PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Ghost Shrimp

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Ghost Shrimp

If it’s always been your desire to own a Product Name, look no farther than PetSmart, where you can get live invertebrates at affordable prices.
Overall rating:
4.687 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 143
139 of 147(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ghost Shrimp
Review 1 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 147 reviews

Careful

January 25, 2015
by Fazbear
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Cool cleanup shrimp. When you're netying these suckers in be very careful if these guys because they're fast and like to jump. Recomend sinking food for these guys
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Great shrimp

January 6, 2015
by Cutelittledoggies
fromLawrenceville, Georgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
They keep the bottom of the tank clean but 2 of my 4 shrimp tend to hide behind the deco. They're good with the small fish.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 147 reviews

Only keep with small fish…

December 31, 2014
by Fisharethegreatest
fromLong Island, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Had three little guys. Two got eaten. My third just wandered around the tank looking for them and I felt bad for him. :(
In a few days I'm getting ten more though! :)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

i love these shrimp!!!!!

December 30, 2014
by liana101theshrimp
fromDallas ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i love these shrimp hard to believe but they are better than algee eaters. i love theses shrimp i've had them ever since i was 7. the clean the tank and are fun to watch the do not need special requirements.you don't have to feed them special food only fish food will do. but just to warn you if you buy like 11 at once and put them with fish in a 10 gallon fish tank like i did,they will all die after 5 days.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Great Shrimp To Have

September 29, 2014
by OceansView
fromHillsboro,OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I like these little guys! When I added them in the tank they started looking for food right away. These shrimp might be a little hard to spot because they are clear. What I love about them is that when they eat a pink flake for example their stomach turns pink! The only downside is that these shrimp only live a short time. If you see their body white, then that means the shrimp will die. The shrimp MUST eat at least one flake a day or they will die. If your fish do NOT let some flake pieces to the bottom of the tank then you should not get them. They are so adorable when they eat. I love to watch them pick up tiny pieces of flakes with their tiny hands and put it in their mouth, and I also like to see how their stomach changes color when they eat the flakes. These guys are VERY hardy and would recommend them to ANYONE who would LOVE to have them!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

I love Ghost Shrimp!

June 14, 2014
by Myfurbabies
fromNJ
I would definitely recommend getting Ghost Shrimp! I had a 10 gallon Shrimp Only tank and I just loved my little Ghost Shrimp! They are so fun to watch and they keep the bottom of the tank clean! I also kept them with small schooling fish and had no problem but bigger fish will eat the little guys.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

great little snack

April 8, 2014
by staffsargent
fromnc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this shrimp are awesome!! BUT I RECOMEND U GET MORE THAN ONE, or that one will be eaten as my gourami teared it up, but they lie to school i think! and they also hide in you decorations with is very cool to have alot of!!
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

GS

March 12, 2014
by PetHead
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
(click to see the video)
I just got 5 today to put in a 5.5 gallon with my female betta, so far so good! They are really cute, and my betta seems to like them.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 147 reviews

great pet and feeder

January 29, 2014
by reptyguy2117
fromnc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
my baby snapping turtle loves to eat these little guys i give these to him as a treat some times and if you keep as pet then there are thing you must know before you buy for one live plants are a must they will not eat the plants but they will eat the algae off of them great for algae removal but down side your little shrimp may or may not get eaten likes to hide allot and since they are transparent then when ever they are out you cant really see them. live these little guy :)
-25points
4of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Helpful clean-up crew! Get eaten a lot.

January 26, 2014
by N12345
fromWilliamsport, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I usually keep about 6 of these shrimp in my 10g at a time. They help keep the bottom of the tank a little cleaner in between water changes and they're fun to watch as they scurry and swim around the tank! However, I keep them in a tank with a couple guppies and platies, so after about two-three months they're all usually eaten and I have to get more.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Pierre the shrimp

January 14, 2014
by asilisa
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I buy these shrimp as a treat for the bigger fish in my aquarium but every once in a while one is smart enough to avoid being dinner. Right now I have several that have gotten big enough to survive next to all the other fish. I mostly see them during feeding time. I love to stop and watch them groom the mosses and keep the plants clean of algae. Great entertainment and education for young children since you can see "through" them. Circulatory system, brain, digestive system, swimmerettes, etc. are all visible.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Great and Entertaining

January 1, 2014
by Teacher12
fromOntario, CAN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Yesterday, I picked up 4 ghost shrimp to put into my tank with my betta and mystery snails. I was a bit apprehensive about the combination - that somebody would get eaten, but the shrimp are still alive! They're comical to watch and seem to be doing a good job finding and eating any junk on the bottom of the tank. They love to sit on my Marimo ball, too. I'm sure my students will love watching these little guys do their job when I move the tank back into my classroom after the holidays.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 147 reviews

Eh........

December 31, 2013
by BettaSpoiler900
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My puffers didn't like them much... they liked rosy reds. But they make good pets! :) Good Luck
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

funny

December 27, 2013
by tubbyturtle
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
recently I got 3 ghost shrimp. I keep them in a 5gal tank with my 5 guppies and my female betta. when I first put them in my betta would kind of harass them. she stopped after 30min luckily. they ignore the guppies and the guppies ignore them.
they are really fun to watch and at times they become comical. highly recommended, getting more soon
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Love them :)

December 23, 2013
by BettaBettaBoy
fromAtlanta, Georgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I first saw these little guys in the store I knew I just had to have them! I bought 6 of them and added them to a 10 gallon tank. They instantly started exploring. They are so fun to watch! I had them living with one of my betta fish and they never had any problems. Though I would suggest if you do want to have both a betta or any other aggressive fish with these shrimp add the shrimp first. Let them adjust to the tank for a few days then add the fish. Let them find nice spots to hide in. If you add the aggressive fish first you could get some territory issues and the fish may attack your shrimp.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

great little pets!

December 22, 2013
by geegeee12345
fromnc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i love this little guys!
they only con is that they breed like crazy!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

cute and awesome

November 27, 2013
by scarletthebetta15
fromFlorida,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got ten of these for about $2 and they are one of the best investments you can make for a tropical aquarium. They get along great with the other fish and it is so cool to watch them hunt for food and swim up and down along the glass. It is also really awesome to be able to look through their bodies and see their brans and stomachs. Also they are really easy to breed. I <3 these little guys!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 147 reviews

Good...

November 26, 2013
by ExplainMeFishNOT
fromNY
I have a 5 gallon tank with 2 male guppies and 1 minnow. The tank was always messy, with alot of food sitting on the bottom. So I went to Petsmart and bought 4 ghost shrimp. My tank is sparkling clean and all my shrimp get along great! I highly reccomend them!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Amazing, super entertaining aquarium additions

November 25, 2013
by Haloguppy
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love my two ghost shrimp so much!!!! Make sure you get only males though, they will reproduce like crazy!!! I used to have three (one female, two males) and in a week I had over a hundred baby shrimp!!! I finally managed to get rid of the babies that weren't eaten and I got rid of the female as well, so now I have my two astounding males, scuttle and Congo! I would highly highly highly suggest this shrimp!!! They make great scavengers and are so fun to watch!!! On a scale of one to ten I would rate this shrimp 11!!!!!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ghost Shrimp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 147 reviews

Little devils

November 17, 2013
by FishyMcFisherton12345
fromLondon Ontario
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They are pretty cool but ONLY GET MALES. I made the mistake by getting a male and two females and they just kept multiplying and it never ended in about two months i went from having 3 ghost shrimp to about over 100. It was so ridiculous.
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next