PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit

The Puppy Starter Kit includes coupons for in-store products and services worth over $130 including:
Overall rating:
4.097 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 29
26 of 31(84%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Review 1 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Great Value, but a bit disappointing

January 8, 2013
by Mia1
fromNew City, New york
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is definitely a great Value. Purchased Puppy Starter Kit at 19.99 and immediately purchased the puppy crate with a $5 savings and the puppy food with a $14.99 savings, so I immediately go a full return on my investment. I was excited about the 2 free doggie day camps but the puppy must be 4 months old. Mine is only 2months old and the coupons expires on Jan31st. I purchase the package on Jan8 so there is a very short expiration date from purchase time to use time. That's disappointing, but I'm planning on using the free grooming which is a $10.99 value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 31 reviews

Severely disappointed

January 3, 2013
by TinaB
fromGilbert, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this item to prepare for the arrival of my new puppy. Puppy comes home on Jan 11th. I just received the puppy starter kit today and learned that all of the coupons expire on the 31st of this month and I can't even use some of them due to age restrictions. At least the coupons that I can use right away will help me to break even, but overall, this item has horrible value to me if I can't even utilize most of the deals.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 31 reviews

Semi worth it

January 2, 2013
by Sopo
fromWylie, TX
We purchased the puppy kit for our new pup, but we aren't able to use a majority of them, so those get wasted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Logical

December 20, 2012
by ShibaPuppy
fromRichmond, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is definitely worth the money without question. I think its illogical to not get this. The coupons have saved me way more than the cost of the kit itself, so I think it's a no-brainer to get this. Awesome deal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

love it

December 10, 2012
by caitybug
fromAL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Penelope(my puppy) and I love the puppy kit, i only gave four stars because I have not gotten any of the email coupons yet but the 19.99 is well worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

November 27, 2012
by jesslich
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great package for a new puppy. A vet visit, microchip, food coupon and more. Some coupons won't be used since they aren't an essential. Good overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Awesome!

November 15, 2012
by Rachel320
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I definitely think this is a good deal for new puppies owners! I'm kinda of baffled why someone would say it's not you get your money back from the food coupon and puppy wash alone?? I've read that some people say the petsmart is too far...then why would you buy it in the first place? Bottomline it gives you great coupons for you to try things you might not normally spend the money on and even if you groom your dog yourself it's always nice to have someone else give them a bath and a nail trim! Come on people stop being so critical!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

November 11, 2012
by Groot
fromSalt Lake City, UT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our first puppy needed a ton of products and help early, coming from a situation where she was pretty dirty and pretty poorly behaved. This package's free grooming would have been enough, but because of the free vet consolation we ended up getting a vet too. The free bag of dog food was also really helpful in choosing something good for her that she also enjoyed. This was a great package, cheap, helpful, and a wonderful start for our puppy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

Really, really worth it!

October 30, 2012
by ilovemyshihtzu
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the best possible thing i could have had purchased the first week i got my puppy really great savings... i just wish it came with more grooming coupons! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

Worth The Money!

October 28, 2012
by ChorkieMommy
fromLufkin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My only complain is that I have yet to receive the extra email coupons. Other than that this packet has saved me a lot!! Instead of wasting the $15 coupon on a 4 lb $13.99 bag I used it to buy an 8 lb that cost $20 and only paid $5 bucks for it! I call that a good deal. I also received the free kong treat, and free bath and nail trim worth 10.99. So in only three coupons I got more than my money back! Looking forward to using a few more :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Great investment!

October 24, 2012
by Jenilynne
fromValparaiso, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After reading through all the other reviews, I'm really surprised so many people were "disappointed" in this! I personally think its a great value, I got a free bag of food that I wouldnt have thought to buy, since for a small bag, it was pretty pricey. Not only that, but you get a free grooming, which yes, is "only" a bath and nail trimming, but hey thats better than taking the time to buy the tools, as well as take the time to do it yourself. Also a free vet consult?! THAT alone is worth it! I dont know about anyone else, but a trip to my vet (just to say hello it seems) is $45 and a 25 minute drive.
The reality of it is, people expect more for their money, than they pay. You pay $20, you get $15 in free food, plus other things valued for more. I dont get the problem! If you read the back, it will tell you whats all included, if you dont like it, why buy it? Seems as though some people are just never satisfied!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

