PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium

Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium

If you’ve got just a few fish, our Top Fin® 10 Gallon Glass Aquarium , TOP FIN , Desktop , Aquariums may be the perfect tank for your needs. Check out its features and see if it’s right for you.
Overall rating:
4.537 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 39
39 of 41(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Review 1 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 41 reviews

bad hood and light

May 2, 2014
by lovelybaylie
fromgainesville,fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
when i got this i was so happy until i did a light test.i tried to turn it on and then the switch falls off and my tank is left with no light for the night until the nest day.
pro-awesome tank,great service
con-bad light switch, light too hot,hard to put filter and heater in.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great Value!

April 6, 2014
by toku58
fromOahu Hawaii, Mililani town
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Went to Mililani PetSmart, and they had this tank at a different price. Asked one of the salesperson to check and they gave it to my for advertised $14.97. AWESOME service! Alway enjoy going there! Too bad it such a far drive for me, because it's the only one on the island. I found it odd that it didn't come with the bulbs? But at that price I really don't mind buy the bulbs! PetSmart ROCKS!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Good product at a great price

March 7, 2014
by KennyfromNYC
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I brought this on sale for 20.00 and it was worth every penny. I upgraded one of my tanks for a 5 gallon acrylic tank to a 10 gallon glass tank. Very durable, easy to clean and built to last. Perfect starter size for anyone who is getting in having fish as a hobby. All pro's no con's.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, easy to install
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 41 reviews

Hated it!!!

January 24, 2014
by Serbluv
fromOhio,oh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The feeder tab broke within the first week and has lots of parts from the hood break. Was very hard to find light bulbs that fit.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Overall Good Aquarium

September 28, 2013
by jalb160
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The Top Fin 10 gallon aquarium is overall pretty good. The hood could be designed a little better, and the lights could be protected more, but overall it is a good product.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
Cons: flimsy
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Awesome!

August 14, 2013
by Candy8
fromAlberta,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
So First of all when I checked the online store for Aquariums i found this one for 20$. And i was like hey why not get it so my mom drove me to petsmart. After i went into petsmart looking for the tank for new fishes I found the tank and saw the price of it 32.99$!
I asked them and they said it was probably changed and shortly after. They Gave it to me for only 20$.
PETSMART PEOPLE ARE SOOOOOOO KIND!!!!!!!!!!
I'm very satisfied by this product , very recommend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Good for the price

July 28, 2013
by Anjelly
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a good aquarium for beginners as it is really easy to set up and has a great price. My fish love the room because I upgraded to this from my other two gallon tank. However, I was disappointed that it didn't come with the lamp that fits in it. Still a good tank, very sturdy.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great Starter Tank

January 24, 2013
by KeepItReal
fromSt. Paul, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
An excellent tank for those starting out on a budget. Great for many kinds of freshwater tropical fish. The hood works well, although fluorescent lights are typically better for fish and live plants than incandescent. However, I would highly recommend this product because of the low price and the reliability of the product.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 41 reviews

Good tank, okay hood

November 25, 2012
by BigBettaGal
fromAtlanta, GA
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
First off, this is a really bare-bones package. It comes with the tank and the hood. Nothing else. If you want more, you'll have to get the starter kit. If you already have the heater and filter, then this tank is fine.
The glass tank itself is well constructed and has no leaks. There are strips where the glass is connected, which could be bothersome, but they're not especially noticeable. It really depends on how neat and perfect a tank you want.
My only complaint is the hood's lighting set up. The hood that came with my tank holds two incandescent bulbs, but there is little covering the bulbs from splashing or condensation. There are only two plastic plates adjustable to cover tubular bulbs (which are not included, I might add). In my case, using a heater, there is almost constant condensation inside, which really renders the lighting unusable even though I found a couple nice LED bulbs to put inside.
I believe the tank that has a hood with a separate light, completely protected by a plastic strip, is the actual starter kit tank that comes with a filter and other tidbits (not the goldfish pack).
I recommend this tank for what it is, and the hood is fine so long as you don't have a condensation issue. My betta and cories love the space almost as much as I do.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Awesome!

