PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula

Innovative nutrition that can help reduce the formation of hairballs. Now with Prebiotics to support strong defenses.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 12
13 of 16(81%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Review 1 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

January 12, 2013
by curlymama
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Maine Coon cat had problems with hairballs before I started using Iams hairball control formula. Now, no problems! She loves the taste too. I am confident that she is getting all the nutrition she needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Best We've ever had!!

November 11, 2012
by EmilyandRussell
fromHaverhill, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We got our cat from the shelter and wasn't sure what to get. Our previous cat would throw up, so we tried the hairball care and it worked. Our new cat hasn't got sick ONCE! She loves the food and always its every last bite. TOTALLY Satisfied!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

easy to find and tolerate, but not ideal food

September 3, 2012
by Maggy9
fromKilleen, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had fed this product to my pet cats for 5+ years. As they've gotten older and I've gotten more concerned about keeping them in good shape, I've had to stop using this food to feed them. My reasoning: IBS has become a potential concern and I'm trying to keep my boys from coming down with it. Cats are CARNIVORES. This product uses wheat and corn meal, something a cat wouldn't normally eat in the wild.
Now, don't get me wrong! Kitties can and do live well on this food. It's not a "bad" food, but it's not one of the ones I would consider "good," either.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

What a relief!

August 11, 2009
by Springloaded
fromBurlington, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My cat was hacking on hairballs several times a day, especially if she was startled, excited, or afraid. I took her to the vet, expecting to have to do something drastic, but she suggested Iams hairball formula. I initially tried a cheaper brand without success, so I went ahead and shelled out the bucks for Iams. Within a week, my cat was down to one hairball a week. Now she does that awful hacking thing about once every 2-3 weeks. Now that I've found a food my cats will eat and that does the job, I'm not looking around for anything cheaper!
Pros: works and cats like it.
Cons: more expensive than many brands
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Major improvement

March 9, 2009
by sheena555
fromThibodaux, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
My cat use to throws up hairballs about 3 times a week on his old food. Now with Iams hairball care he only throws up once every 2-3 weeks. Major improvements for my little baby!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

still throws up undigested food and/or hairballs

July 18, 2008
by Anonymous
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
After I switched from regular to hairball, my male adult still throws up undigested food and/or hairballs once or twice a week.
I've kept feeding him the hairball formula thinking it might take time to get used to new food but it's been at least a year.
I'm going to try the digestive food to see if it's better for his stomach.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Finally found one

June 23, 2008
by 22657
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I was feeding my cat what I thought was a good food, but she was still having hairball issues daily and was a bit skinny. I started feeding her Iams Hairball care and she is doing great. She has not had the hairball issues in about 2 weeks and is able to keep her food in her, not on the kitchen floor!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Made hairballs WORSE

May 18, 2008
by KittyLvr
fromNashville, TN
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I always give my cat Iams dry food and I gave the hairball formula a try since she would vomit every 2 weeks or so. I got a 7 lb bag for one cat which lasted for months. At first there was no change, hairballs every other week as usual. Then is started getting worse, hairballs were showing up every few days. I decided to switch to the natural chicken formula instead and gave the rest of the hairball formula to some stray outdoor cats.
Bottom line is it doesn't work at all. If you have a long haired cat with hairball issues try something else.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Iams Proactive Health Hairball Care Formula
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
8 out of 8 recommend this product