PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer

AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer

Taking care of your fish's health has never been easier. Internal UV Sterilizer w/Power Head & Lamp Replacements will ensure a happier, healthier environment for your fish inside your aquarium.
Overall rating:
4.598 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 104
99 of 107(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Review 1 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

unbelievable!

December 29, 2006
by leftyfb
fromLowell, MA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
This piece of equipment saved me giving up on my fish altogether. I had green water for 2 months. I tried everything from anti-algae chemicals, 75% water changes, blacking the tank out for a week straight, nothing worked. I put this little thing in the tank, took about 2 minutes to set up. Less than 48 hours later and the water is crystal clear. I mean, better than I've ever seen it before!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews

Good product so far

December 8, 2014
by tinman1960
fromAlbuquerque New Mexico
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Purchased Ultra violet light Sterilizer 9wat installed it on Saturday 06 December 2014 the water was real cloudy and had green tint to it today is the 08 December 2014 water has cleared up my works grate beats having to put more chemicals in it my only thing i have to work out is this detracts from the aquarium decor with all the equipment in it. But ill come up with something
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 107 reviews

June 5, 2014
by boogyman
fromcharlotte,nc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
1st one i got was DOA but the 2nd one works fine on a 40 gallon they can make it better feels CHEAP plastic.KEEP MORE IN STOCK
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews

Works well but...

May 14, 2014
by FloridaDavid
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a number of large goldfish in a 36 gallon bow aquarium. Even with frequent 30% water changes, filter changes, etc., the water was always slightly cloudy. Not algae, but a grayish cloudy look, from a bacteria bloom. My goldfish are really beautiful, and I didn't want to reduce the number of fish.
I tried this product and was amazed. Absolutely crystal clear water in exactly 72 hours. Plugged it in Tues. morning at 10 am, and by Friday morning at 10 am, the water was so clear, the fish appeared to be swimming in air. The pump assy. runs silently.
As an experiment, I plugged the unit's power supply into a timer. It turns the unit on every morning at 8 am, and off every evening at 8 pm. I found that running just 12 hours per day, continues to maintain the water in crystal clear condition.
I'm with holding 1 star in my review because of the UV lamp life. Many people are complaining of getting just 2 or 3 months out of a UV bulb, and they are very expensive to replace. Best price I've seen so far is $19.00. I'm hoping that since I am only running the unit 12 hours per day, I'll get at least 6 to 8 months of life out of a bulb.
The manufacturer says a bulb should last 6 to 9 months, but it seems that's more the exception than the rule. If I get 6 months or more of bulb life, the product will definitely earn that last star from me.
Only one annoyance that was easily solved. The controller that sticks to the outside of the tank with 4 suction cups, doesn't hold very well. It fell off after two days. I just smeared a 1/2 drop of silicone sealer on each of the 4 suction cups,...problem solved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

perfect solution!

May 1, 2014
by rmzd
fromCedar Rapids, IA.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had been battling an algae bloom problem for weeks (green, cloudy water) to no avail. Water changes, cleaning, and even blacking out the tank helped, but did not stop the water-born algae from quickly returning. This sterilizer showed an improvement in 24 hours and completely cleared the water in 72 hours. This was the 50 gal. model used on a 36 gal freshwater Cichlid tank. Worth every penny and then some!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews

Good product.

March 11, 2014
by ozzymaniac64
fromPort Vue Pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
This is not just for green or cloudy water. This is for anyone that ever had to deal with iche or bacterial infections. Anyone that has been in aquariums for a while has delt with these problems. I use these in my aquariums for reasons of iche and bacterial infections plus water clarity. Only takes 1 fish purchase for outbreak of desease. This product is like a fail safe. The only reason I give it 4 stars was the bulbs do not last more than a few months. I run mine full time when you realy only need it a week on a week off unless you are addind new fish. If you like live bearing fish like mollies and sword tails you need one of these. I raise mainly angelfish but mix some fancey guppies for extra color and never have problems with desease. Just be sure to turn off when adding bacterial suppliment.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 107 reviews

I never saw a difference when I used it or not.

February 23, 2014
by AfricanCichlids
fromGulf Shores,AL
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I used it in 10g and 30g. fresh water, 2 years and still working. First of all, I never had a green water before so I can't tell anyway, because I change around 15% of water weekly. I never saw a difference like that I would not have to deal with maintnance, amonia and waste will rise anyway.
I had a problem like "brown algae" but that ain't gonna stop it from growing.( as I learned that is Nitrate problem)
I give it 2 out of 5 stars, for good customer service and for not having what I didnt had ( green water ).
I will not buy another again since I think is bit useless, but you make your choice.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Well call me converted...

