PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zebra Danio

Zebra Danio

If it’s always been your desire to own a Zebra Danio, look no farther than Petsmart, where you can get live fish at affordable prices.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 91
90 of 96(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zebra Danio
Review 1 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

great fish

April 29, 2014
by csjjg
fromnew york ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
have and still have 6 of these fish for over 7 month i stared of with 3 and they gave birth babies but while they were in the tank with the fish so most of them got eaten but i saved like 3 over all geat fish
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

FASINATING

April 16, 2014
by marilyn30
frommidland TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought one a while ago Cleo,lived in a 5 gallon with 2 guppies and one black and white mollie. They got along supriseingly well. dianos are very sociable and hardy fish i would recomend this to anyone.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Golden zebra danios

January 30, 2014
by casey391
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently bought a pair of these fish and within two weeks they were breeding. Wow what a great buy!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Fun Dynamic Fish

January 13, 2014
by LadyL
fromPhoenix AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought 2 long-fin zebra; 2 regular zebra; 2 long-fin golden; 3 long-fin leopard; and 2 glo-fish. One of the long-fins regular zebras and one of the glo-fish didn't make it, but the rest are still going strong. I did a fish-in cycle as I didn't know any better and was impatient. At first I thought that they fought all the time, but later I realized that they just like to rough-house a lot. With 9 danios of different types, they swim together all over the aquarium (36 gallon bowfront). 3 are males and 6 are females and I've noticed the girls getting chubby and later, watch as they swim almost on the bottom, wiggle their little back-side, followed by a male with a duplicate wiggle. I then watch the Cory Cats following them diligently. The guppies I bought didn't survive, but the danios surprised me by not eating the baby guppies that did survive. If you want a fascinating small active fish, get six or more of these. You won't see the same enthusiastic playfullness with a small herd. Only a larger herd of Danios do you see their potential. They're awesome.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Very active and funny

January 11, 2014
by fishyguy10
fromWinnipeg, MB
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have four Longfin Zebra Danios and they are very active and make me laugh a lot when they play with each other. They get along very well with the other fish in the tank. I would definitely recommend these for beginners like me!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

active fish!

October 25, 2013
by rexpepper123
fromwoodbury mn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
the coloring on my long fin zebra danio's is starting to really pop now! these little dudes are fun to watch. very fast moving and remind me of torpedo's. the blue strips add a small amount of color to my tank. very peaceful fish. i have them housed in a 55 community tank.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 96 reviews

Great hardy fish

October 23, 2013
by Graystone55
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
For the most part these are greatly active, hardy fish. I keep both the standard Zebra Danios and the brightly colored ones known as GloFish.
These fish do tend to get digestive problems and will sometimes eat till they swell and die so don't overfeed them.
The GloFish variety of these are sometimes not as healthy and seem to develop diseases and problems more often than the standard Zebras. I don't know why as they are supposed to be the same species. They spend most of their time speeding around the mid to upper areas of tanks. When you see a Zebra resting on the tank bottom you can usually bet something's wrong with it. They are sometimes sensitive to temperature changes but can often live in tanks that are heavily populated with others whether of their own kind of other fish species. They are very fast fish and keep other tank members active as they love to chase one another. They eat almost anything.
One of my staple fish species to start new tanks.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Fun, cute and fast

September 26, 2013
by erica777
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These fish are so cute, and theyre really fast. If you scare them by walking by they'll zip around the tank real quick. One of my zebra danios seem to act like the boss of the tank, and tries to chase the rest to the back of the tank, but the other danios like to swim out to tease it. I put in some platies after I got them, and they bothered and nipped them for the first day and thats it.I got them in the middle of my cycling and they are still in great health and seem really happy.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

there grrrrrrrrrreat!

