PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

Give your fish a great home with our Top Fin® 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit. Discover this kit’s many features to comfort your fish in their new home.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 63
59 of 64(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Review 1 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Love it

August 5, 2014
by Catlover3434
fromWashingtion ,wa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
So awsome
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great starter

May 6, 2014
by nina1
fromLos Angeles, CA
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a simple 10 gallon tank which will have to be upgraded when the fish grow, but it is good to start with. ★★★★★
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great Aquarium!!!

April 29, 2014
by Shannon98
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
I have only had a fish bowl before with one fish and I wanted an aquarium, so I went to the petsmart website to look at some and came across this one. I read the reviews and saw somethings about the hood being loose or the LED lights being garbage but iI totally reccomend this product!!!!! The lights are great and give the water a sharp crystal clear look and look great on all the plants and shells and rocks I bought as well, also being top fin products! No complaints at all!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Good tank

April 20, 2014
by JoeDirt98
fromToms river, NJ
This tank is really nice. I'm looking into buying it and I wanted to know if u have to buy a pump or not.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great tank at an even better price

April 9, 2014
by TOPFINTANKBUYER
fromn/a
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank at PetSmart approx. 2 months ago and it is a really nice tank. the filter is very quiet and cleans the water very well. It says it has incandecent lighting but when I un-boxed it i found it had LED lights, which was a plus. The hood fits well and the heater heats the water efficiently. Overall, its a good tank.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

This tank is awesome!!

March 18, 2014
by Anonymous
fromAzusa, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased this tank yesterday and I love it. I wanted to upgrade from my 5 gallon and this did the trick. I am currently cycling it, but soon it will be the new home for my fish. I strongly recommend this tank because when I got it, nothing was broken and it was easy to set up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews

LED Lights are Garbage

March 11, 2014
by CLSLED
fromMiddletown NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 64 reviews
The tank itself is fine, but the LED lighting is complete junk. The lights were initially bright, but failed within one week. Based on other Top-Fin reviews its obviously a problem, yet they don't seem to be doing anything about it. I would not recommend this product simply for the reason that replacing the lighting is going to be a headache.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: flimsy
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great Tank

March 10, 2014
by sdsfjslkdsjdslk
fromnew york , Ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Wonderful tank for any thing that can go in the size. I have a blue gourami and a peppercoral catfish. This tank is good and the filter is quiet. The kit makes it easy and cheap.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

10 gallon tank

February 2, 2014
by MollyFish101
fromLittleton, Co
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had this tank for a while now, and this tank is very good. You will obviously have to clean it, which is a responsibility, but it is very fun to have
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Pretty good

February 1, 2014
by kingkloklo
fromBoise, ID
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This tank, is very well made, and came with the essentials. The filter works well for me and for my fish. The tank is only ever cloudy when I change the water and kick up some sand, never because the filter doesn't work well enough. The heater works, but is very sensitive, or at least for me.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Make sure you have another filter

January 25, 2014
by Jenn51
fromSan Gabriel,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Overall this kit is great,the filter comes with it about ok..but I prefer to get another stronger filter..I test it for two days just to run top fin filter alone it seems a ill bit my tank cycle slowly
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great Tank

November 4, 2013
by EmeBras
fromNorth Las Vegas, NV 89031
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Filter and Heater work great and tank is amazing accidentally put strip therometer inside the tank but still a great buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

great

August 17, 2013
by KSharp
fromaustin tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews
its a good sized tank. perfect for the size and great for what it came with
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Amazing!!!

August 1, 2013
by fishlover29
fromridgefield nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews
I bought this fish tank today and it came with every thing i needed to get started i have one fish in it right now and he is loving the space. hope u buy it wont be disapointed.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

Pretty Good Tank

July 9, 2013
by Utah
fromSLC, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This tank comes with everything you need to set up an aquarium...except good instructions! For first time fish owners we would have appreciated more detailed and illustrated instructions. Other than that we are quite happy with our tank.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great starter kit! Purchase different conditioner

July 3, 2013
by fishlover19
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this tank about 9 months ago and it has held up well. The power filter works well, and replacement cartridges are inexpensive. The heater is extremely consistent, and I have had to replace my light only once in the past 9 months.
My only negative regarding this starter tank is the conditioner. When i first set this tank up, I used the chemicals/conditioner that came with the kit, and found it very ineffective. I would recommend investing in the API product, Quickstart, or the product, Prime. I would also suggest purchasing Stess Zyme and/or Stress Coat products. These products will also help you through the Nitrogen Cycling process.
All in all, I am very happy with this tank.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Great lighting system and filter

June 19, 2013
by Awesomefill
fromDenver co
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
A bought 2 of these so 1 won't have a heater for a gold fish thank and that 1 leaked so fill w/ caution. So this tank has 2 af cichlids and they are doing great. So why a bought cichlids I did the math and 2 cichlids will = 10in. And my filter is super powerful. But do not get sand with a 10 gallon it makes it cloudy so use the top fin pebbles or your favorite substrate I put some green tape on top to add color.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 64 reviews

OK Starter Kit

May 11, 2013
by awesomeguy
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
tank is good the equitment is BAD. the filter failed a month after i bought the tank, and the lights warm the water to much.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 64 reviews

A very decent starter kit!

April 27, 2013
by Glimmer
fromLondon, ON
What is your gender?F
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I had been looking at a different starter kit, but a salesperson pointed out that this one came with a heater and net. I found that nicer than having to shop around and figure out what kind of heater to get. The filter is virtually silent and I love the glow that the LED lighting gives. The only reason I didn't give this kit 5 stars is that I found the instructions to be difficult to follow at times. I think they're a generic set for all the different sized starter kits-- talked about items that weren't included and weren't always clear about placement, etc. In the end I figured it out, but for someone that really knows nothing about starting an aquarium, I would have appreciated a little more guidance.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 64 reviews

Good Starter Kit!!

April 26, 2013
by SharkbaitwhoLaLa
fromLakewood
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Never had a fish tank in my life, after seeing my little guy love Finding Nemo and always stares at the fish when we go to pet shops, I figured it was time to get one. After spending almost an hour in Petsmart and talking to 2 different people, I brought this one home. At first it was confusing to put together but it's really simple. It doesn't come with the bacteria or other chemical it says. Filter was super quite for me, can barely hear it when I'm close to it and its quiet in the house.
I would recommend do not get a Pleco(sucker fish) get a snail instead. It created too much waste and the nitrates and other levels will be skewed and mess with the water. If you want a cool tank and not too much maintenance with 3-4 fish, this would be perfect!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next