PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter

Select the right filter for your tank. Try Hagen Aqua Clear Power Filter 110 Gallons and your tank will stay cleaner than ever.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 59
54 of 62(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Review 1 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

The best HOB filters out there

January 25, 2015
by Luke25478
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This filter is one of the most spacious, quiet, and efficient filters out there. I was worried about the sound but it was more quiet than the aqueous quietflow 10! The room for media of all sorts is just unbelievable and its so powerful. This filter is also super easy to get to work. This filter does have to be primed but that's okay. Overall if you're into fish keeping and use HOBs this is a must have filter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 62 reviews

Horrible product

January 12, 2015
by Laru
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 10 gallon tank. First I bought the smaller version for 30 gallons I believe. It did no good on my tank with 2 fish in it. So I exchanged it to a 70 gallon version but still filtration is really bad. Top cover gets loose all the time because water leaks from the top sides. Bad product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

January 12, 2015
by MrGuppy
fromJacksboro, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This filter is a must for anyone new to the hobby. I have the aquaclear 30 on my 20 gallon high tank. It is quiet and keeps my tank clean and crystal clear. I have owned this filter for one year and the only maintenance is to make sure to clean the impeller and the shaft. I use qtips to reach inside the housing area to clean out any yuck. It tends to slow your water flow if you don't. In my basket I use the sponge in the bottom of the basket, and two bags of the biomax for more surface area for the bacteria to grow. I only use the carbon after medicating. I clean my sponge bi monthly just a quick swish in the bucket with old aquarium water. I will soon be switching to a 36gal aqueon bow front and I guarantee it will have an aqua clear on it as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Crystal Clear Water

January 11, 2015
by BTMiles
fromCincinnati,OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was using the filter that came with my tank and with two large Angel fish in the tank, the filter was not able to keep up. I bought this filter and my tank is crystal clear! LOVE THIS FILTER!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Great product. Unique filter media design

December 31, 2014
by Hanny
fromOhio.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I recently purchased this filter in the 30 size and my tank is 20 gals...the filter does an excellent job with making clear water and it I love that the water flow is adjustable. The best feature that makes this filter better than any other though is the filter media it comes with. Instead of cartridges other filters come with that you just throw away, this filter has a sponge and a charcoal bag ( which I don't use) and a bag of biomax pellets which are great!! All this Media provides a house for the bacteria your aquarium needs to thrive and survive and traditional filters simply don't allow for the room to house all this media. The companies want you to buy new filter media every month and throw away all your bacteria! Which is awful. This aquaclear filter is also pretty quiet and it has not given me any issues. I higky suggest it. Many of my aquarium hobbyist friends have these filters and swear by them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Best power filters ever.

December 19, 2014
by Serg559
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I been using these power filters ever since i had my small 10 gallon, when i got my 55 gallon i bought a 50 and later moved the 50 to my 10 gallon and bought 2 70's for the 55 gallon. These filters are great! Easy to clean and great flow keeps the water nice and clear. I also bought another 50 for a 20 gallon long and im in the process of ordering another 70 for the 20 gallon also, overall these filters are not too expensive and provide great flow! So if your just starting off i recommend buying these power filters their cheap and work great! Also i don't use the carbon i just use 2 Foams and the biomax which works great for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

December 6, 2014
by daphne11
fromUSA
I purchased the 30 gallon filter for my ten gallon betta tank. His water was dirty looking and smelled bad and no matter how hard I tried I couldn't get it to look clean. I bought this particular filter after lots of internet research. It had the best reviews and seemed to be of the best quality. For the price, the Fluval is a great filter with inexpensive filter media. My water is crystal clear and does not smell anymore. The only problem I have with the filter is that occasionally it gets a little loud. The lid on top of the filter rattles. If you hit the top it will stop or if you just take the lid off. So a very minor complaint for an overall great filter!
I have seen other reviews saying that the filter has broken down over time but I have not had any problems yet.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 62 reviews

Disaster Filter

November 19, 2014
by Cyn35
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased the Fluval Aqua clear 50 for my 20 gallon axolotl aquarium due to all the "positive" reviews it received.
This filter is a DISASTER! This filter comes with a light plastic basket you put inside the filter box that holds the sponge, carbon and a bag of these bead things.
The first issue was when the basket lifted upward pushing the filter cover half off and pumping aquarium water all over the floor! I woke up to find my axolotls swimming in 4 or 5 inches of water inside their aquarium and thank goodness I found them in time.
Another issues is many times I wake up to a motor grinding noise to find out there is no water in the filter box and the motor is running hot and dry. This fouls up my aquarium water very fast.
The third issue is that the motor doesn't always start up when you unplug it for a aquarium/filter cleanings.
I don't recommend this filter to anyone. It's over priced for something that can harm the life of your aquatic pets.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 62 reviews

Great

November 1, 2014
by chan210
frompcb
I had bought 2 other filter and my 20 gal tank wouldnt stay clean. finally bought this one and my tank is clean although i still have cloudy water but not as bad as with the other filters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 62 reviews

Don't buy this filter!