September 23, 2013
by awesometankmaster13
fromquarryville,pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i got four of these a couple of weeks ago, and i have to say, these are great. mine stay at the top and are very peaceful and energetic. they get along with my tetras, swordtail and even my angelfish!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

yes

June 24, 2013
by sheamus
fromlawrence ma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
they are really active one time mine jumped out of the fish tank!!!!!!i picked up and put i water still alive
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Great Beginner Fish

May 24, 2013
by Alette
fromBullhead City,AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased 5 of these little guys 2 months ago they are very active and avid eaters extremely hardy fish and not prone to things like ich I would recommend these to anyone who is just stating up a new aquarium since they can endure a lot of different water conditions
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Great fish...When NOT with Fin Nippers

May 14, 2013
by FintasticReviews
fromUnknownnn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ever since the beginning of owning fish, I've had danios. They've survived everything, a 3 hour long power outage in the middle of winter, vacations, etc. I'd highly recommend them for a community tanks, where there are NOT any fin-nipping fish. Please do research just to make sure the fish you want to put in with Zebras are not going to be predatory towards these ill guys. They DO chase one another, so have a good sized group to minimize any aggression. 5 or more is a good sized shoal. They will eat flake food readily, but adding finely crushed bloodworms or live food will be a nice treat every now and then. Love these guys, and they are EXTREMELY hardy.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Amazing fish

May 12, 2013
by ilovefish123
fromSt. george, utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
A beautiful fish to add in to your aquarium very good for beginners and they are so entertaining to watch! Because it kind of looks like they're playing tag. mine personally play hide and seek i taught it to them, i'm a fish trainer for a living and i highly recommend this fish.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

May 11, 2013
by Aquariums13
fromPhiladehia,PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is one of my favorite aquarium fish even though they are very small. They have a lot of character and are a very peaceful, active addition to keep my tank interesting.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Great Fish!

May 4, 2013
by patsfan391
fromDestin, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had Zebra Danios since I got my first Aquarium. I only had two at first but now I have a school of twelve. They are the most active fish especially in schools. They will readily accept tropical flakes and most other foods. But beware they are jumpers and lost two to my filter. They make great beginner fish and kids love them. I recommend getting two or more. They grow to two inches and are a schooling fish. I reccomend a ten gallon but small schools can be kept in a five gallon but ten gallon is preferred. Great fish overall!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

SO HYPER AND ADORABLE!!!!!!!!!!!

April 28, 2013
by puppyhollywood
fromSoCal
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I went to Petsmart planning on buying guppies and mollies, but i ended up buying three of these and some other fish. The lady recommended these since i have a betta and they were so cute. They were really small and it took the lady forever to catch them since they are so fast. When im bored i look at them and they are just so full of energy!!!! I plan on buying more of these once i get a bigger tank.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Super fun!

April 14, 2013
by Zeessay
fromRSM,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These little fish are great for beginners. After a bacterial bloom killed off what few guppies I had, I wanted to start up a new aquarium immediately. So I decided to get some Zebra Danios. These little guys aren't very colorful but they're really playful and quick! They make for an exciting aquarium!
Feeding time is really fun, these guys remind me of piranhas. C:
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Great For Beginners

April 13, 2013
by TankedUp8
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Zebra Danois are great fish, their super active and never stop amusing you! They are quite hardy, I purchased 3 of them and not one has perished yet! There very colourful and friendly. They often follow the largest one of them as if he is their leader! Super awesome fish.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

GREAT FISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

February 23, 2013
by samyc
fromWaterford CT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
zebra danios are really great fish there super fun and the best possible fish for begginers they eat regular tropical flake food and get along well with all community fish
i love mine there awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zebra Danio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 96 reviews

Very entertaining fish!

February 22, 2013
by Cortana29
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my zebra danios about a month and a half ago. I have a 20 gallon tank with: 5 regular zebra danios, 3 glo zebra danios(aka. glo fish), and 1 comet goldfish. The danios get along great with the goldfish! The fish tank is unheated because of the goldfish but the danios don't seem to mind. They zip around the tank chasing each other all the time, fun to watch! So if your looking for fish that work well with a comet, I would definitely go with zebra danios.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next