PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API(r) nexx FILTER

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API(r) nexx FILTER

This modular filter helps clarify your aquarium water without priming or mess.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API(r) nexx FILTER
Review 1 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Worked for 18 months, then it started leaking

October 25, 2013
by Dypstyk
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
I wanted a canister filter because I wanted health fish. I bought the NEXX because the manager recommended it. It worked very well until it started leaking and after taking it apart, I cannot figure out where it is leaking because there is more than one place. It leaks from the base unit when it is running and it leaks around the canister "lids" as well. I called RENA and they said I need new canister caps, but I have only taken them off twice in a year. ( I have two very large fish, very clean." New caps are $9.95 each but there is no guarantee they will solve the problem. No one seems to know why it leaks around the base.
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Returning.

July 20, 2013
by kevinflorida
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased this filter since I was wanting to use a canister filter on my new aquarium due to space that I do not have for a hob filter. First off, set up was interesting. The filter comes with directions, which are all pictures and no written directions, so you are left trying to figure it out. Second, nowhere did I read (unless I overlooked it) that the pump was an in the take pump. So you have a pump and electric cord in your tank which is not that small. (I personally do not like the look of the pump in my tank) Also, the pump is only taking in water from the depth of which you put it. So there is no filtering the top of the water. I am just getting my tank running and there is some film floating around the top of the tank that the filter is not getting since pump is under water. Third, there is a turn knob on the pump (which is under water) to adjust the flow…good luck. I turned it and it does not move. I was afraid I would break it I was trying to turn the knob so hard. I opened the pump and that knob is just show and not connected to anything, so why have it? The plastic tubes that connect the hoses to the internal pump and outflow device seem very cheap. Other than that, once I figured how to hook up, filter self primed and is very quiet, I don’t hear anything, you have to look and see the water moving to know its running. Its only been set up for a few days, and as of right now, there are no leaks as some say. Flow seems appropriate for the size of the tank. Dimensions of canister fit good in the cabinet even though I had to take out a shelf due to its height, which I did not account for when I built my cabinet stand. This filter will continue to run in my tank till I receive the new filter I just ordered, then this will go back. The picture attached can somewhat show the size of the internal pump. My tank is 48 long, 12.5 wide and 22 high. This is personal opinion, but my overall dislike is the internal pump and the room it takes up in my tank and the intake it produces which I don’t think its getting everything it should be getting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Leaks

February 25, 2013
by Lewisberry
fromLewisberry, Pa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Leaks from bottom like a seive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great filter, Quiet, Efficient

February 19, 2013
by McDanielVZW
fromOrange Park, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this filter on sale after being fed up cleaning my canister filter that was outside my tank. So far this filter has kept my tank even cleaner than the canister filter, with virtually no noise! Because of the design, I am actually able to keep the filter in the base of my 55 gal aquarium instead of next to it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Leaking

February 18, 2013
by Littleant
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this filter when I started setting up my new 56 gallon tank. It was recommended by a Petsmart's manager. SO I bought it. It was woking fine for about 6 months until recent change of filter. It does not seal tight now so my floor was flooded. I am very unhappy about it. I tried several times to get it seal as tight as I can. It is till a little dripping. I have to wipe out water once a while. I will get another filter to replace it tomorrow.
Another thing I do not like it is it accumulate dirty stuff and can not cleanup. Each time when change the filter media, at the end, the dirty stuff comes out into my tank. It really polluted my tank before start cleanup again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

QUIET!!!!

February 17, 2013
by Dino454
fromLexington,SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I read reviews for HOB (hang on back) filters for noise levels because my 55gal is in my bedroom. After purchasing a new HOB that was the "quietest" on the market, I took it back and got the API Nexx. Before I set it up, I put the pump in the tank with a short return hose to see how loud it was. After plugging it in, I had to check the hose to see if it was running. You hear NOTHING! I like the fact that the pump goes in the tank and is not part of the canister. Set up was easy, but the directions lacked a bit.... there are a few videos online that are worth watching. Once the air purged from the filter, there was still nothing heard. I can see that maintenance will be easy with little mess. The replacement inserts seemed a little costly, but they only need changing every 2 months or so, so its not really that bad. Awesome filter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

JUNK

February 17, 2013
by Saltwaterjoe
fromMichigan
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have owned freshwater and saltwater aquariums for over 30 years and I went out on a limb to try something new so I purchased the nexx filter for my 100 gal saltwater tank. My first impressions where how innovative the filter looked but that soon was forgotten after I hooked it up.
The unit leaked right out of the box, I thought no big deal its just the seals need to adjust. It leaked from the base for 2 days then stopped. Then I thought that is was hooked up wrong because the water flow was very slow, nope that was how its designed. I purchased the extension for it also and that was leaking from the same spot too.
I have emailed API but no response yet. I had no choice but to go with a different brand filter so I wouldn't lose hundreds of dollars worth of fish and corals.
This would be a great filter IF they redesign the seals and get a bigger power head.
This is not a random problem with the seals, I have read many forums complaining about this same problem and I wish I would have done more research before I purchased it.
I have purchased many API products in the past and found there stuff very satisfying and that is why I am shocked that they would put out a product like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Crystal Clear ??????

February 7, 2013
by Tee23
fromCharles City, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The water gets crystal clear however the directions are a little muddy. I purchased this product and have had it for a week now. I put it together the night before I went to bed by the morning the water was crystal clear a great change from the night before. I have 30 cichlids in the tank and the water is still clear and as of yet and the test levels have not spiked. The only problem I had was trying to put the product together. I do very well with directions but this one took me for a loop. It is totally graphical with very little words to explain what to do. In some cases it gave you the parts to use but not how to put them together. I was able to get a better graphic of the design when I turned to the back and found a picture showing mostly how the finish product is attached to the tank. I still give it 5 stars for the product, the poor directions are not an issue unless you can not put the product together. What should have taken 15 minutes max to put together took an hour.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API(r) nexx FILTER
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great filter

December 9, 2012
by Braudyn
fromLinden, Nj
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
At the time I was looking at this filter there was no review for this filter. Decided to write to give this filter the first great review its deserve. After two days this filter made my water super clean on my 50 gallon tank, I also have a Fluval U4 running but it wasn't keeping up with the size of my fish. The non-shutoff feature makes it easy to switch and put new media. I also like the fact that you can add extender if you switch to a bigger tank, which in doing in few weeks. I had the filter for few weeks now and all I can say its wow.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.