PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light

Shed light on invisible sources of pet urine odors in your home with this ultraviolet detector light. The light makes urine sources, ringworm, bedbugs, glass and other contaminants easy to find, so you can properly clean and freshen your home. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Review 1 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Blacklight works!

March 12, 2014
by Ashren1
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
The blacklight definitely works.....unfortunately there is plenty of proof that I have a very bad puppy but the good news is that it works....unfortunately it doesn't seem like there's enough of the solution to tell if it works or not
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Doesn't Remove Stains
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

not good

February 24, 2014
by ZdeninkaM
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
This doesn`t do the job. I try on freshly vomited spot which I can see with my own eyes and this light did nothing!!!!!
Then I see cat using box and peeing and turn light off and again nothing!!!!Waste of money!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Did a great job

December 27, 2013
by Meincali
fromCali
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Have a kitty that sprayed and wanted to see where so we could do a good clean up worked great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

It WORKS!!

December 26, 2013
by MsCricket1
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Once I got the correct batteries, I did not even wait until dark. I turned on the light in my hall without the overhead light on and by getting down close I absolutely could see the left over stains that I THOUGHT I had cleaned thoroughly. The discoloration was subtle (not bright like lint on the carpet), however it was definitely there and as I continued my quest, I was astonished how many stains I saw. I used the small bottle of the Urine Eliminator, following the directions by just leaving it on the old stain then vacuuming after it dried and the stain was GONE under the light! I went right to my local PetSmart store and bought a gallon of that magic potion!! Clean up is now so easy and I can be sure the "accident" is really gone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

It didn't work.

December 10, 2013
by 2658
fromColumbus, NE
This item did not work when it came. I was very disappointed and plan to return it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Works Great!!!!

November 23, 2013
by Heather53
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have been going crazy trying to get the smell of cat urine out of my staircase area. I thought my male cat was spraying on the walls. I was spraying the walls with something to remove the smell but the smell never went away.
Today I got this black light and there were spots all over the landing area floor. So it seems that it isn't my boy cat only, it looks like it is my elderly female doing it. She is ill and I guess she doesn't want to go all the way downstairs and use the box.
Well I found all the spots and sprayed them, I hope the smell goes away now finally.
Great little light, I love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Light

October 22, 2013
by dakotansooner
fromMoore, OK.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Was able to find the urine as soon as I put the batteries in it!! I thought it was on the floor, but found it on the wood of the bed frame!! Quite a handy lil tool to have when you have pets of any kind really!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Didn't work

May 4, 2013
by CK309
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cat has been urinating on my brand new carpet. I've been cleaning it and wanted to see if I missed anything. I was in the pitch dark and all the black light picked up was the lint on the floor, so I thought I must have got it all even thought it still smelled like urine. I saw my cat urinate and I purposely left it to see if the light worked. It did NOT work - all it did was pick up the lint again. Didn't pick up the cat urine at all. I'm bringing it back on Monday.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

great!

February 17, 2013
by cats25
fromEdmonton, alberta
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this product after I tried cleaning up a spot in my bedroom with bleach. I am sure the bleach disinfected but the smell remained, right beside my bed.yuck. The product worked great, found a spot I missed and the smell was gone in an hour! I would definitely recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great product

October 26, 2012
by DDON
fromKalamazoo, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My cat has been urinating in the house. This product was recommended and was a last resort for kitty. It worked fantastically. Thank you Stink Free!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

not great but not bad

September 30, 2012
by ddlee
fromCenterville,MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My cat recently started urinating in my living room on the carpet. I searched online for ways to eliminate the odor and came upon the information that a blacklight could be used to actually locate the source. This product was on sale at Petsmart and although I was skeptical that it would work I was also hopeful. Just before I used the blacklight my cat urinated on the carpet again. I blotted the stain and then held the light over it in complete darkness. Nothing illuminated but the lint on the floor :( I looked around for a bit and I did find some VERY faint spots that could've been urine and saturated them with cleaner. Shining the light closer to the carpet doesn't make it work better, in fact 5-6 inches works best. I gave it 2 stars because it's not the miracle product that it appears to be but it did in fact locate some spots on the floor. If I wasn't so dissapointed I might have given it 3. If the smell does go away then I'll know for sure if the spots were urine. I wouldn't recommend this product but if you're desperate there's no harm in trying.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisker City Stink Free UV Urine Detector Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

This works!

September 12, 2012
by Ambrose
fromSalt Lake City, Utah
I actually didn't buy this specific one one because the ones they carried in the store, they don't carry online but I did buy the UV light/urine dector they carry in the store and it WORKED!!! My silly boy cat decided for whatever reason to start marking a specific room in my basement. After trying every cleaning solution I could find (and even some homemade remedies), there was still an odor, so I decided to buy a UV light to see what was going on. Man, did I miss the spots. Don't take it around your entire house though. If you think you're a clean person, this will show you that you're wrong. Great product and would highly recommend!!! This one says on the description that it comes with batteries. That is a nice feature. The one I bought requires 8 AA batteries and lasts about 20 minutes. I recommend investing in the adaptor they recommend though. That is the only negative thing I would say about this light - is the battery issue.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.