PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Hermit Crab

Hermit Crab

If it’s always been your desire to own a Product Name, look no farther than PetSmart, where you can get live invertebrates at affordable prices.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 140
139 of 147(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Hermit Crab
Review 1 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

I Heart Hermie

July 21, 2014
by Herrimenpets
fromDC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I just adopted 4 Hermits and I love them! They are so fun to watch. One of my fav things about them is that even though I'am gone a'lot and I have a dog and cats they are just fine by there selves. I LOVE HERMIES!!!!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

July 19, 2014
by gcwool
fromSummerville, S.C.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I'm a first time Hermit crab mom.I purchased 2.Both are in good health,easy to handle,and take care of.They do have their own personalities!I love watching them!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Love my hermits!!!

July 10, 2014
by jmtnsub
fromChesapeak,Virginia,VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They are great pets just got mine yesterday fell in love with them in the car! The only thing that might irritate people is that they love to dig so they rarely come out XD but this might be there way of handling stress considering this is only day 2 of me owning them. But when I take them out they love to come out of protective mode and play. I have 3 crabs a really big one a medium sized one and a tiny one. I can't find the smallest though she's some where under ground.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 147 reviews

very good

March 29, 2014
by Zoodlebuddy
fromBoise , Idaho
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Okay, so I bought 4 of these little guys today and I love them already. They don't stink at all , even though they are nocturnal ( they sleep in the daytime)
they are fun to watch when you shut of the light because they get very active. I would defiantly recommend these.:) Also they are in a 20 gallon tank and it only cost around $60 for 4 crabs, coconut bark, humility gage and everything else that is needed. You should really get these . :):)
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Easy to take care of and fun to have

March 11, 2014
by dogsdogsandmoredogs
fromchicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Hermit crab Ferris died recently but I plan on getting a new one because they are so great! Mine loved to crawl around anywhere and everywhere. He also enjoyed burring himself into the fake sand at the bottom of his cage. It is so much fun watching him play! He never pinched either even when I first got him. ( I suggest wearing gloves while holding your crab the first week so he can get used to you.) It is not hard to take care of them either. All they need is a small dish of water and either tiny or crushed food pelts, be sprayed a couple times a day with a mist sprayer, taken out at least once a day for 10-15 minutes so they can stretch their legs, and given at least 2 new shells every two months so they can choose to move into them. They are not very dirty either and make very small poops so you don't need to really clean that out often. The only thing I suggest not doing would be to buy to and keep them in the same cage or tank because they will fight and sometimes even kill or eat each other in rare cases. Also you will have to keep one out of the tank or cage while the other is changing or molting their shell. Overall, I loved my Hermit crab and can not wait to get another one!!!!!!!!!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

great pets

March 5, 2014
by fishy5266
fromEllabell, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Hermit crabs are wonderful creatures and interesting to watch. They are for the most part easy to take care of but do require a very good habitat. They need a salt and fresh water pool with sponges so they can get out. They have to have proper humidity and heat. Coconut bedding and play sand is better for them, they like to dig underground and love switching shells. My daughter loves watching them crawl around the house(supervised of course). They are not pets to be taken lightly. Some can live close to 25 years if taken care of properly.
-Proud owner of three PP's.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

GOOD PET

December 31, 2013
by BettaSpoiler900
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Me and my brother had some and they were so fun. Mine loved people and my brother liked mine more than his own. ( I got mine at petsmart, others were from a different place.)
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

December 30, 2013
by dodgefamily
fromalberta, canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my daughter a hermit crab as she has always been fascinated with animals . I now have 8 hermit crabs in a costom build tank which is 5 foot long by 2 foot high and 2 foot wide . Tarzan , papi , big mac, horse , mini , Fabio , cherry , and pebbles . These little guys have been a really great amazing pet for the whole family . My husband was really sceptical about them , but he is always handling them with our daughter. she is 3 and absolutely loves them all . I would highly recommend them to any one who wants a animal that is different from a fish .
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Over all amazing!!!!

