PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food

Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food

Keep your hamster healthy and strong with Oxbow Essentials™ Healthy Handfuls™ Hamster and Gerbil Food. Rich in nutrients, it’s one of the best ways to care for your pet.
Overall rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
38 of 38(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Review 1 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

My dwarf hamster loves this food!

July 12, 2014
by DwarfHamster14
fromCalifornia
This food is great! I originally picked it out because it is one of few brands that doesn't include nuts in it's ingredients. The bag lasts a long time, and it includes all the nutritious ingredients hamsters need. I highly recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Oxbows hamster food

July 3, 2014
by Mmont
fromMiami,FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Oxbow is definitely the best balanced diet there is out there, is veterinarian formulated to meet all your hamster needs, this food can be fed alone, there are some people that say that you should mix it up with a seed mix, do not do so.This hamster food is formulated to meet your hamster needs, it has the right protein level,the right fat and fiber levels,if you add a seed mix your hamster will gain weight,i recommend this food to anyone who wants their pets to live a healthy long life.If your hamster is a picky eater, don't worry, you need to mix it up with the old food as it shows in the Oxbow bag, never let your hamster train you! Hope this helps!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Best Yet!

March 30, 2014
by TeddyLuv
fromChesapeake, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My hamster, Buddy, absolutely loves this food! Whenever I put a few pellets in his food bowl, he'll come running over and hop into his bowl and munch it all!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Amazing product

March 28, 2014
by EveRose
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My hamster loved this food. It was his main diet. I bought two bags. My hamster died after one year. One bag lasted one whole year. (his whole life) I even have a little left over. I love this product so much. Its not only great for hamsters health but also a very good price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

BEST on the Market

March 26, 2014
by MissMeaganC
fromLaurel, Mississippi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
PetSmart uses this food for its small pets, and I highly recommend it. Oxbow Essentials gives my hamster what he needs: the right nutrients in the right form.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

not good alone

January 7, 2014
by thecritterzoo
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
this food is great but only good as a mixed food. i dont reccomend this as a stand alone food for 2 reasons. 1st the proteins and percentages are to low. hamsters food should have 17-22 percent of protein in there food. and i only suggest foods with tons of seeds and varieties as hamster will get bored of this food and may stop eating it. i suggest putting about 1-3 of these in there food diet per day.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Fantastic Hamster Food-Vet Recommended

December 3, 2013
by JerryBear
fromColumbia, Maryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the absolute best food to feed your hamster! It has all the vitamins and minerals your hamster needs to live a long healthy life. You don't need to add extra vitamin drops because this food has it all. My hamster used to just eat the seeds and corn and avoid the pellets from her old hamster food.When I took my hamster Sophie to the vet this was the brand of food they recommended. Definitely buy this food, it is amazing!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

best food ever

November 21, 2013
by jewls
fromillinois, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this food is healthy and my hamster loves it
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Awesome!!!!!!!!!

November 20, 2013
by Dustylover4x
fromFt. Collins, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My long haired syrian hamster loves this! I purchased this food because they had it in the cage i got my hamster from. he absolutely loves it and it is so cute when he stuffs his cheek pouches with it they look so big!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

This stuff is great! My gerbils LOVE this stuff!

November 10, 2013
by HamsterAlert
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two gerbils named Stormfly and Zeus who just love this food! This food is healthy (which, although makes me happy, the gerbils could care less about) and the gerbils love it! I feed them four of these a night (along with some other food too, not just this food, they need variety) and they just LOVE these though.
My gerbils love them AND they're healthy!
Okay, I'm satisfied!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Great hamster food!

