PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food

Contains LifeSource Bits for immune system support Whitefish is the #1 ingredient No corn, wheat or soy
Overall rating:
4.838 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 76
78 of 80(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Review 41 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Fantastic option for a food sensitive dog

June 9, 2010
by udays4
fromMinneapolis,MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My black lab is extremely food sensitive, any sort of common protiens cause rashes.
Once we switched to this food, the rashes disappeared and coat was so shiny, she constantly gets comments about how good she looks.
This does look like a high calorie diet, you need to figure out how much is the right amount of food to feed your dog. Excessive food will lead to weight gain. Just observe how your dog's health behaves and make the needed changes.
My dog absolutely loves the food. She cant wait for breakfast and dinner, its the highlight of her day. (She is well treated with other treats (blue buffalo))
All in all, great food for sensitive dogs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

This is it!

April 4, 2010
by 99Colorado
fromParker, Colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
We tried alot of foods with our Rat Terrier and this is hands down his favorite and ours. Not too much protein, great nutritional value and he LOVES his food. Before I could tell he wasn't crazy about his food - He would kind of pick at it. He woofs this stuff down!
His coat is shiny and he seems very healthy.
Fair warning - the Fish flavor kind of smells but is worth putting up with.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

March 29, 2010
by awvase
fromCalgary, AB
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
Great food and nice price, great for dogs with food allergies and intolerences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Saves me a lot of trips to the vet!

March 25, 2010
by coffeelover
fromArizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
I tried this food for my collie after she developed digestive issues. Since switching to Blue and adding 2T kefir to her food, she has not had a bout of diarrhea in 4 months. I also feed this to another dog who has food allergies. His coat is shiny, thick and there is no more redness and scratching. With the price of a vet visit, tests and medicine skyrocketing, I would rather practice preventive medicine. It also helps that they absolutely love it - in fact, the cats hover around the food bowls at meal time just in case I drop any!
Pros: dogs love it: helps with overall health
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Love it!

March 9, 2010
by ElenaMP
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 4 yr old Scottie mix has been on the Fish & Sweet Potato food mixed with a tablespoon or so of the canned Venison for a few months with noticable improvement! He is a rescue dog and came with some health issues - repeated ear infections, scratching, constant sneezing, loose stools, and doing the butt-scoot on the carpet after every stool. I have not seen any of these symptoms after 2 months on this food! My dog loves this food and devours it at every meal. His breath is fishy, but it's a great trade-off for monthly vet bills and a miserable dog! Other things I have noticed - his coat is softer and shinier, he is more playful, and he is more responsive to commands. It's not even that much more expensive, but very much worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

E. Bulldog over allergic reaction, no gas -- BEST

March 8, 2010
by EBulldog
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 3.5 yr old English Bulldog that had a severe allergic reaction. After vet visits and lots of research we determined the cause of his extremely swollen face, red itchy ears, belly and butt to be a food allergen. Since switching his food to the Blue Buffalo WhiteFish and Sweet Potatos over a week ago there has been tremendous improvment to his health. ALL of the symptoms have disappeared, he is more active, his coat is shiner, less shedding and so far NO gas! I have two other dogs that are on this diet now too and all three of them LOVE it. They all anxiously await their meals now, where before my Shar-Pei was a finicky eater. They all act and LOOK great. I couldnt be happier. A little expensive but definately worth it and saves on the vet trips! I am recommending this to EVERYONE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

I AM SOLD on Blue Buffalo Fish and Sweet Potato

March 1, 2010
by Normandypetmom
fromSeattle, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Golden has been plagued with food allergies since we first got her at 8 weeks old (she is now 6 1/2 years). She itched and chewed her paws and scratched incessantly. Constant ear infections. Obviously she was miserable. She had worsening intestinal upsets and diarrhea eventually ending up with bleeding intestines, necessitating VERY costly intensive care treatment at the vets. The vet would limit her food to a Vet RX prescription only food, very expensive. I spoke to a rep from the Blue Buffalo company at Petsmart who recommended I try their food. With the Chicken and Rice formula, my dog improved, but not totally. Then I tried the Fish and Sweet Potato variety and over the course of 1-2 weeks: no scratching, normal elimination, fewer ear infections, no more emergency trips to the vet. Happy dog who loves and devours every meal. If I try another food, the problem starts again immediately. I make my dogs their own personal treats; but I am totally sold on the Blue Buffalo food for my Golden. It's less expensive in the long run, than ongoing vet visits plus painful allergy reactions for my beautiful Golden girl.
Pros: seemed to solve her food allergies!
Cons: didn't resolve her ear issues, a little gassy sometimes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Excellent Product!

