PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food

Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food

UNKNOWN
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 15
17 of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Review 1 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

GREAT food!

December 8, 2013
by LittleAlbert
fromEvansville, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is one of the best foods you can feed your chinchilla. For chinchillas, you really do pay for what you get! This food is nutritionally complete and formulated especially for your little furry friend! This food is used by experts and breeders everywhere!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

The Best

February 22, 2013
by Blue186
fromKentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
You can never go wrong with Oxbow.
This is a quality pellet that your chinchilla will love.
Chinchillas can be picky, but I've not had one turn their nose to this brand.
Pros: high quality, smell, taste, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great Food!

January 20, 2013
by ILoveMyChins
fromMD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
My chinchillas love this food. It is one of the best pellets you can give them.
Pros: high quality, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

The best food you can get for your chinchilla!

July 25, 2012
by GrimAndHerChins
fromIA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Nala enjoyed this WAY more than her old food. It is much more nutritional than her old food and she likes it better! It is a little over priced but its still worth it!I HIGHLY recommend this to everybody with chinchillas but do keep in mind that if you are swiching foods then gradually put in amounts of the new food and mix it with the old food (by old food I mean the food you chose before not over aged food, never give your chinchilla over aged food anyway)and as the weeks pass by gradually add more amounts of the new food and after awhile of doing this you can just use the new food! use books or go online and search for specific amounts to change food with. REMEMBER to never buy foods with treats mixed in such as feista or feista max because your chinchila will only pick out the treats and that would be bad because treats do not have nutrition like the pellets but if treat mixed in food is your only option then take the treats out!!!remember not to just give your chinchilla the new food without gradually mixing it in with the old or your chinchilla will refuse to eat the new kind so rebuy bags of the old food if you have to. Anyway this product is great and it does not have any crumbs at the bottom of the bag and thats good because I know im not wasting my money! GREAT PRODUCT I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYBODY WITH CHINCHILLAS AND IT IS AWESOME!!!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

The Best You Can Buy!

March 11, 2012
by Jessylovesherchinchillas
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This food is the top quality and the hay drives my chins wild! You'd assume that chinchillas like the foods with lots of seeds but it actually causes them lots of health problems and gives them tummy aches. I switched my sick chinchilla from Kaytee to this a few years back and I refuse to buy another kaytee product. Totally worth the price! This food saved my chinchillas life and I would recommend it to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Degu's Love It

February 11, 2012
by degu11
fromMichigan
My degu's love. They eat it all the time. I have to refill their bowl twice a day, they eat it so much.
Pros: high quality, smell, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

healthy and loved by my chinchilla!

January 23, 2012
by shaheen
fromLaHabra, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
He loves this it is healthy and tasty to him. The whole Oxbow farms brand rules!
Pros: high quality, smell, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

the best food ever!

August 4, 2011
by thatgirlmiranda
fromRalleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
so when i bought my chinchillas, they came with food from the breeder. she wouldn't tell me the kind, just that it was cheaper form her. so we took some of thier food and went to petsmart and compared them. this matched up best. so i tried it out and i have to refill their bowl every 1 1/2-2 days!! they absolutely love it!! they finished a bag in probably a month and a half which was amazing because they hadn't eaten that much!! so i know this stuff is fantastic for them :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Only the best for my chin!!!!!!!

July 3, 2011
by Anonymous
fromCharleston, WV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
He loves oxbow chinchilla food so much, and because i know its from Oxbow its the best i can get for him. :)
Pros: smell, high quality, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

They LOVE it!

June 15, 2011
by Ringo22
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I ordered this product because I heard how healthy and nutricious it was. I also love using oxbow products they're great! But I thought my chins won't like it as much beacuse usually, the healthy stuff don't taste as good. They LOVED it!! When I mixed it with their old pellets, they only ate the oxbow products and left the old pellets in sitting in the bowl! I thought it will take some tie getting them used to the new pellets but now, they refuse to eat pellets other than the oxbow ones. I is healthy, nutricious, and my chins love it! I recommend this to every chinchilla owners!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

amazing

May 11, 2011
by BJBLOOM
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I decided to switch to this type of chinchilla food because I read on the internet that the chinchilla foods that contains treats aren't healthy for them. So this was one of the foods recommended. I was nervous that my chinchillas wouldn't like it because they used to pick the treats out of their other food. So I fed them last night and when I woke up this morning their food dish was completely empty. They love it. Its pricey but well worth it if you want a healthy chinchilla :)
Pros: high quality
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great Product

April 28, 2011
by CaliGirlForever
fromSan Diego,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My chin loves this product!! Even though it is one of the most expensive foods i have ever bought... IT IS SOOO WORTH IT!!! i mean my vet loves me cause he says my chin is so healthy and i never hav a sick pet BUY IT !! The price is worth it!
Pros: high quality, taste
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

December 6, 2010
by chinGilla
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
My chinchillas love this food. It doesn't have that pool of crumblies at the bottom so I get all the food I payed for (and I did pay plenty of money for it..) My vet recommended it.
Pros: no crumblies, chillas like it, plenty per bag
Cons: pricey
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

complete nutrition

July 30, 2010
by Wyattsmommy06
fromphoenix,az
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love this food. it has the exact complete nutrition your chinchilla needs. it smells good and my chinchilla chipu loves it.
Pros: complete nutrition, delicious
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Excellent Chinchilla Diet

December 5, 2009
by DustBunny86
fromNorthern CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is an excellent diet for chinchillas - high quality ingredients, high fiber, and no fatty or sugary treats in the food. The pellets are never crumbly which cuts down on the amount wasted. It seems very palatable and the chins love it! Best of all, it is recommended by my exotics veterinarian.
Pros: high quality ingredients, high fiber, no fatty/sugary treats, pellets are never crumbly, recommended by my veterinarian, chins love the taste
Cons: a bit pricey
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Oxbow Essentials Chinchilla Food
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
2 out of 2 recommend this product