October 21, 2013
by FriendlyFlake
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great hamster food! The peices are a bit large, but over all it is a really healthy choice, and my hamster seems to like it!!
Pros: price, high quality, taste
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Best gerbil food I've found

October 10, 2013
by TwoGerbilGentleman
fromTallahassee, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Oxbow's gerbil/hamster feed is the best of five different types of feed we've tried. I like the fact that it is a mix so there aren't unwanted parts to accumulate in the cage. The gerbils clearly like it, and it is oddly satisfying that the feed smells like fresh hay.
Pros: high quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Low on protein

October 8, 2013
by KittysGoMew
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is an overall very healthy food for hamsters. Hamsters can't pick and choose what they want so they get all their nutrients. The only problem is the protein level is a little low at 15%. Dwarf hamsters need between 17%-22% protein.
I use Oxbow along with Hazel Hamster, plus some fresh proteins (like boiled egg and plain chicken) to supplement.
The only thing is my dwarfs have never really liked Oxbow. One of my dwarfs don't even touch it at all. My other dwarfs leave it almost until last to eat.
Pros: high quality
Cons: price, Taste
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

draw hamsters

October 1, 2013
by sharonluong
fromsan jose
my two little girl very like to eat it !
Pros: high quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

good gerbil food

September 24, 2013
by laborday1000
from9200 goodman circle
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love the gerbil food.
Pros: high quality, price
Cons: smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

My Rats Love It!

August 21, 2013
by GamerGirl1990
fromSanford, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My rats love Oxbow Essentials! If you're looking for something HEALTHY and TASTY that your rats will love look no further!
Pros: price, high quality, smell, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Excellent Food!

August 16, 2013
by RodentMama
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I wanted my Gerbils, Oatmeal and Nutmeg, to eat healthier. When I fed them mixed food they would always ignore the pellets. I decided to try Oxbow. To my surprise they loved it. I started off in little increments mixed with their old food and now they are completely on the Oxbow. They eat every piece! I am beyond pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

My rats gobble it up

July 19, 2013
by SassyGirls
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My four rats don't hesitate to eat this. I highly recommend it. Hearing them eat it is one of the fun moments with them. One of them hoards it in a corner so she can eat it later. All them take two into their mouths and run off to a spot that is designated as "Their Eating Spot."
It's one of the healthiest food for them. It doesn't contain corn. Which is not good for a pet rat in the long run. It doesn't have anything that would be deemed as a snacky food. It's a nutritious food that all pet rats should have. Unless of course your rat just doesn't like it.
Pros: high quality, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great food, I've used it with all of my hamsters

July 19, 2013
by PetCrazy919
fromGA, USA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My very first Syrian was raised in the pet store and for the first month in my care on a pelleted mixture with lots of fatty seeds, artificial colors, sugary bits, etc. When I learned that a pelleted diet is healthier, I immediately switched (gradually) to Oxbow Healthy Handfuls and although it wasn't as yummy for him he was very healthy and seemed to have more energy. He ended up living to the ripe old age of 2 years and 8 months on this food supplemented with fresh fruits & veggies, a few seeds, carrot puffs, the occasional sugary treat, and freeze dried mealworms.
I now have 2 young Chinese hamsters, and although they haven't lived long enough for me to really tell how it's working for them, it seems to be great.
Just a note about Oxbow is that the protein level is rather low, around 15%. (The proper range is 15-20%.) You have to make sure the hamster/gerbil's diet is supplemented with some mealworms, unsalted bits of cooked meat (remember to never feed pork), etc. to maintain a good protein balance.
Pros: price, high quality
Cons: Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oxbow Essentials Healthy Handfuls Hamster & Gerbil Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Loves it!

June 12, 2013
by Linkdargri
fromKansas City, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My rat Skippy was a rescue and his previous owners never fed him so it has been very difficult getting him the correct nutrition. We started with a homemade mix which was great at first then he became more particular about what parts he ate, then we did lab blocks which he didn't seem very fond of at all, so the rescue we worked with told us to try this Oxbox for Adult Rats. AMAZING! He gobbled up the whole bowl overnight! Not only does he like the taste but the nutrition is exceptional! We still add extra veggies and some fruits, but overall this diet can be used a staple diet with minimal additions if any.
Pros: high quality, smell, taste, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next