LOVE love love Petsmart

October 16, 2012
by JudyK
fromVancouver, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My first puppy since I was a teenager and I am 55. The team at PS has been awesome in asisting me and this puppy kit is a real deal..Absolutely no reason not to get this. I have picked out well over the cost in free products! The Blue Buffalo rep Miya is terrific and I am now using their food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

YOU WILL WASTE COUPONS

October 15, 2012
by JPMAMMA
fromLivonia, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
SO I was convienced that this was the best thing on earth to buy and even though I clearly stated my dogs breed I was told the Day Camp coupons was a great way to get interaction with other dogs. Well 50 in coupons just got wasted since my breed is a so called "bully breed". I will get to use some of the other coupons to bring my savings up to what I paid out. I just hate I was forced to buy something that had a catch because I have a 5 week old Pit bull
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Worth It

September 5, 2012
by Queen1
fromGeorgetown, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Just purchased the kit Saturday and it is worth each penny. Was able to use it that day and will again soon, because it is time for shots. Thanks to the sales young lady that showed it to me plus she was very helpful. A new puppy hasn't been in our home in many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 31 reviews

Still no coupons

August 14, 2012
by Macidog
fromMichigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this when my wife and kids got me a puppy for fathers day and still have not seen any of the coupons they say you get outside of what is in he packet, even after registering online. Very disappointed with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 31 reviews

Not worth the money

August 14, 2012
by GSPMom2
fromUpstate NY
I thought this would be a good deal with the coupons but once I opened the pack, I realized it wasn't as good as I thought. The free Kong was actually just a little treat that you stick in the Kong, not the actual Kong (a whopping value of $.41) and the coupons for the vet services are useless to us because it's too far. The only good thing was the $15 off food but Petsmart doesn't carry our brand of food so it wasn't as good of a value as I thought. Overall, it was a waste of $20 that I would have rather spent on toys or flea and tick medicine. Save your money and sign up for the internet coupons!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

A MUST-HAVE FOR PUPPY OWNERS !!

August 7, 2012
by K9Mommy
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
If you own a puppy this Puppy Starter Kit is a MUST-HAVE and for $20 it's full of great coupons and freebies to get your puppy started off on the right paw. I immediately used the $20 off on Flea and Tick medicine as I had found a tick on my Puppy last night. Thanxs to the Puppy Starter Kit instead of paying over $50 I only had to pay less than $35. I am definitely going to use the free vet visit when she's a little older and the grooming as well. Everything in the Puppy Starter kit is pretty useful and will be put to good use. I definitely recommend this for anyone who's just gotten a puppy.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Awesome, worth my $20

July 31, 2012
by GSDlover101
fromLakeway,Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this prior to getting a puppy and it's great! If you order it online you get the free toy and shipping and advertised and I got an extra. (quite possibly always given,had an "free bonus toy" sticker on it) The $15 dollar off coupon for food was pretty good too. They include just about everything you need for a new puppy. If you are getting a new puppy and haven't started getting things for him or her, this is a must get.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

pet smart has lots to offer for a pet thats afford

July 27, 2012
by kerrieandjim
fromberry, ky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
we have a drive by/drop off puppy and decided to keep him. we researched everything from dog food to toys to vets and this was awesome. yes the blue wilderness food was more than 15, but all the other coupons are well worth the the 20 that we spent, along with the coupon for micro-chiping, we decided to use the vet services at pet smart and do the optimumn wellness plan thru banfield (and pay monthly) as that will save alot of money and ensure our puppy is taken care of. thanks pet smart for actually caring about pets and making it affordable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSmart(r) New Puppy Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

new puppy owner

July 14, 2012
by MzKim
fromMerrillville, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I feel this was a great investment. I took advantage of the grooming the first day i purchased the package. Next i plan on making my appointment to visit the vet to get him checked out. The coupon for a free bag of dog food will come in handy even if its up to $15 off, still beats paying $30+ for a large bag of food.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 next