PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters

Keep your water crystal clear with Aqueon's four-stage filtration process that includes mechanical filtration, chemical filtration, biological filtration, and stationary wet/dry filtration. Available in a variety of sizes.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
29 of 34(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Review 1 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Great filter, 4 years of use and still strong!

February 9, 2014
by N12345
fromWilliamsport, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had this filter for a 10g for just under 4 years and it still works great! I use it with the Aqueon filter cartridges and I give it a gentle scrub down every so often to keep it clean. The current is very gentle and doesn't seem to bother my fish at all (guppies and platies). The only "issue" I've had is that the lid is easily removable, so my cat quickly figured out how to remove it, which might be something to be aware of for other cat owners. Other than that, the filter itself is great and I'm very pleased with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 34 reviews

missing a part

December 26, 2013
by rdvwolf
fromcheyenne,wy.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 34 reviews
Received the product in box but upon inspection & reading the instructions it was missing a bio filter part. other than that it seems to work.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Great for a 20 gallon tank!

December 10, 2013
by Dantheman777
fromLas Vegas , NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 20 gallon tank and it works great. Obviously don't use this for a tank any bigger than a 10 or 20 gallon. As long as you don't over feed your fish it cleans very well. I take it apart every 3-4 weeks and clean it. Very durable and quite.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Great! Don't listen to the bad reviews.

November 26, 2013
by 10GallonPalace
fromDallas, Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My filter for 12 years sadly went out. After reading all the reviews, I still wanted to try this filter as the replacement because of the price.
Came home. Followed the directions. Plugged it in. The quietest filter ever owned. No loud hum, light hum or rattling against the glass sound either. The only noise is the relaxing sound of the waterfall.
If yours is humming take it back. It has a lifetime warranty. As for me. This thing is quiet and prefect for my 10 gallon.
10 gallon w/ 3 corys, 2 daf, 1 male betta.
The current is not too strong for the frogs or betta. They love it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews

It is ok BUT......

November 18, 2013
by Katjrj
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
I thinnk this is a decent filter for the price. My only complaint is the hum that is constant. If things like that bother you choose a different one. I didn't think it would bother me but it does. I will say we got the same one but for a 20 gal tank and it does not hum at all.
Pros: easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

GREAT!!!!

July 16, 2013
by kileybear
frommichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this filter is awesome
it is so quiet although it makes a humming noise
my fish always play around it
none of the fish have got sucked up by it yet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Simple, cheap, and effective

March 19, 2013
by Mattsfishtank
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
I have 2 Quietflow 10s on my 29g planted tank. That's enough filtration for about 20 gallons of water according to Aqueon.
They're well over a year old and they've required no cleaning whatsoever other than changing the media. I just cleaned them even though they didn't really need it, but I'd bet they can go much longer without any maintenance.
They don't offer much in the form of bio filtration, so I wouldn't recommend them if you aren't using live plants.
My tank is beyond overstocked and I never have any issues with my water quality.
29 gallon tank
driftwood and live plants
2 german blue rams
15 neons
3 cory cats
5 otto cats
5 cherry barbs
1 bristlenose pleco
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

GREAT replacement

March 18, 2013
by Aquamommie
fromDenver, CO
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
I purchased a Top Fin 5.5 gallon aquarium set-up. The filter it came with didn't do anything but circulate the water. I would watch debris flow past the sucker and not even go up into the filter. I replaced the filter with the Quiet flow 10 for the 5.5 gallon and it ROCKS! It's not too much flow and all the debris gets sucked up into the filter. It just happens to fit in the cut-out space provided for the aquarium. It's quiet for a filter that sits outside the aquarium, but not whisper quiet. I've gotten used to the slight sound and the fish don't seem to mind. Would HIGHLY recommend this!!!
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Great for 10 gallon aquariums

January 27, 2013
by digiacintojt
fromParumus, New Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
I have one for my community 10 gallon aquarium and it is the perfect filter! Is very quiet like in the name and does a good job cleaning and puts out just enough flow for the tank ! And it is a good simple doesn't take up a lot of space inside tank and very easy to maintain. The Cartagies are simple and easy to change and for a very reasonable price !
Pros: easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Quiet and easy to use

