PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt

Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt

Just like people, it’s important for your dog to relax. Help your pet stay calm and find relief with Thundershirt for Dogs.
Overall rating:
3.982 / 5
4
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 109
87 of 112(78%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Review 1 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 112 reviews

Didn't Work

November 1, 2014
by Courtf01
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I adopted a shelter dog. She became attached to me extremely quickly and would cry/bark when I would leave her alone to shower, go to the bathroom, and leave. Even if she was eating, she would leave her food the second I was not in the room to see what I was doing. If I crated her...forget about it! She would scream. I bought this thinking it would curb some of her anxiety. However, she just ripped it off of herself and made holes in it. I think it created more anxiety instead of helping. Her barking seemed worse instead of better. I tried it for about a week. Note: My dog is 10 lbs and is not large.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 112 reviews

Didn't work for us.

August 22, 2014
by MadAsAHatter90
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dog has had extreme anxiety over thunderstorms and fireworks for the past 4 or so years. We've tried just about everything else so when I saw this I thought I'd give it a shot and it really just didn't work for us. I've tried it on her about 3 to 4 times now and it just hasn't seemed to calm her down at all. I gave it two stars instead of just one because it is made well, does fit snug and seems like it could work and be soothing for other dogs but it just didn't seem to work for my dog personally. Based on my experience I cannot recommend this to others as it didn't personally work for us but it's really worth a shot (with an excellent return guarantee, if it happens to not work for you either) if it has a chance of working for you and your pet. I think all pets are different and how they can be calmed down are different and this was just a 'miss' product for us.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Worked for us!

August 12, 2014
by LoveMyDoggies99
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our Boston Terrier mix is terrified of loud noises. We had a solid week and a half of severe thunderstorms, so after the first few days she was inconsolable; even a car passing in front of the house too quickly would get her to shaking and having a fit because she was so on edge. She also hates car rides. Well, I took her with me to get the Thundershirt so she wouldn't go crazy at home alone... storm+car ride= double trouble. I put the shirt on her before heading home, and she fell asleep in the car! Once I got her home it was thundering even worse than before, and she is curled up sound asleep. I hated feeling like I couldn't do anything to comfort her, so this is an absolute lifesaver for us.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Actually Worked!

July 12, 2014
by Kaykay2105
fromSioux Falls
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 8 month old shih Tzu who has some separation anxiety issues and would bark all of the time I was gone according to my neighbors. I saw this at a different store, but did not have his size. I decided to check at Pet Smart online and it said my local store had his xs size. It has helped him so much and is so much more calmer with it on. I recorded him when I was at work while he had it on and he didn't bark and slept and lounged around all day. It's amazing that a "shirt" could help him this much. I was feeling hopeless.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

EVERYTHING SHOULD WORK THIS WELL

July 6, 2014
by BuddyFriend
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
If everything I bought worked this well, I would be a very happy camper. We bought our Thundershirt on July 3rd, because last year one of our dogs, Daisy, sat and quivered through the fireworks. On July 2, we starting hearing explosions, and Daisy started getting very nervous. Once we got her into her shirt, the difference was amazing. My wife and I were both very skeptical, especially after reading a few negative reviews, but most reviews were positive, so we decided it was worth a try. We are very pleased. Daisy is calmer not only about fireworks, but in other situations as well. For us, this is a five star product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 112 reviews

Thundershirt

May 27, 2014
by Ralph2014
fromColorado Springs
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Purchased the Thundershirt for a high energy dog. First use was amazing to see her so calm. She loves wearing it and stays so mellow. If I had believed all the reviews I read I would not have bought it. Now to see how it works with the Fireworks season coming up. I hope to have good results with that too. Will let you know my results with that in a month or so.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Excellent Product

May 26, 2014
by Bec2782
fromPittston, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I heard about this product through an ad on tv. My dog has major anxiety with loud noises and car rides. This shirt is wonderful. I put it on her during some fireworks and she calmed down within 5 minutes. We also put it on her for a long car ride and she was fine. We used to give her some tranquilizers but they took a while to kick in. This is the best thing ever. I was amazed at how well it worked for her.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Worth Every Cent!

