PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed

For the price-conscious pet owner who refuses to skimp on quality, a Large 40 x 30 KONG Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed featuring plush cushioning and durable fabrics would be perfect for you and your pet. Durable, yet comfy, your canine will fall into a deep and blissful slumber on the KONG Dog Bed. Good enough to be called KONG - A PetSmart exclusive.
Overall rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
8 of 24(33%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Review 1 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

January 9, 2014
by Kahmara
fromSt. Joseph, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased this bed when my Rhodesian Ridgeback puppy destroyed 3 soft beds and was working on his 4th. The Kong bed is extremely durable and two years later, still in prime condition. My puppy is now 110 lbs and loves to toss it in the air; drag it around the house; tug at it with our Australian Shepard and he also sleeps on it. I cannot say enough about this product and would and will buy another when I get another puppy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

What happened to Kong?

December 12, 2013
by amyksw
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We had an older, brown Kong bed which our rambunctious, large puppy attacked with vigor. It took 8 months before she tore a hole in it. We loved its sturdiness so much that we immediately ordered another. The new one is light grey. Our dog tore a hole within 10 minutes playing with it in the same manner. I wonder if Kong made a change to a less tough fabric.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

sturdy; quite satisfied

December 1, 2013
by snowberry
fromBoston, MA
After I bought this bed in the store, I checked some of the reviews and was nervous because some other people's dogs damaged the beds by chewing. But I didn't have a better alternative and my dog was chewing up his soft beds, so I gave this a try. I am very impressed with it! It has held up quite well. My dog occasionally tries to chew it but doesn't persist because it's just too tough for him and he gives up. I also think he doesn't find the tough material as rewarding to chew as the plush beds. He does abuse it quite a bit though - he has manic fits once or twice a day where he bites the bed and drags it around in a frenzy. He also enjoys sleeping on it. The washing instructions don't say anything about machine washing it, but I put it in the washing machine on gentle cycle and then in the dryer on air dry, and it's held up fine.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

disappointing purchase

November 26, 2013
by lab1mom
frompa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
The product specifications on the website say:
For the price-conscious pet owner who refuses to skimp on quality, a Large 40 x 30 KONG Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed featuring plush cushioning and durable fabrics would be perfect for you and your pet. Durable, yet comfy, your canine will fall into a deep and blissful slumber on the KONG Dog Bed. Good enough to be called KONG -
For large breeds
Durable and long-lasting
Comfy enough to place your pup into a deep slumber
Chew resistant
Reversible
MY REVIEW:
IT IS NOT REVERSIBLE (and one of the main reason why i bought this bed was because on the product specifications said it was reversible) NOT THE CASE. it comes in the brown color. Chew resistant....maybe the center of the bed, but the corners are so soft that my 9 month old lab puppy chew through one corner in about 20 minutes. not sure why they advertise chew resistant when in reality when you touch the corner of the bed it is soooo soft and thin.
The product did came on time....but my puppy only used this bed for about 2 days. I am extremely disappointed at this bed.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Terrible

November 21, 2013
by CKLOPP
fromTampa, Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have found the KONG toys to be amazing and virtually indestructable, so I invested big $$ in this bed and my 11 month pup chewed holes in it within the first 24 hours.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Kong Pet Beds

November 18, 2013
by Altpub1
fromMadison, Ga.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have 3 retired Racing Greyhounds. They LOVE these beds. Bought them last Christmas. We are going to buy new ones this year. SAME Brand KONG. Our boys nip, tuck, twist, and slip down to sleep. No tears or rips. Lately our Beagle has taken one of these over so we will need 4.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Satisfied

November 18, 2013
by Lukeatme
fromBaltimore
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Luke is a 18 month old large, Flat Coat Retriever. He is really a Billy Goat in disguise. He eats everything. So far, during the week we have had this, he has not attempted to destroy it. I am happily surprised. I hope it continues. It is also thick and comfortable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Not all that resistant to chewing.

