PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter

Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter

Select the right filter for your tank. Try Hagen Aqua Clear Power Filter 110 Gallons and your tank will stay cleaner than ever.
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 48
45 of 50(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Review 1 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Quiet And Efficient

September 11, 2014
by AutumnRain
fromNew Jersey
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm very glad I bought the AquaClear 50 for my tank! My turtle had to go a few days without a filter, when my old one broke, before I could buy another. Within an hour of running, you could barely tell that a filter hadn't been in use for a while. The activated carbon keeps any odors away, and I must point out that there is zero fogginess or discoloration in the water. The filter is totally silent, the only sound coming from the waterfall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 50 reviews

Two Months

August 22, 2014
by Emilie
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
That's how long my filter lasted. I've been having bad luck with filters lately. No idea why, but I have. I decided to buy this for the 50g filter for my 29g tank (I have goldfish so it's needed, trust me). My dad has two on the back of his 50g tank that have just kept pumping as long as I can remember. Those things are years old and still going strong, but mine... two months.
I don't know if they changed up how the filter is made or moved to cheaper parts, whatever, but I'm not buying another one. I had high hopes, but it died on me in no time. Back in the day I would have raved, but not now... I hope they go back to whatever their manufacturing system was because what they're doing now isn't working.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 50 reviews

Don't buy it!

August 14, 2014
by likefishh
fromSan Jose, ca
It stopped working after one year. The motors or propellers on these filters go bad. I have had several of them. They seem good at first. Unfortunately, you may be fooled into thinking it is still working because it has a flow through chamber. The water was flowing through, bypassing the media. There was an ammonia spike and now my aquarium is cycling again with a new filter. Terrible product. Don't buy it.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Awesome Product

August 3, 2014
by ThatGuyRyan
fromLong Beach, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Just recently purchased this filter for my 20 gallon tank, says it's good up to around 50 gallons which is great because I plan on upgrading later on.
It's a very nice looking filter case, setup is simple after you skim the instructions. The sound is practically non-existent. All you hear is the water falling back into the aquarium. It's right next to my bed and actually makes for a soothing noise while I sleep.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Best HOB filter you can buy

July 27, 2014
by luckylucy85
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased an aquaclear 70 from petsmart a few months ago and I decided to add another one to my 55 gallon fancy goldfish tank. The first one I purchased in store and the second one I purchased online. I high recommend this filter. My main reason for leaving a review is because I received great customer service through Petsmart.com. The filter I had originally ordered ended up being damaged. I did not realize this until I set everything up and turned it on to find that the filter was cracked and leaking. I called customer care and they shipped me a replacement filter with overnight shipping!! I received it in about 3 business days. I also did not have to reship the damaged item back...How great is that? Thank you Petsmart for providing great customer service in store and online.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Great Filter

May 26, 2014
by Kmanfishman11
fromOrange County, CA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have this filter running on my 36g setup with a Marineland Penguin 200 and this filter is great! I have to say that this is my favorite. My water was always sort of cloudy but I thought that that was as clean as it gets. Then I got this filter (the 50g version) and my water was so clean! I love that you can customize the media in this and that it is small on the back of the tank. This is the best HOB filter there is so pay a little extra money and get the good quality stuff. Get this filter and you won't regret it. :0)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

May 13, 2014
by candylover123
fromfl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
best fliter i've tryed i've had lots of fliter for year but, this is the best one yet i love it and recommend this fliter so quiet.I personal llove it go and buy it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

TOP-RATED FILTRATION SYSTEM

May 1, 2014
by CichlidLoverToo
fromThomasville, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Over the years, I have owned different brands of filters (I am an experienced aquarist). In one way or another they did not meet my expectations (especially the Bio-Wheel---which I advise you to steer clear of---very noisy and the wheels stop running, a disaster). This is by far, bar none, the best brand filter you can buy for any amount of money. The 3 step filtration system is superb. It is very quiet. It keeps your water crystal clear. The quality is excellent, having used mine over 12+ years and still running strong.
I would definitely highly recommend this product!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Fantastic Filter!

January 8, 2014
by fliporican5
fromTemple, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
This is one of the best modifiable filters on the market if you're opposed to canister filters (do a Google search for InTank media baskets and you'll see what I mean). The AquaClear 110 will let you place any media filter that can fit, but the modified media basket will allow more space thus creating more customization. The flow rate is also adjustable which is a nice feature. I had a Marineland Penguin 350B which doesn't even compare to this filter. The compartments to add filter media were so small, which limited what you could put in there. Not to mention, the cartridges were expensive and the Bio-Wheels sometimes stopped turning.
The AquaClear 110 works fabulously in my 55g tank. Get this and you won't regret it!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews

Filter performance exceeded all expectations.

