PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble

MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble

Keep your fish in a safe, easy-to-clean environment with our Clear For Life Rectangle Acrylic Aquarium 300 Gallon , ADVANCED AQUA TANKS , Over 40 Gallons , Aquariums. It’s the ideal tank for large fish families.
Overall rating:
4.672 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 56
57 of 61(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Review 1 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Great tank, stand is adequate

October 5, 2014
by TheCichlidGods
fromHarrisonburg, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I like the taller tank, allows increased viewing area and separation of bottom, mid and top swimmers. The lights that are included are more than adequate and the tank is a great starting spot. Since this purchase I have added a higher end filter (saving for a canister) so circulation propellers, etc., point is, you can easily build upon this purchase without going back to the bank, I mean drawing board.
I have 2 African Cichlids, 1 South America Cichlid, a large Pleco, Peacock Eel (that stays hidden in the substrate) and a black Ghost Knife Fish. I plan to convert to live plants soon.
I'll be adding a hood, new lighting, new filtration and some bubblers soon, this tank will support that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

June 3, 2014
by barbking
fromgray court sc
What is your gender?M
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought one of these for my store office and loved it so much I bought one for the house as well. Perfect display for my large community and my customers love it. The one at home houses my barbs and if fish could smile...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Great Tank for a great price!

May 29, 2014
by 221BSherlocked
fromGreenwood, Indiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got this tank as a birthday gift last month. I didn't go with the recommended filter (I just really don't like hang on back filters) so I upgraded to a large 5-stage canister filter with a built-in UV light and it keeps the water pristine. I currently keep 15 fancy guppies, 1 dwarf gourami, 1 dwarf African frog and a few nerite snails in it with no problems so far.
The stand is very sturdy, but I have it on hardwood flooring. The lights are alright. I have several low-light plants in the tank right now that are flourishing even without adding CO2. But I do plan on upgrading them as soon as I have the money.
For the price, you really could not get a better 60 gallon tank setup (well at least one that hasn't been previously used)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Appealing, Solid Build, Large, Helpful, Great

April 21, 2014
by GouramiGuy99
fromMassachusetts, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This tank was given to me as a present and I have been amazed with the quality ever since it entered my home. The stand was very high quality, the tank is a purr-fect size for my catfish and other fish and plants. This tank was an upgrade from a 16 gallon and now I know what having a real fish tank is like. Would definitely recommend this tank for anyone looking to get serious about fish keeping.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Great Aguarium

March 16, 2014
by bill70
fromOregon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Have had this aquarium for almost a year. Really like it. The price was good. The only thing I changed was I bought a LED lighting system. The lights that came with it were good. Justed wanted the moon light. The fish love the room. using an aqueon 55/75 filter it keeps the water crystal clean.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Great

March 2, 2014
by Fighterpilot99
fromNy
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had this tank for 2 1/2 years and it's still great.
Right now it has about 30 fish.I do not recommend putting in ghost shrimp in this tank (or any large tank)I put 3 ghost shrimp in the next day
they where gone.And the only fish in the tank it that time where 3 2 inch platys
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Love my new aquarium!

February 28, 2014
by Frankie5
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Recently bought my fish tank, the price was awesome, has lots of room to work with. I have the aqueon filter keeps my water crystal clear, the fluorescent lighting is perfect, Tank has no flaws. It's great for the living room area.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Love, Love, Love this tank!

February 23, 2014
by KC24
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this tank for nearly a year and I absolutely love it! For the price, I couldn't ask for a better tank. I bought the Penguin 300 filter; it fits perfectly fine and my water is very clear. The tank has no flaws from what I can tell and the stand is sturdy. I have it standing on wood flooring, not carpet. The lighting on this tank is great. It's very bright and clear. I have 20+ fish in the tank and they are as happy as can be. This is my first tank and would definitely recommend it to anyone, new or experienced.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Awesome Tank and Stand

January 30, 2014
by Northernfishkeeper
fromThunder Bay Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The tank has so much room for my South American Fish and looks great. Great price and great quality. The lighting is fantastic for this deep tank and the hood fits all my filtering systems and heaters with no issues at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Alwesome Great Tank

