PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit

Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit

Are you a new fish owner? Then our Top Fin® 5.5 Gallon Aquarium Starter KIt starter kit – with so many features – is perfect for you!
Overall rating:
4.412 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 84
78 of 85(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Review 1 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Great for bettas!

August 17, 2014
by Fishlover222266
fromNC
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a great tank for bettas. No other fish can be housed in it, due to its size, 5.5gals, but if not bettas you can house african dwarf frogs, snails or shrimp.
I have this for my male betta and its great. The filter is a bit strong, but I easily baffled it. It has space for 2 hiding places (a cute pot and log), several live and silk plants, and a heater. My betta, 4 ghost shrimp and apple snail live happily in this. Due to it being cycled, having live plants and a filter, I only have to do a 50% water change every week, which is simple with my gravel vacuum.
This is definitely worth the price and a great tank for a betta!
Pic is of the tank when i first set up. Now it has a heater installed and more live plants.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Good tank

August 13, 2014
by Piggieluver7777
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
So we had my betta in a little bowl and decided to upgrade to this. It really a great tank, but sadly we had to place my betta back into his bowl because the sides of the tank are mirrored on the inside and the filter was to strong. So he was getting very stressed out. We then got a few guppies and frogs for that tank and they love it! So overall it's a great tank, but it definitely not for betta fish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 85 reviews

Tank, good. Accessories, not so much

May 4, 2014
by Bettalover07
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The tank itself is great. The glass is solid with a great seal, and is easy to clean.
The filter, however, is too strong for my betta. I had to replace it with another filter.
While the hood looks pleasing to the eye, its functionality isn't what it should be. While there is a cover over the light bulb to keep water from splashing onto it, evaporation can still get in. After a month or so, my light bulb stopped working. I replaced the bulb, but the light still wouldn't work. I took a closer look and saw that the bulb socket was rusted over. I had to replace the hood, too.
Personally for me, I pretty much paid for just the glass tank.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 85 reviews

May 2, 2014
by Shelaum
fromMD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pro:
Tank was quick and easy to set up, which was great because I rescued my neighbors fish when he got evicted, and was just going to dump the fish. Doesn't leak. Decent price.
Con:
Hood stopped working after 2 roughly two months. Changed light bulbs, but the actual hood is shot. Gets dirty quickly, but that's expected with small tanks. Difficult to take the filter apart to clean.
Switched to a larger tank (Don't know the brand!) but still use the 5.5 gallon tank at my boyfriends house.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Excellent Tank

April 24, 2014
by Shivaned81
fromTemecula, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I added my own custom made Betta Dividers which wasn't an easy task lol. The Filter isn't the one it says it comes with but I made a Water Bottle Baffle for it. The light is perfect for my live plants and betta fish. I even bought a second tank while it was on sale for $20.00. All in all a great starter tank and I would recommend to any aquatic enthusiast.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Great tank!

April 19, 2014
by Gclo2
fromNy
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The tank is great and well made and the hood and light are good also! The filter can be a little noisy but I stopped the rattling with a rubber band. The thermometer is comes with does the job but is hard to read, but the net it good. I definetly recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 85 reviews

Tank seems good. Instructions the worst ever.

April 2, 2014
by BettaMischief
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank as a replacement for another brand name. The tank itself is perfect for my betta. The glass insures no distortion and it's easy to clean, plus the light spans the tank so I can see him all the time.
The filter is another story. The instructions for the filter are the worst I have ever seen. I set up the tank, gravel, etc. and water. Since there is no list of contents I was unaware of my not having the knob to regulate the water flow. The instructions said there was one.
I'll go to the store at E117th St at the FDR Drive in NYC and will update you on what happens and how the filter works.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Good starter tank.

March 5, 2014
by PetHead
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this tank about 2 weeks ago, and its going great so far. I got this for my betta fish. The only problem with this tank is the filter, it's too strong. It can easily be fixed by using a water bottle baffle (look it up) or putting some sponge on the outtake, I've personally only used the water bottle one. Other than that my betta seems to love her new tank. :)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Great Buy!

