PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Marina Betta Mini Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Marina Betta Mini Heater

The Marina Betta Heater is an automatic, submersible heater that creates ideal water conditions for bettas to thrive in. It comes with a suction cup, so you can easily install it against the aquarium window. The Marina Betta Heater is suitable for aquariums up to 5 liters (1.5 Gallons).
Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
27 of 30(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Review 1 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Works Great

March 4, 2014
by Sassafras
fromFriendswood, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
This little heater worked just fine in my 2 gallon betta bowl, even though it says it is for up to 1.5 gallons. Small size so it doesn't take up much space in a small container.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

This heater saved my betta!

February 23, 2014
by FirstTimeFishOwner
fromConnecticut
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
I bought this heater for my 1.1 gal Tetra Halfmoon Tank after my second betta stopped eating, had low energy and clamped fins. In 2 days he was a new fish! I had lost my first betta with the same symptoms plus finrot. I thought it was due to disease but apparently the poor little guys were just cold! My thermometer was always ~68, which I thought was OK because it was in the yellow (not red). Wrong! The temp is now a toasty 78-80 and my betta is so happy! The black color stands out against my white wall, but otherwise no complaints.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Very good heater, does more than expected

January 30, 2014
by Thisstupidnamefield
fromMalone, NY
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Bought this heater for a 2.5 gallon tank, and while the instructions say it's not meant for anything larger than 1.5 gallons, it keeps my bigger tank heated just fine at a perfect 78 F. My only complaints are that the suction cup doesn't keep it attached to the wall for longer than an hour, and I do have to keep an eye on the temperature to make sure it doesn't overheat. Overall a good buy for the price.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Great purchase!

January 4, 2014
by SweetSue
fromAiken, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Returning to a cold house from a trip, we found Rusty the Betta was beyond lethargic. Looked up heaters and ordered this one. It came promptly. Not wanting to turn Rusty into soup, we put it in a bigger bowl and he is as happy as the proverbial clam. I left Quality blank, because we haven't had the heater long enough to see if it lasts.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

Good for more than 2.5 gallons

January 4, 2014
by MisterChill
fromAcworth, Ga.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
I bought this a few weeks ago for a 2.5 gallon aquarium with a single male betta. Setup was about as easy as it could possibly be - stick it to the side of the aquarium and plug it in. Done.
This is in my office - building maintenance isn't wise yet to its presence ;). They turn the thermostat down every night, which I found out after one morning seeing the temperature in my aquarium in the low 70's. I don't think my betta was too happy with that.
So after putting this thing in (it's supposed to be for UP TO a 1.5 gallon aquarium) and letting it go over night, the next morning, 85 degrees. HOT!
So I bought a timed outlet and I only let it run now for a few hours at night. It's still not perfect, but at least I know Quantum (my betta) isn't going to die from frost bite. A high, medium, low setting would be nice.
Pros: price, easy to install
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews

2nd times the charm

December 23, 2013
by genn
fromontario canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
got this heater from pet smart the other day for my half gallon tank, the first one i got the light turned on the first 2 minutes and then never turned on again. pet smart was very good about it at least and exchanged it for another one. this one works well, keeps the tank at a good stable temperature, get a thermometer to monitor the temperature as the heater doesn't automate itself. the suction cup is horrible, doesnt stick for more than a minute and will just float in the tank. otherwise does the job
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Heater

December 17, 2013
by Katcare
fromBurlington Wi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
This little heater works great! Now the fish actually move around, they love it.
Thankyou for the Invention
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

It's pretty good

December 13, 2013
by Socheata
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
It says that it's for 1/2 -1 1/2 gallons and even with a 2 gallon, it did well. With an ambient temp of 70F, it kept the water at a decent 75F.
Pros: price, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 30 reviews

might be too powerful

November 19, 2013
by bettawaz
fromNE
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
After our daughter got her betta last Christmas, we realized we kept our house too cool in the winter for his comfort and bought this heater for her 1 gallon tank. It was fine for a while but we realized in the summer, with our house at 75 degrees, the heater was too much (the water rose to over 90 degrees)and we had bacteria growing rampant within a day after accomplishing numerous full tank changes. After some trial and error and a case of popeye, we took the heater out and all was well again. With cooler household temps again, we decided the heater was too powerful for the small tank and bought a 5 gallon tank and a thermometer. The house is set at 68 and the 5 gallon tank is maintaining 78-80 degrees, which is right on.
The suction cup doesn't stick very well, but it's a minor nuisance.
Pros: price, easy to install
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Great little heater

November 10, 2013
by Hericah4949
fromSan Jose ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My betta stitch was not happy until I put this heater in his tank. He's swimming around a lot more with his fins spread out and he's eating his food once it hits the water.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Keeps temperature just right in small betta tank.

