PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool

FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool

Eliminate stray dog fur with FURminator Deshedding Tool for Long Haired Dogs. This brush is sure to keep your pet’s coat clean, fluffy, and shiny.
Overall rating:
4.876 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(249 reviews) 245
242 of 248(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Review 1 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

a great tool!

November 8, 2006
by jubreu
frompampa, Texas
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews
I use this on my Golden retriever and my cat. Both of my pets are indoor/outdoor animals so I want to be able to decrease the amount of hair in the house. I use this on my dog every week or two and on my cat once to twice weekly. It is amazing how much loose hair this will brush from the coat! My pets always look glossy and shiny since purchasing the Furminator and they love the special attention I give them while reducing sheeding at the same time. This is the most expensive grooming tool I've ever purchased but it is WORTH IT!
+36points
37of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

AWESOME!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

October 9, 2006
by SUZIE
fromLOUISVILLE, KY
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews
I have 2 golden retrievers, a lab mix and 2 cats. This is the first grooming tool that gets the job done.
My animals love to be combed with the FURminator.
It really removes the undercoat and the loose hair.
Anyone who has an animal that sheds should own one. In other words, everyone should buy this!!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Fantastic Product!

July 18, 2014
by Guysweetie
fromLakeland, Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have 2-13 month old Golden Retrievers that are inside dogs and were shedding terribly. A friend referred the Furminator to us and it is Amazing how well it works! I would highly recommend the Furminator. We were able to brush out a huge amount of hair! We could have started another dog!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

July 13, 2014
by Amber93
fromWilmington, De
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
So I recently purchased the long hair FURminator brush and it is AMAZING. at first i didn't want to spend so much money on a dog brush but bought a brush before that just wasn't working. the first day i used it on my dog and she only lasted about 20 minutes until she got bored of it but I got so much hair it was crazy that the regular brush had missed. just by looking at her i could tell the difference she looked heathy and happy.
We asked an employee about the product and she admitted in having one for the past 10 years and she recommended not getting the huge one because it is harder to get around the legs and she was right i have a German Shepard that weighs under 90 lbs and i got the medium sized brush for long hair and it has a cat on the front, it is the same thing as the one with the dog on the front.
I never write reviews but the product is worth the money you spend. the only thing is that the brush makes the hair all staticky so the hair will stick to you. so don't wear clothes that you are planning to wear all day!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Great Item

July 9, 2014
by KittenLadyNY
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have several different Furminators that are for both dogs and cats and use them all on cats. They work really well and help with matted cats as well. You'd be shocked at how much loose hair they will remove from even a short hair cat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 249 reviews

Holy Cow it works!

July 1, 2014
by Lunnaphant2u
fromN.C
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this for our Lab/mix who is shedding mess, and the results were amazing!
On the 1st use, it got down deep into his undercoat, and got so much dead nasty hair out. I was amazed and horrified at the amount that came out.
It does seem to pull a bit, so be gentle when using it.
The only reason it did not get 5 stars from is is because of the price. It is a bit expensive for a grooming tool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Great for short hair dogs too

June 23, 2014
by CharliK
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Our Bull Mastiff/Boxer mix Jax has short hair but sheds like crazy. Using this really keeps the loose hair down to a minimum. He loves when we use it on him.
It works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

May 15, 2014
by howlhusky
fromLos Angeles
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The best brush ever for my Siberian Husky! It gets to her soft undercoat as well as her top coat, and is the perfect brush for when she blows her coat twice a year. It's a simple, very well made, excellent brush. Well worth the price and will last forever!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Best Brush Hands Down

March 18, 2014
by Anonymous
fromEdmonton, AB
I have a Shepherd/Alaskan Malamute cross and he sheds like there is no tomorrow. I was researching techniques on how to cut down on shedding and I started reading all the reviews on the Furminator and was sold. By brushing him every week this has cut down on the amount of hair in my house/on my clothes immensley. So good for his skin and coat too! Worth every penny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

BEST Brush for my Golden Retriever!

