PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food

Specially formulated with all of the nutrients your kitten needs. Now with Prebiotics to support strong defenses.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 31
30 of 32(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Review 1 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

they really like it

January 17, 2013
by StacyDc83
fromChester VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
My two kittens, who are 4 1/2 months, and 9 months, really like IAMS kitten food. I leave it out for them and I'm filling up the bowl every other day. And I love the ingredients, especially the DHA and Omega it has for brain and eye delevopment. I wil continue to feed them this hard food, and when they are adults, I will feed them IAMS adult.
Pros: high quality, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

For Sick Kitten-No, Fat Ferals-Yes

January 2, 2012
by SuchathingasFATFERALS
fromGastonia, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews
To be perfectly honest, I bought a small bag of this to see if my very underdeveloped and sick kitten would eat this. She did not at all like this. Took her about a week to be healthy enough so I tried again offering it to her, and she refused again.
My bigger indoor cat didn't like this either so I took the product and mixed with my feral cats food and they ate all of everything mixed.
This is a good product but it all depends on your kitties taste of the moment. Would recommend it but as with all products-always buy the smallest bag first as to see if it will be accepted. I have a feral population I feed so I didn't feel too bad about "waste" since I can always mix into their food.
Pros: high quality, price
Cons: Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Bengal Kitten likes it!

August 6, 2011
by CrazyFerretLady
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My bengal kittens breeder had him on Royal Canin. While I love my baby boy dearly, there was no way I was paying high price for kitten chow. I've heard good things about Iams and decided to try this. He's on a mix of this and the Purina One kitten chow and he likes both. He weaned right over to this and the Purina One with no problems. I do have to say though the pieces could be a bit smaller but other than that, I'd recommend this to other kitten parents!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Awesome food!

October 25, 2009
by imalittleslugger
fromEast Berlin, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My kitten loves this food! He can't get enough of it. I will keep feeding him this food until he's an adult. Iams is a great brand of cat food! Everyone should feed their kittens Iams.
Pros: kitten loves it
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews

Iams' weak spot

October 21, 2009
by FreedomSeeker
fromsouthern Florida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Kittens and adult cats stay away from this stuff.
Pros: probably healthy
Cons: no one likes it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

Silly Kitties!

August 16, 2009
by pbnjsmom
fromParsippany, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When we adopted our two kittens, Peanut Butter & Jelly, they were only 8 weeks old and just weaned. We started them on Iams, along with wet food. Our vet recommended Iams, and both of my dogs have always eaten Iams. We quickly noticed that the kitties were eating all their wet food, but very little of the Iams dry food. We gave it about two months, then realized they were just not going to eat it, and switched to Purina One Kitten Formula instead. They can't get enough dry food now, and they are no longer interested in the wet food. I have always been a big fan of Iams, and believe they make high quality products, but my kitties just didn't like their kitten food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

Kitten Loves It!

January 5, 2009
by zygiesmom
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had my kitten on this since I got him as a rescue 4.5 months ago - he loves it! He always eats everything I leave down for him and seems to enjoy it almost as much as his wet food! The ONLY thing I would change would be some of the additives that I think he could do without - but all in all a good food that my kitten really enjoys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

My kitten won't eat it.

July 1, 2008
by britt20
fromChapel Hill, NC
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews
My kitten doesn't like the taste and won't eat when I put it in her bowl. She prefers Science Diet and ProPlan. I suggest buying a smaller bag before going all in. On a tight budget I wish I had done that to begin with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Tastes Good, Bad for Nutrition

December 18, 2007
by JPride
fromDetroit, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews
My 10 week old bengal kitten likes this food. It took him a while to try it, but then I noticed his coat was looking dull. I saw on the label this product has corn and corn by products B.K.A. useless fillers. Felines were made to eat meat and cartilage, not corn. Try Innova EVO dry cat food. It's full of meat and whole vegetables
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

My little spoiled kitten!

December 3, 2007
by MeezerLuvr82
fromLincoln, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
When I bought my littel siamese girlie the owners were feeding her some store brand cat food-mind you she was only 7 weeks old. I knew from the start that I wanted to feed her Iams because I know how important it is to have a good diet for growing kitties. She is very active, has a beautiful shiny coat, and won't eat any other dry food-she scarfs this down as soon as it hits the bowl. I will definitely keep her on Iams as she grows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Iams cat foods are great

August 21, 2007
by Hilary
fromDunmore Pa.
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I have 2 kittens and I have had them on Iams since I found them. They absolutely love it and they are very active. This was my choice from the beginning and I'm glad that I chose a great brand of cat food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Iams for Kittens is Awesome

August 21, 2007
by mrsjoyner
fromNorth Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I feed my kitten Iams and he loves it, he gobbles it all up without a problem. At first I thought it was because he was a street cat that he would eat anything available to him. But no he's about four months old and still loves it. He does not give me a problems and paws at the container when he wants more. And energy he bounces off the walls all day long. Lol!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Kitties love it!

June 26, 2007
by redsmurf99
fromCleveland Ohio
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
This is my first time feeding Iams to any pet. My kittens love it. Their fur is so soft and silky. They have a lot of energy. I am going to move them to Iams adult food when they get old enough, I am convinced this is the best food for them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Great food

April 7, 2007
by proudanimalmommy
fromPensacola,Fl
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
I put my kitten on this after I saw her eating my adult cat's food,which is another IAMS product. My kitten wasn't eating the food that was recommended for her from the place I adopted her from anymore. Ever since the switch,she has been eating without any problems. She is very active and has a shiny coat and I feel it is due to her food. In fact,all three of my animals are on IAMS.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

good stuff

January 20, 2007
by bubbabella
fromvancouver, bc
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
i agree. my kitten is six months old and if she's not sleeping, she's playing hard. when she goes to eat, she'll empty the bowel almost every time. at first i was hesitant about having her strictly on a dry food diet, but with the iams kitten formula, i really fell confident about my choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Yummie

November 24, 2006
by storyofz
fromMorris Plains, NJ
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
My kitten loves this product - the bowl is empty every day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Best Kitten Food

November 21, 2006
by RhettsDad
  • Expert
fromTennessee
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews
My cat loves Iams Kitten Food. I tried other top brands and he didn't like the taste. Since I tried Iams he will not eat anything else. Not even Chicken from the table. He has grown with a healthy looking coat and his muscle tone is great.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Iams Proactive Health Kitten Food
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5 32 reviews
15 out of 15 recommend this product
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews