PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar

SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar

It’s not healthy for your cat to be overly anxious and stressed out. Help keep your pet calm with Sentry®HC Good Behavior Calming Collar for Cats.
Overall rating:
4.015 / 5
4
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
52 of 65(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Review 1 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

Product triggered constant washing

November 5, 2014
by FlamepointSiamese
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Recently, I'd felt at my wit's end because my indoor-only 3 year old female Siamese cat had developed a habit of waking up in the wee hours of the night and engaging in repetitive behaviors, such as pacing and meowing, or fixating on my tall dresser and repeatedly trying to jump up on it.
After reading so many positive reviews, I decided to give this product a try, at least until I could get her to the vet to rule out any underlying medical issues. I do agree with other reviewers that the fragrance is quite strong and unpleasant although still somewhat tolerable.
Immediately after putting the Sentry collar on her, I noticed her continuously washing, mostly around her neck area. I observed her engage in this behavior for about twenty minutes or so before I finally removed the collar. Although she eventually settled down, she did continue to wash her neck for a while even after removing the collar.
To experiment, I tried the collar on her three other times and she had the same exact response. Despite her other recent behavioral issues, I've never noticed any problem with her daily grooming.
I am not sure what triggered her excessive washing--whether it was something to do with the actual pheromones or the lavender/chamomile scent. I don't think it has anything to do with the collar because she has always worn a breakaway collar without issue.
Because I never was able to leave the collar on her for an extended time, I am not sure whether it would have stopped the nighttime pacing or fixations. I ended up discontinuing use of the product as I felt it was not worth risking her developing a new obsessive behavior.
I suppose there is a possibility I might have more success trying one of the room diffusers although haven't yet decided whether or not it's worth a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Amazing product!!

September 16, 2014
by Jshaw45
fromCelebration, FL
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We moved four days ago and one of our three cats has not adjusted well. He spent ALL night incessantly meowing, loudly, keeping my husband and I up most of the night. In fact, we have not felt this sleep deprived since our 19 month old was born. At our wits end, I purchased this product, and as soon as the cat started to meow tonight, I slipped this collar on and have heard two peeps from him since. He is actively, but quietly, exploring the new place. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this product!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

New Home Panic Attacks

August 12, 2014
by Azhi
fromMonroe, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This collar is amazing! We just moved into our new house and our 1 year old cat, having never experienced anything outside of our old apartment, was in a constant state of panic. He hid under his blanket, panting, shaking and heart racing, for a night and a day.
After putting the collar on him and letting him hide under the covers for another 30 minutes, we brought him out. Our cat cuddled on my fiance's lap and purred for about 10 minutes and then went exploring. The collar was just the thing to break him out of his anxiety and let his curiosity kick in. I wish I had picked it up earlier!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

This works fantastically

August 4, 2014
by KittyCatMomma
fromCleveland Heights, OH
Buying this for my cat is the best decision I've ever made for her over all well being. It has changed her life. My cat is 16 years old & has PTSD, feline aggressive disorder, among other behavioral problems, along with arthritis in her paws due her previous owners choice to declaw. This accompanied with Whisker City Calm Down Liquid are the only things that have helped her at all. She's a different cat altogether. She is happy & loving all of the time. She is in less pain. She never lashes out anymore. Her PTSD is completely managed now. This is a great natural alternative to vet prescribed medications. Giving my cat this has changed our entire relationship. It's helped her calm down & be the happy cat I knew she always was inside. I can't say enough good things about this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Love this product!!!

July 23, 2014
by DiamondsMom
fromSalt Lake City, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this collar in hope it would help my 16 yr old cat cope with the loss of her 21 yr old "mom" cat. She had been with her since she was 4 weeks old and has been lost without her. She would howl all night and nudge me in the middle of the night to make sure I was still there. Since putting on this collar, she has been more content and doesn't howl as much. She sleeps the whole night without nudging me anymore. She doesn't pace around the house during the day...she actually sleeps and eats well. Thank goodness for this product!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

Sentry calming collar.

June 11, 2014
by Iannava
fromVirginia Beach,VA.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
:( DID NOT WORK I threw out receipt unable to get refund,also purchased spray useless, I wish I could get a refund.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Works Like Magic!

