PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Oranda Goldfish

Oranda Goldfish

Have you always wanted a live fish of your very own? Make your dream come true and get great deals on a Oranda Goldfish.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
38 of 38(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Oranda Goldfish
Review 1 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

One of my favorite goldfish

January 28, 2014
by fishiefriends
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a red cap oranda, and I've got to say he is one of my favorites!
Orandas are awesome fish, and with the appropriate tank (20+ gallons, double filtered and unheated) they are the perfect fish! They're not too hard to care for. You just have to make sure they don't gulp air at the surface (so sink their food) or they can get swim bladder.
Red caps are one of my favorite kinds. They also come in all red, pure white, red & white, and calico variations.
One thing about my Petsmart's orandas is they don't seem to have as large of wens (unless you buy the really expensive ones) as other stores. But with the proper food, they'll grow.
If you're considering a fancy goldfish, I'd say get an oranda! They're so much fun!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Favorite fish

January 2, 2014
by jebfisherman
fromnewnan, ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have been keeping Orandas since 2006 and they are my favorite in the goldfish group. Please keep in mind that you do need a large tank for them because they get very big and produce a lot of waste.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Sweet, gentle, but gets HUGE

December 21, 2013
by Happyanimallover101
fromDenver,CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two of these goldfish and they live just fine with a clown pleco, a blood parrot cichlid, three oscars, and a calico ryukin goldfish in a 156 gallon tank so I don't know what's up with the no living with tropical fish thing. They are perfectly compadable with almost all tropical fish if you keep a close eye on the temperature and watch for aggressive behavior. One thing about orandas is that they don't stay the 1-2 inches they were at the store, I had one that got to be over a foot long so he's in a 50 gallon tank with a clown pleco. No way you can put one in a bowl. I taught Mango, my smallest oranda to do tricks. These fish are awesome!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

this is a great pet

November 15, 2013
by reptyguy2117
fromnc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i have 1 of these 1 fantail goldfish and 1 black moor goldfish all of them are great pets
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great little fish.

November 2, 2013
by biggy34
fromnorth carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 2 of these guys right now. I love these little guys. I bought them both at Petsmart and they are very healthy. They have a small bit of special needs though. You must feed them flakes, blood worms and baby shrimp to keep them completely healthy. They do need a temp between 65 to 75, because of this, make sure to not let it get to cold for them. I installed a Fluval heater and set it on 73 degrees for them during the winter. The oranda is one of the fish that needs to not be put in with comets and shubunkin goldfish as well. If he is, he may not be able to find his food well enough. Only fantails with this little guy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

THE BEST!

September 29, 2013
by morethanpets
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The best, hardiest goldfish you can buy. We've had one that lived for nine years and one who was special needs (she developed Swim Bladder Disease early on) who still lived to five years with some special care. However, you should still DO YOUR RESEARCH before buying: They're a living thing, and should be treated as such.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Awesomest fish EVER

August 6, 2013
by Madilovesfish
fromDubuque, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got my Oranda in January and I LOVE HER!! I named her Fanta (like the soda) and she is the most amazing awesome fish I've ever had. She's friendly with my other fish and is super cute!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

I love the wen!

July 19, 2013
by SassyGirls
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
No one in my family likes oranda, but I LOVE them. They are beyond cute with their little wens growing on their heads. I have two. One white and one orange. The orange one is going on a year and his wen is coming in great. The white one's wen is just now showing.
Goldfish are dirty/messy fish so if you don't see yourself cleaning their tanks almost everyday, they are not for you. If you're up to it, they are great to keep. Fancies live between 5-10 years. Prepare for that as well.
Orandas are a great goldfish for beginners. By the time their wen grows in you'll be able to prepare for them. Sometimes wens grow so big it's hard for the fish to see.
Fancy goldfish need a bare minimum of 20 gallons. Add 10 gallons for each additional fancy. I give mine deshelled peas once a week to keep them regular. I also double up on filtration.
Orandas are great additions to my fish family, I enjoy them immensely.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great fish!

