PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit

Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit

Are you a new fish owner? Then our Top Fin® 5.5 Gallon Aquarium Starter KIt starter kit – with so many features – is perfect for you!
Overall rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 92
85 of 93(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Review 1 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 93 reviews

Cheap hood cover not as advertised.

October 8, 2014
by Ronh
fromMass
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They advertised this fish tank comes with Aquarium, 16" Incandescent Hood and Bulb, but I didn't receive that. I got some plastic cheap cover and its very disappointing. So please double check the product and don't end up like me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 93 reviews

Not as pictured

October 6, 2014
by sonicblue03
fromBristol,CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It doesn't have the same hood as pictured. It is a cheaply made, flat hood, with a (hard to put in)snap-in white LED light. The glue in the seams is messy and makes the edges look milky.
I gave it 3 stars because of the price, it's a nice heavy glass, it comes with goodies, and doesn't leak. I had a filter, so I can't comment on this one.
I wish they had the pay and pick up when I got this. Maybe I could have gotten what I really wanted. My tank was cracked and I really needed it. Eventually I will try to find the hood shown and purchase it. I guess I just lost my savings though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 93 reviews

Ok...filter is WAY too strong

September 21, 2014
by Bettas4life
fromCoon Rapids, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Hi, I got this tank for my male betta fish and his otocinclus pal. I wanted to upgrade him from his 1.5 gallon, which was way too small. I overall tank is great, It came with a sticker thermometer, a net, LED lights, the hood, water tester, and 10 gallon power filter and cartridge. The filter is REALLY strong. It tossed around my betta really bad, and It makes high waves on the surface. I just used my old filter from the old tank and thats working great. the only downside is the bad filter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Excellent small tank

September 20, 2014
by tdpries
fromBenton Harbor, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had this tank for a couple of months now and have had no problems at all with it. It's pretty much silent. I have natural live plants in it, 3 guppies, 3 platies, 2 female bettas, 2 algae eaters and will be getting a couple of mystery snails. The filter flow is excellent, not at all too strong. I DO keep the tank topped up which I think is a lot of the problem some folks have when they complain that the filter is noisy or too strong. I keep mine less than a half-inch from the black rim along the top. So far everything is working well. It's a great little tank.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great!

September 12, 2014
by M1n1wheat
fromLakeville, Mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank a few days ago and I'm loving it! It's the perfect size for my betta and platys! The filter is pretty good, however, there is supposed to be a knob you turn to adjust the water flow from it and I am unable to find it. The accessories that come with the tank are LED lights, a fish net, a small vial for free water testings and a fish guide. It's really easy to set up, just make sure you have extra gravel because 5 pounds of it didn't quite cover the bottom :-) overall, I'm very pleased with this tank!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 93 reviews

Great Tank

August 30, 2014
by Stoni2041
fromArizona
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Great tank for the price. The HOB filter it comes with starts off a little powerful for a Betta, but slows down after about a week and is also easily baffled.
The top holds a 13w CFL Daylight 6500k bulb no problem, which allows for plants to grow great.
If you want to have plants in this tank I recommend changing the activated carbon to zeolite or some other biomedia that does not remove nutrients essential to plants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great starter tank

August 29, 2014
by Kmnfishman
fromOrange county, CA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this tank about 3 years ago and used it as my first actual aquarium. Now I use it as a hospital tank for my 20 g and 36 g. It is a great little kit! The filter is still running and is on my 20 g with another filter and the tank itself is very sturdy. I would recommend this to anybody whose just starting out and wants a small kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 93 reviews

Great value!

August 28, 2014
by BettaKerr
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This tank is a great tank for beginners! I bought it for my crowntail betta since he needed something bigger than his 1 gallon tank. I upgraded him to this 5.5 gallon and he could not be happier! I wish I could give this tank 4.5 stars instead of 4 because overall it is a great value and easy to set up, however, the filter says that the current can be adjusted in the manual but the filter itself is not able to be adjusted. I believe I bought a newer version than the one in the picture because the hood is not as large. I feel that the current it produces is too strong for a betta fish because it knocks him around when he is at the surface. However, the tank is 5.5 gallons so it is plenty big enough for him to find hiding places. I have him in there with a golden mystery snail and three neon tetras and they all seem as happy as can be! Great product for the price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great for bettas!