February 3, 2010
by Kath55
fromCheektowaga, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
Like the other reviewers, we too had many physical problems with our dogs. Our one dog was diagnosed with cancer of the mouth. After much internet research, we came across some articles saying that certain products in dog foods could be carcinogens. We immediately switched our two dogs over to the Blue Buffalo mainly for it's excellent reviews and the holistic ingredients. Their coats are shiny and soft not to mention the shedding has decreased immensely. When we adopted our foster purebred chocolate lab, our vet recommended a brand he sells. We told him about our wonderful results with Blue Buffalo and stated our lab would be fed the same as the other two dogs. He wasn't too thrilled but the results we have seen with the other dogs have proven to be the same in the lab. Not to mention they absolutely love the food. We have also noticed their bowel movements are more formed and no more itching. Although this food is expensive because of the lack of fillers, they do not eat as much and we are no longer constantly filling the food bowl. With our three dogs (62 lbs, 54 lbs, and 27 lbs.) and a foster puppy, a 30 pound bag lasts us about 4 weeks. Please consider this product if not for yourself, but for the well being of your dog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Simply The Best!!

January 24, 2010
by aussiegirl1
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
We switched to Blue Buffalo a number of years ago because one of our dogs had cancer. We used to feed a supposedly good quality, popular dog food but we later found out that it was really bad for them, with many artificial flavors and preservatives. We wanted to feed our dogs a natural and hollistic dog food that would help our dogs live longer, healthier, happier lives, so that is how we found Blue Buffalo. Our dogs have loved it ever since and we are happy because it is very good for them, they also like the taste and the pieces are just the right size. Anyone who wants their dog to live a long healthy life needs to feed Blue Buffalo!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Blue Buffalo Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food

December 30, 2009
by Maxi
fromWashington state
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
I was a faithful follower of Nutro Large Breed dog food for many years. Unfortunately, my dogs (all 3 of them) got sick so I decided to change dog foods. Did lots of research on the different dog foods and settled on Blue Buffalo Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food. Wow!!!!!!!!! What a difference in my dogs! No more large landmines and no more gas! With no fillers there is less mess to clean up after and even my cats stand in line to grab a bite of this tasty morsel. This is such a great product. It costs a little more but it is worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Finally!!!!!!!

December 18, 2009
by Tatadrea
fromGarner, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
My poor pups were having skin and potty issues causing vet visits at least 1/month. My trainer suggested this product as well as a fellow Petsmart shopper and it has been nothing short of a miracle. No itching, reduced shedding and their coats are soft and shiny. Their potty issues are gone as well.
And we have not visited the vet in months!!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Awesome food!

December 5, 2009
by DogLovingLVJenna
fromHenderson, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
My dogs do great on this food!
Their skin & coat are beautiful & soft! Their stool looks good & they have great energy! There's no corn, wheat (fillers).
I love this food & recommend it to everyone! Specially if they're having problems with their dog's stool being normal!
Pros: great skin & coat, dog's are their healthiest they can be
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 80 reviews

Dog Loved It - But Caused Weight Gain

November 10, 2009
by Ethel
fromLouisville, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
My one-year-old Border Collie, Callie, has an underactive thyroid. I tried her on this food and I noticed that she gained a few pounds the first week she was on it. Callie absolutely loved the food, but I had to find something that helped keep the weight off her. We walk for at least 5 miles a day, but she still has weight issues. I would have kept her on this food, but the weight gain was an issue. Plus, I'm not crazy about fish as a main protein source. Callie loved it, but it just doesn't seem natural to me. But, that's my opinion. I think dogs need some real meat.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Excellent Dog Food!!

November 5, 2009
by babeany03
fromBaltimore, Maryland
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
My 18 month old lab loves this food!! Unfortunately, we struggled for almost a year trying to find the right food for her. No matter what we did or what food we bought, she had diarrhea all the time, her stool was never firm, she had TERRIBLE gas every single day. We tried everything, prescription food from the vet, Eukanuba, etc. Finally, a friend reccommended we try this brand and to use the fish and sweet potato formula. It has been amazing..her stomach is better, she doesn't even have gas anymore, and the best part...she LOVES her food!! Would reccommend to anyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

My dogs love this food!

October 29, 2009
by SG09
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
My Golden Retriever is 5 years old and has suffered from itching and ear infections most of her life. I also have a 2 year old labradoodle who started having the same issues. I've always fed my dogs IAMS and never had any problems with feeding it to my previous dogs. I went to the vet way too many times for ear infections with my Golden and we decided to try a different diet. Can I just say my 2 dogs stare me down at 4:30 every afternoon for their food now? Before they just ate whenever - i always kept food in their bowls because they never overate. Since this food is more expensive and highly desired my dogs...I only give them the high end of the recommended amount on the bag. My Golden Retriever is so happy now - hardly any itching at all and her shedding has decreased by about 75-80%. They love this food and have more energy and playfulness about them all the time. i usually supplement this food with fresh carrots or apples as snacks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Excellent for Allergies and Itching!

