of energy, he didn't use to but now he runs and plays like she does. They are now both about 11 and not slowing down. The only thing I don't like about the food is the fact it has Canola oil in it and that is not good. There is no such thing as a Canola seed and this oil is made from rapeseed which is not good for anyone or animal. The word Canola was made up from Canada and oil which is where the Canola oil comes from. I would prefer it not to be in there. They use it because it's the cheapest thing they can get. I'd rather pay a dollar or so more and not have this oil. I'm now on the hunt to find something to replace this that works as good as this does.
Pros: digestible, taste, price
Cons: low quality
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

My dog loves it, and vet says he's healthy!

February 21, 2012
by Veggiegrrrl
fromToledo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog is now five, and for the first several years of his life I struggled to find a dry food he would eat. Even though I personally am vegan, I thought he would prefer meat based food and let me tell you, I tried them all! He'd eat a few bites when he was starving, but that's it, and he was a bit underweight. I finally tried this, and not only did he LIKE it, but he's in perfect health. Recently, a trainer we work with guilt tripped me about the food, saying dogs want meat. So the search began again. I found one he'd tolerate, but since being back on the meat based food, he has TERRIBLE, room-clearing gas, and his skin is constantly itchy. I'm certain it's the food, and so I'm switching him back to this. I like that it doesn't contain corn, too.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great Product for Great Price

November 8, 2011
by shootforthemoon
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was looking for a good quality dog food for a price I could afford. I've purchased both Nutro and Wellness in the past. My dog had food allergies with Nutro and I found Wellness too expensive to keep buying (even though I have a small dog). My dog loves this food and I find the price reasonable. I'd recommend this dog food to someone who isn't looking for cheap quality, but also doesn't want to break the bank to feed his/her dog.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Nature's Recipe Vegetarian

August 19, 2011
by MomofJack
fromKannapolis, NC
Great product. My Jack Russell has stopped scratching and his hair is so soft now....
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

vegan dogs

January 11, 2011
by Chipp
fromStockton, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My vet suggested this food as an alternative to meat. My dog tried it and his allergies got better but he also became very lethargic and had alot of gas. I've put him on a grain free venison based diet and hes doing much better no gas or allergies.
Cons: dogs need meat, didn't help, causes gas, poor quality amino acids, veges aren't for dogs
-16points
2of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Worry-Free

November 1, 2010
by MsDukes
fromMiami
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This dog food is the best! I have a pure breed Bichon and he loves this food. I've tried many other dry feeds and he would almost always vomit afterward. Oddly enough I was told to keep him away from liver which made me search for a feed with no liver in it< IMPOSSIBLE! until I found this brand. To sum it up, my doggy no longer has tear stains, plenty of energy now that he isn't vomiting, and a happy Vegan mama who didn't want meat in the home in the first place. :)
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

I am very grateful for this food!

June 24, 2010
by LoveMyPup
fromTell City, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
My Beagle mix came to me with a severe skin infection. The shelter's vet-of-choice gave us a medicated shampoo, but we soon discovered the root of the problem: a chicken allergy.
I'm vegan myself and have spent a lot of time in libraries, reading up on canine nutrition and the possibility of feeding a vegetarian diet. Contrary to expectations, a majority of nutrition experts seem to be a-okay with well-balanced vegetarian feeding.
At the time, I lived with three dogs: the new, allergic arrival, my then 2-year-old Australian Cattle Dog mix, and my mom's 15-year-old Lab mix (RIP). I was already feeding the Cattle Dog mix Natural Balance Vegetarian with excellent results. My mother was supplying chicken-based food, which I initially fed to both her dog and the allergic Beagle mix. I began feeding the allergic dog vegetarian kibble, and her skin cleared up right away. She's been flawless ever since. :)
Upon relocating, I could no longer find large bags of Natural Balance. That's when I began buying Nature's Recipe. My dogs took to it right away and have had no allergic reactions. The price is consistently very affordable (right in line with the more affordable premium brands). We are very happy!
Pros: dogs love it, great for dogs with allergies, vegetarian/no animal by-products, consistently affordable
Cons: smells a bit like garlic
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

April 27, 2010
by DoxiesMom
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have been using the Lamb flavor of Nature's Recipe, but Iam a vegetarian and I wanted to get my two dachshund's vegetarian food. They LOVE this food! It doesn't smell too good to me, but there must be something in it the dogs like. My dogs have never sat down and ate their whole bowl of food before, but with this kind they won't stop eating! I also can't keep my roommates dog out of their bowl. I would definitely recomment this brand/flavor to others!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great for allergies and itchy skin