November 7, 2013
by mmnn
fromPortland, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
bought this because the first one i had said it was for up to 5 gallons but kept my little tank, about 1 gallon, way to warm, above the red mark. this little betta mini heater works great and holds the temperature just right.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

Does the trick

November 7, 2013
by Louisa
fromIthaca, NY
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
My betta fish was acting lethargic, wouldn't eat, and looked pale. I read online that he might be too cold, so I got this heater for him. Now he's much more energetic and happy, making bubble nests.
My only reservation about this heater is that I'm not sure how the heat regulation works. The heater definitely works, but it doesn't seem to keep my fish's water at a regular temperature. This hasn't really been a problem for him as far as I can tell, though.
My tank is about 1.75 gallons.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

Gets the Job Done.

October 1, 2013
by AandW100
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My betta fish really likes this heater. He likes to hang around it and make his bubble nests near it. Only thing that kept this from getting 5/5 is the suction cup doesn't hold it for more than 5 mins. It has to just hang in the water.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Great Buy

September 10, 2013
by CTPaulH
fromTampa, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
I originally got this as a heater for my 3 gal glo fish aquarium. The fish definitely seem happier and more active with it in the tank. Since this heater worked so well in that tank I wanted two more for my betta tanks. I was able to get the last one they had so I had to also get a top fin heater too for the other tank. They're easy to install and very effective, but you have to remember to let it sit in the water for 10 mins after you put it in so it can acclimate to the water temp.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Awesome!

August 30, 2013
by ANickel
fromKaysville, Ut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
My room is very cold so I was worried that my betta's water would get too cold. I only had him one night and I already knew it was because he was acting very lethargic. So I got online and researched to find a heater for his bowl. I only have a one gallon glass bowl so I needed a heater that wasn't too big. When I found this on Petsmarts website I decided to go to the store and check it out. It is a good size for the bowl. It is a bit of an eye sore in his cute little bowl but I would rather have a warm happy fish than a pretty bowl. The suction cup is having a hard time staying attached to the side. But it is heating the water and that is the most important thing. My little betta loves it. He is hanging out by the heater but also swimming around a lot more than before the heater was put in. I am so glad I bought this.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Works good

August 16, 2013
by Canoe
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this about 4 hours ago and put it in my betta's 1/2 gallon tank with him and he seems much happier now. The only thing I would say is that when i put the thermometer from my other fish tank in there and came back after an hour of it sitting in the water it read 78 degrees which is fine but the label says for 1/2 gallon tanks it gets to about 85. Maybe it is because i keep my apartment a few degrees below the recommended ambient settings though. Either way it was a good investment
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 30 reviews

June 5, 2013
by Jinx727
fromFlorida
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 30 reviews
Do not buy. I just bought this 6/5/13 and it worked for not even 5 mins and the light turned off and never turned on again. I'm going to return this tomorrow
Cons: didn't work
-16points
1of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews

Happy Betta!

May 12, 2013
by Maralee
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 30 reviews
Mars is loving on his cozy, warm tank. He is active and happy blowing bubbles. We have had this tank and heater for a couple of weeks now and are very pleased with the product. It maintains a steady 80 degrees in a one gallon tank.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Great

May 4, 2013
by ammophila
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Overall good product. This is great for anyone wanting to add a little warmth to their betta's tank.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marina Betta Mini Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews

Very Good Product

April 22, 2013
by Betta135
fromSt. Catharines, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 30 reviews
I bought this heater for my betta after reading online that they do in fact need heat. Although most pet store workers will tell you they don't. I have mine in a tall square glass vase that holds just over 1 gallon of water. Since the vase is tall with no filter, I put the heater at the bottom since heat rises. It took about 3 hours to raise the water tempeture 10 degrees - from 70 F to 80 F. It has kept the water a consistent 80 F ever since. I would recommend this product.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next