PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble

Keep your fish in a safe, easy-to-clean environment with our Clear For Life Rectangle Acrylic Aquarium 300 Gallon , ADVANCED AQUA TANKS , Over 40 Gallons , Aquariums. It’s the ideal tank for large fish families.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 60
58 of 65(89%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Review 1 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

Niagra Falls? Oh, no... that's just my aquarium!

January 19, 2015
by Hipychik
fromFort Myers, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Having just spent the last two hours cleaning up 60 gallons of water and rescuing my HUGE fish, there is no possible way I can give this thing a good review. This is my SECOND 60-gallon Heartland Ensemble--the first one sprung a leak one night while I was watching TV, and this one cracked all the way across the front at about 5 o'clock this morning and I woke to the sound of a GUSHING waterfall in the living room. Now what? I'm not sure I want to use the warranty again, as I'm pretty sure (after round two) that this thing is a piece...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 65 reviews

good tank for casual fish goers.

January 11, 2015
by Fishdude82
fromSuisun, Ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This was an OK tank. I would recommend it to someone who is looking at doing a basic set up, no live plants, and no live coral. If you were to use fake decor then this tank is perfect. If you were going to do a live planted tank or a live coral reef tank, this tank will cause you nothing but problems. The tank is too tall, so you will have light issues like crazy, really hard to find the balance, to much light = algae, not enough = dead plants. Also the stand is cheap, if you spill water on it make sure you clean it fast or it will bubble up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

Tank leaks!!!!

December 30, 2014
by Jake22
fromSan Diego
What is your gender?M
I have the tank for less than one week and it started to leak. The seals broke somewhere on the bottom and leaked about 20 gallons in my upstairs room. Marineland was a nightmare to talk amd I won't even get into talking about their customer service. Moral of the story. BUY AQUEON!!! They have great products and I have never had problems with them. First time buying a marineland tank and I'm stuck with this disaster. Never buying Marineland again!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Excellent Aquarium!

December 22, 2014
by Lmjyahoo
fromFlorence, Kzy
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We bought this ensemble 6 months ago in July.
It is perfect! The price (on sale), the size, the quality, and most important: the look; all are excellent. The tanks' 24" tall front makes a great aquarium for our Africa Cichlids. What really sold us, other than size, was the stand. My wife and I had shopped all the local tropical fish stores and were very disappointed with look of all the stands. This stand is very nice. It is solid, is well made and looks terrific.
The doors and inside shelf supply plenty of room and the open shelf underneath just sets it all off! Overall: a great deal & a great aquarium. We love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Great tank, stand is adequate

October 5, 2014
by TheCichlidGods
fromHarrisonburg, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I like the taller tank, allows increased viewing area and separation of bottom, mid and top swimmers. The lights that are included are more than adequate and the tank is a great starting spot. Since this purchase I have added a higher end filter (saving for a canister) so circulation propellers, etc., point is, you can easily build upon this purchase without going back to the bank, I mean drawing board.
I have 2 African Cichlids, 1 South America Cichlid, a large Pleco, Peacock Eel (that stays hidden in the substrate) and a black Ghost Knife Fish. I plan to convert to live plants soon.
I'll be adding a hood, new lighting, new filtration and some bubblers soon, this tank will support that.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

June 3, 2014
by barbking
fromgray court sc
What is your gender?M
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought one of these for my store office and loved it so much I bought one for the house as well. Perfect display for my large community and my customers love it. The one at home houses my barbs and if fish could smile...
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Great Tank for a great price!

May 29, 2014
by 221BSherlocked
fromGreenwood, Indiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got this tank as a birthday gift last month. I didn't go with the recommended filter (I just really don't like hang on back filters) so I upgraded to a large 5-stage canister filter with a built-in UV light and it keeps the water pristine. I currently keep 15 fancy guppies, 1 dwarf gourami, 1 dwarf African frog and a few nerite snails in it with no problems so far.
The stand is very sturdy, but I have it on hardwood flooring. The lights are alright. I have several low-light plants in the tank right now that are flourishing even without adding CO2. But I do plan on upgrading them as soon as I have the money.
For the price, you really could not get a better 60 gallon tank setup (well at least one that hasn't been previously used)
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Appealing, Solid Build, Large, Helpful, Great

April 21, 2014
by GouramiGuy99
fromMassachusetts, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This tank was given to me as a present and I have been amazed with the quality ever since it entered my home. The stand was very high quality, the tank is a purr-fect size for my catfish and other fish and plants. This tank was an upgrade from a 16 gallon and now I know what having a real fish tank is like. Would definitely recommend this tank for anyone looking to get serious about fish keeping.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Great Aguarium

March 16, 2014
by bill70
fromOregon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Have had this aquarium for almost a year. Really like it. The price was good. The only thing I changed was I bought a LED lighting system. The lights that came with it were good. Justed wanted the moon light. The fish love the room. using an aqueon 55/75 filter it keeps the water crystal clean.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Great

March 2, 2014
by Fighterpilot99
fromNy
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had this tank for 2 1/2 years and it's still great.
Right now it has about 30 fish.I do not recommend putting in ghost shrimp in this tank (or any large tank)I put 3 ghost shrimp in the next day
they where gone.And the only fish in the tank it that time where 3 2 inch platys
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Love my new aquarium!

February 28, 2014
by Frankie5
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Recently bought my fish tank, the price was awesome, has lots of room to work with. I have the aqueon filter keeps my water crystal clear, the fluorescent lighting is perfect, Tank has no flaws. It's great for the living room area.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Love, Love, Love this tank!

