PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage

Your furry family members will feel right at home scurrying up the ramp, lounging in the balcony and running on the exercise wheel in this comfortable and stimulating hamster cage. When you want to play with your pets, the large plastic door makes it easy for you to let them out, and when playtime's over, the lock ensures they'll remain safely inside.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Review 1 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Pretty Good

January 27, 2014
by AbubbaDee
fromSt. Catharines, ON, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Be careful, my hamster is smart enough to open the door of the cage to get out. I used a paper clip as a "lock."
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

July 27, 2013
by Centralbud
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I LOVE THIS CAGE!! BUY THIS CAGE, DO NOT BUY ANYOTHER CAGE. SOL LOVES IT. He always goes into the balcony and looks out of his cage. He is a dwarf hammy and it the cutest thing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great

February 23, 2013
by Chrissy12000
fromAlberta,Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I would recommend this to people with dwarf hamsters because if u had anything bigger it would be torture I like to have a lot of space for my hamster
But overall it's great
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Definate Recommend

November 8, 2012
by Jessie2347
fromBowmanville Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Very durable and serves it's purpose wonderfully. Lasts a long time and has plenty of room for a hamster, gerbil or mouse. I would definitely buy this product again!
Pros: stylish, sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Great, But...

December 17, 2013
by Nate11
fromCanada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
This is a great cage for maybe 1 dwarf hamster but i recommend getting 1 more cage because hamsters need 360 square inches and this is about 200 only so please get another cage. It is a great cage and the quality is good but i just got it 4 months ago and the shutting lock has fallen off but you can easily put it back on. It comes as a kit which is good too! Its super easy to clean but the wheel is a bit harder because of the ridges. Overall this is a great starter cage ( get another one to attach soon ) and it is easy to clean so i would for sure recommend it. Its great for starter.
Pros: easy to clean, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

THE PERFECT CAGE 4 Dwarfs more or less

August 1, 2013
by Cullen
fromOttawa.ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Just to kick things off, I have bought and set up two of these cages. One was for my own and the other a friends dwarf hamsters.
Mine houses 3 females comfortably and his supported a mom and her litter of 4 to maturity.
This review is based on both cages equally.
Cons.
Bottom can pop off easily while being lifted. Always grab by the base and you'll be fine.
Water bottle (while smaller then anything I could find on the shelf at the store to replace it with) is still a bit long for the height of the cage, Id like to have it higher off the bedding.
Cheap throw away wheel, though not the worst or loudest. (to be expected/accepted)
Pros.
Comes ready and has no issues with windows or the latches at all on ours.
Dwarfs love the lookout.
Plenty of floor space to use.
Looks nice, sleek and simple on a shelf or table.
Can hook up to other things on ether side.
Nice food bowl.
Super easy to empty, clean and change.
$$ good price at under 30$
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

My dwarf hamster love it!

February 10, 2013
by Chrisitna
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Very nice cage for dwarf hamsters, the cage feels bigger than it shows in the picture. (Probably because my hamster is small). Comes assembled and pops right off for easy cleaning.
I can see how a bigger hamster would be able to pop the hatch open, but for my small hammy she wouldn't be able to reach the hatch standing on two legs to get a good push on it.
Only con about this is that the water bottle has to be tilted forward a little in order for water to come out. I figured this out after watch my hamster lick at the bottle for 1 min and no bubble was coming up. Would've given it a 5 star if the bottle was fixed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

half half

January 12, 2013
by m12346
fromcoquitlam
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
it's a good style, but it's a bit small for teddy bear hamsters. The slide is too small for them to get up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Not the best

November 27, 2013
by dotteddaisy
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This cage is to small for a hamster.But this makes a good travel cage!Make sure your hamster has a cage no smaller then 360 inches of floor space.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

too small, unlockes easily

January 15, 2013
by qqbabii
fromprince george, bc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
first of all this cage is wayy too small for my teddy bear hamster, he doesn't even run in his wheel because he barely fits.
second of all, my hamster learnt how to let himself out of the cage after a week!! The first night he got out, I thought its because i forgot to lock the cage properly, so i didn't think much of it. The next day, i made sure i locked the cage after i put my hamster back in his cage, but he still got out. After i caught him n put him back, i watched him for about 10mins and realized he knew exactly how to pop the cage door open. so now i have to keep a heavy book on top of his cage, until i find a better cage.
Pros: easy to clean
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Faulty locking mechanism and escaping hamster

November 16, 2013
by EscapingHamster
fromKelowna, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
After purchasing the product, I was excited to get my hamster into its new habitat. As a child, I had used habitrail products before and the "habitrail retreat" seemed like it would be a perfect fit for my black teddy bear hamster. Everything went smoothly for the first month, until I came home one night and she was not in her cage. Luckily, I found her. At first, I blamed myself and thought I had left her cage open; however, a few days later the same thing happened. So we set up her habitat where we could see it and watched as she opened the cage door and got out with ease. The cage features a locking system which is obviously faulty. A hamster should not be able to escape from the habitat so easily. We are lucky not to have lost her for good. I definitely would not recommend this cage or any of the habitrail cages featuring this locking mechanism since it does not work.
Pros: easy to clean, stylish
Cons: low quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Habitrail(r) Retreat Hamster Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Horrible

May 18, 2013
by itlow
fromToronto
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
I purchased this 2 days ago and am extremely dissapointed.
This cage comes 'assembled'...with the exception of the 'windows' that snap apart but never really seem to snap in tight when installed. I tried it several times just to make sure and never got a good seal.
The top clips into the base with only 2 VERY shallow plastic clips that snap into slots in the base (think Tab A goes into Slot B). The top again never seems to seat itself properly (making sure there are no obstructions) and today when moving the cage the base came detached on one side. I lift by holding both the base and the sides and it still came apart.
The look of the cage is very nice however I wish the same thought had been put into function as much as form.
I've use Habitrail products for my pets for years and have always been happy until now. Please do yourself a favour and buy a normal decent cage and leave this one for the recycle bin.
Pros: stylish
Cons: low quality
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.