PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Ghost Shrimp

Ghost Shrimp

If it’s always been your desire to own a Product Name, look no farther than PetSmart, where you can get live invertebrates at affordable prices.
Overall rating:
4.69 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(142 reviews) 138
134 of 142(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ghost Shrimp
Review 1 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

I love Ghost Shrimp!

June 14, 2014
by Myfurbabies
fromNJ
I would definitely recommend getting Ghost Shrimp! I had a 10 gallon Shrimp Only tank and I just loved my little Ghost Shrimp! They are so fun to watch and they keep the bottom of the tank clean! I also kept them with small schooling fish and had no problem but bigger fish will eat the little guys.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

great little snack

April 8, 2014
by staffsargent
fromnc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this shrimp are awesome!! BUT I RECOMEND U GET MORE THAN ONE, or that one will be eaten as my gourami teared it up, but they lie to school i think! and they also hide in you decorations with is very cool to have alot of!!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

GS

March 12, 2014
by PetHead
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
(click to see the video)
I just got 5 today to put in a 5.5 gallon with my female betta, so far so good! They are really cute, and my betta seems to like them.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 142 reviews

great pet and feeder

January 29, 2014
by reptyguy2117
fromnc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
my baby snapping turtle loves to eat these little guys i give these to him as a treat some times and if you keep as pet then there are thing you must know before you buy for one live plants are a must they will not eat the plants but they will eat the algae off of them great for algae removal but down side your little shrimp may or may not get eaten likes to hide allot and since they are transparent then when ever they are out you cant really see them. live these little guy :)
-19points
3of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Helpful clean-up crew! Get eaten a lot.

January 26, 2014
by N12345
fromWilliamsport, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I usually keep about 6 of these shrimp in my 10g at a time. They help keep the bottom of the tank a little cleaner in between water changes and they're fun to watch as they scurry and swim around the tank! However, I keep them in a tank with a couple guppies and platies, so after about two-three months they're all usually eaten and I have to get more.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Pierre the shrimp

January 14, 2014
by asilisa
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I buy these shrimp as a treat for the bigger fish in my aquarium but every once in a while one is smart enough to avoid being dinner. Right now I have several that have gotten big enough to survive next to all the other fish. I mostly see them during feeding time. I love to stop and watch them groom the mosses and keep the plants clean of algae. Great entertainment and education for young children since you can see "through" them. Circulatory system, brain, digestive system, swimmerettes, etc. are all visible.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Great and Entertaining

January 1, 2014
by Teacher12
fromOntario, CAN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Yesterday, I picked up 4 ghost shrimp to put into my tank with my betta and mystery snails. I was a bit apprehensive about the combination - that somebody would get eaten, but the shrimp are still alive! They're comical to watch and seem to be doing a good job finding and eating any junk on the bottom of the tank. They love to sit on my Marimo ball, too. I'm sure my students will love watching these little guys do their job when I move the tank back into my classroom after the holidays.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 142 reviews

Eh........

December 31, 2013
by BettaSpoiler900
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My puffers didn't like them much... they liked rosy reds. But they make good pets! :) Good Luck
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

funny

December 27, 2013
by tubbyturtle
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
recently I got 3 ghost shrimp. I keep them in a 5gal tank with my 5 guppies and my female betta. when I first put them in my betta would kind of harass them. she stopped after 30min luckily. they ignore the guppies and the guppies ignore them.
they are really fun to watch and at times they become comical. highly recommended, getting more soon
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Love them :)

December 23, 2013
by BettaBettaBoy
fromAtlanta, Georgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I first saw these little guys in the store I knew I just had to have them! I bought 6 of them and added them to a 10 gallon tank. They instantly started exploring. They are so fun to watch! I had them living with one of my betta fish and they never had any problems. Though I would suggest if you do want to have both a betta or any other aggressive fish with these shrimp add the shrimp first. Let them adjust to the tank for a few days then add the fish. Let them find nice spots to hide in. If you add the aggressive fish first you could get some territory issues and the fish may attack your shrimp.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

great little pets!

