PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar

Stop annoying barking safely and effectively with the Advanced Bark Control Collar. The Advanced Bark Control Collar detects when your dog is barking and automatically emits a static pulse to correct the unwanted barking. Three correction levels adjust to your dog's sensitivity and work on all breeds.
Overall rating:
3.311 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
25 of 45(56%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Junk

February 9, 2014
by jmc60
fromFlowery Branch, GA
I bought this and had it about a month before I used it. When our dog learned that it would zap him when he barked, he didn't bark while wearing it anymore. He wore it about 3 months total and it stopped working. Got new batteries but that wasn't the problem. It just doesn't work ! So not having my receipt will make it difficult to return it. Now I am out the 45.00 I have spent on it !!!! Not very happy about that
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Save your money - NOT worth the price

January 16, 2014
by DogLover1001
fromSF, CA
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have bought 4 of these. The first 3 worked fine BUT the back piece holding the sensor onto the collar breaks off. We used rubberbands to hold them on the collor. I called Sunbeam, they said "No Help" to replace the broken piece. So I bought another one. It DID NOT WORK AT ALL! Of course I lost my receipt and am now stuck with it. I recommend a better brand.
Good Luck! :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

AWESOME

November 12, 2013
by BoxerNamedLayla
fromWashington DC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the first one I purchased. I had to replace it because it has vanished. THIS THING WORKS. When my dog is in her crate she whines and barks. I am in an apartment and do not want my neighbors disturbed. Its gets my dogs attention to the point where when she has it on (and its turned off) she will not bark. I crate her with it on she gets that first pulse and the kids can eat dinner in peace and quiet. Does not hurt the dog. That first pulse they will yap but its not a "IM HURT" yap. Love it Love it LOVE IT
My replacement was the ultrasonic (does not work)...it will be returned.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 45 reviews

Not reliable

September 24, 2013
by tremain
fromLargo, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. I can clearly tell by his reaction when it is working. As a training aid it doesn't do much good if it isn't consistent. This isn't consistent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Cannot recommend this product.

September 15, 2013
by YorkieANDpoodlemom
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My yorkie loves to bark at a squirrel who moved into our yard. I purchased this product in hopes that it would curtail her barking. It has not made a difference. I cannot recommend this product due to its ineffectiveness.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

remote

September 2, 2013
by rharp
fromoklahoma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
if you lose your remote or it breaks you have waisted your money the collar works great but the manufacturer cant even replace the remote
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Works great for us!

August 26, 2013
by MrBigglesworth
fromOlympia, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Had some doubts given the other reviews but they had a 60 day return policy at Pet Smart so decided to give it a go. Only took one time for my two small dogs to learn what was going on. They will test the collars once in a while but 95% of the time if the collars are on they won't bark. I was able to keep it on the lowest setting and the sensitivity is perfect because they can still growl and produce a muffled bark but if they bark loud the correction kicks in.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

didnt work for us

July 8, 2013
by beck2013
fromsimi valley ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 3 year old female, Pomeranian Chihuahua mix, who is very hyper. Recently barking became an issue, so I thought id give the shock collar a try. I returned it after only a couple of days. It had NO effect whatsoever, we got no response from her. I tried all 3 levels, I tried tightening it, I tried trimming the hair on her neck & nothing worked. I was able to return the item with no problem. but I was very disappointed with the collar..I did purchase the hand held sonic egg.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Don't seam to work

June 2, 2013
by Welshcorgilover
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Seamed to work the first day but does not work on my shepherd mix but tends to work on my corgi. I know it is working but it has no affect on my dogs. Tricks it kinda works barking no.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

highly disappointed

March 18, 2013
by Baber
fromAtlanta, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Collar has been hit or miss since day 1. Hard to tell if it is even on or not. The batteries die extremely quick. Collar is less than 2 mos old and doesn't work at all as of this AM.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Well worth the $49.00 Eureka-Quiet! 1st time charm

March 5, 2013
by GermanShepherdFemale
fromPikesville,MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Our high energy female German Shepherd Rescue was barking up a storm as one of her favorite BAD HABITS so much so it stimulated our Laid Back GSD to join in on the Bark-fest. She barked at everything definetly high energy displaced energy. So my husband and I decided extreme behavior requires extreme measures and I marched to get this device with my Laid Back GSD tonight, he knew what was going down as we approached the locked case, don't worry it's not for you big guy.
Easy to follow instructions all batteries included we used the long prongs as her hair is long. Put the collar on and fitted it per instructions without any troubles.
The collar gave her the static pulse that woke her up, she shrieked in a high pitch and laid right down. She barked again and got zapped again, one more try because she is stubborn and that was enough. She knew and recognized party over. Thanks Sunbeam now we can focus on redirected calm assertive behavior and rewarding as we have her refocused.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Works inconsistently