April 13, 2010
by BamnKnotsMom
fromPearland, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 11 yr old pit had hot spots and would chew on his feet and legs due to allergies and unknown. I tried natural sprays and that would help him stop "licking his wounds" for a while but he was still miserable. I took him to the vet AGAIN and she put him on antibiotics, steroids and antifungal medicine for 6 weeks. She also suggested trying this vegetarian food to see if that would help with the allergies. We have been using this food for almost 6 months and no more sores, no more itchy feet and his fur is growing back on his legs. My other pet is a 6 yr old Lab/Chow mix and he LOVES it. His coat is shinier and he is shedding less. I have stopped buying regular food for the lab and both are eathing this and I have seen an improvement in both. I even have the vegetarian treats but they are really too small for large dogs - wish they made them in a bigger size for large breeds. Overall I think this food is great and my "boys" like it too!
Pros: great for skin allergies
Cons: little more expensive than regualar food
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

The most wonderful dog food ever!!!!!!

March 26, 2010
by Tomeka
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have tried so many different high price dog foods. I bought this dog food on 3/4/2010. In 2 weeks i saw a major difference No more scratching, no more shedding (my bully shedded alot then). no more skooting on the floor on their butts, no more yeast in ears. Nature receipe is amazing. I gave my english bully a bath last week and before this dog food i would have a tub full of hair. This time i had not one string of hair in the tub it was unbelieveable. I was so excited. I had to call my son and tell him. I live by this food THANK YOU natures receipe you have a customer for life. My bully loves it.
Pros: love it!!!!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula

June 24, 2009
by Anonymous
fromEunice<Louisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I am on my first bag and I can already see a differance in my Yorkies coat and they have all gained weight. Some had allergy problems and they have already improved. This is a great product. I urge anyone with pets to give this a try. I have been raising yorkies for 15 years and this is the best I have ever used.
Pros: they love it and its good for them
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Finally--we found the solution!

April 22, 2009
by ginny2
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Our 6-yr. old Jack Russell has had maxiumum itching problems since she was little. We have had her in and out of the Vet for Steroid shots, tried a multitude of creams and shampoos, and tried another brand's Lamb and Rice. I read some online comments and decided to go totally vegetarian after her last round of itching, redness, gnawing, and discomfort. She has had nothing but a combo of the vegetarian dry and wet for 2 months now. NO red rashes, no intense itching, and no trips needed to the vet. Along with that, her coat is getting more shiny, and she is barely shedding any more. Be PATIENT--it took a month to rid her system, and don't cheat with other treats, etc. We love seeing our little girl so comfortable and happy. She's not as excited to eat it as some foods, but it works for her!
Pros: no more red patches/itching, less shedding, shiny coat, reasonable price
Cons: smell and taste not as exciting for dog
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great

April 9, 2009
by bluethunder
fromsimpsonville, sc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Two of my six dogs would scratch and bite non stop. I took both of them to the vet and he put them on steroids. It helped a lot but I did not want to keep them on steroids their whole life. I found that tegrin med shampoo helped for a short time. I had heard that a lot of the "stuff" they put in dog food would cause it. I looked on petsmarts site and found this food. I like it because it is meatless. I think a lot of the "stuff" they feed cattle and other animals is not good for us so I wanted to try this. It was like I turned off a switch. No more scratching. It is great. The best part is they love it. Hope this helps somebody elses pet.
Pros: no more scratching, they like it
Cons: high price
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

The love it - it loves them!

January 23, 2008
by Zanna
fromWA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The "Great dog food" search is over! So glad that there is a dog food that is good for them - they love it and its a great price too which I appreciate. One bag lasts us a month or so.
We have 3 dogs ages 16 (almost 17), 9 and 2. American Eskimo and 2 Austrailian Shepard mixes. They all do great on it. Healthy, active, the 16 year old (the white dog) is the most active senior dog I've seen, she out runs the others and most people think shes age 6 or 7. Their coats are shiny and they don't get upset stomachs with this food. They don't itch like they did on other brands.
I have tried many brands through the years and this is the best I have found. Check the ingrediants - you will be happily surprised at what you find. All natural, no wheat, corn, beef, dairy or added sugar. No soy even! Nice.....
Thank you Nature's Recipe!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Recipe Vegetarian Canine Formula Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great Product

November 14, 2006
by Ratmum
fromTexas
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I love this dog food I add it to my food mix for my rats (yes rats) and they just gobble it up. I've been using this dog food for a few years now and don't intend to stop :)
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.