PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit

National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit

UNKNOWN
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
13 of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Review 1 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

November 15, 2014
by nitragin
fromAnkeny iowa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Great little product. This was very easy to put together. It looks great on my desk. I like that it has its filter in the unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

LOVE this little tank

September 24, 2014
by KatieRN
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased the 1 gallon version of this tank to temporarily house one of my betta fish while in the process of moving. I absolutely love it.
First, only one cord. I love that the filter and the LED lights run on the same power cord. If you prefer to have your light on a timer, you may want to look at the Aqeon (which also comes in a 1, 2.5, and 5 gallon version). When considering betta fish require a heater, it's nice to not have 800 [okay, 3] wires coming out of the back of a small tank.
Second, the filter is SO quiet. Some people seem to complain about the strength of the filter for betta fish, but it doesn't seem to bother mine. If you have some problems with too much flow, look into baffling your filter with a water bottle (check youtube). I do have to say that the sponge end is a little too long, which is annoying when setting up the tank, but honestly, it's not the end of the world.
I cannot wait to upgrade to the larger 2.5 gallon version of this tank. I think my fish will be very happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Meh.

August 22, 2014
by Jennycam
fromJacksonville, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My husband and I are brand new betta owners and we decided to try the 1.2gal tank because it seemed like it would be perfect for our needs. It seemed spacious enough for a single beta to start with. The LED light is nice and bright, and has touch sensor which we though was really cool. However, the filter causes too much of a problem. It's too strong and pushed our poor betta around the tank. Plus it takes up a decent chunk of the tank and the stem is too long, you can't fit any gravel under it. No where on the box does it show this. Also, The light and the filter run on the same power cord so you can't run one without the other. The only good thing about the filter was you couldn't hear it at all. We though it was broken at first. This tank would be great without the filter, but then what's the point?
We ended up returning it and buying the MARINELAND® 3 Gallon Crescent Aquarium System instead. Much better! The filter has 3 settings and even though its a little powerful near the filter on the lowest setting its easily avoidable and not nearly s strong as the other one. We even caught him playing in the current; riding it down to the bottom then swimming back up and doing it again. There's more room and the filter doesn't hog up space.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

It's okay

August 14, 2014
by Xerakitty
fromSoJo NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had to replace a different tank because it was leaking and this was the only thing in stock at my store that day.
I have a few problems with this tank:
a) can't have the light on a timer, and if your hands are cold the sensor won't realize you're touching it.
b) the filter is too strong, it tears up my betta's fins!
c) the intake on the filter is too long; if you want gravel at all the end of the intake pipe is buried in it.
d) the filter covers most of the top of the tank and has to be removed to remove/add water. It ends up making a mess when you try to remove it to clean the tank.
e) the filter is extremely noisy! I can hear it 2 rooms away.
The tank is quite nice otherwise, very clear and the light is bright. It is also decently spacious and perfectly sized for a nano system (1.2 gallon).
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Filter Fix

August 13, 2014
by Pawlicker
fromTexarkana, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Its good, I just got the 2.5 gallon for my betta, Sen, and it does what i need it to. As far as the filter goes, its pretty strong for my little Betta. problem is that once you unplug the filter, no LED light. so what you do is look at the rotor, get a small pointed object and pull the rotor out. Its held in by a magnet so it should be easy to remove, when this is done the filter is turned off (no noise) so you get the led light with no filter. you should hold on to the rotor because you can just slide it back into place and the filter will work. I hope this helped those of you who don't want the filter on. p.s. I just did this about 20 minutes ago and Sen is acting fine, if later it seems to be causing him problems Ill update this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Cute tank

August 5, 2014
by Mayoney
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased the 1.2 gallon tank as an upgrade from a bowl for my betta and decided I wanted to try filtration. The tank is a nice size and is visually appealing. You get a nice view of the inside of the tank. The water was kept clear by the filter. However, the filter was too strong for my betta fish. I tried to keep him in there with the filter running for the first 2-3 days, but he was still stressed, so I turned the filter off intermittently. Also, the filter is too large for the 1.2 gallon tank. It really takes up a lot of room, so a lot of swimming room is occupied. It may be better in the larger tank. I ended up taking the filter out and decided to do partial water changes, and my fish is a lot happier. It's a great quality tank, but I guess it depends on each betta on how he/she reacts to the filter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

1.2 Gallon Tank is good, but get 2.5 instead

July 27, 2014
by foofoodar
fromWentzville, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had the 1.2 Gallon tank for a week, the little filter actually worked great, water was crystal clear with a betta fish in it, lighting worked great, no noise.
My problem with this tank, is that I was upgrading from a 1/2 gallon bowl to something that would be better for the fish and easier to maintain, but the filter housing is all internal and takes up space in the upper part of the tank that you do not see in the pictures because they leave it out, so by the time you put the filter housing in it, gravel and a plant in it, you basically take away all the extra room you thought you just purchased!
So do yourself a favor, the 2.5 Gallon is still plenty small, but your fish will thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great little tank

