PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit

Brighten your room with the Grreat Choice 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit. Aquarium comes complete with a multitude of decor options. Invest in a starter kit today to create a beachfront, underwater view to call your own "relaxing" place. Only at PetSmart.
Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
12 of 16(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Review 1 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Very nice

March 3, 2014
by Bob21
fromGrand Rapids
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this tank yesterday. It is a fine unit for the price. 20 gallon is a nice size. I bought a whisper Power 30 instead of the filter that comes with the unit because that's what I prefer. You can't beat the price even if you got the tank and a hood alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Very Nice Tank Kit

February 22, 2014
by MerytemNephthys
fromKingston, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I own multiple tanks and unless I'm buying used have always insisted on buying one particular well known long established brand (trying to adhere to the guidelines and not mention the actual brand). This tank was an emergency purchase and affordability won out over perceived quality.
Since setting it up I have been very impressed. The glass was thicker than I expected and the tank and lid seem very sturdy and are tested daily by my cat who likes to sleep on the hoods of my tanks. The filter is quiet, runs well, is easy to clean and was easy to set up. As I keep goldfish it doesn't provide sufficient filtration for my purposes, so I am adding a second filter. That being said I'm sure it would be fine for a tropical community tank. For what it is I am very impressed by the filter. I only wish the gallons per hour processed by the filter was listed somewhere on the box.
The only complaint I have is that since I keep live plants the bulbs are not sufficient (without them being labelled I have to assume they are not full spectrum). That being said I would not expect high quality bulbs at that price. If you do not keep live plants, or your plants have low light requirements they would be perfectly fine.
Overall, impressive quality for the price. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a basic tank set-up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Its alright.

January 19, 2014
by PonyGirl123
fromColumbia, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Love the tank and hood/lights, but the filter is not so good. I had already gotten the 10 gallon starter kit and had problems with the filter, so when I got this starter kit I just went ahead and got a different filter. I was going to get the Tetra start kit, but my PetSmart didn't have it in, so I just got this one. I got an Aqueon QuietFlow20 and it works perfectly for my four fish. Haven't had any problems with the tank.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

December 8, 2013
by Whatever74739
fromMass
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the worst tank I've ever bought the hanger for the filter does not fit on correctly and the suction cups do t work!! Don't buy
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Very nice tank

December 7, 2013
by guotr
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
just a right size for my living room, I get 1 black molly, 4 zebra, 1 catfish, 5 platy and few guppy in there, they all seems happy and enjoy this new tank. the only problem is the filter is too big and less speed, I have to add the air pump, but still a good tank, love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Nice and simple

November 6, 2013
by CucharaCaveman
fromCuchara CO
This is a well built and simple kit. Looks nice and the price was reasonable.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Pretty Good Tank

November 2, 2013
by Fishlover333
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a nice tank that could use some improvements, but it definitely gets the job done. It is a good price, but probably because it doesn't come with a heater or anything besides the tank, the hood, and the filter. However, I would recommend this tank if you are willing to buy a separate heater and possible a new filter because the filter it comes with is okay, but a stronger filter would be better. But the tank is good quality and the hood and light work well.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Grreat tank

August 20, 2013
by kmanfishman
fromca
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I just got this tank yesterday. The filter is superrrrrr quiet I can't hear it, the only way I know it is on is by the water flow coming out of it. The hood has cool design. It has a big feeding slot for getting food around the tank. The bulbs make a cool glow on natural gravel. I'm going to put a pleco and two platies in it. The sealant was a bit sloppy in a couple of corners, but other than that this is a grreat tank . I would recommend this product.
Pros: easy to install, sturdy
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

terrible

August 20, 2013
by FrankTheFish
fromoakville, On
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I got this aquarium for my fish and it was to cramped
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
-68points
0of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Good for the price

August 7, 2013
by DanielInOhio
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Bought this as I had wanted to upgrade to a 20 for awhile now.
I agree with other reviewers - the filter is super quiet, but it is bulky. There is no heater (the biggest flaw - though it might explain the price), and the lid is a bit of an odd design. But with this tank, for its flaws, gets the job done. It is a very suitable tank for my needs.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Good aquarium

July 21, 2013
by hobo
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
I like this aquarium because it is easy to setup, easy to clean, and is great quality for such a great price! The only downside is that it does not come with a heater. I would recommend this product.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Great 1st Aquarium

April 26, 2013
by MShue
fromStatesville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
This was a wonderful find. My daughter is wanting to start having fish, due to seizures. It was really easy to set up, the instructions where easy to read, and my daughter, along with her brother, had the aquarium filled up in about an hour.
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean, sturdy
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Grreat Tank, Good buy.

February 24, 2013
by jodelli
fromWindsor, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This has what you need to get a 20 gal up and running. At the initial run up I hung a Mini Filter up with it and the two filters cleaned things up.
The filter is adequate once everything is set with a little help from some water clarifier.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Petsmart overall products and customer service

January 23, 2013
by Nick7873
fromSaint Charles , MO 63301
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love Petsmart, I go there atleast once a week. i recently purchased a 75gl. aquarium and all the accessories and dozen Ciclid fish. I also purchased a reptile tank with a full start up kit, for the Ball Python i also bought at Petsmart. Petsmart friendly, knowledgeable employees have made it so much easier and fun to shop for the pets I love. All the products I've purchased are top quality and every time i call or go in the store with any questions or concerns the employees are more than exceptional with the help they've given. This store gives me the "one on one" customer service that you rarely find any-more. Thank all you people at Petsmart, you will always be my #1 store....sincerely, Nick
+2points
26of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great aquarium

January 2, 2013
by eatapineapple
fromToronto Ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is great aquarium. it comes with every thing you need except for a heater but the Topfin ones that come with it are not that good any way. so buy a fuvula (i might have spelled that wrong). over all this is a great aquarium plus it lucky cause my fish gave birth to a baby fish on new years.
i recomend this product .
+24points
32of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grreat Choice(r) 20 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

average rating

December 28, 2012
by 3230
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pros:
The filter is very quiet. The glass top and the lighting on the hood offer maximum illumination of fish.
Cons:
1. The filter goes INSIDE the tank: this takes up a lot of space inside the aquarium itself, and makes it almost impossible to hide.
2. The position of the hood and filter is difficult to assemble correctly (cutouts on the hood must fit correctly with the filter, which is hard to do). If not positioned correctly, the filter and/or glass hood will fall right into the aquarium itself.....this can be a hassle when cleaning out the aquarium.
+29points
44of 59voted this as helpful.