PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum

Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum

There’s nothing worse than a dirty fish tank, so keep your fish tank clean and fresh with Top Fin® Aquarium Gravel Vacuum. Your fish will thank you!
Overall rating:
4.44 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
45 of 50(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Review 1 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

its a gravel vacume.....it works :)

July 4, 2014
by tommy123
fromemmitsburg MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
dont bother looking at other vacumes. this one does the job perfecty!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Great

June 22, 2014
by guppylover42
frommn eagan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is easy and simple to use. with old gravel cleaners you have to put your mouth on it. BUT now you can easily pump!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Works great

June 2, 2014
by SL37
fromIowa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Just bought a large for my 55 gallon. Works excellent, costs little. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Works Really Well!

May 21, 2014
by Halobabe99
fromRichmond, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Bought a Medium size for a 10gal tank and it worked REALLY well! I highly recommend! I was going to get the battery powered one, but thought I'd try this one first & I'm really glad I bought this one instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 50 reviews

Flimsy

May 4, 2014
by fionakitty
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This gravel vacuum only lasted for 3 water changes over the course of a week. The hoses are still sound, but the pump no longer works. I would not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Works Great!

February 16, 2014
by Sassafras
fromFriendswood, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Very simple to use and works great! No need to remove fish or plants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews

Good and quick cleaning :-)

February 15, 2014
by Busymom309
fromAttleboro, Massachusetts
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I read the reviews about the product and decided to give it a try; I am so glad I purchased this product as it helps clean and vacuum quickly. I never got any rocks, fish, or anything caught in the vacuum and it does a decent job at emptying the tank out. I followed directions about placing a bucket at a lower spot so that once the suction gets going, the tank empties out effectively. As the other reviews stated - once you figure out the placement of the ball and get the suction going - you're all set. It was real easy and with only three or four squeezes, the process was quick.
Note* Check the size tank you have before purchasing. I only have a five gallon tank, so the smaller size was fine for the area to clean. I bought the larger size vacuum without checking; I needed the smaller so I exchanged the size with no problem.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Perfect for smaller tanks!

January 19, 2014
by doglvr59
fromMD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Love this vacuum for use in my 2 2.6 gallon tanks, simple to use, love the siphon ball aspect!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Easy to use

January 10, 2014
by cfp1
fromSan Antonio, TX
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This thing works perfectly. I clean my betta's five-gallon tank with it once a week. It's easy to use.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Love it!

January 3, 2014
by Happyface
fromLos Angles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased the large gravel vacuum with the bulb. It worked amazingly- it only took a few squeezes for the water to start flowing.
However, make sure the bulb is facing the right way. When I tried it out for the first time, nothing happened at all. After some water spillage, multiple different attempts, and multiple different techniques (all that did not work). At this point, I was getting pretty desperate. I finally thought maybe the bulb is not facing the right way. I switched it the other way, put the vacuum back in the tank, and squeezed. To my amazement, the water started flowing easily!
The only drawback is the price. Kind of expensive, but well worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Wonderful and Easy!

January 3, 2014
by ALSmith
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This makes it so much easier to clean the tank than using buckets and pitchers. It doesn't seem to bother the fish, either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

January 2, 2014
by Grandma23
fromCHESTERFIELD, VIRGINIA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
WORKS EASILY, AS PROMISED, TO CREATE SUCTION AND CLEANSE RESIDUE IN GRAVEL.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

November 25, 2013
by Lisa68
fromKansas cCity
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
Excellent product. It only took a few squeezes of the bulb to get the siphon going. It was very easy to use and much better than traditional siphons. Gravel cleanings are actually fun now instead of a dreaded chore. I like the piece of mind of the gravel guard. Now I don't have to worry about sucking up fish or gravel. The fish didn't even mind the gravel cleaning instead of getting stressed out about it.
Pros: easy to use, price, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Makes cleaning easy

October 10, 2013
by Dashboy1998
fromColonial Heights, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
I got this because clean the gravel really is alot to do if you don't have vacuum
Pros: works great, easy to use, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 50 reviews

my old one was way better

September 29, 2013
by Jessica04
fromPearland, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 50 reviews
I previously had a similar product, but without the pump. This one doesn't work nearly as well as the old one did. I bought the large one. It has a strainer inside the tube that is supposed to keep you from sucking up fish or rocks I guess, but it also keeps you from sucking up poo and debris. All it pulls up is water and very small particles. The larger particles get stuck to the strainer. It then spits the big pieces right back into the tank. What a waste of money! After one use it went into the trash. I'd rather use my old one that is held together with duct tape. It might not be pretty, but it actually gets the tank clean. Don't waste your money on this product. It is totally ineffective.
Cons: didn't work
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Works as advertised

September 29, 2013
by netman88
fromDublin,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
Very easy to use in cleaning the gravel on the tank.
I the siphon is a plus in suctions power and it drains to the bucket.
Expensive set but that's the best I can find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

It worked like a charm!

September 20, 2013
by MikeHW
fromValdosta, GA.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Opened the box, and used it right away. I got a large because that was what my sister thought she had (she was way off). But used it anyways, once you get suction going it worked great for a 10 gallon tank! But you need to make sure you don't get a large if you have a medium size to small tank.
Pros: works great, easy to use, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 50 reviews

Works great, but broke after three uses

September 12, 2013
by AgentCarlos
fromMI
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
I recently upgraded from a vacuum without any sort of suction bulb to this product, and it makes keeping up on regular maintenance so much easier and faster. However, I only used it three times before I noticed that the bulb wasn't working because the seal at one of the ends had come apart. I was able to fix it by melting the plastic back together, but it would have been nice if it had worked right for longer than three uses. I still highly recommend this type of vacuum, but I'd suggest shopping around for a higher quality product.
Pros: easy to use, price
Cons: didn't work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

Super easy and effective!

September 8, 2013
by Luvsummer
fromMechanicsville, Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
We just bought this to clean our 10 gallon tank. It started syphoning easily. It picked up all the uneaten food from the gravel. Take your time and sort of poke it into the gravel, then lift it up slightly and it sucks up all the junk. The fish were not bothered by it at all. Great value for the time it will save you!
Pros: easy to use, price, works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin Aquarium Gravel Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews

takes minutes to clean!!

July 24, 2013
by PitbullsareAngels
frommanitoba canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 50 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 50 reviews
its super easy all you do is pump the blue thing 3 times and it flows and it is powerful and sucks all the dirt up just shake it or pull high in the water so it doesn't get clogged with rocks and also has a little clip to hold hose in place and it takes me 5 minutes or less to clean. Great since fish need weekly changes of 25% of water
Pros: works great, easy to use
Cons: price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next