June 7, 2014
by KatieCat
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Amazing product! I have a twelve year old senior girl at home and we've been doing a lot of moving furniture and upheaving the house lately, so she's been very stressed. In addition, there's been a lot of separation anxiety since I've been away from her, so that's another stressor. I volunteer at my local SPCA and I noticed that they used calming collars on some of the nervous cases there, so I figured that, to ease the stress on my baby, I'd give it a try. For one, I expected a fight, since she does NOT take well to collars. I took it out of the package, let her sniff it, and then gently placed it around her neck. She only got a tiny bit nervous as I put it on her, but did not fight me at all. Cut to hours later, this cat is completely at ease, more so than she's been in months. Not to mention, she looks darn cute with it on and smells so nice now! Highly recommend this product to any and all cat people for when your babies have stressful days. Since we're gonna be moving within the next few months, I'm inclined to go stock up on more of these!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Worked great!

May 13, 2014
by beansandfifi
fromVirginia
My cats have never been fans of driving in the car. I used this product on both of them for a four hour car drive. It worked great!! Both of my cats stayed calm in their carriers. They did utter a few meows but not many. They did not pant or howl. I highly recommend this product!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews

Seeing definite changes.

February 16, 2014
by BabsFTW
fromFort Collins, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
New kitty has been picked on by cats in the past and is very afraid of my large male tabby (though he is harmless) she has been cowering and hissing at the sight of him. I put this on her and overnight I saw a difference.. She is confidant- tail in the air and exploring the house and no more hissing.
The only downside is the collar is so large for her the excess gets in her way and it is made of rubber instead of cloth, which seems to catch her long fur sometimes.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews

Seems to be helping

October 29, 2013
by dlr36
fromSan Antonio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews
The stray kitty that we adopted keeps bullying one of my other cats. I put the collars on the one getting picked on and the one doing the bullying. It's calmed down our latest edition and relaxed the bullied one. They seem to be tolerating each other better. The anxiety seems to be lessening.
Pros: price, works great
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews

MELLOW CAT

October 16, 2013
by villcat
fromINDY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews
I have a alpha male cat that picks on my female all the time. This product does pretty good. It`s not a cure all but it does calm him down some
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Excessive Meowing? Not Anymore.

August 31, 2013
by DiscoBalll91
fromFredericton, NB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this because I am in the middle of a move and my cat had been consistently waking me up in the early hours with frantic meowing. After consulting my vet they recommended Feliway to help him deal with the stress of the move. After looking into my various options I decided to buy this instead because Feliway (even the Whisker City equivalent or the Comfort Zone ones) is so expensive, and I didn't want to have to pay another 50 dollars with all of my extra moving expenses. I figured if I tried this and it didn't work I'd buy the Feliway but the reviews on this product were generally quite favourable and the price can't be beat.
When I first put the collar on I didn't notice a huge difference. He's generally okay during the day anyway so I knew the night would be the real test. But I did notice he was more calm and less skittish (he's a rescue so he's usually quite shy) and that he wasn't as afraid of noises or sudden movements. I actually got sleep last night for the first time since starting to pack, and he is currently curled up on my bed as happy as a clam. He doesn't have a drug induced look or sound, he's just relaxed and happy. I'll probably keep buying these just to keep him relaxed, and the purple color is nice and vibrant, not at all girly on my handsome boy. I brushed the powder off over a bag before putting it on, and clipped the extra length of collar off. I feel like the people who say it's choked their animal haven't secured it tight enough. It shouldn't be loose enough they can get their mouths on it, but there should be one or two fingers space between the collar and his neck.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews

It's a start

July 14, 2013
by Norske
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have added a new kitten to our cat family (about a month ago). We knew our 3 yr old female would have an adjustment period with this addition. She has gradually gotten more and more aggressive as time has gone on. She swats and hisses at her brothers, us and the new kitten. She sought solace out in the yard on weekends and weeknights but now has recently been afraid of this as well and takes to hiding under the bed. This is when I decided to try this collar. I gave her food and was able to get the collar on without her swatting at me. That's encouraging. Yes there is a powder that comes off the collar, if you read the instructions it states that" The collar is designed to release powder when applied, which will activate the pheromone technology". I don't notice a strong smell as others have posted. I have been able to pet her for brief periods of time for now. It's only been about 2 hours so far though. I'm encouraged for now.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Where is my old cat??