February 23, 2014
by KittiesandFish
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought this for my younger brother's new Betta (who is currently in our 20 gallon community), and it seems perfect! The light is decent for most purposes, the filter flow is fine, and with added floss from the 20, the cycle seems to be complete in just a day! Hei will love his tank.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 85 reviews

Good for 1 year

January 29, 2014
by Pet2121
fromNorfolk, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had this tank with no issues for 1 year and then the light bulb went out. I tried 3 light bulbs and none of them work. The light is broken. Now my fish live in the dark. In winter it gets very cold in there. I lookes and Top Fin doesn't have a phone number or a website. The tank is okay but the company makes me mad.
-9points
7of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

betta tank

January 18, 2014
by thisisntmyname
fromHere, ME
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars, cause the bulb it comes with is pretty terrible (the one in the pic is a Sunlite SLT7/27K 7 Watt)... used an AC 20 filter instead as well... but all in all, it's a good tank
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Great for Betta

January 7, 2014
by Kinickie
fromNorthern VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a great small starter tank at an excellent price. I bought this for my single betta, and he has been enjoying his new home in the 8 months I've had the tank.
I noticed another reviewer mentioned that the filter current is too strong for bettas. This is true if you let the water level get too low, but if I keep the water topped up and the filter on the lowest setting the current is mild and my betta has no problems with it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 85 reviews

Not too good for Bettas...

December 28, 2013
by Chay27
fromCharlottetown, PE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently bought this for my old Betta, but there is a big problem! The filter is way too strong for a Betta! So, I took it into my own hands and added a water bottle baffle. Also to the people complaining about the switch/knob to turn the filter power down, try turning the piece that has the power cord coming out of it, outwards from the filter. I did this and it did calm the flow down, but it is still too strong for a Betta. This tank would probably do much better with stronger swimming fish. I am going to try and keep my Betta in here (he has plenty of hiding places) but I may end up changing the filter to a lower powered one.
(Sorry for bad quality picture!)
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Great!! I love my new tank!

December 25, 2013
by Bettapaws
fromOH, PARMA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I just got this tank for christmas because i upgrated 12 fish to this tank, they like the room and plants and stuff but the only problem is that the filter is for 10 gallon aquarium and my fish cannot eat well because the food goes down like where the water goes it and the food goes to the bottom and my fish dont like the bottom because the filter but it is beautiful and very cool!!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews

November 21, 2013
by DreyDreams
fromTigard, OR
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this tank for a betta two weeks ago and so far it's been great. This filter works fine (though the set up instructions were a little vague) and I like that the hood has a feeding hole. The cut out in the hood for the filter is just large enough to also fit the heater cord.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews

Worked for 21 months with no trouble

November 21, 2013
by drydem
fromWashington DC Metro Area
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Setup hood light with a flourescent bulb running the lights 12 hours a day as an AquaScape Office Aquarium with a catfish and some ottos hiding under some drift wood. No leaks. use furniture mover pads from home depot to prevent the Aquarium from scraping the desktop. Pump still works. Use vingear to clean up calcium deposits. on 22nd month - lightswitch in hood stops working and will not swtich on- looks like corrosion.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Amazing product!

October 14, 2013
by fishmamaof10
fromSt. Albert, AB, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The starter kit was perfect! My filter doesn't have a flow dial. It took me a while, but the black sponge goes closest to the exit point for the water. The white part goes behind it. Overall, it is an amazing product!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews

Good tank starter

September 30, 2013
by Winter12
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I like this tank as a starter. It came with everything needed to start except gravel. I have had no problem with leaking, which is good. I do need a bigger tank now that my fish are bigger, but I should have gotten fish that would stay small. Research your fish first. Perfect for someone who wants a few fish and not have to worry about large tank up keep.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews

Nice tank, filter instructions could use some work

September 29, 2013
by Cara75
fromAustin, Texas
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank for my 8 year old son's birthday. I bought it in the store, so I didn't have any problems with broken glass like many other reviewers seem to have. It came with everything that it claimed and the set-up pamphlet was helpful and informative.
However, when I got to the instructions to assemble the filter, things went south. The crude pictures didn't look exactly like the filter that came with my tank. The instructions didn't really make sense. There is no dial on my filter to turn to a (+) or (-) to increase or decrease the flow speed...at least not where the instructions say that dial should be and not anywhere else on it that I can find. I also couldn't figure out which direction the two spongy parts should go down into the filter. Should the water be flowing through the thin, black filter first then into the thick white filter which seems to contain rocks inside, or is it the other way around? In any case, the filter instructions could definitely be more user friendly and have more clear pictures.
And seriously, if someone can tell me how to adjust the flow speed on this filter or tell me which order these filter sponges need to go, I'd really appreciate it! :)
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 85 reviews

Broken in pieces.

September 21, 2013
by Lynz
fromWilmington, DE
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I opened the box and the tank was in 5 pieces.
-22points
3of 28voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next