PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Female Betta

Female Betta

If it’s always been your desire to own a Betta, look no farther than Petsmart, where you can get live fish at affordable prices.
Overall rating:
4.853 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(415 reviews) 411
404 of 415(97%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Female Betta
Review 1 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

simple fish

March 1, 2012
by DrSariumRight
fromVA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two betta fish. They are very simple to care for because they don't require much. For male bettas at least a 1 gallon tank, they also need at least one hiding spot, for rest, food of course, i recomend freeze-dried or pellets, and feed them once a day. They also need conditioned water( if you don't have conditioner just fill tank with tap water and sit it out for 24 to 48 hours) They don't really need a heater or filter. As for females if you only get one, at least 1 quart. Males can not be near each other at all. As for the females they can be in the same tank.
-7points
10of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Maverick :)

February 17, 2012
by Vickii
fromSt. John's, NL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased my little friend 2 and a half weeks ago and I am sure that he has been the best purchase I have ever made! After the death of my cat 6 or so years ago my parents had told us that we would not be bringing any more pets into our home, period. To my surprise it didn't take much for them to agree to my putting a fishtank in my room.
While at the store, all of the Betta fish will be stressed and frightened in their little jars, so they will not be as colorful as they will be at home, and they will become skiddish at the slightest movement.
When I brought my red male home (Maverick) he was very frightened and was careful not to touch anything in the tank. After a few days he lightened up and now is happy and healthy. Maverick meets me when I walk into my room and I have even taught him tricks. My brother is now desperate to buy one as well!
He is very easy to care for; I bought a 1.66 Gallon starter kit with a lighted fixture that I clean completely once a week, while doing a 25-50% water change halfway through the week. I thought he could live without a heater but after a week, it became obvious that he is more energetic in warm waters. This fish is the most perfect fish for any beginner!
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Beautiful Low Maintenance Fish

March 11, 2011
by PinkMolly
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love my two bettas I purchased from PetSmart! I have a gold male, Lang, and a dark blue female, Adrian, in a small but not too small plastic tank with a divider. Bettas are content in some smaller tanks, which makes them easier to care for, and they come in a variety of colors. They eat pellets and flakes and love bloodworms as treats.
There are some important things to remember about these fish, though. You can't keep two in one tank without a divider (male or female usually), and keeping two males near each other is stressful for them. You also need a tank with a lid or they WILL jump out!
+19points
28of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Best fish ever!!!

December 6, 2014
by daphne11
fromUSA
I have a male betta and decided I wanted a female betta recently. I housed her in separate tank of course, but she has become my favorite fish! She is so full of life and she has beautiful colors. She swims around her new home all day and is very interactive. She is much smaller than my male and I love her cute little size. I would definitely recommend the female betta! I don't think they get enough attention compared to the beautiful males with their eye catching tails, but they deserve it! Beautiful fish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Lillian

November 23, 2014
by MMC108
fromAZ
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I absolutely love my little female betta Lillian! She is very beautifully colored, has nice large fins, and is very cute and active.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

So cute and friendly!

November 4, 2014
by CiaraRose
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have had many male bettas but this is my first female one. She is the friendliest out of all the bettas I've ever had. She is a beautiful red colour. She's in a 3 gallon tank on my desk, when ever I walk by she swims up to the side. She even knows tricks! She comes to the side when I whistle and she swims through my hands. We first got her pellets but she would not eat them. She now eats bloodworms in the morning and flakes at night. I would recommend getting a live plant, she loves hers. A overall great fish.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Amazing healthy and colorful

October 30, 2014
by Herrimenpets
fromDC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently bought 4 females and there all doing great. They all get along fine. I plan to soon get a male as well. (Not to be put in the same tank of course.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Such a Sweet Girl!

July 9, 2014
by ashleymrtn
fromVienna, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I fell in love with my sweet girl the moment I saw her. She was so full of energy and happy and seemed ready to come to her forever home. Purchasing a fish was not my intentions when I walked into Petsmart, but I couldn't be happier with my decision. My little betta has such a great personality and is so much fun to interact with. Her coloring is absolutely beautiful and she has the prettiest multicolor eyes. I absolutely adore her!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Great female betta community fish

July 6, 2014
by PEtLOver01
fromSuprise!
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 40 female bettas.Each with 4 other females.I have 10 tanks of female bettas .They are really hardy fish.I would recommend even to make a school of them.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

LOVE her

June 18, 2014
by guppylover42
frommn eagan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i love her she is awesome! she can live with guppies and tetras to {if betta is young} BUY these awesome fish!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

My favorite fish off all time

April 21, 2014
by lovebettas1234
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My female Betta is my favorite fish I have ever had. She is so sweet and BEAUTIFUL! I can't say enough about her. I will be getting more female bettas because of her.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Great Fish!!

