PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food

Iams Original provides complete and balanced nutrition for adult cats. Now with Prebiotics to support strong defenses.
Overall rating:
4.361 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 32
28 of 35(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Review 1 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews

June 18, 2013
by DebsNash
fromNashville, TN
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews
I started my cat on Iams the moment I got him, and he's been on it for about a year and a half. He seems to enjoy the flavor (and I also have him on their wet food). He has overall good health, but I've noticed in the last few months that his coat has gotten very dandruffy. I wouldn't say it's low quality, but is probably missing some fatty acids.
Pros: digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

My cat loves Iams

February 3, 2013
by smokejoe
fromLufkin, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My indoor cat has been eating nothing but Iams for over twelve years. He is healthy, active and maintains a normal weight. In my opinion it is a great food.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews

Cat hated it

September 17, 2011
by Benji
fromSpring Lake, NC
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Well, when it comes to cat food available at most grocery stores (which is pretty much all I have around here... so now, I buy in bulk at PetSmart), Iams is the best you can do. I used to feed it regularly to my dogs and decided I'd try my cat on it, too because they did at least decent on it. Well, my cat didn't touch it. He wanted nothing to do with it. He'd sniff at it and then walk away. I tried gradually switching him to it, I tried using toppers. Nothing could make him eat Iams. I tried all the different varieties. He would not touch it. Iams isn't the best product on the market, but it isn't the worst, either. If you don't have access to better brands, I recommend it. The ingredients could be better, though. And my cat seems to agree on that.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

March 2, 2011
by PinkMolly
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've been feeding this brand to my cats since I was a child and they've always loved it! My eldest cat lived to a good age on this food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Food For My Cat

November 18, 2010
by DustyJuarez101
fromWoodinville, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
I have a cat named Ralphie (Ralph) who eats his food in the garage because he's an outdoor cat. I gave his pet satisfaction 4 stars because he pays more attention to his wet food. But sometimes I see him eating it. I would only recommend this to a non-picky cat.
Pros: cats will always eat it
Cons: cats won't always eat it
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

OUR KITTIES LOVE IT!!!

May 19, 2010
by AZLBRAX
fromNorth Central Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We run a cat-rescue mission that we finance ourselves and we have a LOT of kitties of all ages, sizes and levels of health. Without exception, all of our kitties LOVE the 'Iams' orange. They don't like all 'Iams' flavors (the blue being the least-liked!) but everyone crowds around the dishes when I serve the orange. Plus, this particular flavor is approved by our feline-exclusive vets...and no: they don't sell it. Another "plus" is that the 'Iams' is very filling so our kitties don't eat as much of it as the cheaper brands...which, actually, makes it more cost-effective! Plus, it's healthier for indoor, less-active cats.
Pros: they all love it.
Cons: it smells kinda funky
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

4/5

March 27, 2010
by KytW
fromNE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews
Most of my cats enjoyed it, but I had a little bit of a problem with some of the cats not liking the flavor at first. One fo the cats rejected it until after licking a piece all over the floor to make his decision. Not a bad food, just took a few to get used to the flavor I'm guessing.
Pros: good value, cats liked the taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Iams Adult Formula Cat Food

May 26, 2009
by Smokeybear12345
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
I cannot say better things about this food. My cat, Trixie, will eat an entire (large) bowl of this in a day. My mother's pomeranian, China, gets these at treats. ;)
Pros: gives energy, cat loves it, dog loves it ;)
Cons: sometimes causes diharrea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews

Needs Improvement SOON

November 26, 2008
by ChattyCat1
fromEttrick, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 36 reviews
My cat will eat this formula, but in a day or so, I find that she has regurgitated it in various places around the house. So, I prefer not to buy it anymore. She tolerates the Hairball and Indoor/Outdoor Adult Cat formuas better.
Pros: in general iams is a good brand of cat food., i highly recommend iams to my friends/associates., their products are practical., their products are fun/motivating to animals., the food doesn't spoil easily/quickly.
Cons: this formula doesn't have enough "fish" varieties., perhaps the flavor could be enhanced w/herbs., seems to become rather dry and hard soon.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 36 reviews

Decent food

September 6, 2008
by lindzf123
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
This is a decent cat food. My cat seems like it and I honestly do not think the ingredients are that awful as some other reviews would suggest. Corn is no worse than any other grain or potato fillers, so I'm getting slightly frustrated reading negative reviews about Iams solely based on that. The 1st ingredient in most of Iam's formulas is a named meat followed by a named by-product meal (again, by-products are not unhealthy. They are part of a cat's natural diet), so I see nothing wrong with the ingredient quality in this food. My cat likes it and I definitely think it's better than a lot of foods out there that list corn as the MAIN ingredient and are preserved with potentially hazardous chemicals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Iams Rocks!