January 20, 2013
by Yami
fromCorona, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Love this filter, its really easy to clean. The filter replacements are affordable and very easy to install, just lift up and insert a new one. I like the biofilter part, that allows the tank to naturally create a cycle. It keeps my tank looking nice and clean and the fish like to ride the small current that it produces at the top of the tank.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

maybe too strong for bettas, prepare to modify

January 19, 2013
by itsuki
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
great price. great filtation, and is very quiet (ive read reviews both about its loudness and how quiet it is, and honestly i can only imagine people who complain about how loud it is must be VERY light sleepers or have VERY acute hearing becaise i had a filter that needed an external air pump and that made much more noise then this). for the average person to heavy sleepers this is PERFECT for you.
i chose this product because i thought that its design was very innovative (the added surface area provided for benefitual bacteria in the bioholster) provided more and better filtation then other products within this price range and for its suggested tank size
the only issue is the output (flow of water coming out) might be too strong for bettas. i put a foam pad between the bio-holster and the diffuser grid another underneath the diffuser grid and then added a plastic cutout made from a water battle under that to soften any splashing. this additional cost and work was only $3 and maybe less then 3 minutes to prep and install. u can find how-to vids on youtube if needed.
this is another filter out there thats cost abit more from a different company and offered by petsmart that has an outflow adjustment if you prefer even less work.
but for bigger/stronger swimmer fish this should be the perfect product for you. ENJOY.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 34 reviews

good filtration, that's about it

January 9, 2013
by WigglePuppy
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 34 reviews
Filtration is good, however if you ever need to take this filter apart to clean the more internal parts.....you can't. If you need to clean the intake tube, you need to put your hand into the tank to disconnect it from the filter, instead of just removing it from outside the tank like most power filters. The water evaporation this filter causes is the worst I have ever had to deal with by far, and I have used an awful lot of power filter brands. Tape over the huge ventilation slits on the lid if you want to control the evaporation. This filter also has no output control, so if you have fish that require slow moving water, be prepared to baffle the output or choose another brand of filter.
Pros: works great, easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 34 reviews

performance

January 8, 2013
by familyman777
fromconnecticut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
overall this product was very well built but I have to recommend more stages in the filtering. I have had nothing but ammonia problems in my ten gallon with this product but I have another product and I have no problems in my 35 fish tank pus the company has cut back on the amount of media they put inside of the filter which, I think, is causing one of my problems. plus they should put a protection around the intake because I have lost two fish to them getting stuck on the filter. All they need is some type of sponge to filter to add to the intake.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
Cons: didn't work
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 34 reviews

Aqueon Unquiet Flow 10

December 9, 2012
by Snowman10
fromMinneapolis
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
It flows, but isn't quiet. Makes a humming noise louder than my refrigerator. In fact, I can't hear the refrigerator any more over the hum this filter makes. My aquarium is in the family room and you can hear it anywhere on the first floor of the house. It filters well, but the suction tube is really short and doesn't get anywhere near the bottom of the tank. It was inexpensive, but it's also going to be gone soon to be replaced by something quieter.
Pros: easy to install
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews

Quiet. Durable. Appealing.

December 8, 2012
by AddictedToPets
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Pros:
- Almost no noise at all
- Always clear water
- Very good circulation
- Looks good
Cons:
- Expensive filter cartriges
- Plant debree gets stuck on the suction tube
I've had this filter for a over a year now. Each time I replace the filter I am pleased to see it full of gunk because that means it is doing the job right. I suggest getting an algae eater to keep the filter clean and loosen the particles that will stick on the suction tube unless you want to use a toothbrush or something like that to scrub it off yourself.
The flow does not appear too strong but fish do sleep and would be happy if you gave them lots of plants to hide in so they can sleep without having to fight it. Just make sure you put them on the sides so they have space to swim in the center when they want to be active.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Great

October 20, 2012
by fishiesxoxo
fromillinois
i got this just because it was the "cheapest" one not knowing if it actually worked. but it did and so well! but i dont have a lid on mine so water evaporates, so i just have to keep putting water in it. if i dont then my sand at the bottom makes a big hole. but over all it clears the water in no time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Amazing

October 18, 2012
by Joshax17
fromGeorgia,Atlanta
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter keeps my water crystal clear. My tank was getting kind of murky and with this filter it was crystal clear. It gets dirty pretty quickly because I have a male veil tale betta, 6 female neon tetras, and 1 otocinclus catfish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Great Filter

September 24, 2012
by Redmonster
fromAnaheim CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
This Is My First Fish Tank And Easy To Use Filter. Keeps The Water Clear And My Goldfish Are Always Playing Under The Waterfall
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Good Filter

September 17, 2012
by Praise
fromLake Charles, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
I have this filter system. I really like it. I use it in my 10 gallon fish tank and it keeps my water clean and my fish happy!
Pros: works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 10 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews

Amazing Filter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

August 30, 2012
by FishTankExpet45678
fromDearborn Mi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 34 reviews
This filter is very good and does the best job of keeping the water crystal clear. I have this on my ten gallon tank and it is amazing. It cycles all the water 10 times in an hour. And it's outstanding. Would highly recommend.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next