January 18, 2014
by ParanormFred
fromBaltimore, Md
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have no issues with the set I got only that is a bit taller than me and I have to get on a stool or something in order to get stuff out of aquarium but my fish love it so far. Far more better than my old rotting 55 gallon tank and stand. If you have big fish then I recommend this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Awesome Look and Appeal

January 11, 2014
by Countrywoman86
fromRome, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have purchased this tank and it is awesome in the appearance and size. I have enjoyed having this tank and would recommend it to anyone looking for a centerpiece for any room. Everyone i have had visit my home is always clearly fascinated in the tank and how crystal clear the glass is and seamless it is. I have had no problems with this tank and my turtles enjoy this home as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Great Set-up for less than $300!

January 2, 2014
by jtown
fromReno, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
You can't buy a set-up like this used for this price. Love the size of the tank. Great length and height for my 5 koi. I do wish this set came with LED lights instead of fluorescent but the lighting still looks great and the fluorescent lamps are not attached so later on I plan to just set two LED lamps on top of the hood inserts. The cabinet is sturdy enough, although I've noticed one of the doors doesn;t close all the way so it may require some minor adjusting. The hood worked great and accommodated the two filters I purchased wonderfully with the convenient "pop-out" tabs which I just removed using a small handheld hack or compass saw. I went with the AquaTechPower Filter 30-60, which is basically the same design as the Marineland® Penguin except no "biowheel" which I read quite a few problematic reviews on. The 18" Aqua Culture aerator stone and Tetra Whisper Air Pump 30-60 gal air pump made for a brilliant bubble curtain effect along the back. I may elect to incorporate my large capacity canister filter later on if necessary but I sure hope I don't have to. The cabinet will likely not hold it and I really don't want to deal with worrying about leaks and flooding of the tank. My current set-up looks great without having bulky filters or aerators involved. We'll see how it goes though as Koi can sure dirty up a tank fast without proper filtration and aeration.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Great product

November 16, 2013
by DaveH
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
It's really nice to have an aquarium with a stand designed specifically for it. I've been using this tank for about 6 months now, and I have no complaints. And at this price point, having no complaints is good enough! So, 5 stars for what you get for the price.
Now for the down sides that you will need to be aware of. The stand has a shelf in it, thereby splitting the height in half inside. So you will not be able to fit a canister filter in it big enough for the entire tank. What I did for my setup, is I am using both a hang-on-back 60gal. filter, as well as a 45gal canister filter which is the only size that will fit down there. The canister filter's intake tube is not long enough for the height of a 60gal tank, so I extended it with a section of tubing I cut from a gravel vac.
Second issue is the lamps it comes with. They are just not bright enough for a tank of this size. You will want to upgrade to a dual bulb lamp. Trust me.
Other than that, the glass is thick, the stand is relatively sturdy for the price but please make sure it will be going on a level floor because again, this is FOR THE PRICE very good, but you need to bear in mind that there is a reason it's so dang inexpensive.
Pros: sturdy, easy to install
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Most aesthetic tank setup at a frugal price

October 15, 2013
by Zyzz
fromNew York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This ensemble simply amazing. The cabinet stand plus 60g tank is the best combination and makes my home look that much better. I got it during a sale for around 200, so I love it that much more. Its one of the center pieces of my home. Worth buying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Marineland 60G Great setup!

August 22, 2013
by tonypro
fromElgin IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recently upgraded from a Aqueon 15G Column tank to this wonderful Marineland 60G Tank w/stand.
It has good build quality but the stand if set on carpet will sway forward so I wedged a set of rubber doorstops underneath to level it perfectly! I also painted the back of the tank deep grey/black, then I purchased a Aqueon 55/70 Filter which fits great on the factory hood that came with the tank.
I also recommend a wavemaker from Marineland or Koralia to move that water around a bit more. Overall it was a easy and simple setup. The tank is deep so also consider getting a magnetic glass cleaner I use a Aqueon cleaner to keep it clean. The lighting is good as you can see. It's a great deal and adds a alot of character to any home. You wont regret it.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

