PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower

This scratching tower helps support positive scratching behavior with its multiple levels covered in nylon carpet and sisal. The tall height also provides lots of room to play and sleep.
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Review 1 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Shelves falling off

November 7, 2013
by IWin1138
fromWoodbury, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 2 cats, a small female and a large male. He is 15 lbs of solid muscle. They both loved the tree, however, with his kind of weight constantly jumping to and from the shelves, within two months the shelves were starting to lean down and break away from the posts. I am a regular at the store and so the people were great enough to exchange it for me for another style that is working fantastic.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Cheap Materials

October 10, 2013
by ChooysandQuincysMom
fromWaukee, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I gave this product 2 stars only because my cats like it otherwise it would have gotten only 1 star. The materials used are cheap... the platform and perches are made of cheap particle wood. Because of this the posts are leaning so I'll most likely have to buy plywood to remake the platform.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Too Cute

September 18, 2013
by MrsGeronime
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The first dismount looked painful, but my cats are smart. It took all of our cats less than a day to figure out how to get up to the top (which is everyone's favorite spot) and safely climb back down.
I have NOTHING within ten feet of the scratcher for them to utilize in mounting/dismounting. The whole point of buying them their own furniture is so they wont climb/scratch mine.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

My Cats Love It

May 12, 2013
by RoRN
fromSt. Regis Falls, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
very durable and my cats love it. I have 4: 9 month old boys; who are quite active and this product has withstood their antics for the past 2 month!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

Pretty Good

March 15, 2013
by LunasMama
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this tower on sale + even more discounted because of a flaw, so I am satisfied. I would NOT be satisfied if I had paid full price.
My cats enjoy this tree, but they can't get back down to the level below the one they are on because of poor design. I had to set a second little tree beside this one so that my cats could jump from the high level to the second tree and not jump to the floor, which I feel would be dangerous for them as they are getting older.
It's fine for what I paid for it ($70-$90ish), but I wouldn't recommend it at full price. Look for a tree where the ledges stick out more so the cat can get back down.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

My cats love this.

February 20, 2013
by Ryan041010
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The biggest benefit from buying this was that it stopped my cat from destroying our furniture. We set this tower in the room near the chairs he was scratching, and now he ignores the chairs altogether, preferring his new tower instead. I have two cats, but only one was destroying the furniture. This gave him a great alternative that he loves scratching even more than he did the chairs, it seems. I chose this one over the other Whisker City cat towers because it's the tallest, hence the name Skyscraper, and my female cat loves being up high. She always tries to get up on the highest cabinets, etc. in our house, which we don't want, so this gives her something she can use to satisfy her love of heights. I also chose this one because it has both carpeted posts and one sisal rope post. My female cat prefers the rough sisal rope, while my male cat likes to scratch soft things, so this takes care of both of them. It's also not too wide, so it doesn't take up too much floor space, which is a plus living in an apartment. They also burn up some energy by rapidly climbing up and down this tower every day. It allows them to run around and be crazy in a more confined area, again this is beneficial when you live in an apartment. I will say that if you have very large cats, like our male ragdoll, the circular platforms might not be quite big enough for them. The two middle levels are shaped like big tubes with the top half removed, so he does fit more comfortably on those. Our female cat is a standard domestic short-hair weighing 12 lbs. She is a playful little dilute tortie named Emma, and she owns the top level of this tower. I recommend putting the tower against a wall, if possible, and near a window. This will keep it stable while they run up and down it, and my female cat loves resting on the top level while looking out the window. I am very satisfied with this tower. My wife is happy because we can finally reupholster our furniture, as our cats have avoided the chairs in favor of their new tower ever since we brought it home. 5 stars, this tower has made both the humans and the cats in our house very happy.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Difficult to go between levels

January 31, 2013
by macl
fromLos Angeles, CA
My very active cat has a difficult time using this tower because the levels were basically on top of one another. Granted he's a very large cat (not fat, just big), but he struggled to move from level to level without risking falling off. Had to return.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Cat loves it!!! - but it's not very sturdy.

January 24, 2013
by Leifsdotter
fromOrange County, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My cat loves this cat tower. It's about a foot taller than the other cat tower I have (Whisker City® Cat Lounge and Scratch). She's always trying to go as high as possible so I bought this taller version. The reason I rated it 4 stars is that in the image you can see we placed a weight at the bottom. My cat made a big jump from bottom to top, and about knocked the tower over. She's only a year old, but is very active.
She's currently sleeping in the highest spot. I'm still happy with the purchase. :)
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City(r) Skyscraper Cat Tower
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

January 18, 2013
by Sunset
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Our cat jumped on and started enjoying this cat tree immediately after we brought it home. She enjoys the circular top with a rim where she can nap. Great height and not too wide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.