June 12, 2013
by fishloverrr
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Wow I have one of these, and he is always swimming around! He swims all over the tank, not just the top middle or bottom. These are beautiful fish for anyone!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great Fish

May 25, 2013
by Mollipop1999
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my Oranda about two months ago. he is in a 55 gallon along with:
- 1 baby red cap oranda
- 1 comet
- 1 common
- 1 black moor
- 1 hifin pleco
He is great and healthy
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Healthy Oranda's

April 17, 2013
by enjoyssummer
fromCalifornia, San Diego County
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought two Oranda's back in July 2012. They were both about 1 1/2 inches total in length. (including tail) They are now close to 5 inches in total length in just 9 months. I've never had a health problem with them. They are the cutest fish and their wen is coming in so nicely. If you get one of these beautiful fish please make sure they have at least a 20 gallon tank for ONE fish. If you have more then one fish they will need an additional 10 to 15 gallons per fish. I have 3 Oranda's in a 55 gallon tank and I cannot see adding more fish. Petsmart has such an awesome policy on their fish and they take such great care of there fish. My local Petsmart fish department is always clean and not overstocked with fish.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

EASY AND BEAUTIFUL

April 5, 2013
by Averyawesome
fromMB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a red cap oranda from petsmart last week. She is amazing. She swims everywhere and is only about 1 inch. I know she will grow much bigger though. She is best friends with my Rybunkin goldfish (yes i think its spelled wrong) They both swim together and collect food together (like a 2 fish pack) GET THIS FISH!!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Very good, recomend to anyone who likes fish :)

April 1, 2013
by Cackto
fromNew York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Amazing fish, I bought a red cap and a an orange oranda just yesterday. Amazing to have, they are about 1 inch(very small) One thing to tell you.... DO NOT KEEP THEM IN A TANK SMALLER THAN 20 GALLONS, MANY PEOPLE THINK ITS OKAY, ITS NOT. I tried with my black moor, died of ick(poor guy:( ) You also need lots of filtration and i do 5 day water changes since I have 1 other fully grown black moor in my 23 gallon tank. Hope this helps :) enjoy the fish while they last(not trying to be mean)
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

good large goldfish

March 12, 2013
by Fishlove217
fromottawa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
goes good with any other goldfish and snails
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

this fish is fun and very interesting!

February 13, 2013
by nino2000
fromchicago, il
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought this fish 5 years ago and she is still alive ! she already layed eggs with the fantail goldfish and this fish is very chubby! she eats alot but i dont mind and she is very addicted to the bubbles! if you want a nice fun fish i suggest the oranda goldfish!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Oranda GoldFish

January 23, 2013
by darrell
fromBerea,KY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These fish are amazing! I love whatching them swimming around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Too cute for words. :)

January 6, 2013
by Beau22
fromParker, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These guys are adorable & great personality to boot. Would make a great addition to any community aquarium. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Best whovian fish EVER!!!!!

November 10, 2012
by nessie292
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
For all u doctor who fans I have named my new redcap oranda DALEK!!!!! I love him to death he is friendly and always greeting me!!!! Great fish!
P.S. EXTERMINATE!!!!!!!!!!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

I Love It!

August 10, 2012
by IMASOHAPPYGAL
fromSurprise,AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I Just Got Mine And I Put Her In With My Other Four Goldfish. GET ONE THE NEXT TIME YOU ARE AT PET-SMART!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oranda Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Great Fish!

July 4, 2012
by Birdcrazy2173
fromWestminster, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had two Orandas at one time, one all orange named Citrus and another orange and white named Shubunkin. They were both great fish and they got along with eachother really well! They are so energetic and entertaining! Easy to care for and if you care for them correctly, they live for a very long time. I recommend you buy one, or even more!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next