PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter

A proprietary blend of the fibrous materials found only in walnut shells and proven in laboratory tests to neutralize odor better than other non-clumping litters.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Very Happy with this product

February 2, 2013
by Sunlitme
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These pellets are working out very well for us. With 4 cats and 1 tidy cats breeze system they last a long time; I buy one 17lb bag every 2-3 months. I should mention however, that our cats are on a raw food diet, their stool is odorless to begin with and it is smaller and drier, so we don't have as much pellet waste as an average user might. Still with 4 cats, I'm very impressed with how well these pellets last and absorb all the urine and odor. The only time it smells is if we forget to change the pad in a couple days. I really have no complaints with this product and for the price it is worth giving a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Good for Potty Training

January 24, 2013
by koko87
fromClearwater, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I use this litter for my cat's toilet traing. The good thing is I can flush the litter and this litter has natural smell and has an excellent odor controll. Nonetheless, this does not get to the cat's paws so I seldom see my cat lick to clean her paws.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

Messy

October 30, 2012
by MargieMB
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
I have one cat. For the first few days, my only complaint was the damp brown footprints near the litter box, but since I have a throw rug there for that purpose I didn't mind. For nearly a week there was no wafting odor from the urine, and up close it smelled like cucumbers -- the best feature of this litter. After that, although pellets remained the amonia odor and the mess where the cat exited the dome were awful. I would argue that those who say there is no tracking have carpet or flooring that disguises it. When dry the dissolved pellets look like cocoa, and I was surprised how much was on my light vinyl floor even after I cleaned up with a dust pan and a damp paper towel. I will return to pine pellets. I would only recommend this for those who are willing to change the litter frequently, even when pellets remain, and those who are diligent about cleaning their floors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Do not recommend for multi-cat households

October 30, 2012
by CrabbyCat
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have four cats - decided to try this over the weekend in one of my three litter boxes. I just dumped it. It did a poor job of controlling urine odor. I followed the directions on stirring/shaking the box to distribute the pellets and it did not help. Went back to Feline Pine, which has worked well for me. I was looking for something to help with feces odor, which is the only issue I have with Feline Pine. Didn't notice the feces smell, but definitely had problems with urine odor. I'll go back to Feline Pine and scoop right after they use the box!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews

Not Too Sure About This Product...

October 28, 2012
by Lalala
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this litter after hearing great reviews about it. It was affordable and looked promising. When I got home, I opened the bag, cleaned out my litter box and thought I'd give it a shot (I used pine pellets previously so, there was no need for transitioning). At first, it was amazing, it smelled great there was even less tracking than pine pellets which was wonderful, the problems came when only after a few days the litter box reeked of ammonia. I have two small bombay cats and clean it 1-2 times a day and use a dome litter box. The dust left over from used pellets that I cannot get out just overwhelm the litter box with urine smell.
This product would be PERFECT if I owned one of the litter boxes that sifts the unused, intact pellets from the used pellets and this litter will be my first choice if I should decide to change litter boxes but as of now, I feel Pine is still the best way to go.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Favorite litter so far in a multi cat foster home!

June 22, 2012
by Guenthecat
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Let me just tell you that I LOVE this litter! I got it on a lark to try for when my mom came to visit. My mom has a bionic nose so it is hard for her to stay in my apt if there is any odor at all. This litter held up. Even overnight, which is when my cats seem to bomb the box. Mom was impressed and I was FLOORED.
Because it is a pellet, tracking is very low. Also, when the pellets break down the litter is the consistency of coffee grounds both wet and dry. I have not noticed any tracking. The mention that the litter is the same color as my cats' deposits is one thing I was worried about, but since the pellets are so much smaller than the deposits, it's not that hard to figure out which is which. I keep my litter boxes in a closet and bought a light that sticks to the wall so I could see a little better and that helped Immensely!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Love it.

May 19, 2012
by MFleece
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the new face of "Purr and Simple" cat litter, the company was just bought by Blue Buffalo and rebranded. I used to use the pine litters, but my cats would track the "saw-dust" all over, but with this formula there's been next to no tracking and virtually no dust. Great at masking odors, and all natural. It last a while too!
Pros: eliminates odor, low dust
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh Pellet Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews

Great with a slight quibble

April 12, 2012
by Anonymous
fromBrooklyn, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've been trying all sorts of pellet litters with the new Tidy Cat BREEZE box, which comes with litter that's exorbitantly priced. The Blue Buffalo works nicely: the litter doesn't track at all and stops the urine odor cold (especially if you use a Chux pad). Unlike using pine pellets, there is no sawdust decorating your house. The only quibble is that the Blue Buffalo walnut shell color ( a deep brown) matches the royal poops left behind, thus making it slightly tricky for the near-sighted attendant to find all the remnants.
Pros: eliminates odor, low dust
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.