May 6, 2014
by Beck1418
fromGrosse Pointe, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My son and his future wife recently adopted a 5 year old husky. The dog did fine with everyone except my husband-was terrified of him and howled at him all day long when the owners weren't home. We bought a Thundershirt (without high expectations) because we had to do something about the problem and just to relax the dog. Within minutes of putting it on him, he quit howling and decided it was nap time and went to sleep near my husband. He did not howl again while wearing the Thundershirt! It was truly a miracle.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 112 reviews

February 22, 2014
by noeffecttowearorworse
fromFLORIDA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 112 reviews
I bought this product hoping to calm my puppy especially when walking outdoors. But I don't see any difference or changes as he still is very hyper and pulls a lot. Even when indoors, he is rolling and running around like a mad dog. I thought his behavior was much worse with the thundershirt on.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work
-21points
1of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 112 reviews

Not for mine

February 21, 2014
by Grits57
fromHuntsville AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 112 reviews
I have a Golden Retriever who is deathly afraid of storms. Living in tornado alley, I thought it might help her. The quality of this product and the ease of use is outstanding, but it did absolutely nothing for her. I read the reviews, but decided to try it anyway. I recommend it because it HAS helped so many dogs, but not mine. You be the judge because I sure do wish it would have calmed her down.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Comforter

February 2, 2014
by StewieGilligan
fromBakersfield Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have an anxious Maltipoo. This keeps him from shaking and barking. Love this product.
Pros: works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 112 reviews

She is still fearful

February 1, 2014
by NellieC
fromShelton, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 112 reviews
While the Thundershirt does fit well, and she seems to like wearing it, her fear is still very present.
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 112 reviews

Did not relieve anxiety on car rides.

January 30, 2014
by coconutz50
fromFlorida and North Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our Schnoodle gets very anxious on car trips. He tremers, vomits and is a complete mess, even when held. We did not want to medicate him, so purchased the Thundershirt as it seemed like the perfect solution. Well, it wasn't the solution. It did not help. We had to resort to medication or leave him at home. We were disapointed and out the cost of the Thundershirt, which is not cheap.
It might work on your dog, but it did not work on our dog!!
Cons: price, didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

I like it and so does my pup!

January 9, 2014
by Oklahomamimi
fromTulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews
Got this for my 7 month old doberman puppy, it fits her well with room for her to grow. It's a great product, although my pup doesn't like the loud velcro ripping sound when I take it off. She will get used to the sound, it's just something to be aware of.
Pros: price
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Great Product

January 9, 2014
by hpydoglady
fromCamano Island, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 112 reviews
I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about with the durability of this coat. For $39.99 it is a steal. Very thick material and good velcro which you don't have to worry about coming undone. I was buying T-shirts & sweaters for my dogs at $12-$15 a pop that would last only a few weeks. So for this price and the quality and thickness of the material, I think it's awesome. Easy to put on your pet expecially if they don't like having their head and legs inserted into holes. It does seem to cut down on the barking but have only had it a few days. She still barks, but not at her own shadow, as she did before. Hopefully it will get better or at least she won't revert back once she gets used to it.
Pros: price, easy to administer, works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 112 reviews

Not very durable

January 5, 2014
by CJONES
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 112 reviews
Way overpriced! I was shocked when I opened this and realized it was basically a thin t-shirt with velcro strips! For the price I was expecting a far more durable material. The first time I put it on my dog, he reached back to pull at it and put a small hole in it! I bought this to see if it would decrease my dogs anxiety while taking walks and being in the car. It has been several weeks since I have purchased this. I have not seen a difference when walking but I have seen improvement when he is in the car. I think it's because he finds it uncomfortable and doesn't move as much in it. (Many other reviews have stated it does not work well with separation anxiety and fear of loud noises - my dog doesn't have those issues so I can't give an opinion about that.) If you are handy with a sewing machine you could probably make your own version!
Cons: price
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Maybe!

January 3, 2014
by JRRRR84848
fromVirginia Beach, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 112 reviews
I found the jacket calmed our usually hyper hound dog during a car ride home for the holidays. I was skeptical about the hype, but his demeanor and was very relaxed in the car once the jacket was on. I am looking forward to using it at the vet soon another place he has been very hyper in the past.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 112 reviews

Works!

January 3, 2014
by HunnyB
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 112 reviews
My dog would freak out on car rides. We tried this shirt and it works fairly well. She's still a bit nervous, but nothing like she used to be without it.
Pros: price, works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

Would recommend this product

December 30, 2013
by DLS5644
fromLubbock, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews
I bought this Thundershirt for my daughter's black Lab Jake. When my daughter travels, Jake will stand the entire trip and never lay down on the backseat of their car. It doesn't matter how long the trip is. I got the Thundershirt this Christmas and he laid down on the backseat the majority of the trip home from my house. He didn't lay down the whole trip but this is a great start. I highly recommend this Thundershirt for dogs.
Pros: works great
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thundershirt Dog Anxiety Shirt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 112 reviews

VERY effective! :-)

December 18, 2013
by Loftus
fromTexas
How many pets do you have?3
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 112 reviews
One of our labs is very, very skiddish around strangers & afraid of loud/unusual noises. We put the ThunderShirt on her when she goes to the vet, to Petsmart to "shop", during thunderstorms (duh!), when we go on vacation w/ her, etc. She seems to respond to it well. She doesn't jump up on my legs as often & whimpers less often. A few times, she's even fallen asleep pretty quickly after we put it on her...
Pros: works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next