PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Calico Ryukin Goldfish

Calico Ryukin Goldfish

If it’s always been your desire to own a Calico Ryukin Goldfish, look no farther than Petsmart, where you can get live fish at affordable prices.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
18 of 18(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Review 1 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Calico Ryukin Goldfish

November 28, 2013
by LittleMissBigFoot
fromOH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I just got this fish tonight and it is WONDERFUL!!!!!!
It is swimming all over the tank and is having a good time:). They are really fun to watch. My fishes name is Eve, I think she is very pretty. She likes to follow my finger up and down the tank.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

epic fish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

November 21, 2013
by maxblast100
fromillinos,GL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i have a calico one he is soo cute i had 2 but the tiny one died for no reason but i liked the big fishy beter his name is splash,he is 7.5 inches and ive had him for 3 years and he is in a 40 gallon tank by him self
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Love my little Cali!!!!!!!

June 20, 2013
by Snailgirl
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this fish!!!! She's is so cute and the first day I got her she was really shy but throughout the week she got braver and she's so brave and fun now! I have her in a 8 gal bowl with air bubbler and gravel filter and she loves it! I'm hoping to put her in with a comet goldfish here soon she looks a little lonely but she's doin great and I would definely recommend this fish!!! Got a great pic of my torte shell cat Bella with the calico ryukin goldfish. They totally match!!!
-2points
9of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great fish

May 25, 2013
by tatum14
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've had Phoebe, my calico Ryukin for almost 2 years! She's very a very calm, relaxed fish. I've probably had a few goldfish in the past few years, but Phoebe has lasted the longest! She does have a problem with swim bladder (floating upside down) so I have cut down on how often I fed her. I'm thinking of getting her another ryukin brother or sister because she seems lonely after my other fish died. Mine has a *very* wide stomach, so it gives off the impression she is fat, but I think it's very cute! Wonderful coloring, too. One of her eyes is completely black and the other is regular clear, so it makes her very unique. At almost 2 yrs, she is 2 inches long (from mouth to end of tail) and 1 inch wide/high (from top of body to bottom of body). Also, it seems a 15 gal. is enough room for her and 1 other SMALL fish (If they are only 2 in. long, also, I do not feed them every day b/c of the swim bladder so their water is not getting dirty as fast)
Suggestion for buying:::
I suggest that if you do not find the prettiest goldfish you like at one Pet Smart store, just go to another one, or come back, because it seems some stores have a prettier, better selection of fish than others. Good luck!!!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

GOLDFISH KING

March 13, 2013
by Fishlove217
fromottawa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
THIS FISH rules my tank and is very calm he "hangs out" with my oranda.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Beautiful fish

January 6, 2013
by Beau22
fromParker, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have always loved goldfish & as my opinion I would have to say this is truly one of the most beautiful. :) Mine got very big, had beautiful coloration & lived a long, healthy life. Great personality to boot. :) Would definitely reccommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

January 2, 2013
by BraBra
fromHillsbrough, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These fish is cool. They grow fat. They look like they take too much rrom because of their fatness. Good to other fishes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

INSIDE ONLY

April 14, 2012
by Nikflorida
fromRock Hill, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I adore goldfish, and have been keeping a goldfish pond for many years (previously in central Florida, now at my new home in SC) ... I had a ryukin "deskfish" for a while, and he grew too big for the small desktop aquarium he was living in... I put him outside with my comets and hibunas and shabunkins, and found out later that ryukins and other fancy goldfish are not as hardy as flat-bodied goldfish and need to stay indoors in the winter (remember, I'm from Florida, so this was never an issue before) ... long story short, Wasabi appeared to be quite happy outdoors, and grew to a full 8" or so in size fairly quickly... each morning he'd greet me with a "glug" as I'd go outside to feed him and his "buddies." This morning he did not come greet me. I looked for him all day, and finally about 3pm accepted that he'd been snatched by a predator (we have red-tailed hawks and barn owls here) Many websites describe ryukins as "extraordinarily beautiful pond fish" -- which they are except they're NOT POND FISH. Take Heed!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

March 14, 2012
by FutureVet
fromGreenville, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I absolutely love my fishy Picasso!! She's so cute and sweet! She swims around a good amount. She loves to eat...ha ha. She makes me laugh at her goofiness...she recently started swimming upside down...ha ha. I love her so much!! ;)
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

nice

August 20, 2011
by thedoctor
fromSouthlake, Texas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'am a professional fish keeper and i never buy my fish from chain pet stores but petsmart surprised me the Ryukin was in fair condition apart from some minor fin illnesses which can be cured right away these fish are very intelligent and outgoing and will even enjoy eating from your hand if you let it in other words great fish but not 100% full quality at petsmart because of the overcrowded stocking tanks. But if you like me are hesitant about chain store fish petsmart is somewhere you should try.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Such a great fish!