December 22, 2013
by geegeee12345
fromnc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i love this little guys!
they only con is that they breed like crazy!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

cute and awesome

November 27, 2013
by scarletthebetta15
fromFlorida,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got ten of these for about $2 and they are one of the best investments you can make for a tropical aquarium. They get along great with the other fish and it is so cool to watch them hunt for food and swim up and down along the glass. It is also really awesome to be able to look through their bodies and see their brans and stomachs. Also they are really easy to breed. I <3 these little guys!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 142 reviews

Good...

November 26, 2013
by ExplainMeFishNOT
fromNY
I have a 5 gallon tank with 2 male guppies and 1 minnow. The tank was always messy, with alot of food sitting on the bottom. So I went to Petsmart and bought 4 ghost shrimp. My tank is sparkling clean and all my shrimp get along great! I highly reccomend them!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Amazing, super entertaining aquarium additions

November 25, 2013
by Haloguppy
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love my two ghost shrimp so much!!!! Make sure you get only males though, they will reproduce like crazy!!! I used to have three (one female, two males) and in a week I had over a hundred baby shrimp!!! I finally managed to get rid of the babies that weren't eaten and I got rid of the female as well, so now I have my two astounding males, scuttle and Congo! I would highly highly highly suggest this shrimp!!! They make great scavengers and are so fun to watch!!! On a scale of one to ten I would rate this shrimp 11!!!!!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 142 reviews

Little devils

November 17, 2013
by FishyMcFisherton12345
fromLondon Ontario
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They are pretty cool but ONLY GET MALES. I made the mistake by getting a male and two females and they just kept multiplying and it never ended in about two months i went from having 3 ghost shrimp to about over 100. It was so ridiculous.
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Very Interesting!

October 30, 2013
by fishyfoo
fromNew York, NY
I bought 2 of these little guys for my guppy tank, just to keep the bottom some-what clean and eat left over food. They did a very good job of cleaning it, but for some reason one of them died early after I bought them. So now there is one and I am hoping to get another soon! *His name is Azul* Azul is very fun to watch, zipping around the bottom of the tank, and it is VERY cool to watch him eat! You can SEE the food going into his stomach! I think that sometimes I would rather watch Azul, than my guppies! Overall... Amazing shrimp, and I highly recommend them! PS... Today is Azul's one-year birthday! Congrats little buddy!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Completely awesome!

October 17, 2013
by Em312
fromBellevue, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I LOVE these little guys! I have a small army (5 total, perhaps more eventually) of them patrolling the bottom of my tank. Their behaviors are absolutely intriguing to watch, such as when they eat - most of mine like to find a perch and then just sit with a fish flake taco-style and munch; the attached pic, if you can see it, has one of my shrimp doing just that. I actually have some that are pretty large, a little over one inch not including their antennae which themselves are about the length of their bodies (probably isn't the correct terminology, but that's what they look like). They are super great cleaners and scavengers (guess who's first onto the fish flake leftovers that drift down!), and while they don't need friends, they are so much more intriguing when in groups! For example, a bunch of mine hang out together, scuttle around, and have taken over a barrel decoration as the shrimp fort. Possibly the best part is that they add almost no bioload to the tank, so you avoid overcrowding! Highly, highly recommended!!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 142 reviews

Great scavenger!!

October 13, 2013
by dmour157
fromJamison, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My ghost shrimp is just a baby, but he does a good job keeping my tank crystal clear. Since i have 5 aquariums, it's hard to maintain all of them, so scavengers are a must. I would give it 5 stars but he always buries under the gravel so I never really see him except at night.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 142 reviews

Fascinating but delicate

October 5, 2013
by PetReviewer
fromGreer, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These little shrimp are fascinating to watch! In and of themselves they are not hard to care for. As long as they get protein, fiber, and calcium (all of which can be found in any decent fish food,) they should be fine. You may have to give them a calcium supplement.
The only downside is that there are pretty much no fish that can live with them. They are too delicate to be put in with anything larger than a guppy, and they may attack and eat anything smaller than a guppy. However, if you can create a safe environment for them, I'd suggest you get some of these little guys. You'll be glad you did.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 142 reviews

Great for keeping your tank clean!

September 22, 2013
by ROBBIY
fromNutley NJ 07110
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Ghost Shrimp eat all the left over food on the bottom tank left over from feeding & they have lots of babies that the fish eat some of! I never have to clean my tank the Ghost Shrimp do it for me!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next