November 16, 2013
by Papstoshow
fromGeneseo, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My German Shepherd has been working on the corners and along the piping. She is now tearing the stuffing out little by little. I've repaired a few tears, but she opened them again. She has had the $60 bed for almost a month(between repairs)..
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Chew Resistant Not Chew Proof

November 14, 2013
by Clairrison
fromWestern NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our medium dog is a powerful chewer, and he was tearing up the comforter blankets we placed into his box. We had to stop giving him fluffy toys and bedding because he was eating the fluff. We decided to go ahead and pay the expense for a durable dog bed. I saw KONG and felt confident in the quality of this bed. Our dog pulled the zipper off and unstuffed the bed on the second day we had this bed. We are so disappointed. We were looking for a durability claim and we found the tag said "Chew resistant, not chew proof." It wasn't very resistant at all.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Very Poor Quality

November 13, 2013
by Pjones
fromDelaware
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I don't like wasting money on beds for my Pit so I got this expecting it to last longer than any other beds my Pit has ripped thru. Received the bed on Monday, put in crate Tuesday and after a few hours in the crate by Tuesday night the bed was ripped open and the fluff has been partially ripped out.....EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!!! Kong is no longer the quality product they have proclaimed to be in the past.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

:( disappointed

November 4, 2013
by Pitmomma1
fromChicago,IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought a few of these and they are not very comfortable.. My dogs still lay on them but after barely a months later I find myself bed shopping again.. They started to sag and are flat... I have a 70lb pit bull and his bed sagged after barely a week.. And my 30lb pointer mix lasted about a month.. I'm so disappointed since I've been buying many Kong brands for my dogs for years and this is the first thing that has ever let me down that was made by them.. :(
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Love it !!

October 31, 2013
by Lexibug
fromSt.Albert, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this for my 2 year old husky cross, she loves to rip everything apart even her beds I went throw 3 beds before I bought this one. I got it in mid August and she loves it in her crate! I'm so glad I bought one for her !
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Not Even Worth $10

October 29, 2013
by Ruby1
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this bed for my dog that weights 90 lbs. I have tried and tried to get her to sleep on it, however she would rather sleep on the floor right beside it. She has had other dog beds and loves them so I was wondering why she wouldn't lay on this one. I laid on it myself and I definitely see why the floor is more preferable. This dog bed is a big disappointment in all aspects.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Not perfect but the best I've tried

October 29, 2013
by Prestoli
fromBrooklyn, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My 5 month old puppy is a chewer. A destroyer. A crate pad annihilator. This was his third and last chance for me to shell out substantial $ for a high quality crate pad. For about a month it was OK but he managed to start threading the red piping, and one small tooth puncture in the black cover was enough for him to eventually create a bigger hole and pull out the stuffing.
I don't want to discourage anyone from purchasing it because it is sturdy and very easy to clean. But if your dog is a destroyer like mine, just know that it won't last terribly long.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

My dogs HATE this bed.......

October 18, 2013
by Missa1234
fromGainesville, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought two of these beds for my 130lb American Bulldog and my 80lb boxer..... they both HATE the bed and opt for the floor instead.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Not what I expected

October 18, 2013
by Rafflike
fromLantana, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I expected the bed to be purple from the picture shown. It was brown when I received it. No where does it say on the description that it was a lottery of what color you will get nor did they have an option of what color you wanted.
It's a little noisy when stepped on as well. My dog was frightened of it for a while when we put it down.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

My puppy chewed through it in less than a week

October 8, 2013
by ktbuffy
fromHighlands Ranch. CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My puppy has gone through four or five dogs beds, but the Kong bed was highly recommended for its durability. Alas, my little puppy got through it into the fluff in less than a week.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

We love this bed

September 17, 2013
by MMRoxie
fromMoncton, NB
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Roxie is a Pitbull / Rotti mix and chews everything. Currently she is 4 months old. She loves this bed, sleeps on it all the time. It is fairly liquid resistant. One accident to date and it did not soak in, just rolled right off. Sprayed and cleaned, was good as new. Highly recommended bed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

This bed will be ripped apart in 25 minutes

September 5, 2013
by Anonymous
fromLos Angeles, CA
Obviously, I bought the bed thinking... Kong, how do they keep my dog busy for months with their wonderful red cones that never deteriorate over time? Well this product is the exact opposite of the red cone. A 25 pound Beagle got through the "chew resistance" invisible bubble in less than an hour. I'll bring it back to Petsmart this weekend, but honestly talk about Brand Loyalty gone bad. Continue to trust the red cone, but avoid the other products... yeesh. If I could give zero stars, I would.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG(r) Piped Tough Chew Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Disappointing Product

September 1, 2013
by HuskyLovin
fromSan Antonio, TX
Our 7 month old puppy had ripped up a cheaper quality bed and we questioned whether this bed would hold up to the Kong durability. 72 hours after purchasing, we came home to a living room full of fluff. Not so chew resistant. Will be shopping for better quality during the next purchase. Very disappointed with the amount of money we spent on this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next