February 23, 2014
by KC24
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this tank for nearly a year and I absolutely love it! For the price, I couldn't ask for a better tank. I bought the Penguin 300 filter; it fits perfectly fine and my water is very clear. The tank has no flaws from what I can tell and the stand is sturdy. I have it standing on wood flooring, not carpet. The lighting on this tank is great. It's very bright and clear. I have 20+ fish in the tank and they are as happy as can be. This is my first tank and would definitely recommend it to anyone, new or experienced.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Awesome Tank and Stand

January 30, 2014
by Northernfishkeeper
fromThunder Bay Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The tank has so much room for my South American Fish and looks great. Great price and great quality. The lighting is fantastic for this deep tank and the hood fits all my filtering systems and heaters with no issues at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Alwesome Great Tank

January 18, 2014
by ParanormFred
fromBaltimore, Md
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have no issues with the set I got only that is a bit taller than me and I have to get on a stool or something in order to get stuff out of aquarium but my fish love it so far. Far more better than my old rotting 55 gallon tank and stand. If you have big fish then I recommend this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Awesome Look and Appeal

January 11, 2014
by Countrywoman86
fromRome, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have purchased this tank and it is awesome in the appearance and size. I have enjoyed having this tank and would recommend it to anyone looking for a centerpiece for any room. Everyone i have had visit my home is always clearly fascinated in the tank and how crystal clear the glass is and seamless it is. I have had no problems with this tank and my turtles enjoy this home as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Great Set-up for less than $300!

January 2, 2014
by jtown
fromReno, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
You can't buy a set-up like this used for this price. Love the size of the tank. Great length and height for my 5 koi. I do wish this set came with LED lights instead of fluorescent but the lighting still looks great and the fluorescent lamps are not attached so later on I plan to just set two LED lamps on top of the hood inserts. The cabinet is sturdy enough, although I've noticed one of the doors doesn;t close all the way so it may require some minor adjusting. The hood worked great and accommodated the two filters I purchased wonderfully with the convenient "pop-out" tabs which I just removed using a small handheld hack or compass saw. I went with the AquaTechPower Filter 30-60, which is basically the same design as the Marineland® Penguin except no "biowheel" which I read quite a few problematic reviews on. The 18" Aqua Culture aerator stone and Tetra Whisper Air Pump 30-60 gal air pump made for a brilliant bubble curtain effect along the back. I may elect to incorporate my large capacity canister filter later on if necessary but I sure hope I don't have to. The cabinet will likely not hold it and I really don't want to deal with worrying about leaks and flooding of the tank. My current set-up looks great without having bulky filters or aerators involved. We'll see how it goes though as Koi can sure dirty up a tank fast without proper filtration and aeration.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Great product

November 16, 2013
by DaveH
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
It's really nice to have an aquarium with a stand designed specifically for it. I've been using this tank for about 6 months now, and I have no complaints. And at this price point, having no complaints is good enough! So, 5 stars for what you get for the price.
Now for the down sides that you will need to be aware of. The stand has a shelf in it, thereby splitting the height in half inside. So you will not be able to fit a canister filter in it big enough for the entire tank. What I did for my setup, is I am using both a hang-on-back 60gal. filter, as well as a 45gal canister filter which is the only size that will fit down there. The canister filter's intake tube is not long enough for the height of a 60gal tank, so I extended it with a section of tubing I cut from a gravel vac.
Second issue is the lamps it comes with. They are just not bright enough for a tank of this size. You will want to upgrade to a dual bulb lamp. Trust me.
Other than that, the glass is thick, the stand is relatively sturdy for the price but please make sure it will be going on a level floor because again, this is FOR THE PRICE very good, but you need to bear in mind that there is a reason it's so dang inexpensive.
Pros: sturdy, easy to install
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Most aesthetic tank setup at a frugal price

October 15, 2013
by Zyzz
fromNew York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This ensemble simply amazing. The cabinet stand plus 60g tank is the best combination and makes my home look that much better. I got it during a sale for around 200, so I love it that much more. Its one of the center pieces of my home. Worth buying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Marineland 60G Great setup!

August 22, 2013
by tonypro
fromElgin IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recently upgraded from a Aqueon 15G Column tank to this wonderful Marineland 60G Tank w/stand.
It has good build quality but the stand if set on carpet will sway forward so I wedged a set of rubber doorstops underneath to level it perfectly! I also painted the back of the tank deep grey/black, then I purchased a Aqueon 55/70 Filter which fits great on the factory hood that came with the tank.
I also recommend a wavemaker from Marineland or Koralia to move that water around a bit more. Overall it was a easy and simple setup. The tank is deep so also consider getting a magnetic glass cleaner I use a Aqueon cleaner to keep it clean. The lighting is good as you can see. It's a great deal and adds a alot of character to any home. You wont regret it.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

price price price

August 6, 2013
by Tonyfish
fromID
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Like i said price is great. I start with the cons... I had to level the tank stand not sure if it was the stand or floor. But easy but time cosuming fix. I used pennies as seen in pic. There is a gap between middle of tank and stand in front .. Not sure about back as seen in pic... I bought a canister filter which will not fit in stand (marineland c360) .. I put it next to stand and it doesnt bother me. i only had for two days now no fish or decori yet but if tank holds up which i am sure it will i think its a great deal. I will be a beauty! I seen alot of comments about lights but i think they are good.. Not great but no need to spend extra money on leds. I also thought that being so tall and narrow tank would be easy to tip.. But thats not the case it doesnt want to move :) helps that it is level.. Great price.. Great veiw.. What more could u ask for.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next