PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fluval AquaClear Power Filter

Help keep your aquarium clean with this multistage filter that's designed to provide efficient and effective filtration. Mechanical, chemical and biological processes help keep your pets' environment clear and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.929 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
28 of 28(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Review 1 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Perfect filter

March 16, 2014
by Nazsen
fromPortland,Oregon
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I own an aquaclear 30 and i ordered a 70 because these filters are silent compared to every other filter out there. you can fill it with what ever media you want and if you take the lid off it's even quieter. If you buy one get at least a 30 not a 20 because it's just too small.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

great filter

February 8, 2014
by duncangl
fromNashville, Tn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
this is the 3rd filter like this one I have purchased at petsmart, they are great filters. I have 3 this size and 2 larger ones-of the same brand in use at this time.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great filter!

February 3, 2014
by unohoo
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I'm new at this fish tank thing so I don't have anything to compare this one to. The build quality of the filter is great and the design seems good too. It runs quietly. Although, in the month I've had it the lid started to rattle twice. All I had to do was touch it and it stopped. I love that you can just squeeze the sponge out in old tank water to clean it and then put it right back in. I also really like the adjustable flow rate. I have this filter in a 10 gallon and it completely cleared the water in a couple of hours after I stirred everything up after my first attempt at vacuuming. Get it and you won't be disappointed.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

Best filter, only one issue

January 29, 2014
by nikkichan
fromSunrise, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
This is the best filter for tank cleanliness and clarity, my only issue with it that if the electricity cuts out it cant get itself back going unless you pour water in it till it starts to flow again.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

This is the filter you want!

January 26, 2014
by kcpronto
fromMontana
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I had a tetra whisper 30 that came with my tank. It worked well but it was SO loud. We could hear it downstairs.
I am in love with this new filter. Even as a total noob I got it put together and running very quickly. It's very quiet and really disappears in the background! My guppies and beta are very happy that I can turn down the flow, the old filter made it impossible for them to enjoy the whole tank.
Pros: works great, easy to install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Quality and pergormance at a reasonable price.

January 26, 2014
by Oldhacker
fromSF Delta
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
After reading reviews, in various places, I purchased the Fluval AquaClear model 30, to run as a secondary filter on my 56-gallon aquarium. The primary filter is an API XP2 Canister. This model Fluval has been around for many years and was very easy to setup. It processes a significant water volume for such a small footprint. The filter comes with three different types of media, two of which I set aside. I then customized the, easily removable stack, by placing an API Water Softener Pillow and a Purigen 100ml Resin bag on top of the supplied sponge particulate filter. My intention in this setup was to begin to soften the water and with the Purigen resin, polish the water to high clarity. This combination has worked wonderfully. In a little over 24 hours, the clarity of the tank was outstanding. Whatever your uses for this filter system you will be more than satisfied with the performance and cost.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Perfect filter and inexspensive

January 3, 2014
by Matt150
fromNJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
So i bought this filter over a year ago, i got the 50 gallon filter for my 20 gallon tank and i never had to clean the tank just the filter which is extremely easy. Now i upgraded to a 55 gallon tank and have 2 of these 50 gallon filters and they still blow my mind! They are quiet and still powerful. Easy to assemble and get working right away! Now as it gets older the sponge like part of the filtration system doesn't get clean so you can buy a 3 pack for like 3$ so its no big deal! Also i had mine just stop working i brought it back with the receipt about 7 months after purchasing and got a new one for free no questions asked! BUY THIS FILTER
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great product

January 1, 2014
by Bsgodschild68
fromMishawaka , Indiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Works really good and the filters are much more affordable
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

filter is great

December 3, 2013
by dj36
fromSt Louis, Mo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Over all this filter is great, easy to clean very quiet for the most part. Only problem i had is when it got shipped it was broke, so i had to take back to a petsmart and exchange it. They exchanged it with no problem.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

Good filter with a lot of bugs.

November 28, 2013
by goodbetterbetta
fromUpstate New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 28 reviews
I bought one of these filters about 6 months ago for my 30 gallon goldfish aquarium, and it worked like a dream. It kept my water clean and fresh, and I really liked that I could adjust the intake because one of my fish was still very small and I could fix it so it wouldn't blow her around the tank.
It's relatively quiet, although it does make a dull hum. It gets even quieter if you take the top off of it so it doesn't rattle. However, it's difficult to balance so that water doesn't spill out sometimes.
But my main complaint is with the motor. Please, for the love of all things bright and beautiful, DO NOT USE THIS FILTER WITH ANY KIND OF SAND SUBSTRATE. You will regret it. I added sand to my tank (I even let the water settle completely before turning it on) and that was the kiss of death. It would get sand caught in the intake and in the impeller and cause this awful grinding noise. So I would have to take it apart and clean it out and even lubricate the motor so it would be quiet. And then it would just up and quit working. The motor burned itself out.
So bottom line: this is a great filter. It gets a ton of gunk out of the water and is relatively quiet if all is working well. But DO NOT use this filter with sand. Even if you think it'll be fine. Don't. I've now ruined three of them thinking that because I thought I fixed the problem (too much sand, not letting the sand settle enough, too fine sand, too coarse sand....) it would finally work.
Save yourself the trouble and use a different substrate with this filter, and it will not disappoint!
Pros: works great, easy to install
Cons: hard to clean, didn't work
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

November 27, 2013
by Scoobs84
fromCherry Hill, NJ
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
AQ70 - 36gal community/AQ20 - 10gal betta tank These filters are quite powerful for their size and for slow swimming fish the low setting or a sponge on the end should be used. Maintenance is easy to do, unscrew the motor, clean the "gunk" every so often, rinse the tube and you are done. By far my favorite filters for HOB. only downside is the filter leveling piece that comes with it doesn't stick to the bottom of all of them. My 20 works fine, the 70 doesn't stay, had to add small pieces of cardboard to keep it level
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

probably the best filter, ever!