July 15, 2014
by tdpries
fromBenton Harbor, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was a little hesitant to try this tank due to reviews about the strong filter action, but the price and appearance decided me on taking the chance. I love it! I got the smaller tank for my one betta and have no problem with the waterflow coming from the filter. My betta was moved to this tank from a still-water tank and he has no issue with the current in this new tank. Sometimes he seems to enjoy riding the current just for fun. Yes, it does throw the food around, but that just makes feeding more natural, as he must chase the "prey" down to eat. The only issue I see is that when the light or filter give out, the only option seems to be to purchase an entire new tank. If there are replacement filter/light units, please give the source. I am considering getting the 2.5 gallon for a small community tank.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Just right

July 11, 2014
by ThreeLetterName
fromPA
What is your gender?F
I wanted a good tank to keep a beta fish in. However, I had a couple of features that were a must. First and foremost, it had to have a good lid that didn't come off. We have cats (kittens), and I want my fish to be safe. Second, I wanted at least two gallons, so there would be room to swim. And third, it had to be easy to care for.
This fits the bill. I set it up a week before getting my fish, to test lights and filter, and to let the water adjust. Flame loves it. He has enough room that he has divided the tank into sections. He uses the front corner under the feeding hole to build me bubble nests, the other front corner to beg for bloodworms (this is the one closest to me most of the time), the back corner away from the filter to rest, and the rest of the tank to swim around.
The filter is quiet, the light is bright, and it was super easy to clean. Flame stays in my bedroom where he is safe from the kittens. However, when I first got it, I tested the lid by smacking it lightly several times, from different angles, to see if the kittens could remove it. The lid didn't budge.
This tank is absolutely perfect for even cat loving fish owners.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

2.5 gallon National Geographic tank

July 10, 2014
by yvonne74
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was hesitant to purchase this because of the reviews saying that the filter was too strong, but I figured I'd give it a shot anyway. So far I've had no problems with the filter being to strong for my betta in the 2.5 gallon model. He has no problems, he's been active and can also rest on his plant or the bottom of the tank. Maybe the filter is stronger in the 1.5 gallon model. Still trying to decide on what type of gravel to use, running it bare bottom for now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Great But Filter is WAY too strong

July 3, 2014
by Simplytaja
fromNorfolk, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this little tank. I purchased two of them. One for a betta baby and the other for an adult betta. It's perfectly sized however the filter was way too strong for my adult betta. The sucky part is that the filter and the light is connected. So If I unplugged the filter the light would go off with it. I decided to just remove the motor so that the filter won't affect my bettas.
I may try the technic that another reviewer used (putting a piece of plastic to buffer the current).
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great tank! Love it!

June 5, 2014
by IWLC
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Perfect size for the office desk with clean smooth lines. Plug saver as the LED and filter are powered together in one plug. LED is bright and touch activated. My rose petal betta loves it and swims everywhere. Filter current is good and does not require baffling. I noticed that current does not push as hard since I filled the tank up to rim. I would consider buying a couple more for my bettas at home.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Nice tank but....

May 30, 2014
by SapphireBetta
fromNew Orleans, La
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The fish tank is nice and affordable. Good for new Betta owners like myself. It carries everything you need (i.e. filters, a hole to dispense food and lights). But my main con about this tank is the filter sucks up the food and shoots it out sporadically causing my fish to run to catch her food (It's kind of funny but my fish becomes a little irritated).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Love it

May 20, 2014
by SuzeeSmiles
fromJackson,MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 2 of these tanks and they are the best! My bettas are so much happier and more active. I recommend these tanks highly!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for National Geographic™ Half-Moon Aqua Oasis Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Not terrible but..

April 30, 2014
by NikkiZ
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
So before I tell you about the product let me give you a brief description of my arrangement. I had a Betta fish when I was young and loved him until he died 2 years later. since then i've had a dog but that's all. I decided to get another Betta but I no longer had the (what I believed to be 5 gallon) tank so I had to buy a new one.
This 2.5 gallon one caught my eye because It was national geographic and some of the profit went to animals in need. There weren't many reviews since it's such a new product so I decided to take a risk. well it's a beautiful tank, spacious yet small enough to fit on a desk. The one problem? the filter is just too strong. I improvised with a piece of water bottle I cut down to fit into the little slit just under the LED lights and now it's working marvelously. My little Betta is exploring and looks much happier. Over all, if you don't mind improvising a little, it's a great tank.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.