October 27, 2014
by Morph
fromFort Worth, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I would have given this zero stars if it was possible. I am on my second filter in less than a week. I will be returning the filter that I bought 24 hours ago today. The sponge keeps floating up from the bottom and pushing the lid of the filter off and soaking my floor. It says in the instructions that in extreme cases when you haven't cleaned it in a long time that this could happen. My sponges didn't have a chance to get dirty yet it was so new! The tank was cloudy even though I am also using a UV filter, and I had 4 fish die during this time too. Luckily I had kept my Aqueon filter for emergencies just in case a filter broke. Although the Aqueon water noise isn't great I have crystal clear water again and I would never buy the Fluval brand again. I hope this review helps someone because I had read so many positive reviews I decided to give it a chance. Since my problem with it I have seen many other reviews on other sites of people having the same problem that I did.
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Awesome Filter, awesome filter setup options

October 21, 2014
by nothingman
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter has a great sponge setup that is much different than most other Hang-on-back filters out there. Other HOB filters use proprietary floss bag media that can get very expensive over time. For instance, the Aqueon QuietFlow filter cartridges are almost half the price of the filter itself for a pack of 12. This sponge needs to be replaced every 2 months, and it only costs about $4 for a 3-pack. Beyond that, the filter is extraordinarily quiet. It is also a very powerful mover. It moves a lot of water, and it is tight and compact. I like the look of the filter, as it is very clean. The only issue is that it takes about 30 seconds to get the suction going from a stop. It can be a bit nerve racking wondering if the filter will actually start up, but it does start up eventually. You must prime the filter by pouring water into both sides of it. You also need to make sure it is level with the leveling wheel on the back.
This is a great filter, and it is highly recommended. Not spending a small fortune on filter cartridges will easily pay for the slight increase in price over the competitors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Quiet And Efficient

September 11, 2014
by AutumnRain
fromNew Jersey
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm very glad I bought the AquaClear 50 for my tank! My turtle had to go a few days without a filter, when my old one broke, before I could buy another. Within an hour of running, you could barely tell that a filter hadn't been in use for a while. The activated carbon keeps any odors away, and I must point out that there is zero fogginess or discoloration in the water. The filter is totally silent, the only sound coming from the waterfall.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 62 reviews

Two Months

August 22, 2014
by Emilie
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
That's how long my filter lasted. I've been having bad luck with filters lately. No idea why, but I have. I decided to buy this for the 50g filter for my 29g tank (I have goldfish so it's needed, trust me). My dad has two on the back of his 50g tank that have just kept pumping as long as I can remember. Those things are years old and still going strong, but mine... two months.
I don't know if they changed up how the filter is made or moved to cheaper parts, whatever, but I'm not buying another one. I had high hopes, but it died on me in no time. Back in the day I would have raved, but not now... I hope they go back to whatever their manufacturing system was because what they're doing now isn't working.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 62 reviews

Don't buy it!

August 14, 2014
by likefishh
fromSan Jose, ca
It stopped working after one year. The motors or propellers on these filters go bad. I have had several of them. They seem good at first. Unfortunately, you may be fooled into thinking it is still working because it has a flow through chamber. The water was flowing through, bypassing the media. There was an ammonia spike and now my aquarium is cycling again with a new filter. Terrible product. Don't buy it.
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Awesome Product

August 3, 2014
by ThatGuyRyan
fromLong Beach, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Just recently purchased this filter for my 20 gallon tank, says it's good up to around 50 gallons which is great because I plan on upgrading later on.
It's a very nice looking filter case, setup is simple after you skim the instructions. The sound is practically non-existent. All you hear is the water falling back into the aquarium. It's right next to my bed and actually makes for a soothing noise while I sleep.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Best HOB filter you can buy

July 27, 2014
by luckylucy85
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased an aquaclear 70 from petsmart a few months ago and I decided to add another one to my 55 gallon fancy goldfish tank. The first one I purchased in store and the second one I purchased online. I high recommend this filter. My main reason for leaving a review is because I received great customer service through Petsmart.com. The filter I had originally ordered ended up being damaged. I did not realize this until I set everything up and turned it on to find that the filter was cracked and leaking. I called customer care and they shipped me a replacement filter with overnight shipping!! I received it in about 3 business days. I also did not have to reship the damaged item back...How great is that? Thank you Petsmart for providing great customer service in store and online.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Great Filter

May 26, 2014
by Kmanfishman11
fromOrange County, CA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have this filter running on my 36g setup with a Marineland Penguin 200 and this filter is great! I have to say that this is my favorite. My water was always sort of cloudy but I thought that that was as clean as it gets. Then I got this filter (the 50g version) and my water was so clean! I love that you can customize the media in this and that it is small on the back of the tank. This is the best HOB filter there is so pay a little extra money and get the good quality stuff. Get this filter and you won't regret it. :0)
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

May 13, 2014
by candylover123
fromfl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
best fliter i've tryed i've had lots of fliter for year but, this is the best one yet i love it and recommend this fliter so quiet.I personal llove it go and buy it!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

TOP-RATED FILTRATION SYSTEM

May 1, 2014
by CichlidLoverToo
fromThomasville, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Over the years, I have owned different brands of filters (I am an experienced aquarist). In one way or another they did not meet my expectations (especially the Bio-Wheel---which I advise you to steer clear of---very noisy and the wheels stop running, a disaster). This is by far, bar none, the best brand filter you can buy for any amount of money. The 3 step filtration system is superb. It is very quiet. It keeps your water crystal clear. The quality is excellent, having used mine over 12+ years and still running strong.
I would definitely highly recommend this product!!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews

Fantastic Filter!

January 8, 2014
by fliporican5
fromTemple, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 62 reviews
This is one of the best modifiable filters on the market if you're opposed to canister filters (do a Google search for InTank media baskets and you'll see what I mean). The AquaClear 110 will let you place any media filter that can fit, but the modified media basket will allow more space thus creating more customization. The flow rate is also adjustable which is a nice feature. I had a Marineland Penguin 350B which doesn't even compare to this filter. The compartments to add filter media were so small, which limited what you could put in there. Not to mention, the cartridges were expensive and the Bio-Wheels sometimes stopped turning.
The AquaClear 110 works fabulously in my 55g tank. Get this and you won't regret it!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next