November 19, 2013
by TomaPeti
fromRound Rock, TX
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
Got mine few months back and my water cleared right up after 2-3 weeks of usage. I have never seen clean water like this, you can't even tell I had water in the aquarium at all (even though I have more fish in there than I should). Only problem with it is the cleaning of the filter. Needs to set of filters every month, lot of disassembling and assembling.
Pros: works great
Cons: hard to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Highly Recommend!

November 12, 2013
by DogsFishBirds
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Bought this for my angel tank and I am more than pleased. If you can't afford a canister, this is definitely THE way to go. Prior to this I was running a Marineland Penguin HOB that was plagued with problems: insufferably noisy impeller and motor (I can only imagine how stressful it must have been for the fish), poor filtering cartridges, and no flow adjustment option. For the same amount of money, actually a little bit less, I purchased this far superior filter. The only noise I get is a slight hum from the impeller and a trickle of water when the tank level drops. It is balanced on the side of the tank and overall I believe the vibrations and noise inside are much, MUCH lower. My corydoras, who weren't too keen on being out much previously, are very active and visible now. What I am really stoked about is the filtering system itself. I LOVE the sponge- just a quick rinse when needed. Change the carbon every so often and of course you have the great ceramic media that gives all the wonderful nitrifying bacteria a place to park. ALL newcomers to fish keeping should go with this type of set up. Let your tank cycle and BAM, you are good to go. Don't be fooled into thinking you have to buy new cartridges every 3 or 4 weeks. That just strips out the good stuff anyway. Go with this filter and you AND your fishes will be happy and healthy!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Best HOB's Made

November 9, 2013
by Snowman10
fromMinneapolis
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
AquaClear HOB's have ceramic bead media that can build a huge resilient biofilter and bottom to top flow like a canister filter. The sponge filter can be rinsed and reused many times, the beads, even longer. I have 8 of them, they're the only HOB's I use and I've tried almost every brand and style.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Cheap and reliable

November 8, 2013
by KbeeBeatz
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I've always had a problem with cloudy and murky water, and also with the ammonia spiking. I've always cheap out on every thing, but then I realize I am spending more than I am supposed to when I am not getting any results from my old filter. I've used two Tetra Whisper 10i's on my 29gal (I know, not a smart idea). A pack of 3 filters bags cost about 8 dollars. That was reasonable but the results weren't. So I went out to buy a AquaClear 50 because of the positive reviews it had. I let it cycle for a couple days and it was amazing how clear the water was within a day! I haven't spot any ammonia spikes yet. The media is reusable. I wouldn't recommend discarding the biomax since that is where your beneficial bacteria grows. The only thing I've been replacing is the carbon bag every 3 weeks. Then clean the filter every two months. I've always cleaned the sponge in aquarium water. A couple squeezes does the job. Also remember that you ALWAY clean this filter with aquarium water. Tap water is harmful for the fish.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Best HOB filter on the market!

September 17, 2013
by SirGrizzy
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
After watching videos online and reading reviews I picked up the AquaClear 70 model to run as a second filter on my 75 Gallon aquarium. Very easy to setup and has a great water flow stream. Comes with three different types of media which is awesome for growing beneficial bacteria. You can also customize the media with whatever you want since the media basket is fairly large. You can also go with a larger filter model than your tank requires since the water flow is adjustable! This advantage allows you to adjust to the perfect filtration for your tank. I run this "70" filter with a Fluval 406 canister to keep my water CRYSTAL clear in my 75 gallon tank.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great filter all around!

September 11, 2013
by Patunia
fromFort Worth, Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
I bought this filter for my 15 gallon tank and it works out great. It keeps my water very clear and is extremely quiet. But for beginners this filter is kind of complicated to set up at first. Overall I Highly recommend this product!
Pros: easy to clean, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

September 3, 2013
by MrTerry
fromOVERLAND PARK, KS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews
I've been an aquarium fan for over 52 years and I have tried many different types and brands of filters. The AquaClear has been the power filter that you will enjoy the most. It's easy to maintain and it does a great job with the tank. Don't worry about the expense as you just don't want to make a mistake with the wrong filter. This filter takes the misery out of keeping fish and brings joy to the user. No kidding!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

BEST FILTER!! COMPLETELY SURPASSED EXPECTATIONS!

August 22, 2013
by FishHamsterGirl
frommansfield, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am so happy I bought this filter!! I bought the 30 gallon kind for my 10gallon freshwater cause i knew i would eventually get a bigger aquarium, (which i now have a 29) and this filter is amazing! my water stays crystal clear, i love love how you can control the flow output, on my 10gal i keep it on the lowest setting and my water is still clean but even the high setting isn't bad. easy to clean and i love how you can change one at a time to reduce parameter shock. They have thought of everything, Its compact and this is a fantastic filter and i will forever be an aquaclear buyer!!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fluval AquaClear Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Best filter on the market! EVEN WITH SAND!

August 20, 2013
by A2413
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews
I was a little worried since I use sand, but it wasn't a problem at all! I have a 50 on my 29 gallon tank and you barely know it's running aside from the waterfall coming out--which is actually relaxing!
Best filter you'll find out on the market!
You can even adjust the flow incase you have fry or small fish (or just prefer the less flow!)
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next