PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals

KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals

Hay is loved by many small pets. Give your small pet the best of the best with Kaytee Timothy Hay, a natural, healthy treat that’s the perfect complement to your pet’s diet.
Overall rating:
4.569 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 209
197 of 216(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Review 1 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Hamster Nesting Material

June 13, 2014
by ashleymrtn
fromVienna, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hamster loves using this hay as nesting material. I've never seen him chew on it, but it keeps him warm when he's snuggled up under it. The bag is completely stuffed, so you receive a lot and it lasts a long time. Smells great, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 216 reviews

Not the best

May 28, 2014
by jbooser
fromWaldorf, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a chinchilla and he pretty much refused to eat this brand. Just like another person who wrote a review, I had to break away from his usual hay because my local Petsmart, which is the only retailer in my area I'm aware of that sells his usual hay were completely sold out. Compared to his usual hay, this stuff is far below quality. When it's packed in the bag, it feels really soft and some pieces are extremely hard. There's even small stringy pieces in it as well, which I believe isn't fresh. Never again will I get this brand. Not only because of its quality, but because I know he doesn't eat it.
By the way, the hay I give my chin is Oxbow Western Timothy Hay. Very good stuff and he can't resist it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 216 reviews

Poor Quality Hay

May 14, 2014
by SecondStride
fromAnnapolis, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought thishay because I ran out and my local petsmart did not have my usale brand(Vitacraft). I bought this hay and I never will again. Strands were long and hard. Mostly hay that are chopped too finely that they are dusty. I think they mixed the hay in with old hay they could not sell or got old. My rabbit used to have hay as 90% of his weekly diet now going to this hay it 20%. NEVER going back to this brand of hay!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Great for Sheep!

May 2, 2014
by Sabrazom
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had bought this hay for my sheep and they greatly enjoy it along with their Alfalfa hay!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

March 7, 2014
by DiMaggio1
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Great Hay! :)
Pros: price, smell, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Great

March 1, 2014
by silverstar75
fromNew York,N.y
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
plenty to chew my animals love it and i like the smell and everything looks great it always looks fresh
Pros: price, smell, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Hamster and Rats Love Hay

January 14, 2014
by Wyvernfire22
fromLafayette, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought a big bag of this to try it out and I couldn't be happier with it. My hamster loves to chew on it and my rats like to eat it too. It smells very sweet and while it does get clumpy when wet, I started putting the hay in a toy and my hamster stopped stuffing it in his water dish.
Pros: smell, taste
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 216 reviews

January 9, 2014
by Taliacrazypetlover
fromAurora, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My guinea pig loves this stuff. The product hasn't given me a problem and is affordable.
Pros: price, smell, taste
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Easy, convenient, and fast delivery

January 5, 2014
by Reviewer8888
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Delivered really fast with standard shipping. Price was quite reasonable, too.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

January 3, 2014
by mimmy
fromCazenovia,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
big pieces and not a lot of dust at bottom of bag.
Pros: price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 216 reviews

Good

December 31, 2013
by BettaSpoiler900
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The only thing is messy and dusty, once I bought a really old bag and it smelled bad and was dusty!! xD
Pros: smell, taste
Cons: price, dusty
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 216 reviews

Good but mossy

December 21, 2013
by Shniffle
fromRedlands, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
When i first opened the package it smelled good and fresh. But as soon as i started to give it to my piggies i noticed that it had moss and dirt in it. I d=had to get rid of that stuff and i was left with a about 10 oz less of hay in the bag. They love it though.
Not very nice of them adding moss and dirt though.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Best for Bunnies

December 18, 2013
by BunnyLady
fromBaltimore MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Want to buy only U.S. grown processed hay for my rescued house rabbits. Have actually called and spoken with Kaytee customer service person to ascertain specifics on growing and processing. Since the rabbits rely on what I feed them to maintain their solid digestive systems there is no way I will feed them crazy colorful gimmicky supposed rabbit yummies. This is the basic reliable Timothy hay they need to accompany fresh vegetables. I have always bought this product and will continue to for the health of our rabbits. And because I have several, I love the availability of the larger 48-96 ox. packages.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

My chinchilla loves it

December 16, 2013
by Hsingshu
fromHeber, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My chinchilla loves Timothy hay so I wanted to get a bigger bag this time. I got this during B-Friday sales. I got a really good deal on the price and free shipping. sweet stuff <3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Great!

December 2, 2013
by Bunnicula
fromphila
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My rabbit dug right into this fresh, green, delicious hay! He likes to lay in it, too. Delivery was quick!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

timothy hay

November 4, 2013
by 3ladypigs
fromWhitesburg, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My picky lady pigs love this hay. When they hear the bag opening they start wheeking for hay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 216 reviews

Good procuct

October 6, 2013
by Tatiana
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My rabbit eats Timothy Hay daily. It is very crunchy and has good smell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Great Stuff

September 21, 2013
by LopEarHeaven
fromAlpine, Texas
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have several "house" rabbits (pets), and I have yet to find a type of hay they won't eat. Kaytee's product seems to be as tasty and as good quality as any other I've tried, but the 96 oz bags are actually 106 oz, so you get a bit more for the same price. I also like how it is compacted in the bag instead of being "loose" like the oxbow stuff; makes it easier to get it out of the bag.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 216 reviews

Love the quality of the hay

September 18, 2013
by croninclan
fromAmesbury MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our piggies squeal when they hear the bag ( just read carefully) I ordered a bag that is massive lol, it will certainly last a while
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KAYTEE® Natural Timothy Hay for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 216 reviews

Not so good!!!

September 14, 2013
by Sammythefish
fromOmaha, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I like oxbow timothy hay better because I tried this for my pigs and they hated it. Its greasy and fatty. Its like 40 cupcakes all in one. I would not recommend this to anyone I know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next