PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food

Help keep your furry friend full, healthy and happy when you serve him or her this food. Specially formulated with fresh chicken, vegetables, fruits and a blend of vitamins and minerals, the food promotes balanced nutrition while delivering a taste your dog will love.
Overall rating:
4.627 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(284 reviews) 284
62 of 63(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

Godsend Food for my Labrador!! :0)

February 11, 2013
by ApeCape
fromNorthern NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Since getting my Labrador at 8 weeks of age he had constant bouts with terrible diarrhea, numerous vet visits costing me hundreds of $$$,changing his food 3-4x in an attempt to try and help with this. Vet DX as Irritable Bowl Syndrome? But offered no help besides medication and very expensive dog food from their office. I did some of my own research and thought I'd try "grain free" nothing to lose, right? Well this food has gave me a NEW dog, gone are his bowel issues, he is a happy healthy dog and he takes NO MEDS!, Thanks to this food, it has been a godsend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

Absolutely Amazing!

January 29, 2013
by 2VeryHappyDogs
fromWaynesboro, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My two small dogs love this food! The reason I first tried it was because one of my dogs kept getting sick. After getting him checked out at the vet, they recommended switching dog food. It's the only food I will use now. Thank you PetSmart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

January 6, 2013
by alfreda01
fromCarlisle, Pa.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
When I found out that my pit bull had allergies and could not eat alot of different foods thank god for ideal balance. It has been wonderful to see how much the food has helped with all the scratching he was doing. The food has everything in it that he can eat and has made nugget a very happy dog. (me too)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

BEST ON MARKET!

January 4, 2013
by DEJV
fromGOODLETTSVILLE, TN.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
THE GRAIN FREE SCIENCE DIET SAVED MY LONG HAIRED CHI CHI DOGS HEALTH.
WE TRIED 3 OTHER BRANDS AND SOPHIE WAS STILL HAVING STOMACH PROBLEMS AND REFLUX.
SHE PRESENTLY HAS BEEN ON THIS FOR 9 MONTHS AND SHE'S NOT SUFFERING. MY VET IS TRUELY SOLD ON THIS PRODUCT AND PRESENTLY SPREADING THE NEWS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

Dolly loves it!

August 14, 2012
by Sister
fromHarlingen, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Well, Dolly loves it! She is a 3 year old Yorkshire Terrier. She has always been very skinny and itched and scratched all her life. I have used Hill's Science Diet for many years for all my dogs. But Dolly just didn't thrive on it. I tried others but she hated them and I always went back to Hill's Science Diet. Then you came out with the Grain Free food. Knowing about her alergies, I tried it right away. In 2 weeks she stopped scratching and has now gained enough weight till she doesn't look skinny any longer. She is active and much improved. She and I both are glad you put this product on the market. Thank you! Dolly loves it! ....Mg
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

He loves it!

June 6, 2012
by YorkipooMom
fromJoliet, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog LOVES this food. We have tried several different Science Diet varieties and this is, by far, his favorite.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

Great food for picky eaters !!

May 10, 2012
by Abbiesmom
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had to swap to a completely grain free food for my cockers, Abbie and Emma, due to all the scratching and biting at their skin. Got a small bag just to try since Abbie (3.5yrs) is a very picky eater. They both love this new food and I'm very glad. The price is fine with me as i try to feed them the best possible food i can. Smells fine to me too and believe me, they would not eat it if it smelled bad to them. They have been on the grain free for 6wks now and i can really tell a difference in both, even with Abbie having allergic dermatitis now. I bought some new treats that said they were Chicken and Apples and Abbie got up the next morning with her stomach really red and is on an antibiotic and had a steriod shot. But i can only imagine how bad it might be if she wasn't on a grain free food. I do wish they would make a canned food- grain free that i could add about 3x weekly and grain free treats.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

Grain free for good!

April 20, 2012
by MomOScoutandTom
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I am so thankful that Hill's finally made a grain free product. I tried a puppy formula a couple of years ago from another well-known brand, but they promptly had a recall, and I switched away from that one. In the meantime, I have tried a wide range of dry and canned foods, and none of them have worked very well for my dog, but he likes this food quite a bit, and hasn't had any ill effects from it so far. Also, my cat absolutely loves the grain free for adult cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

Not too little, not too much

April 19, 2012
by parkerlily
fromTennessee
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The name says it all, Ideal Balance. My dog, Zephyr is a super picky eater and she will snub her nose at anything she does like. I was surprised by her reaction to this, it being a higher value food than her normal "Kibbles n' Bits" which has been a staple in her diet for years...she just didn't like anything else. Imagine my surprise when she ate this like it was treats! We went through a 3.5 bag in about a month, which is amazing to me. Usually they last about 2 months. While this food isn't necessarily friendly to my pocket, I'd much rather feed her this than feed her the junk food I've been giving her. Plus, she loves it! I tried to upgrade her to Nutrisca and she thought I was crazy. She didn't touch her food for a week. I'm happy this food has a nice balance of taste and nutrition, and so is little Zephyr. I recommend this food to anyone looking for an upgrade on their normal dog food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews

This food rocks!!!

February 28, 2012
by CandyReptilez
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 284 reviews
My dog, Hannah, loves this food! She is normally a picky eater but she is done with this food in 5 minutes!! The price is good too I have to get a big bag and $43 is pretty good.
Pros: price, high quality, taste
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 284 reviews

Too much potato

February 28, 2012
by 8ngel
fromMountain View, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 284 reviews
the smell of the potato is stronger than anything else....my dog loves science diet but i dont like all the wheat and stuff in it or the new replacement with potato....would prefer sweet potato and i would buy without a question. The smell is just awful almost feels like all im feeding him is a big fat potato. no thanks
Pros: price
-9points
10of 29voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Hill's(r) Science Diet(r) Ideal Balance Grain Free Chicken & Potato Dinner Adult Dog Food
Based on the average of (273) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5 284 reviews
52 out of 52 recommend this product