PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

Give your fish a great home with our Top Fin® 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit. Discover this kit’s many features to comfort your fish in their new home.
Overall rating:
4.348 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 68
63 of 69(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Review 1 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews

Works pretty good!

October 10, 2014
by chirpy456
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
The tank is over all pretty decent and nicely constructed. The filter works and is quiet. Only the Top Fin 10's are quiet. Doesn't come with the food or bacteria sample. And the hood is not the same one in the picture. The lights are really bright! I have to dim them a little for my neon tetras though. The heater is easy to use and the strip thermometer works. The hood is also kinda cheap, but still durable.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Great starter!

September 28, 2014
by MJaye
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought it back in February but waited until now (end of Sept.) to write a review. The tank was purchased in store and it has held up very well. I can not say the same for some of the fish. It came with everything. Love the tank and plan on buying another.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Overall it's great

September 22, 2014
by JDogg
fromLa Mirada, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The aquarium is amazing for aquarium starters. The filter is not amazing but it is substantial for a minimum number of fish. My fishes are doing great and are probably going to live long, healthy lives. Although the water current from the filter can be too strong for some fishes and it's quite loud but you'll get used to it. The inhabitants for my aquarium are 1 male and 2 female sunshine guppies, 1 endler guppy cobra hybrid, 1 cory catfish, and 1 otociniclaus. Aquatic plants are anubias nana and anacharis. Another point I would like to mention is that the petsmart employee put the price for the 5 gallon goldfish aquarium under this one. She immediatly checked and changed the price of this aquarium for $20. Amazing service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 69 reviews

Complete junk

September 10, 2014
by mhutch67
fromOtsego, mi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Purchased this kit as it was on sale, picked up on a Sunday afternoon, open box as soon as I got home, and the tank was cracked in several pieces in the box, didn't even get it out of the box. Took it back and exchanged it for another one for my son. Got the tank all set-up on Sunday evening and by Tuesday evening the back cracked and leaked all the water out onto my sons carpeted floor. Very aggravating. Took that back and got a refund. Top fin is junk. The glass is so thin. I have several tanks at home 90 gallon, 55 gallon and a 29 gallon. But this 10 gallon Top Fin tank is not worth 10 cents..
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Excellent product!

August 27, 2014
by Bil3339201
fromMichigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this aquarium 3 days ago from pet smart and I love it! There are no fish in it yet but it is a wonderful tank and it will soon be home to a few Guppies! The only thing is that it DOES NOT come with the fish food sample, water conditioner, and the bacterial starter. But the topfin brand is a good brand and the quality of this tank represents top fin. I hope you buy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Love it

August 5, 2014
by Catlover3434
fromWashingtion ,wa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
So awsome
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Great starter

May 6, 2014
by nina1
fromLos Angeles, CA
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a simple 10 gallon tank which will have to be upgraded when the fish grow, but it is good to start with. ★★★★★
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Great Aquarium!!!

April 29, 2014
by Shannon98
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
I have only had a fish bowl before with one fish and I wanted an aquarium, so I went to the petsmart website to look at some and came across this one. I read the reviews and saw somethings about the hood being loose or the LED lights being garbage but iI totally reccomend this product!!!!! The lights are great and give the water a sharp crystal clear look and look great on all the plants and shells and rocks I bought as well, also being top fin products! No complaints at all!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Good tank

April 20, 2014
by JoeDirt98
fromToms river, NJ
This tank is really nice. I'm looking into buying it and I wanted to know if u have to buy a pump or not.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Great tank at an even better price

April 9, 2014
by TOPFINTANKBUYER
fromn/a
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank at PetSmart approx. 2 months ago and it is a really nice tank. the filter is very quiet and cleans the water very well. It says it has incandecent lighting but when I un-boxed it i found it had LED lights, which was a plus. The hood fits well and the heater heats the water efficiently. Overall, its a good tank.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

This tank is awesome!!

March 18, 2014
by Anonymous
fromAzusa, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased this tank yesterday and I love it. I wanted to upgrade from my 5 gallon and this did the trick. I am currently cycling it, but soon it will be the new home for my fish. I strongly recommend this tank because when I got it, nothing was broken and it was easy to set up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 69 reviews

LED Lights are Garbage

March 11, 2014
by CLSLED
fromMiddletown NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 69 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 69 reviews
The tank itself is fine, but the LED lighting is complete junk. The lights were initially bright, but failed within one week. Based on other Top-Fin reviews its obviously a problem, yet they don't seem to be doing anything about it. I would not recommend this product simply for the reason that replacing the lighting is going to be a headache.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: flimsy
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Great Tank

March 10, 2014
by sdsfjslkdsjdslk
fromnew york , Ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews
Wonderful tank for any thing that can go in the size. I have a blue gourami and a peppercoral catfish. This tank is good and the filter is quiet. The kit makes it easy and cheap.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

10 gallon tank

February 2, 2014
by MollyFish101
fromLittleton, Co
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had this tank for a while now, and this tank is very good. You will obviously have to clean it, which is a responsibility, but it is very fun to have
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews

Pretty good

February 1, 2014
by kingkloklo
fromBoise, ID
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This tank, is very well made, and came with the essentials. The filter works well for me and for my fish. The tank is only ever cloudy when I change the water and kick up some sand, never because the filter doesn't work well enough. The heater works, but is very sensitive, or at least for me.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews

Make sure you have another filter

January 25, 2014
by Jenn51
fromSan Gabriel,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Overall this kit is great,the filter comes with it about ok..but I prefer to get another stronger filter..I test it for two days just to run top fin filter alone it seems a ill bit my tank cycle slowly
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Great Tank

November 4, 2013
by EmeBras
fromNorth Las Vegas, NV 89031
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Filter and Heater work great and tank is amazing accidentally put strip therometer inside the tank but still a great buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

great

August 17, 2013
by KSharp
fromaustin tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews
its a good sized tank. perfect for the size and great for what it came with
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews

Amazing!!!

August 1, 2013
by fishlover29
fromridgefield nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 69 reviews
I bought this fish tank today and it came with every thing i needed to get started i have one fish in it right now and he is loving the space. hope u buy it wont be disapointed.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 69 reviews

Pretty Good Tank

July 9, 2013
by Utah
fromSLC, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This tank comes with everything you need to set up an aquarium...except good instructions! For first time fish owners we would have appreciated more detailed and illustrated instructions. Other than that we are quite happy with our tank.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next