PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food

Contains LifeSource Bits for immune system support Whitefish is the #1 ingredient No corn, wheat or soy
Overall rating:
4.838 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 76
78 of 80(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

online ordering

March 14, 2014
by stellabella1
fromcincinnati, oh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
Recently order blue buffalo dog food online. Not only was it cheaper but delivery was within a few short days. No trips to store and the product was fresh with long expiration date. Could not be happier! Thanks Petsmart for delivering a great product and making my life easier. Sue
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Our Lab loves her new food

March 4, 2014
by Ivey2
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
Changed from Iams Sensitive to Blue, chose the Fish option because she was already eating the Sensitive from Iams and that was already a fish option. She transition very well and I can already see a big difference in her coat and her energy level, also she has lost a bit of weight, even though this was not the weight management food.
our family loves it too.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Love it!

February 19, 2014
by wpbdp
fromflorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
Was already feeding my pug and dachshund a premium food but the pug has allergies and was very itchy and chewing his feet . Decided to try this - too soon to say if it really helps his allergies but his coat is amazing , and both dogs love it. The smell is kind of strong but that is probably part of the attraction for the dogs anyway. It is expensive so unless you have a small dog or are already feeding premium food be prepared for sticker shock.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price, smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 80 reviews

Good food, bad breath

February 14, 2014
by Kishi
fromChicago
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews
My bad for not thinking about it before hand, but this flavor, appropriately, smells like fish. Our dog's breath wasn't great before but now her breath is fish nasty. Tried it out to give our dog a new flavor but will go to another flavor after this one. Love the brand though.
Cons: smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Excellent food if your dog has allergies

December 21, 2013
by Labnolongeritches
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
One or our Labs (Cal) started having allergies & dry skin at about 2yrs of age. Tried several brands & we settled with this one. Cal's been on it last 2 yrs & he hardly ever scratches and his coat is silky soft. Look at ingredients....if the protein says, "meal" after it, don't buy it! This product has fish as protein but NOT "fish meal." NOTE- this food is high in protein/carbs. If your dog is not active, you will see they will gain weight. Cal's active so we just give him a little less food and add 1/2 can of green beans to each so his two meals. If you add beans, be sure you buy the ones marked "low sodium" b/c the regular ones are LOADED with salt. Best/cheapest place to buy them is at Walmart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Very good product

December 17, 2013
by youngrd
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Blue buffalo is used in my household for both of my border collies. They love each flavor and it always makes their coat healthy and smooth! I would recommend and will continue to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Fantastic!

December 13, 2013
by Beaglegram
fromJohnson City NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have used Blue Buffalo for many years. My dogs love it and I believe it keeps them healthy. I am disabled so free delivery to my home makes it much easier to purchase the 30 pound bags and sale prices are an added bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Good stuff!!!

November 28, 2013
by CR203
fromCT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My dog loves this brand especially the fish and sweet potatoes. We have tried other brands and types of dry food and this one is a keeper. He eats it all and wants more afterwards!! He loves sweet potato so this is definitely a favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Wonders for my Dog!

November 22, 2013
by Moabchic78
fromMagna, Ut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our pit/ridge back mix was suffering from severe allergies and was just destroying his paws. We put him on this and the Simply Nourish Allergy supplements a week ago and his coat is soft and his paws aren't red anymore. Other than habit-licking, he's not messing with his feet anymore!!!!! It's totally worth the cost to see my poor pup back to normal after trying so many things. Thanks Blue!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Great Product

November 15, 2013
by 2013DJ
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Feel really good about this dry dog food. My dog inhales it. I feel great that I'm giving him a healthy & high quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Coco Puff says this food is Yummy

November 7, 2013
by mk333
fromFayetteville, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We've been using Blue Buffalo for almost three years. We started with the chicken but Coco Puff loves the Fish and Sweet Potato variety better. She talks to you telling you to hurry and get that food in her bowl so she can virtually inhale it. We'll be ordering this food again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Great food...

November 6, 2013
by kona43
fromft collins, co
How many pets do you have?1
This is a very healthy dog food, my dog loves it. Leaves out all those nasty grains that are not good for your dog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

high quality

November 4, 2013
by mbg1
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
this is a high quality food that my dog loves
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 80 reviews

This brand was recommended by my veterinarian.

October 12, 2013
by Grace1983
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 80 reviews
I believe the price is a little high. My dog is subject to ear infections and I had never heard of this brand before. My veterinarian recommended it and said it would help with his ears and maybe his itching so much. I don't like the smell of it. It took a couple of days before my dog would eat it. I buy it only because my veterinarian said it would help my dog.
Cons: price, Taste, smell
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 80 reviews

good product

September 27, 2013
by chescb
fromPHoenix, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 80 reviews
Quality is good. Some crushing at the bottom. The dog likes it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 80 reviews

not for my dog

August 7, 2013
by syian
frommissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is good dog food just not for my dog. My chihuahua loved the food. But it made her throw up several times a week. We have changed her food and she no longer throws up. It also does meet the requirements for other dogs allergies as it's not grain free and it has chicken fat in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Skin problems, hot spots, reddening, hair loss

June 20, 2013
by XRAYLee
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our dog was having skin related problems. I talked to a Nutro sales rep who convinced me to switch to their Lamb and rice formula for skin sensitivities. I switched to it and eventually his problems became much worse. I decided to switch him to Blue Buffalo Fish and Sweet Potato this Monday, it is only Thursday and I am amazed at the results already! His belly and paw redness is almost gone! He isn't scratching nearly as much either. I am very impressed because he is only eating it mixed with the old food. So I can't wait until he is completely transitioned to Blue.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Best food ever!

May 24, 2013
by iluvchalklate
fromEdmonton,AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Am extremely happy with this food. I have two dalmatians and this is the only food that cost 2 less then what my vet recommended for their allergies. I get the 50lb bag for 60$ vs. the vet recommended 30lb bag for 85$ And to top it off the coat looks and feels amazing. And best of all, the allergies are cleared up. And with compared ingredients I found it better then what my vet recommened.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Dogs Love

March 16, 2013
by KatieNAshokasMommy
fromBartlesville, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
After adopting two fur babies in Jan we opted for good food. My dogs eat this kibble like I put treats in their bowl. Happy beautiful dogs!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Fish & Sweet Potato Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 80 reviews

Awesome Food!

January 27, 2013
by MadHatter
fromPalatine, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My dog came to us as a rescue with so many hot spots, they thought he had mange. Out of the gate, he was prescribed cortisone, etc..which I refused to give to him. I changed his food to Blue Buffalo Wilderness Puppy and the skin problems remained...then switched him to Whitefish/Sweet Potato formula and voila! Skin problems disappeared, never to return. All things being relative, this food is not expensive. I can buy a bag of mainstream dog food and wind up buying twice as much to counter all the fillers they put into those, or buy one bag of Blue and have it last just as long. You're not saving any money by going with a "cheaper" brand and going with a lesser cost dog food harms your dog. If you can't afford to take proper care of your pets, don't own them. Sorry to be blunt, but it bothers me to read posts from people griping about the price of dog food...it's both a choice and responsibility you willingly accepted...you don't have to own a pet. You owe it to them to provide them with a good life.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next