PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light

National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light

UNKNOWN
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Review 1 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

dead alreadyy

November 13, 2014
by Myhomezoo
fromPittsburgh
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
have had for about 2 months, and this thing already doesnt work right. The white lights in it only will glow dull now. For a week i was able to disconnect the power and plug it back in and the lights would be bright again, but now nothing will help. It looks nice at night since the blue lights work well, but what good is that if the white lights are so dull its almost completely dark. I tried everything i would assume it might be but nothing is helping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Good Light within limits

November 13, 2014
by fishtyme
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is my first LED aquarium light for a freshwater aquarium without plants. Purchased the 24" deluxe fixture with timer. Build quality appears excellent for the money although the transformer seems to run a little hot. Fixture fits very nicely on my 24" long tank under a wooden canopy without the use of the metal legs supplied with the unit. Fixture has white and blue leds - white/blue illuminate for "daytime" timer setting and blue illuminate for night (lunar) timer setting which is "cool" looking. White leds for daytime setting are very bright and white in color which will take time to get used to. Timer setup involves a learning curve. My only real disappointment is that there should be at least two daytime timer settings available not just one. With my previous fluorescent light, I could use a timer to turn lights on in the early morning, shut them off during the day when ambient lighting was sufficient and then turn them on again before dusk. Now I can only use the built-in timer to turn the light on late afternoon (daytime setting) and switch to night (lunar) setting at 8pm and all off at 10pm. The aquarium has to stay dark during the early morning unless I want to leave the light on all day. (Unless someone has found a work around to this issue.) From what I can see, this issue is probably true for most led timer fixtures out there. Of course, you can manually turn the light on and off as desired, but that is not practical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Very Happy

November 10, 2014
by Segundo702
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My first led light and I'm very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Excellent Product for the Price!!!

September 9, 2014
by 90GallonDiscusTank
fromIndian Trail, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
First I purchased one unit just to see if it was any good since it was on sale at PETSMART. Once I set it up on my 90 Gallon Discus Tank I was really impressed with the quality, features and functionality that i immediately used PETSMART online product store inventory check feature to find another location that had one and purchased a second unit. One 48 inch unit is enough for 90 gallon tank that is 31 inches deep. But if you really want a WOW effect buy two! Really worth it. Makes the colors of my Discus pop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

August 6, 2014
by daliadidag
fromqueen ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
thought about it because never had national geo product before or had not seen it in person but needed a fixture that could be programmed to turn on and off because of my plants and fishes to keep regular schedule and gave it a shot. its super bright and works perfectly so far im impressed by the quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

June 17, 2014
by Fishtanksforever
fromDaytona Beach Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this light a few days ago and just love it! I liked that it was programmable. I set it to go on at 2pm change to moonlight at 10pm then turn off at midnight. I have a 46 gallon bow front but because of size availability in the store I got the 30" instead of the 36 ". It works just fine lighting up the entire tank with no dark spots. Beautiful light shimmery effect. I would highly recommend this product and I'm looking forward to purchasing more Nat-Geo products. Great quality.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

So far very good

May 31, 2014
by Zeusfishguy
fromRegina, sk
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just bought this. It is very bright and the colors just pop now. It have a well planted tank so we will see if that will turn out good. But the price, look and brightness are all excenant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

May 31, 2014
by imaqtpie
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased these lights tonight from my local PetSmart store and just couldn't wait to get home and install them. I am so pleased. Cant beat them for the price. I love that they are programmable and can have just "day' light or just 'night' light or both. The LED light is so much better than my old fluorescent lights.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

very pleased with product

May 29, 2014
by saltwaterfishguy91
fromBirmingham, AL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I was at Petsmart looking for a LED lighting system to replace my fluorescent lighting fixture in my 29 gallon tank. I wasn't familiar with any of National Geographic's products and was hesitant to purchase over the more familiar brands of Marineland and Aqueon. I decided to take a chance on this LED lighting system as the Marineland product reviews (in particular) on this website and others are all over the place with quality and longevity issues. I've been very happy with it. It doesn't look or feel cheap. It appears to be very well constructed. It has extendable legs on each side of the 24'' lighting fixture to fit my 30'' 29 gallon tank. It has 3 LED tubes that provide a lot of light and the 9 blue moonlight LEDs are evenly spaced to give a nice, even light. I like the timer, despite it taking me 30 minutes to figure it out reading the instructions. It has 3 different light settings: white only, white and blue, and moonlight. I'm using this on a 29 gallon FOWLR (Fish-Only-With-Live-Rock) Saltwater setup that is almost through cycling and I'm about ready to add fish. I feel like it will provide sufficient lighting to show off the coloring of the fish.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Excellent quality, great purchase, price worth it!

May 15, 2014
by CT831
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The National Geographic 48 in. LED Programmable light has worked perfectly for my 125 gallon tank. It's coverage of light is perfect even though this size does not cover the entire length of my tank, centered you don't notice the difference. It is very slim in design, has legs on the ends for adjusting, the programmable feature is excellent and easy to set up. I like that it has 3 LED bulbs in it, when programming you can choose the type of lighting you prefer. You can operate either the white or blue light separate or together allowing for custom designed time sequences. I've programmed mine to turn on in the evening in Daylight mode and later switch into moonlight mode for overnight. In morning it turns off completely and auto starts again upon evening. Makes it nice not having to turn on/off manually although you could if you wanted to. I found this product to be better than the other brands in it's quality of design and features, it has 3 LED bulbs whereas some of the others only had 2. I like that you can separately use the white and blue light giving your tank an alternate look at different times. The white light is very crisp and enhances the colors of my fish and plants, big difference from the old non LED light I used to have. Overall, an excellent product! It was the price that made me hesitate at first, but I can now say it was worth every penny spent. I don't often write reviews but thought that this one deserved a 5 star as everyone I know has commented on how great my tank looks now!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for National Geographic™ Deluxe Programmable LED Aquarium Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

April 14, 2014
by Aquariumcrazy
fromBradenton, fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have marineland single bright on two other tanks. Setting up a 125 cichlid tank and decided to try these. Wow. So much cleaner looking, so much sturdier. A lot brighter. Sitting in front of petsmart now doing this review while waiting for them to open to buy two more to replace the marineland ones. I really like the marineland products but these blow them away.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.