PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit

This kit includes a 40 breeder glass terrarium habitat for your bearded dragon. It also provides some essentials for your bearded dragon's home, including dome light fixtures for heat and light, food and dishes.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Review 1 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great starter kit

January 31, 2013
by Reptile2
fromAppleton, wi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
I bought this kit a week ago and my bearded dragon loves it, simple and looks great
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Good Starter Kit

January 30, 2013
by Anonymous
fromMontgomery, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The Kit is basic and does not include some of the other things I think are necessary: we bought additional decor, such as a climbing branch that he loves to stay perched on. Also, the lights that came with this kit burnt out within 6 months. THat seems to be a trend with lighting sold for reptiles- unless it is something I am doing to cause the bulbs/lights to burn out. I would also recommend that you buy additional ground cover (nutri sand) and background, heat rock for when your beardie becomes an adult. I also wish the top was designed to better access food and water bowls. But those are just my criticisms. Overall, it is the best starter kit out there.
Pros: sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Great starter but short-term

January 29, 2013
by Lokiiiiiii
fromArizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
I would say this is a great starter kit. I would highly recommend switching out the UVB light as soon as possible since compact and coil bulbs lose their UVB output quickly (1-2months is what i have read they last) and can lead to a sick reptile. My beardie was picky and didn't like the pellets. Aside from the UVB bulb the other lights seemed to work well. easy to clean, once you add some decor it looks nice and can fit easily in your house.
Pros: easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Bearded Dragon Housing Kit

January 7, 2013
by clements10
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Great kit nice lamps and decor love this product so much.
Pros: stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

eastern collard lizard

January 7, 2013
by zman
fromwihita,ks
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
its great for an eastern collard lizard i reccomend this product to anyone
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Our beardie loves his cage

January 7, 2013
by fam6
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I am very pleased with this complete dragon kit. Our son received this for Christmas. We got our dragon about 1 weeks ago and he loves his cage. Our beardie was about 4 mos old, so the cage was not too big and gives him plenty of room to grow. The lid fits tight and is easy to open for my son. It's very spacious. The carpet is so easy to clean. The water bowl and food bowl are sufficient. They are heavy and so they don't get knocked over. The lights provide sufficient heat and UVB. It is a very complete kit. We added 3 decor items and the beardie. That's all you need besides the food source.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great Purchase

January 7, 2013
by swilks
fromMS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
I have only had this product for about 4 weeks but it has met all our needs. We saved alot of money by getting the kit. It has been a good home for our Bearded Dragon.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Great starter terrarium, but not a perfect setup.

December 18, 2012
by CutiemusMaximus
fromWashington D.C.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
I purchased this kit when I first purchased my baby Bearded Dragon. For everything it came with it was quite a deal! The food bowl is great, I still use it; the water bowl will work, but a slightly larger one would be more ideal as your Beardie reaches full size; the pellets provided are a great supplement to a cricket (etc) diet, especially on the days you're not able to make a cricket run; the reptile carpet is GREAT, a huge improvement from other substrates, and my only qualm is I cannot find a replacement in that particular color (instead I have to buy the green) which is simply aesthetics; the provided lights are adequate--sometimes the dome piece comes apart and needs to be jangled back into place, and I would recommend upgrading the basking bulb from the included 75 watt to a 100 watt to get a more ideal basking temperature.
My only real concern with this kit lies with the actual glass terrarium. The quality feels a little cheap, the plastic flimsy and melt-able if you focus the domes the wrong way. Also, 40 gallons may be an acceptable minimum for a Beardie, however a larger size would be much more ideal--especially if you don't have a separate exercise setup (playpen, etc...).
All in all, this kit is a great value for anyone buying a growing Bearded Dragon. Be aware, however, that this is by no means a complete or ideal kit--along the line there will be several other purchases you'll need to make and I highly recommend doing independent research on how to supplement this kit in order to create the best possible environment for your Beardie.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Good Price For ALL It Comes With!

August 7, 2012
by BeardedDragonGirl
fromWashington
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My beardie has lived in his cage for his whole life at my house. He eats the food and drinks the water from the dish. The only extra stuff you need is decorations and sand/tiles because repti-carpet can get stuck in their claws. It's amazing!!! You have to buy this!!
+38points
45of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla(r) Deluxe XL Bearded Dragon Housing Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

great for my beardy he loves it

August 6, 2012
by leoloverman
fromToronto.ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i think beardies like sand better but the reptile carpet works good too easy to clean and stuff like that. and sand can cause impaction
+18points
28of 38voted this as helpful.