July 1, 2008
by Cinderella5
fromMoscow, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
My five cats love the taste of Iams dry cat food and they are healthy eating this delicious and healthy cat food. I have kept my cats on Iams for years and they still love the taste and can't wait to have some in their bowls. It's neat when we put the food in their bowls they all come running to eat and it's fun watching the five of them lineup to eat their Iams cat food. I would recommend this food to anyone with cats because it keeps them healthy and happy. Happy cats are content cats!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Really Yummy (so I would think), helps with weight

June 26, 2008
by Chubbydeer
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
My cat loves this food, and I love the fact that it's not too too expensive. Also, it seems to help him maintain his weight for some reason =P
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Addicted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

June 26, 2007
by Whalnjojohnson1
fromFresno, CA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
My two cats won't stop rubbing the bag when they smell it. They try to tear open the bag when they see it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Kitty Kat gets stressed with other brands!

March 15, 2007
by MsFelixi
fromCentral WI
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
My big guy gets stressed if there is anything else in his dish. I ran out once, and had to make a quick trip to our nearby convenience store. They only had regular brands. In a pinch I bought a small box of a big name product to get by until I could get to my pet store. He ate it, but was not into that dish like he normally is. After only a day his hair was not shiny and soft, I believe, due to stress! I bought his regular brand of IAMS and he actually chewed through the bag to get to it. He is an IAMS guy, so I'm his IAMS gal!! I've made sure my family and friends know about IAMS and some have changed to it and have had great results!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Iams Dry Cat Food

March 13, 2007
by WendyfrmOH
fromParma, OH
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
I have used Iams cat food for at least 20 or so years, after I had a cat that got sick with crystals in his urinary tract, the Vet recommended Iams and I have used it ever since for any cat I have owned. They have all Loved it, my husband bought a cheaper brand once and when I brought home Iams they found the bag and chewed through the bag to get to it. they dont like the cheap stuff any more....
WendyfrmOH
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Crunch!

January 20, 2007
by Salamanda
  • Expert
fromWarner, NH
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
My cats love it! I'll hear crunching all the time at home. Very healthy. And in my cats opinion, "Very tasy!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

IAMS for healthy kitties

January 15, 2007
by TerrieBNL
fromHuntsville, AL
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
My vet recommended either Science Diet or IAMS for healthy kitties. I started them out on one but their breath was pretty bad, so I started them on IAMS. They all have beautiful, silky, gorgeous coats (even the stray I feed outside) and I think pretty healthy overall. Still have stinky breath, but not as bad as it WAS. They're cats, what can you do? :D It is always good to look at the ingredients of any cat food. If the first ingredient is meat, then there is a pretty good chance your cat is getting what it needs. If it is wheat or anything other than meat, I would recommend staying away from it (unless you want animals with gas problems). Luckily, IAMS lists meat first (the first listed has the most amount of weight in the product), so I feel pretty good my cats are getting what they need (and no gas).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews

No longer a good food

January 15, 2007
by rubygirl
fromLouisville, KY
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 36 reviews
This was a decent food until it was bought by P&G and they started adding fillers and less quality ingredients. Your cat may like it, but it's not good for them. Meat should always be the first ingredient.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews

ok food

December 6, 2006
by crazy4mypets
fromUSA
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 36 reviews
My girls Zippy and Pumpkin liked it ok and iams food has a horriable smell.I have heard not so good things about iams lately.So I now feed Nutro and will never go back to iams.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Iams Proactive Health Adult Formula Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews

Wouldn't feed anything else

November 25, 2006
by kands
fromArcadia, FL
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 36 reviews
Years ago I was shopping for a food additive to reduce the smell emitting from the catbox (when my lovely feline went poo you would have to leave the room). The store manager told me to feed Iams cat food and the problem would be eliminated and I would have a healthier cat. I was skeptical. She said use 1/2 of a 20# bag and if it doesn't work, bring back the remaining 1/2 bag and I will refund your money. With that kind of confidence in a product I had to try it.
My cats (all 5 of them) are in excellent health (other than a little over weight) with clear eyes, glowing/soft coats and no health problems.
I have now been feeding Iams exclusively for approximately 20 years and recommend it to all my cat loving friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next