August 17, 2014
by Fishlover222266
fromNC
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a great tank for bettas. No other fish can be housed in it, due to its size, 5.5gals, but if not bettas you can house african dwarf frogs, snails or shrimp.
I have this for my male betta and its great. The filter is a bit strong, but I easily baffled it. It has space for 2 hiding places (a cute pot and log), several live and silk plants, and a heater. My betta, 4 ghost shrimp and apple snail live happily in this. Due to it being cycled, having live plants and a filter, I only have to do a 50% water change every week, which is simple with my gravel vacuum.
This is definitely worth the price and a great tank for a betta!
Pic is of the tank when i first set up. Now it has a heater installed and more live plants.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Good tank

August 13, 2014
by Piggieluver7777
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
So we had my betta in a little bowl and decided to upgrade to this. It really a great tank, but sadly we had to place my betta back into his bowl because the sides of the tank are mirrored on the inside and the filter was to strong. So he was getting very stressed out. We then got a few guppies and frogs for that tank and they love it! So overall it's a great tank, but it definitely not for betta fish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 93 reviews

Tank, good. Accessories, not so much

May 4, 2014
by Bettalover07
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The tank itself is great. The glass is solid with a great seal, and is easy to clean.
The filter, however, is too strong for my betta. I had to replace it with another filter.
While the hood looks pleasing to the eye, its functionality isn't what it should be. While there is a cover over the light bulb to keep water from splashing onto it, evaporation can still get in. After a month or so, my light bulb stopped working. I replaced the bulb, but the light still wouldn't work. I took a closer look and saw that the bulb socket was rusted over. I had to replace the hood, too.
Personally for me, I pretty much paid for just the glass tank.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 93 reviews

May 2, 2014
by Shelaum
fromMD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pro:
Tank was quick and easy to set up, which was great because I rescued my neighbors fish when he got evicted, and was just going to dump the fish. Doesn't leak. Decent price.
Con:
Hood stopped working after 2 roughly two months. Changed light bulbs, but the actual hood is shot. Gets dirty quickly, but that's expected with small tanks. Difficult to take the filter apart to clean.
Switched to a larger tank (Don't know the brand!) but still use the 5.5 gallon tank at my boyfriends house.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Excellent Tank

April 24, 2014
by Shivaned81
fromTemecula, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I added my own custom made Betta Dividers which wasn't an easy task lol. The Filter isn't the one it says it comes with but I made a Water Bottle Baffle for it. The light is perfect for my live plants and betta fish. I even bought a second tank while it was on sale for $20.00. All in all a great starter tank and I would recommend to any aquatic enthusiast.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great tank!

April 19, 2014
by Gclo2
fromNy
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The tank is great and well made and the hood and light are good also! The filter can be a little noisy but I stopped the rattling with a rubber band. The thermometer is comes with does the job but is hard to read, but the net it good. I definetly recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 93 reviews

Tank seems good. Instructions the worst ever.

April 2, 2014
by BettaMischief
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank as a replacement for another brand name. The tank itself is perfect for my betta. The glass insures no distortion and it's easy to clean, plus the light spans the tank so I can see him all the time.
The filter is another story. The instructions for the filter are the worst I have ever seen. I set up the tank, gravel, etc. and water. Since there is no list of contents I was unaware of my not having the knob to regulate the water flow. The instructions said there was one.
I'll go to the store at E117th St at the FDR Drive in NYC and will update you on what happens and how the filter works.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Good starter tank.

March 5, 2014
by PetHead
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this tank about 2 weeks ago, and its going great so far. I got this for my betta fish. The only problem with this tank is the filter, it's too strong. It can easily be fixed by using a water bottle baffle (look it up) or putting some sponge on the outtake, I've personally only used the water bottle one. Other than that my betta seems to love her new tank. :)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great Buy!

February 23, 2014
by KittiesandFish
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought this for my younger brother's new Betta (who is currently in our 20 gallon community), and it seems perfect! The light is decent for most purposes, the filter flow is fine, and with added floss from the 20, the cycle seems to be complete in just a day! Hei will love his tank.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 93 reviews

Good for 1 year

January 29, 2014
by Pet2121
fromNorfolk, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had this tank with no issues for 1 year and then the light bulb went out. I tried 3 light bulbs and none of them work. The light is broken. Now my fish live in the dark. In winter it gets very cold in there. I lookes and Top Fin doesn't have a phone number or a website. The tank is okay but the company makes me mad.
-9points
7of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

betta tank

January 18, 2014
by thisisntmyname
fromHere, ME
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars, cause the bulb it comes with is pretty terrible (the one in the pic is a Sunlite SLT7/27K 7 Watt)... used an AC 20 filter instead as well... but all in all, it's a good tank
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin 5.5 Gal Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great for Betta

January 7, 2014
by Kinickie
fromNorthern VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a great small starter tank at an excellent price. I bought this for my single betta, and he has been enjoying his new home in the 8 months I've had the tank.
I noticed another reviewer mentioned that the filter current is too strong for bettas. This is true if you let the water level get too low, but if I keep the water topped up and the filter on the lowest setting the current is mild and my betta has no problems with it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next