PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Red Wag Platy

Red Wag Platy

Have you always wanted a live fish of your very own? Make your dream come true and get great deals on a Red Wag Platy.
Overall rating:
4.757 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 100
102 of 103(99%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Red Wag Platy
Review 1 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 103 reviews

Great, hardy fish.. but so many fry.

August 16, 2014
by Sydnney
fromOntario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
These were the first 2 fish I got for my 20 gal, I'm a new tank owner so every level in my tank has been off at some point.. but they've both made it through. Definitely tough little guys.
The only downside is the number of babies they have.. I didn't know they sold male and female ones (I would assume Petsmart wouldn't want just anybody breeding fish) but now I have a population control problem. Hopefully by adding some Gouramis or Danios I can bring it back to a decent number.. otherwise they're great starter fish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

The best fish for tropical community aquariums!

July 17, 2014
by Cassii
fromVA
Platies are great beginner fish and will fit into just about any tropical community aquarium. These brightly-colored fish are active, very cute, and fun to watch. As long as the other members of your aquarium are as peaceful and easygoing as a platy, it will fit right in. Platies are also very hardy and not too difficult to care for compared to some other species, making them great for anyone who is new to taking care of fish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Great Fish To Own

June 29, 2014
by AnimalLover98556
fromPasadena, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I put him in with my Twin Tail Betta.
A very healthy and energized guy.
Loves to eat from center of tank.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Awesome

June 18, 2014
by guppylover42
frommn eagan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
love these and are great with all other platies!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 103 reviews

Great Starter Fish

February 2, 2014
by AshleyPauls
fromBelleville, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got these as one of my first fish, and they were fun to water. Very colourful. Mine tended to squabble between each other, but never mean to fish of other species.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Great Fish!

January 26, 2014
by N12345
fromWilliamsport, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought 4 red wag platys about 2 months ago for my 10g and they are great fish! They have very bright colors and are very active swimmers. They get along with each other fine (they are all male, I didn't want babies) and also with the two guppies in the tank. I've had no problems and will definitely get more when I upgrade my tank to a bigger size. They're very easy to take care of and great for beginners especially.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Color!

January 12, 2014
by Apolega
fromTexas
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Mollies and Platties are great together! They have a lot of variety and color in these 2 fish. I have found that they are doing well with at least 1 male to 2 females. In my 55 gal I have:
Platies--
2 red wag females and 1 male
2 mickey mouse females and 1 male
2 Marigold Variatus
1 Blue high fin female and 1 male
Mollies--
2 Dalmatian females
2 Black Females
2 silver females and 1 silver male
2 Cremecicle females and 1 male
Also--
4 Jumbo Neon Tetras
1 Rainbow Shark
1 Comet Goldfish
All are doing well!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Great Fish

January 5, 2014
by JaGrSt
fromFonda, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Recently purchased this fish for my 55 gal community aquarium. This fish is very active any peaceful. It swims at all levels of my aquarium and appears to be very hardy. Great fish for community aquariums.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Very Hardy

December 23, 2013
by TSmith48
fromCleavland, Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got these fish yesterday and they are great! Very active and eat A LOT. Becareful not to overfeed because they will keep eating until they die. I hav 3 of them with 2 mystery snails and a small pleco. They all get along great. Buy this fish, you wont regret it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Great starter fish, but things to know

December 23, 2013
by DanSFishFanatic
fromAmbler, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Platys are a fantastic first fish. I have had platys in my tank for 7 months now: they are beautiful, colorful and so easy to breed. Here's what you should consider in purchasing platys:
(a) There should be more females than males
(b) Make sure you do regular water changes; platys are a hardy fish species, but regular water changes are a must.
(c) Lots of plants and foliage will limit aggression.
Great starter fish!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

one of the best fish

December 7, 2013
by Bettapaws
fromOH, PARMA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i was going to get a sunburst platy but they didnt have anymore so i got this one, i got a female and my male fancy guppy mates with it, i love this fish if ur looking for a nice little fish, get this one
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 103 reviews

Good overall fish, mine were a tiny bit agressive

November 25, 2013
by Haloguppy
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These are beautiful fish, with a striking orange color I owned a couple myself when a was just starting my first aquarium, (a long time ago) and I decided I wanted to try them again so I adopted two babies from a friend who's red wag platys gave birth and are now living in my two gal goldfish bowl until I can get my 25 gal set up to be them and some mollies new home!!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

so cute!

November 18, 2013
by Stonewoot
fromw.w. r.i.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
There eyes might look a little fake like doll eyes but they are worth buying a school of mine are doing decent with my gold fish in a tank around 70-72º @ 20 gal.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Red wag platy

November 13, 2013
by Petguy2013
fromNew York, clifton park
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great fish for beginners. I got two about 2 months ago and they are verry happy. They will eat just about anything you feed them. Mine swim at the middle top and bottom of the tank.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

Entertaining

November 3, 2013
by 19Jen82
fromCharleston, wv
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have 3 red wag platies and 3 sunburst platies. Very entertaining fish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

love these little guys

October 25, 2013
by rexpepper123
fromwoodbury mn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i love these fat little dudes! i have three of them in my 55 gallon community. they have amazing color when fed with quality fish food. i use cobalt color flakes, blood worms and brine shrimp. my fish look as if they have mustaches. i love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

October 13, 2013
by platylover
frommissouri
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
these fish are so active there's nothing they can't do
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 103 reviews

A favorite.

September 27, 2013
by VinScully
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love these guys! They are fearless and peaceful. My rams love them and so do all my dither fish. They do eat a lot and cruise around with their poo hanging out. The red ones seem more energetic than the sunset ones.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 103 reviews

Cute fish

August 12, 2013
by Bluerobot13
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
They're adorable! I have a female named Mickey and then I have another platy (candy wag platy) named Minnie and they get along great.
If you buy these, be aware that they will breed. Get at least 2 females for every 1 male. If you get a swortdail they can cross-breed. They don't like to be alone so I'd recommend buying at least two. Only mix them with other tropical fish. NO GOLDFISH.
In my tank I have a red wag platy, candy wag platy, two male guppies, a female silver lyretail Molly and a male gold panda Molly. I plan on adding either swordtails or a few more platys, guppies and mollies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Red Wag Platy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 103 reviews

Better of the platy choices

July 19, 2013
by SassyGirls
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've had all the varieties of platy, I prefer the red wag. The sunburst and marigold being close seconds. Seeing them swim in their little group is great to watch. They are little piggies, so they will eat a lot if they can. There is honestly no con to them. They're your basic tropical fish. Just make sure you get more than one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next