February 2, 2013
by eejc
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got it for my 10 # dog. It was a bit large for him but was able to make it fit. The first day we used it it only took 2 shocks for him to learn. I put it on before he goes outside then take it off when he comes in. I always try to turn it off, but if he was outside for a while and the collar went into sleep mode, I could not get it to turn back on unless I took the battery compartment out and then it somehow reset. My dog stopped barking when the collar was on but when it stopped working he would try to bark some. I even tried new batteries but had the same problem when it went into sleep mode. I returned it to petsmart. There was no trouble returning it even after I cut the extra length of strap.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Worth The Money

January 28, 2013
by LaylasMommy
fromWoodstock, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this collar after moving into an apartment from a house. My dog wasn't adjusting well and barked the ENTIRE time if we left. I hated to, but we bought the Sunbeam Bark Collar. We put it on low and left. She barked and on the third bark the product does what it says. She did it three more times and hasn't barked with it on since. She is able to still whine, but I'll take that over barking any day. I haven't had a problem with the battery as some have reported and it's lasted 2 months so far, but I don't think it's had to be "used." It works well with my 50 LB German Shepard/ Beagle mix. It also comes with long and short metal prongs so it can work with long or short hair dogs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Great product!

January 22, 2013
by doggiehappy
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We moved from the country to the city. Our dogs were used to barking at full volume at anything and everything. We tried other things first and then we bought The Bark Collar. It was great. It taught our dogs to tone down their bark and also the frequency of their barking. It starts teaching them right away. The first time you use it though, you need to be with your dog at all times the first day. This is a great collar and completely took care of the problem.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 45 reviews

Worked very well for awhile

January 9, 2013
by Babz
fromMemphis, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Product worked extremely well in the beginning, but then it just "died". It did do it's job though as long as it worked. My dog is a 13 lb long haired dachsund, and it only took two small "shocks" for her to get the idea! It did not seem to cause her any pain, just surprized her.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

Excellent product! Highly recommended!

January 7, 2013
by Anonymous
fromRancho Cucamonga, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I was afraid that the collars will be painful but after much deliberation and trying other methods recommended by my trainer, I finally gave in and tried the Sunbeam collars as a last resort. I have 2 highly active and excessive barkers (Minpins). They learn quick (2 - 3 times) and now all I have to do is show them the collar or just put them on and the barking stops. They will not bark and I do not even have to turn them on sometimes. I just clip them on and they stop barking, now guests can come into my home without the barkings to scare them off. Product is easy to use and uses 2 2025 batteries. I bought 2 units and had to only change one's batteries, don't know if it was defective batteries or not but units working well and so far no need to change batteries on 2nd unit at all (3-4 mos now). There are 3 levels and I never had to go to high level. Did use up to the medium level. Highly recommend product for those who love their dogs but cannot control their excessive barkings. My dogs do not treat the collars as punishments, I still shower them with love and attention when their collars are on, I give them hugs and assurances. So they are happy dogs even with the collars on!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 45 reviews

Worked for a month, but...

January 1, 2013
by dwhite1031
fromMidland, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our youngest & newest rescue barks all the time. We bought this Sunbeam bark collar after reading positive reviews & it worked as advertised for about a month. It was turned off correctly each time & the batteries were replaced as needed, but then it suddenly stopped working at all. It would come on, but would then flash red immediately. New batteries make no difference. Good concept, but doesn't last in our experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Not worth it

November 14, 2012
by Christina84
fromCypress, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought it thinking it would do the job..and it did, but just for a single night. It only took one bark for my dog to understand. How ever the very next day my dog was once again barking. The batteries to this device no longer work. I replaced the batteries, and nothing. So this product is not worth purchasing. I am planning to returning this item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 45 reviews

November 11, 2012
by Kila
fromVictoria, BC Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 10 month old (fully grown) lab/pitbull mix feels the shock and she's a big girl. Encourages whimpering or snorting as a replacement, but it's better than barking..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sunbeam Pets Advanced Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 45 reviews

Worked but only for two weeks

November 1, 2012
by Anonymous
fromSpring tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Worked great but only for two weeks. We followed all of the instructions and tried new batteries twice. This was a complete waste of money!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next