PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula

Reduced fat formula with hairball relief.
Overall rating:
4.557 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(194 reviews) 191
30 of 35(86%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Review 1 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

Quality Cat Food

February 2, 2013
by JL13
fromCleveland, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've fed my cats Iams for their entire lives. First the kitty formula, and since then (going on 10 years) I've given them the weight control and hairball formula. They love it and they are happy and healthy. And no hairballs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

Good quality, long time buyer

January 3, 2013
by kimskitties
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My cats have been eating Iams for years and tolerate it better than any other brand. I have one finicky cat who doesn't like to eat hairball laxative stuff, so it's been helpful to have this type of food. The kibbles are small enough to swallow for one cat (whose had a few teeth pulled) & has considerably cut down on the hairballs thrown up from my other cat. It's become a much more rare occasion of hairballs coughed up around the house since I've switched them to this cat food. My cats are happy and I'm happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

great low-protein choice

January 3, 2013
by Paiged
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 4 indoor cats, one of which is long haired and another has chronic kidney problems and needs to be on a low-protein food. I switched over to this brand of Iams since there's no way I can provide different types of feed to each cat and can't afford to feed all 4 on the special low-protein food that's only available from the vet. This has the lowest protein content of any readily-available dry cat food, and I could tell a difference in the special needs cat a few days after switching everyone over. It has also helped tremendously with hairballs not only from the long haired cat but all of them combined. I will never switch my guys off this food-- both my cats and my wallet love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 194 reviews

My kitty loooves this food!

March 16, 2012
by SFGiantsLover
fromSF Bay Area, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My cat is 3 years old and we struggled for a long time to find good dry cat food that she actually wanted to eat. She's had a lot of eye problems and has been on lots of medications and even through surgery and sometimes she just didn't want to eat or couldn't keep her food down. This is the only cat food that we've found that she ALWAYS wants to eat! She's a little bit chubby now though, so we've been following the package instructions and giving her 3/4 cup a day but I'm not convinced that she's actually losing weight, I think she's just maintaining it, so might have to give her a little less. But the positives are that she loves this food and her coat is soooo soft! This is the only food that I'll give my cat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 194 reviews

Good for Sensitive Cats

January 16, 2012
by XenophonJones
fromQueens, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cat had long-running problems with diarrhea that the doctor couldn't effectively diagnose. So, I tried switching foods a couple times. After trying Royal Canin Sensitive formula and finding no success, we noticed after returning from a visit at my mom's house that our cat's movements looked much more solid and that she wasn't signaling digestive pain so much. My mom feeds this to her chubby cats in the vain attempt to control their weight (she has four, so she doesn't even try to feed them on a schedule - just leaves food out all day). Sure enough, we switched to this food at home and, while her movements still can be a touch on the soft side, they've not been flat-out runny, she has fewer accidents outside the box, and we haven't heard her cry from digestive pain, all of which used to happen with some regularity. I think she finds the taste a bit bland (at least it looks bland to me and she doesn't seem to get as excited about eating it as she did her old food). But her digestive issues have definitely improved.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 194 reviews

Great Staple -- Use Less for Weight Loss!

October 24, 2011
by Fusibird
fromDecatur, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
One of our cats is pretty finicky, while the other is a snarfbeast. Both eat this product without any prompting.
It does a great job eliminating hairballs in our cat with a short coat. For many long haired cats, this will reduce the amount of other care that you need to provide (additional hairball medications), but does not completely replace necessities like proper grooming.
PS: For cats weighing 16 pounds, the label says to feed 1 cup per day for weight loss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 194 reviews

Beware of Portion Sizes

July 12, 2011
by Gyoza
fromFolsom, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have four cats. One needs sensitive food and one needs weight control. I tried giving this food to the cat with the sensitive tummy because another review on here said this worked her cats with food sensitivities and she threw it up so we don't give it to her anymore.
We were giving our chubby cat 1/2 cup of the Authority sensitive food to him and unlike the other three, his weight just kept climbing. He reached 16.8 lbs before we decided to put him on diet food.
The packaging for the Authority says the portion for a 10lb cat should be about 3/4 cup. Ours was gaining weight at 1/2 cup. This Iams brand says if your cat weighs 16lbs, you need to feed it 1 1/4 cup a day if you want it to lose weight. So we followed the label and fed him the 1 1/4 cup a day.
Our poor baby gained a whole pound in a week! We immediately cut his portion down to half of what the label suggests. He's now eating 3/4 cup of the Iams brand.
We've had him on this brand for a month now and we're still not sure if it works like everyone says it does because of this portion issue we had. If it helps to cut down the portion size I'll come back and review it again. Just be aware that these suggested portions may be too much.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

Works great for hairball control

April 7, 2011
by leela9261
fromAnn Arbor, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have tried many chews and gels for hairball control but they did not work for my 13-year old siamese mix. I added this as part of her daily dry food and it works! In addition, my cat really likes it, which may have something to do with why it works so well for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

All my cats eat!