July 10, 2013
by MCH2013
fromSouthwestern Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I wondered why anyone would put a purebred snowshoe up for adoption, but I found out when I moved to my apartment with him about 16 months ago. After a couple of months something happened and he became fixated on the door.
At 2 and 5 in the morning or if anyone was in the hall by the elevators right next door he would whine and cry like he was the most abused cat in the world. I was embarrassed... and tried everything, water bottle, toys, spraying the door with repellent and even opening the door to my neighbours Great Dane (he loves kitties). Also the minute I would open my eyes in the morning he would be right there, I think he was checking that I was still alive, anxious while I was asleep.
Put this collar on him at supper last night and the only sound out of him since has been a quiet purrrump this morning. He waited for me to get up at the foot of the bed and when I got up it was. Hey breakfast anytime... whatever. My other cat is looking at him going... that's better dude, nice and chill.
I wish I had found these earlier... so much earlier... I have a different cat, one I don't have to shame on Twitter anymore.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 65 reviews

not for us

May 24, 2013
by estee
fromohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this is a great concept unfortunately it did not work for our family
i got this after our vet suggested that it might help our 15 year old get used to our new 1 year old however as soon as i tried to put it on her she freaked out sh was hissing more at the collar than she ever did at the other cat & the 1 year old didn't like it either while he didn't hiss he ran & hid from it
i'm glad this worked for many but i won't be getting it again it was a waste of money for us
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

MUST have for kitties with extra energy!

April 15, 2013
by Kenna211
fromSan Francisco, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Gizmo is my 10.5 year old 'fur baby', I found him in a parking lot when he was only a few weeks old.
Gizmo has always been a ham, he loves attention, but in the last 3 years of his life he has also developed a little bit of separation anxiety, and what I believe to be feline dementia and this collar has helped IMMENSELY.
The collar does not act as a sedative and does not 'drug' the cat. Think of it as aromatherapy for your kitty cat.
I originally got this collar 3 years ago when my work day went from 8 hours to 12 a day and he was working himself up into such a tizzy that he was getting sick and it worked great then and it works great now. My days are more manageable now and I am home more but as Gizmo has gotten older he's developed some nighttime anxiety and this collar really helps him settle at night.
When your kitty is in your lap you can smell the collar but it is not pungent or over powering at all. Think about it, it's right under his nose and he is fine with it, it definitely won't bother a human.
I highly recommend this for any pet owner. It is a little pricey for only getting 30 days usage but it's worth it for your pets peace of mind.
Pros: easy to administer, works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Excellent Product!

February 27, 2013
by sewsavannah
fromsavannah, ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
To say that before we discovered this collar my cat was a nervous wreck would really be an understatement. She was very skittish and shy. My daughter came home with the Calming Collar and I was very skeptical. It worked! She's much calmer, doesn't spend all of her time hiding from or attacking our other cat and actually seems to enjoy being around us!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 65 reviews

Preliminary Review

February 20, 2013
by strougma190
fromAmherst, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
I just bought this product today for my furry "only child". He was a shelter kitty of only 2 years and after six weeks of adjustment eliminated on my bed. I did my homework and decided on pheromone technology. I don't have any long-term experience yet but I do have two things I'd like to mention thus far. 1- I noticed some reviews stating that "the powder" all came off when they put the collar on. It says on the back of the package that this is NOT the pheromone technology. This is just a means of jump starting the process. 2- I did notice an almost instant change in my cat's mannerisms. He went from 'always on edge' to 'peace and tranquility' in less than 60 seconds. Needless to say I'm rather impressed. We will see what time and guests bring.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 65 reviews

Awful odour

February 14, 2013
by Opanga
fromOntario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The product may work (too early to tell with my highly stressed new cat), but the lavender-camomile scent is completely overwhelming. The room the cat is in reeks!
Will not buy again - there is no need for the product to be scented.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SENTRY® GOOD Behavior® Lavender Chamomile Cat Calming Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews

Working so far

January 8, 2013
by Isabelamber
fromOakwood, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 65 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've literally had this collar for two days and I could notice the difference the moment I put it on. I have an over groomer cat that over grooms when he gets stressed with certain situations (poor cat that sleeps all day and gets fed, what a hard life haha) but we just got a new puppy and it has helped so much! This would be good for a new family member (like a baby) or a new dog. He isn't grooming to the point of leaving hot spots on his fur anymore, I've actually seen them scab over now! I will be buying this a lot more now!
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next