March 30, 2014
by Gclo2
fromNy
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have recently bought a 2 gallon aquarium to get a betta fish so last week I did. On the very bottom shelf I saw the female betas for 99 cents. This one was following my fingers and looking at me and that was the one I got. I named her pomegranate and she is a baby (about the size of my pinky). She has been very fun to watch so far and is a great pet. She is very healthy even though I'm sure her water temperature is a little colder then she would like. I Definetly would recommend these little fish over the big fancier bettas that get all the attention. Please give one of these fish a good home.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 415 reviews

Poetry In Motion

March 23, 2014
by MollyDaMasher
fromMetuchen, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought a halfmoon betta from Petsmart which is absolutely beautiful. Everyone has an opinion on a betta's tankmates but I believe it's all about trial and error and the individual fish's temperament. You can't keep a male betta in the same tank with guppies and gouramis. Well I do! In fact, I have 1 betta, 10 guppies, 1 sunset gourami and 1 powder blue gourami. They've adjusted to each other and are quite harmonious for 4 mos. so far.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Great pet for all

March 19, 2014
by Anonymous
fromSan Francisco CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love betas and currently own 3 betas each have their own tank, One lives in a five gallon, the others (females) all live in a ten gallon tank,
They are easy to care for, but i do not recommend putting them in less than at least 5 gallons, I used to put them in bowls until i found out it was bad for them
I have a heater and a slow filter and clean the tank every two weeks.
I highly recommend this pet for children
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Betta fish

February 17, 2014
by Hermoneebabe
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought my female Betta fish, 2 weeks before Xmas(got her on sale), and she is still alive. Years ago I tried Betta fish 3 times and all 3 males passed after a month. Her name is Hermonee, she is blue, could be mistaken for a male, she is in a glass 1 gallon, drum fish bowel, with a Small World strip filter, a sm Betta heater, and a thermometer, which she likes to box with. She does know when I come over to the bowel, a very happy fish.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Females are better than males

February 4, 2014
by CookieK
fromNorthbrook, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought a male betta six years ago and it was VERY boring, but they are way better looking than females. Then my friend told me that females are active swimmers, so I bought one and bam. My friend was right, although it did not look as good as a male. But, it's worth it.
+4points
14of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Awesome Fish

January 25, 2014
by fishiefriends
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've owned many bettas. They're great because they don't need much space. Even though this site and in store they say 1 quart, that's not a good home at all. 2+ gallons is a good home for a betta. Heaters are required (keep tanks at 78-82ºF or 25-27ºC) and gentle filters are recommended.
Never keep two males together unless you do dividers, like I do. Females can sometimes live together but you need lots of experience before trying it.
Now, onto the review. I love bettas. They're all different. Each one is a different color, tail shape, pattern and personality than the next. They're all beautiful.
One thing I dislike about them is that they are extremely prone to lots of diseases, like ich, fin rot, dropsy and swim bladder. They also like to bite their own tails if they are too heavy. Plakat bettas generally don't have this issue, so I tend to stick to them.
A great fish with lots of personality and 'fintastic' colors. I would definitely recommend bettas to anyone, from the beginner to pro fish keepers. They're great fish.
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

i love betta fish

January 25, 2014
by anolelover101
fromTunkhannock, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
1 month ago I got this female betta fish named Lillian she was in great condition I got her as a baby she was about an inch big she was token care of and really healthy.I think a lot of people should have betta fish they are really easy to take care of and don't cost a lot although they should be love just like any other animal make sure you clean its bowl once a week and feed it three times a day do some more research before going out and buying one
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Best fish ever!!!

January 24, 2014
by Serbluv
fromOhio,oh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My fish Julius Cesar is 3 years old now. He has the best temper he isn't aggressive and gets along perfect with my mystery snail. King Solomon. Betas come in many beautiful colors. I would recommend this fish because they are active and after a few weeks will recognize your face.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Female Betta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 415 reviews

Betta Fish

January 19, 2014
by Kzik
fromHampstead, NH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have owned bettas since I was 5. They are fun to watch and look at. Betta colors come from white to black. There are two types, the crown tails and and fancy bettas. They could not be in another tank with another Betta. They should be fed ether once a day and once every other day depending on how much you feed them. You should clean the tank once a week. Bettas are great pets!
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next