February 19, 2014
by Chester79
fromToronto, Ont.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
I was a very big skeptic of this product. But then I started having trouble with the water in my tank. I did everything I could think of to get it clear again but nothing was working.
I decided to dish out the money for this and give it a try. After about a week I saw a big huge change. Little by little, the water began to clear up.
I have to say that this product surprised me big time. The only down side is that the indicator light that sticks to the outside of the tank keeps falling. If worse comes to worse, I'll just stick some super velcro on it.
Also, if you follow the instructions correctly, it should last you a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

good product

February 11, 2014
by jerryh23
fromPort Orchard, Washington
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
I has cleaned up (for the most part) the algae in the tank. In another few days I expect it to be fully cleaned. I have had it in for 3 days and it is in a 42 gal. tank. Each day the tank is better than the day before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews

Good product but pricey

February 6, 2014
by Goldfishenthusiast
fromSeattle WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
This does the job very well, & it's very easy to replace
the UV sterilizer unit. [Although the instructions should tell you that it's necessary to unplug & reboot the controller to get the running light working again, I fiddled with that for a while]. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because it seems a little expensive to me, the first UV bulb set only lasted about 6 months. It does give nice clear water though. This tank has been in continuous use since 1997. Petsmart shipping was SUPERFAST.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Problem solved

January 7, 2014
by Pokemon
fromIL
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
It really works and all the green water was gone within one week :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Great Replacement

December 23, 2013
by Mr60GalTank
fromMonroeville, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
I just replaced it after 1.5 years and this works just like it did 1 year ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

December 11, 2013
by turtletown
fromChattanooga, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Goodness Breader you can rather buy just the bulb or the box and bulb sooooooooooooooooo... hatas gona hate
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

November 22, 2013
by Albe
fromMississauga, Ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Product was delivered quickly and undamaged-Product does what it claims to do-visibly clearer water in about 5 days. Easy to assemble and easy to start. Only problem is that the control panel does not stick to the aquarium--the sticky things are to small for it to stay stuck to the aquarium. My fish do seem more active and hungry now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews

when nothing else works to clear water, this will

November 17, 2013
by kodiakgirl
fromkodiak ak
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews
The uv lamp definitely works, my tank had a terrible bacterial bloom, I could barely see my fish. I tried everything, water changes, fresh ammo-carb filter media.. nothing works like this. My only problem is the suction cups on the control box will not adhere to my tank at all, it keeps falling to the floor, and when my system arrived, the led light was not functioning and I had to order a new lamp. I also contacted the manufacturer he promptly sent me a new control box also since there may have been an issue with that too he said. So when my lamp and control box arrived on the same day, it was the control box after all. It has a small led light that stays lighted to let you know the lamp is working. So, finally.. 7 days later, my tank is almost crystal clear. The lamp and control box have been working without any mishaps for a week now, and I do have a spare bulb now just in case. I was told to let it run for a week after water is clear, then only run it for a few days every couple of weeks as needed to increase life of the bulb and keep water clear. All in all, it really worked great once it actually worked.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

A MUST HAVE

November 17, 2013
by AnnW
fromEden Prairie, MN
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a full grown yellow belly slider in a 46 gallon tank. Even with very diligent weekly partial water changes and monthly rock vacuuming, the water went totally green at some point, and no matter what I tried nothing helped. I even completely started over with completely removing everything out of the tank and rinsing the rocks. Water was green again within 2 weeks. I was so disappointed and frustrated!! I felt desperate to try anything, so I invested in the 9w UV sterilizer. OMG!!! What a difference it made. It did take 3-4 weeks for the water to become crystal clear, but I did notice daily improvement. Water has been clear for a couple of weeks since, and I am confident it will stay clear. I am so glad I invested in the UV sterilizer. Well worth the money!!! If you are struggling with green water, or any water clarity issues, I would recommend the UV sterilizer. The people at my local PetSmart said that the sterilizer is safe for my aquatic turtle.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Worth the money

November 17, 2013
by AndyMac
fromSacramento, CA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
I purchased a used 75 gallon tank last winter, and since I got it, algae was always a problem. I would cycle the water in the tank quite often and would never get the water totally clear. I left for 10 days, and within that short time, the algae took over and the tank started turning green. I purchased this filter and within just days the water began to clear up. Three weeks later it was crystal clear. Today (3 months), the tank is still very clean and algae has disappeared from rocks and decorations. The tank is now easy to clean and I'm always receiving complements on how nice it looks. I have been very happy with this addition to my tank.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Great service, great product

November 3, 2013
by Wolfgang
fromLos Angeles, CA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
The equipment was well packaged and came on time. Very satisfied with the services and with the new filter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Excellent product... very pleased!!!

October 20, 2013
by FlyersFan13
fromHarrisburg, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
We purchased this item in desperation, since nothing we did would keep our water clear long-term. After reading reviews of this item, we decided it was worth a try. It was so easy to hook up and get running, and after a day we noticed the water cleared a little. Each day it got a little clearer until it was CRYSTAL CLEAR in about 6 days!!! We were astonished and just had to make sure we wrote a review for this item. If it weren't for this product working so well, we probably would have torn the aquarium down. Highly recommend!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AA Aquarium Green-Killing Machine Internal Aquarium UV Sterilizer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 107 reviews

BEWARE!!! NO CONTROL BOX

August 1, 2013
by Breader
fromBrownvale Albera
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 107 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 107 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 107 reviews
This unit DOES NOT come with the control box and adapter, it is just the UV replacement bulb!!!
-20points
1of 22voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next