July 19, 2011
by Void
fromMonsey, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought a calico ryukin as one of my first fish and i love her! Ebony flies around when the light goes on, but even after she calms down she is a lot of fun to watch. I really recommend this fish as it is fairly easy to take care of and gets along well with other fish.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Fun-tabulous fish!

May 23, 2011
by Fishyluvs
fromSeattle,WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My calico ryukin(named her cali) is a very pretty fish, blessed with beautiful markings. She eats alot and likes to search in the rocks for leftover foood. She gets along great with my other two goldfish, and likes to hide behind the plants. I would totally recommend this fish!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

GGF-Great Gold Fish

March 22, 2011
by Brandaphne559
fromHuron, California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought my Calico Ryukin Goldfish (named him Cali) from Petsmart in Hanford, CA about 5 days ago (sales person was very helpful and nice A++) and put him in the tank with Milo (other pet, a common goldfish). Cali is twice the size of Milo but was afraid of him at first. I had to feed Cali separetely from Milo for the first 2 days but now they get along just fine. Cali has well adjusted to his new home and when ever i turn on the tank light he starts swimming in circles and zig zagging in joy for a good 20-30 seconds then he calms down and swims to greet me and my two kids. I love both Milo n Cali. highly recommend a Calico Ryukin Goldfish to anyone who loves fish, they are very fun to watch and you will enjoy them for hours at a time. Very beautiful, calm, happy fish. =)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

An Awesome And Amazing Fish!

December 16, 2010
by Nicole99
fromBend, Oregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased a beautiful Calicko Ryunkin about 6 months ago and he is one of my favorite kinds of goldfish! "Stormy," is very energetic and I love how he does his little "flips" in the water! He has doubled in size since I bought him, and he grew too big for his tank! He is very active in his big tank and is growing lots! He is very enertaining and funny goldfish! I love him and would recommend this product to anyone who wants a fish with a wonderful personality!
Pros: awesome, adorable, funny, lives long, beautiful, nice, greets his owner
Cons: none, grows big fast
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Best fish Ever!!!!

August 5, 2010
by Kayluv
fromDallas,TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
So a year ago I got my fish Twilight.He was small but grew VERY fast!He is very calm and loves to swim around the tank.But he eats ALOT!He is sooo gooofy he moves the pebbles that are at the bottom either to the left, or right of the tank! He also plays tricks on me!!He will float to the top of the tank on his back (like a dead fish!)and then swim down to the bottom and will do it again!!He's a nut!!Anyway this is a colorful,peacefull fish!If you want a fish get this one! Their big ,but fun!!!!Im so glad I got him.He's the best fish Ive ever had!!!!!
Pros: colorful, calm, friendly
Cons: eats alot, can poo alot (sometimes)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

I love this fish!

July 27, 2010
by CaptainCaboose
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've had this fish for a year now, and it still amazes me. One of the prettiest fish I've had. She is a roommate with two other goldfish, and they all love each other. One of the friendliest fish, and has a great personality. I would recommend this fish to anyone.
Pros: pretty, friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Love this fish!!!

July 1, 2010
by Aquarist95
fromOrangevale,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Had one of these several years ago in our 55g. tank this was my first fish (all the others in the tank were my dads) and i loved him sooo much. They are a great fish! He would always do little flips i guess you would call them haha.It was really cute.I would recommend this fish but be sure to always do research before getting any kind of fish.Including goldfish they are highly messy and do require more than the standard "goldfish" bowl.Sorry i know people say that a lot but it does worry me when people say their keeping several in a 10 gallon tank when that should only hold one.Anywho great fish,wonderful to watch,and a great joy to have.
Pros: wonderfull fish to watch
Cons: very messy as with any goldfish do research.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Calico Ryukin Goldfish
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

June 27, 2010
by fish24
frommidland,mi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
one of the best gold fish i ever had!!!!!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.