February 19, 2014
by JK923
fromWashington Township, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews
This brush works wonders on my Golden Retrievers long, thick coat. It makes his hair so soft and shiny, and really eliminates overall shedding. I've noticed less hair around the house - I brush him every other day. It gets matting out from behind his ears so easily, and doesn't hurt or irritate him at all (in fact he really enjoys getting brushed!). The best brush I have ever used on my pet, and I will never use any other brush!
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention, shiny coat
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

best product ever!

February 17, 2014
by lizziek
fromcolumbia, maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews
this was the best pet product I have ever spent money on! soooo worth it. I have a corgi and she has so much fur. After the furminator, I had a pile as big as her and she looked like she lost 10 lbs!!! so thankful for this product to get rid of the dog hair in my home
Pros: shiny coat, Shed Prevention
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

February 8, 2014
by edandmaggie
frommiddle granville NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
was a bit skeptical that it would work and that our dog would sit still through it all. and a thumbs up for both. never took so much hair off the dog in one sitting.
amazing. thank you for a great product.
Cons: Shedding
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Worth the money

January 26, 2014
by JLSR
fromWalton, Ky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We adopted a dog back in October 2013 and she is part border collie and maybe jack Russell terrier so she has the marking of a collie and smooth hair of a terrier except for the white hair. It is a little bit fluffier than the rest. We tried several brushes and none of them were helping with the short black hair, only the white. Finally we broke down and bought this brush and I cannot give it enough praises. We noticed the difference after the first time using it. We brush her just a few minutes a day and we no longer see hair on our hardwood floors or our leather furniture. This brush is so worth the money!
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention, shiny coat
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

January 23, 2014
by magmay
frompawtucket ri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews
i have had 2 big hairy dogs for 4 years.i adopted them from a pet rescue.i did not know everything i was getting myself into,not the least of which is i have to vacumn 3x a day to keep up with the shedding dog hair.
i tried using regular dog brushes and other special deshedding brushes or tools but nothing has worked like the furminator. the furminator has a neat cleaning tool built into the brush that makes removing the dog hair a breeze.the only drAW back is 1 of my dogs is sensitive to brushing and the furminator seems to bother him more than other brushes or tools i have used.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 249 reviews

Great Product

January 17, 2014
by MFoster
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 249 reviews
I own a Siberian Husky and at first I was skeptical of this product and of the price. I have tried other similar products, but this one by far does the job.
Pros: gentle, Shed Prevention
Cons: expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

furminator

January 6, 2014
by JacMar5362
fromWashington DC
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews
Bought as a gift to my son for his German shepherd whom he who always complained about the hair.
After receiving and using the FURminator, he called to say that it was the best tool I could have sent him. The dog didn't object to it and it pulled all that loose hair off of him.
He was extremely happy with it.
Pros: Shed Prevention
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Good Job

January 6, 2014
by RoboNoke
fromAnsbach Germany
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews
I just recieved the FURminatior in the mail and used it immediately on my Husky. After about 20 minutes I had a ball of fur as big as my Latsapoo!! Will need to do this every day for the next week, but at this rate, We should have most of the fur out of the house!! Works really well, and other than my dog being a whiner, was pretty pain free! I would recommend this to everyone with a long haired dog!!
Pros: Shed Prevention
Cons: expensive
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

awesome comb

December 25, 2013
by littledogs
fromGeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
a little pricey, but works great. gets the old dead hair and dander from down deep out for a soft cleaner feel and she loves how it lets her skin breath again. Full of energy got to run and show appreciation for the rub down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Love this brush!

December 19, 2013
by PuppyLoves
fromAthens, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We had tried a couple of other brushes on our short haired dog but when we got our long haired dog, we needed something more and turned to this. It has been great! It does a great job of pulling out all that fur that would otherwise fall out in our house. The easy hair removal from the brush is great as well. Would definitely recommend to anyone that has a dog!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FURminator® Long Hair Deshedding Dog Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 249 reviews

Great Product for Large Hairy Dogs

December 9, 2013
by Marty19522
fromDurchess County NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two large Newfoundlands. The Furminator does the job like no other brush or comb. It si especially good at cleaning up their undercoat.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next