November 3, 2012
by xEzio
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this tank for my betta fish, because I felt bad that he was stuck in a small tank/bowl.
So I bought the tank, he to wait for a while cause they were out of stock for a while, but when I got it, everything was in excellent condition. Comes with the tank and the hood, too bad it doesn't come with a light bulb, but that is fine lol.
Overall, construction and how it was built is excellent. No leak so far, and its really stable, even in my small stand (Planning to get a better stand that actually supports 10 Gallon aquarium.
Just make sure you clean the tank before, because they don't use the hood to cover the aquarium so there is going to be some dust/debris.
Excellent product and quality!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 41 reviews

Not bad

June 28, 2012
by Mackenzie276
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product is a good size for my fish (I only have one Betta and will be getting a 2nd with a divider soon), but I don't like that the lid didn't come with the bulbs. It also wasn't the price I was expecting once I got to the store. I love the size of the opening for feeding, as it's big enough to put the fish in. I also like that the lid seems to lock in the heat.
I had to buy a heater and all the gravel, though I knew that it didn't come with a heater. I thought it might at least have some gravel, but no. My fish seems happy though, and loves the tank size. He does laps all day long. In the end, I'd request a tank that includes a heater and filter, as they're only 10 or 20 bucks off, but this tank is good for me and other Betta owners probably.
-12points
8of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Works well

February 19, 2012
by RStevens
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this aquarium for about 9 months now. It works very well for it's intended purpose, although I plan to get a different light bulb for it (not because it doesn't work, though). I feel the hood is a little flimsy, but it has not disappointed me yet. It's also holding up well even though the water level is uneven due to the room going downhill. When I end up stripping the tank, I'll move it closer to the wall furthest from the hill, so hopefully the uneven water level doesn't damage the glass or aquarium in any way. Nothing has been noticed yet, and no leaks when we bought it. All the fish are also very happy and get along famously.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

good price for what's included

February 17, 2012
by mkreci
fromIrvine, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
It's a great price, bulbs are $3-4 (Aquaion brand & you can get 3 different colors). Bought this for my veiltail male betta community that I'm starting. Right now it's stocked with 1 male betta, 4 ottos (Otocinclus Catfish), and 4 ghost shrimp. Sorry you can't see much fish in my uploaded photo, lol. It has a lot of potential if you have extra money, take some time and design it. Mine is Zen/Buddha themed.
+35points
36of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

I love it!

January 30, 2012
by BettaBettaBoy
fromCumming, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have 2 of these and i love them. They keep any kind of fish from saltwater to fresh, aggressive to really laid back fish! I love mine.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

My fish tank

July 27, 2011
by MoJo14
fromLouisville, Ky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I had 70.00 from a yard sale i wanted to spend so i went to petsmart and got all the supplies you need for fish including this tank. It was cheap and my 2 goldfish love it, if they even know that they are in a tank.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great goldfish tank

July 19, 2011
by 10Jewls
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I got this fish tank about 8 months ago when I got five goldfish. Now all the fish are really big, all healthy, and so far none of them have died. I would say the only problem would be that the filter can get dirty quickly, and the tank is hard to clean on the sides, but besides that it's great.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

great tank

July 10, 2011
by yoyopopajo
fromcanada bc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
this is a great tank when i first got it i started with 15 fish then some how wound up at 52 lots of guppy babies then i got 2 mollies bringing the # up to 54 and for some odd reason they all wiped out exept my male mollie named Joneey i just got 2 male turquise guppies 2 male tequila sunrise delta guppies 4 female yellow guppies and 2 female fancy guppies taking my # of fish in the tank from 1 fish to 11 fish and all my fish are bff's now almost all my guppies are young and Joneey is older about 1.5 yeras old now and he is parenting the guppies "awwwww" they all LOVE the tank and the decor
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
-12points
2of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Its wonderful

February 27, 2011
by Tinafairy
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Its very good for beginners. It was my first actual tank and worked brilliantly. It had easy compartments for quipment such as the fiter. And as other people said too, mine too did come with the fish food sample, water test kit, and such. But the only thing I needed and used was the water conditioner sample and now I bought the full bottle and use it for my new fish after my old fishies long lives. I have had tons of fish before I had this aquarium and before now. But I'm still sorta new to it. I have posted a pic of my old fishies, but it was at night thats why it looks funny.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

No problems!

February 10, 2011
by Loaches
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It's a little expensive but I couldn't ask for anything more. It works great!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin 10 Gallon Hooded Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

December 14, 2010
by Steven19
fromBoston, Ma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this is the tank that I started out with and I still use it, I
believe that this is the best starter kit there is
since it already have the hood and the excellent
filter also mine came with a water test kit
and a sample of tropical fish flake so it is a good investment
Pros: cheap, durable, great filter
Cons: none
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next