October 12, 2009
by mrbear83
fromAtlanta GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
I have an English Bulldog, who is now 1.5 years old. He has suffered since he was about 6 months with terrible scratching. He will chew on his paws, lick his legs, do the fancy 3-leg-standing belly scratch, and often would lay on the brick hearth and scrape his chin back and forth. Needless to say, this would cause his skin to be red, raw, often broken, etc. Hot Spots weren't really a problem, but we could tell he was miserable. Ear infections plagued him for about 3-4 months repeatedly...
The vet was no help - the did try to alleviate his symptoms, but never tried to find the source of the problem. I decided after researching for a while, that a food allergy was to blame. I eradicated all corn and chicken from his diet, as these are common Bulldog allergens in food. I slowly switched him to Blue Buffalo Fish and Sweet Potato formula.
Previously, he had been on Eukanuba adult maintenance formula. I had raised many dogs in my life with this food formula, and they had led long and healthy lives. With a proper, slow integration of food, he did not encounter any loose stools, and his itching has greatly subsided. i have had him on this food now for 3 weeks, now eating only this food.
Bulldogs are BIG chewers, so I traded all his chicken basted rawhides for beef basted rawhides, and changed from Milkbone treats to another one made from Cranberries and Oatmeal with NO corn or poultry products.
He was tentative at first with the food change, as he would normally eat once a day around 4:30. Now, with his new Blue Buffalo food, he eats the food as soon as it hits the bowl, and is a much happier dog. His coat is healthier, and his shedding has slowed to a crawl!!!
I highly recommend this food to anyone!
Pros: excellent food quality, great nutrition - dense, helps with food allergies
Cons: slightly expensive but worth it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Excellent food. So glad that I switched...

September 8, 2009
by RachelS
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
I switched my dog over to this food about 2 weeks ago. She has food allergies and would frequently get a very bad rash on her stomach. Within days, the rash was gone and it hasn't come back. She also hated her dog food before. She would hold off on eating it for as long as she could and then would only eat it reluctantly... I opened this bag of food and unlike other brands that I have tried, it actually SMELLED like the flavor that it was supposed to be, like something that was actually edible... The price *seems* like it's a bit much but it's really not. Not as much of it is used per meal as other foods and I can already notice a different in how long the bag is lasting... I also mix it with a little bit of the wet food once a day. She loves it with and without the added treat.
Pros: healthier skin, healthier coat, dog actually likes the flavor
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Kirby LOVES this Food - he rolled around in it...

September 2, 2009
by KirbysHappy
fromCanal Winchester , Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
I thought I had the pickest yorkie in the world.. I bought this food and was an ah over the price...
I put 10 pieces down on the floor for him and he actually rolled around with it for 5 minutes... the funniest thing I've ever seen...then he scarfed it down like he was starving..
I'm so impressed. Now we will see what happens tomorrow.
I'm very pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Exceptional Canine Product

August 24, 2009
by batman072582
fromKearney, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
This is a very good quality product that promotes a healthy and holistic lifestyle. My dogs love this food and it works well with their sensitive stomachs. This was a concern as the first and fourth ingredients are proteins. However, fish is considered a highly digestible protein. Anyway, this product has received a 4 star rating which is good. Their are 5 and 6 star foods available but they are hard to locate and usually have a very high protein content (this can cause some dogs to vomit or experience diarrhea). The price of Blue is high but you also don't have to feed your canine as much as other brands due to the wholesome nutrients. In the end, your probably saving money with this product. I highly recommend Blue to all pet owners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Great for skin allergies!

May 4, 2009
by rose825
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
I bought this food after a PetSmart associate recommended the food for my cocker's skin allergies (she said she used it for her dog who had allergies as well). My cocker was on Science Diet before, and kept developing red, bumpy rashes and significant dandruff. I ran the food choice by my vet, who said that clients of hers have had good luck with the food.
My cocker LOVES the food. Since switching to this food about 3 months ago, his skin issues have dramatically decreased. His recurring rash has not returned. His dandruff has almost completely cleared up. His coat is very shiny.
My other dog hasn't been switched yet, as I am using up the rest of the Science Diet, but he is constantly trying to steal this food out of my cocker's food bowl because it is so good. I plan on switching my other dog to this food soon.
While it is slightly more expensive than Science Diet, the dogs actually eat less of it. My cocker was getting two cups of Science Diet a day, but his weight for Blue Buffalo food falls into 1 1/2 cups per day. So even though it costs a little more, the dog actually eats less, so costs even out.
As far as other reviewers who have mentioned gas, I have not noticed any gas issues with my cocker.
I have been very impressed with this food and would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: prevents skin allergies, tastes great
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 next