December 16, 2013
by hermitcrabs1
fromMaroa,IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my friend a year ago today and am so happy to have her. I Named her Mrs.karbs and she is so fun and social. a great pet for kids and elders alike.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

have 1 hermie 1 pup 2 kitties and 1turtle

November 27, 2013
by trinsterdoodle
fromnew york, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Hey! Are you lonely and want to have a social and easy to care of pet? Hermits are for Y.O.U.!!! These little guys are so social and are adorable! Really easy to care for. My hermie is a female named, Tide , and she is awesome!!!! So, if you like spoiling your little hermie or you want some device on keeping these guys just ask me!!! Anyway, enjoy these awesome little adorable creatures!!! P.s. ( make sure your little friend has a other friend to play with!!! They LOVE company!)
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Great Crab!

November 21, 2013
by Flatcoatretriverlover
fromTempe Arizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I wanted a new crab and we looked for places who might just have a perfect crab for me. So we looked at Petsmart on Chandler Blvd. I love my new one I named her Carrie. Great buy!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

hermit crabs

October 30, 2013
by TAPDANCINGSOPHIA
fromi have two dogs
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
just wondering how much do hermit crabs cost ????
-27points
1of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Best pet ever

October 16, 2013
by shaggy1234
fromlondon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently got 2hermit crads and are very active and nosie annd a little shy
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

October 14, 2013
by Sammy2013
fromGreeneville. Tn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 4 hermit crabs 2 so sweet never had pitched me my brothers little girl loves them. They areinteresting to watch. Mine love to bury themself under the beddinig so i dont get to see them to much cuz they dont come out. It might be 3 months before one of them comes out. so if you are wanting a pet where you can take out anytime you wont. I wouldnt reccomend these but if you are patient and can wait then they are the best. I love all mine.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Love my little hermies!!

September 18, 2013
by Mistery
fromHenderson, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
One of my hemit crabs died yesterday (:() so we went to Petsmart. Bob II is awesome. :)
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

GREAT PETS!!!!!

September 15, 2013
by 5mmyaaqm
frommineapolis mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I think crabs are epic! I have a crab named flora. She was from petsmart. NEVER get a crab from the mall. They just want to make money, unlike petsmart. I say get 2!!!!!!!!!
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Hermies rock!

September 8, 2013
by AnnaHedgieFan
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got my two little hermies, Kermit and Hermione, in August 2013 and I totally love them! They're very sweet and I'm so glad I got them. I've only had a dog and some fish before, so they were a great choice for me for a small pet I could handle! (I can't really get hamsters or anything right now, my dog might try to kill them.) I was looking for a small pet, and after furry ones were ruled out, I thought about getting some of these guys! It was a great decision! Kermit and Hermione really seem to enjoy their coconut hut in their 10 gal. tank. They are SO cute! I definitely recommend getting hermit crabs if you want a little pet you can enjoy playing with! :D
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

September 2, 2013
by charlierules
frombushland texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got charlie about an hour ago and so far she is the BEST PET EVER!!!! her favoriet game is peek a boo!!!! i am so proud of how fast she can walk!!!! i recamend her to evrey one!!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

Valdronia and Brownie

August 14, 2013
by Thehermiehut
fromvancouver, B.C.
I have 2 hermit crabs Valdronia and Brownie I am a kid still in school so I do not spend as much time with them but they are still awesome pets Brownie just molted and he\she is the shy one, Valdronia is the active and fun one he\she is awesome and Brownie is to if you are thinking of getting a hermit crab you should but remember that hermits are nocturnal.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hermit Crab
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 147 reviews

hermit crabs rock

July 30, 2013
by hermitcrabsrock12345678
fromoh,clevlend
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm gonna get a hermit crab and i'v heard so much good thing about them. they are unique pets you don't walk into your friends house and see hermit crabs, im so excited I mean there just so amazing.
very interesting 2 see.just amazing....really............................so cool
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next