price price price

August 6, 2013
by Tonyfish
fromID
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Like i said price is great. I start with the cons... I had to level the tank stand not sure if it was the stand or floor. But easy but time cosuming fix. I used pennies as seen in pic. There is a gap between middle of tank and stand in front .. Not sure about back as seen in pic... I bought a canister filter which will not fit in stand (marineland c360) .. I put it next to stand and it doesnt bother me. i only had for two days now no fish or decori yet but if tank holds up which i am sure it will i think its a great deal. I will be a beauty! I seen alot of comments about lights but i think they are good.. Not great but no need to spend extra money on leds. I also thought that being so tall and narrow tank would be easy to tip.. But thats not the case it doesnt want to move :) helps that it is level.. Great price.. Great veiw.. What more could u ask for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Absolutely beautiful!

July 14, 2013
by Scottm
fromCary, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Just purchased this tank and set it up for my african cichlids. I love it and so do they. I have 2 Aquaclear 110 filters and they fit nicely on the back. I am not using the fluorescent lights that came with the setup. 2 24-36 inch Marineland single bright LED lights fit almost perfectly where the fluorescent lights should go. I am however using the hoods and you can't tell the LEDs didn't come with it. Had I known this in the beginning it would have saved me some returning and additional trips to petsmart. The stand is sturdy and looks like furniture not just a tank stand. The under tank storage is nice and the hardware on the stand is very stylish. If you are getting started in the hobby or you need to upgrade, this is a great value.
Pros: sturdy
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Love It!

July 13, 2013
by PilotSully
fromJefferson, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews
I have had this aquarium for about 2 years and I love it and have no regrets with the purchase and choice of tank. I jumped from a 10 gallon desktop tank, to this much larger aquarium. At the time it seemed like I had a giant tank and now I really have a tank that I can get almost any freshwater fish and feel comfortable that they have plenty of room to grow.
I also love the idea that this is a tank that down the road I can convert into a saltwater tank and have the room for coral and medium size saltwater fish. Being able to have the option down the road was a huge selling point for me.
The tank stand is great and has ample cabinet space for food, chemicals and pumps/cords/etc... Fits nicely in my living room and I love looking at it every single day.
The hood and lamps are ok. I would say the hood is the weakest part of the whole package. The front part is very thin and I could see it being very easy one day to break when changing water. It is nice to have the options to replace the hood and lamps with higher quality materials since it is just 2 standard size hoods. I would have rather seen LED lights in the lamps rather than fluorescent, but again that will be an upgrade down the road.
Easy to clean with the exception that in order to reach anything on the inside bottom of the tank, you have to use a stool or step ladder, but that is just because it is tall then reaching down 4' makes it tricky. Sturdy edges that seem to be sealed very well. Plastic on the good and lamps are a bit tricky to clean since they just collect so much water deposit and then it just gets stuck on.
Set up was kinda tricky by myself. I underestimated the weight of the actual tank and having to lift it up from the ground to the top of the stand. Once it was up there though, the rest was a breeze. Everything else about the setup was simple. I did cut a larger opening in the cabinet to fit all the electrical cords and air lines associated with a larger tank.
All in all, a great tank and stand/cabinet. Can't beat the combination of everything and having 60 gallons is great to me! I just love my aquarium!
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Great fish tank

May 29, 2013
by Untouchable
fromAtl. Ga.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews
I just purchased the tank yesterday and my wife and kids love it. We set the tank on a hard surface, not carpet and it is quite stable. I read a lot of the reviews, so we did not set the tank on carpet. We also did not purchase the recommended filter on the sticker due to the negative reviews. We purchased the fluval aqua clear filter and it works great. The filter fits and it is very quite. The lights in the lid are bright, so only have to run one side. The stand is very nice as well.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for MARINELAND® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 61 reviews

Nice tank

May 10, 2013
by Dakota828
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I didn't plan on a tank this big, but I picked this tank up on sale and with a coupon. It fits into the space very well. My stand is sturdy and I love that it hides all of the salt and chemicals for my tank in a convenient place. My fish (2 clown fish, 2 damsels, an anemone and a scooter blenny) are very happy and I can't wait to add a few more to the tank.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next