April 6, 2011
by Shastababy
fromNE Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My two furbabies have been Iams cats since they were brought home at 7 weeks of age. My vet at Banfield recommended it and that's all I've ever fed them.
When they got fixed, they put on the weight as they are strictly indoor cats. I switched them from regular adult Iams to this and they lost several pounds each. They are now 4 years old and weigh 22 and 22.8 pounds respectively and the vet says they are in perfect health. They have never had hairballs and they are both active cats.
I would recommend this line of food to anyone who wants to have happy, healthy cats.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

Both of my cats love it!

September 25, 2010
by AnnBanana
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
When we got our two cats a little more than 2 years ago, their veterinarian told us they were obese and morbidly obese. One cat weighed 15 lbs and her "sister" weighed 21 lbs. The vet recommended this dry cat food for them. Before Iams, they ate some version of Korean pet food and they always had food out. That same year, they both dropped a lot of weight. Now we have healthy, happy pets weighing 10 and 15 lbs. They're also more active now than they were as fatties. This cat food is amazing and will help your cat lose weight. I'm not sure if the hairball part of the cat food works. I have yet to see one of our cats cough up a hairball. Who knows, maybe there's a pile of hairballs in the basement ;)
Pros: helps cat lose weight, cats like it, healthy alternative to other cat foods, veternarian recommended
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 194 reviews

Consistent

August 2, 2010
by catandhamsterlover
fromDundas, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 194 reviews
My cat has always eaten dry food. My family has been using this product for 4 years and my cat always eats it. I think it may be a little boring but it is consistent. As long as my cat eats I'm happy.
Pros: my cat always eats his food
Cons: boring
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

Fat Cat no more!

December 8, 2009
by TonysMama
fromMelbourne, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My 4 year old Russian Blue was getting a bit of a paunch, this IAMS food brought him from 17lbs to 11 so far and he LOVES it! As soon as his dish is empty he's rubbing on me for more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

They love it!

July 19, 2008
by Courtz27
fromGaithersburg, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews
Whenever I bring a bag of this home, I have to be sure to put it straight away in the cabinet because Princess has been known to tear open the package and eat the food! She loves this stuff! I switched her to Pro Plan thinking it would be better for her but she would only eat enough not to starve. I brought home Iams again and she tears up her meals!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

awesome cat food!

November 6, 2007
by TigTig
fromMariposa,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews
This cat food really does work! My cat has a lot less hairballs and has taken off the weight he had gained after becoming an indoor cat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

Good for longhaired cats

October 5, 2007
by shoopkitten
fromLawrenceville, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews
I have 2 cats. One is short hair and one is medium hair. Before starting the medium hair on this food he had about 2 hairballs a month. Now he has not had a hairball in over a year. The short hair has been on this food since she got off kitten food. She is fat but i know it'd be tons worse on a non diet food. She has also never had a hairball.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 194 reviews

A Good Cat Food

August 12, 2007
by chocolaterabbit101
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 194 reviews
Ever since our cat, Buttercup, became overweight we have bought this food. Though we know she would prefer a diffrent brand of cat food we continue to buy this brand because we know that it will keep her in good shape while controlling her hairballs. We would suggest this food to any cat owner with an overwight cat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

Best tasting lowfat catfood

February 18, 2007
by winky
fromChicago
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews
I have tried two other healthier weight loss catfoods before I came upon this. My cat loves it!!!!! I want to also try the wet catfood in cans(blue cans for weight control). My cat is twice the size she should be and hopefully this catfood will help trim her down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews

My cats (4) love Iams!

January 29, 2007
by Reedlette
fromHouston, TX
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews
My cats love this indoor cat/weight control/hairball care Iams cat food. And it's good for them, too. They just love meal time and they eat it up as quickly as I can pour it. I've been using different stages of Iams since my oldest cat was born, and he's now 15 years old and very healthy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight & Hairball Care Formula
Based on the average of (176) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5 194 reviews
12 out of 17 recommend this product
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 194 reviews