PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Midwest Guinea Habitat

Leak-Proof, Easy to Attach and Remove, Washable Canvas Bottom Lock-in-Place Doors Double as Ramps Attractive Epoxy Coated Panels Provide Ample Play Area (8 Sq. Ft.) No Tools or Connecting Pieces Required Safe & Expandable, Sets Up Complete in Seconds Great for Indoor or Outdoor Use Folds Flat for Storage & Travel
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 10
10 of 11(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Review 1 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Perfect for 2 guinea Pigs

September 7, 2013
by valval16
fromVisalia, CA
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
This is a perfect size for two female guinea pigs. enough room for everything they need. another awesome thing is that its expandable!! If you get more piggies, or if you feel like you just need more space, you can buy another midwest cage, and attached it at the doors (really easy to do.) I've seen people attach other petstore cages as well.
Pros: stylish
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Fantastic Habitat!

August 22, 2013
by JenMarie
fromIdaho
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
We recently adopted two 4-month old guinea pigs from our local shelter and they love this habitat!! It is nice and spacious for two igloo houses, a log tunnel, food bowl and litter pan. We love watching them popcorn all over and they really enjoy the room it has. The canvas does stain easily, but we keep puppy pads down below the fleece and litter pans. It's super easy to clean and doesn't trap smells. The placement of the two side doors is perfect, especially since we bought the optional cover. It is so secure and nice. We strongly recommend this habitat!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

It's excellent! ^=^

July 21, 2013
by BettaBeardie
fromFountain,CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
When I adopted my two piggies,Finn and Munch,I wanted to buy a really good,spacious cage for them ^.^
I expanded it,so it now has 16 sq.ft of space,and they LOVE it! When I first transitioned them from the smaller store bought cage(I know it was bad,but all I could afford at the time,but they were only in it for about 2 weeks c:)They were popcorning so much,and I felt so happy that they were happy! (: It's really good for the price,and me and my piggie's love it. The only thing that I would change is that the bottom is flimsy,but that's only a minor inconvenience.(: Overall,this cage is great,it's the best pet-store cage you can buy! :D
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

April 11, 2013
by Doragon
fromTulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I got this cage for my two guinea pigs over a year ago, and absolutely loved it. It was a lot of fun watching them popcorn all over place from all the room they had! My only issue was the tarp bottom--it stained very, very easily, and no amount of scrubbing helped. I recommend replacing the bottom with chloroplast, or anything else that is easier to remove and wash when necessary. Otherwise, this cage is perfect for piggies!
Pros: sturdy, stylish
Cons: hard to clean
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Great cage!

February 24, 2013
by Dakani
fromToronto
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
This cage is fantastic! It is nice, big, and affordable. One of the greatest advantages is that the entire cage can be folded away to fit a box smaller than 2 sq ft! My only recommendation would be to find something washable to line the cage. The canvas bottom can be a pain to put on and off (there are 18 velcro ties) and takes a while to dry if you wash it. I just lined my cage with a plastic table cloth that I can easily take out, wipe down and put back in.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great for the price and size

January 8, 2013
by guineamommy
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
I love this cage for my two furry baby girls! They have plenty of room to run around even with their hideaway log and food dish inside. You really only need to put down bedding in the corners for them to use the bathroom which saves on money too!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews

Geat size, hard to clean

November 18, 2012
by MeredithsMom
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
The cage is so big and it is wonderful for my guinea pig, but it is hard to move around and clean. It stays together really well if you never ever move it, but I moved it upstairs and I had to take it completely apart because it wouldn't stay together. Also, the tarp that is put on the bottom stains easily and looks gross even after you scrub it for like 20 minutes.
Cons: hard to clean
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

So Easy to clean!

July 31, 2012
by PiggieLover151
fromDublin, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Soooooo easy to clean!!
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great! Spacious!

June 13, 2012
by smhilin
fromBailey, Colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this cage.. after researching and researching different cages for guinea pigs. This one always came up, so i bought it. When i finally brought my guinea pig , L'abeille, home, she loved it!! She has enough room to run laps around this cage, she has a specific corner for her litter box, then she has another section just for the pellets, hay, and water bottle. It is not a hassle to clean, i just use a cat litter scoop and since the cage is so big, i dont need to clean it as often as other cages! I would definitly recommend this cage to anyone with a pig in need of a great cage!!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

best cage for cavies

January 28, 2012
by fanofmydesign
fromWinchester, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i used to keep my two guinea pigs in a "large" cage i bought in-store, which was 1'x2'. I realised they weren't moving around much though like they did when i let them out. I ended up getting one of these from a different merchant over 2 years ago because it was 3 times the cage for a third of the price. They are SO happy; it made such a huge difference in their level of activity and general happiness. They make more noise, run around, chase each other, generally seem to enjoy life a lot more. I ended up getting two more guinea pigs and another one of these cages; i switch up the configuration once in a while so sometimes it's a square, sometimes an "L" and sometimes just a straight run-through. they get a kick out of exploring the new setup every time.
This is the ONLY cage to get for a guinea pig; i am so excited to see it at petsmart! Any reputable site will tell you 8 feet is the MINIMUM amount of space for two piggies (and you're not supposed to keep one alone) and this is the only cage up to par for space, and the price is really fantastic when you look at all the other, smaller cages for so much more. Be kind to your cavy; get this cage!
+66points
66of 66voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product