January 2, 2014
by Guppies800
fromMontgomery Villlage, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
The Aqua Clear Power Filter 110 cleared my 75 gallon cloudy tank with much suspended matter in less than a week. I see that it will be much easier to service than the aging canister type filter that it replaced. The only issue I had to deal with is that I needed to adjust the flow to the minimum rate to avoid injury to the smaller fish in my tank. I am very please with the relatively small size and profile on the back of the tank.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Good filtration, usually quiet

November 9, 2013
by RonS
fromSeattle, Wa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
I ordered from PetSmart with their free shipping expecting 6-10 day delivery. 2 days and it was here!!
These filters work consistently, are easy to maintain, and do an excellent job. The most recent ones I purchased aren't as quiet as the others I own.
Overall, though, they are great filters.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews

Noisy but powerful

October 10, 2013
by Luna704
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
I've had the 110 model on the back of my 55 gallon for over 2 years now. I love how quickly the filter clears the water and the high flow rate. It will have the water looking perfect in an hour after a deep gravel vac. The impeller has become really noisy but can be silenced temporarily by coating the metal in vaseline. The filter requires little to no maintenance and won't have you constantly buying new cartridges like other HOB systems. This filter is the next best thing to buying a canister filter.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Auqaclear 110

March 21, 2013
by Goldfishman
fromNew York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
What I love about this product is you do not require replacement filters. You clean the sponge in a bucket of tank water, squeeze the sponge several times and it is clean for reinsertion and reuse. All one has to purchase is new carbon, and that is it.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

works great

March 2, 2013
by Shibo
fromHouston
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
I have been using a pair of 110 filters on my 150 gal tank for over seven years and have not had any issues. Only recently have I had to replace one of the filters. I have never had any issues with any of the Aqua Clear filters of any size. I have tried other brands and they just don't stack up.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Aquaclear Filters

February 2, 2013
by DragonGril
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I own 5 of these filters. They are the powerhouse of Hang On the Back (HOB) filters! They are durable, efficient and quiet. The best part is that you can adjust the filter media to your needs. Each part of the fiter media sits in a basket so you can use whatever combo of filter media you like. The filter media is relatively cheap compared to the all-in-one cartridges that most HOB filters use. The parts are all replaceable but they rarely wear out. Just a hint: if you have sand substrate turn the filter off when you do your water changes or the sand stirred up will damage the impeller.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Really good filter

January 20, 2013
by TheCharger
fromMarion, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this filter is good for a tank that has been in use for a few weeks or so and you should really try it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Without a doubt the best filter out there today.

October 8, 2012
by Irondiesel58
fromNHP NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had four Aquean filters in one year and had three motors just stop working and one for no reason the filter cracked. Aqua Clear Power Filters are simply the best filter and if your not sure which you should by know this if you buy a Aquean then you'll be back to buy a Aqua Clear. Very low cost to replece the chemical, biological and foam pieces of this filter. They run about $2.99 and they can't be easier to replace in the filter. ammonia was always a problem but no longer with this filtere. Last it's wisper quiet well it's actually noiseless.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Aqua clear

May 23, 2012
by Tony23
fromGreen Bay Wi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Aqua Clear oh my god is amazing it has Ammonia remover and it has carbon and a sponge to clean out the water I honestly love it I reccomend to everyone to get this for there freshwater aquriums and dont get Aquean those brake so easy and there just cheap and terrible!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 50 reviews

yikes.

May 22, 2012
by TanaCS
fromwaco, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
Ive had the 110 gallon filter about 7 months now. It barely gives half the flow at max as it did on medium when I bought it. I clean it often, change the filter materials, etc., and still continues to decline. Also shows ANY algae, dirt, etc very easily, since it is clear. It doesnt clean easily either.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
-11points
3of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqua Clear Fluval Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Best filter out there

May 3, 2012
by AnimalCRAZZY
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
I have 3 of these. I have the AC 70, 30 and 20. All are great. Unlike what most people think these filters are EXTREMELY cheep to use. In all of mine I run 1 sponge, and 2 bags of biomax. You should NEVER replace the biomax. That is where your beneficial bacteria live. If you throw away your biomax you will have to start your cycle again. It is dangerous to the fish when this happens. To clean the sponge just squeeze it a couple of times in used tank water. This only needs to be done 1x per month. These filters are silent. The only reason why you would ever need to use carbon is to remove medication from your tank. Like I said low maintenance, cheep, quiet, great performance. I will only use these filters.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next